BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/04/1999

Mecklenburg Fleet Holdings, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (704) 392-1253Fax: (704) 392-57903227 Wilkinson Blvd., CharlotteNC 28208-5515

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/04/1999

BBB has determined that Mecklenburg Fleet Holdings, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Mecklenburg Fleet Holdings, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Mecklenburg Fleet Holdings, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
06/17/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

took 2002 Cad Esclade to shop on 5/13/15 for front end noise when turning the wheel. Vehicle remaining in shop until 5/19/15- when vehicle was picked up and I went to clean up the vehicle including the tires notice all 4 tires were changed from the ones on the vehicle. They replaced my xxxxx tires with old worn out xxxxx tires. I called the person who sold me the xxxxx tires that was put on the vehicle and he confirm that my vehicle did not have xxxxx tires.I called the shop right away to notifiy them that the incorrect tires were put on my vehice while it was in their care from 5/13/15- 5/19/15. They also drove the vehicle over 26 miles while in their care.

Desired Settlement
I paid the shop over $1,900 for repairs and now my tires will need to replaced. I'm seeking payment for replacement of the tires minus depreciation.

Business Response
Vehicle was brought in for noise in driveline or frontend. Vehicle was repaired to customer satisfaction. We was told from customer on 5-19-2015 that we removed his tires and replaced with dry rotted and worn out tires. I can assure this customer that we never removed his tires from his wheels. We did have wheels with tires attached off vehicle for repairs. We was told by customer that this vehicle had been at another or multiple shops, to diagnose problem but could not repair vehicle. As far as I know these tires could have been removed prior of coming here. We are a xxxxx Tire Dealer if he would like a good price on new tires. We do not or never have dealt in used tires.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First I would like response to the shop's allegation that the tires may have been removed at another shop- While I had my vehicle looked at by another shop- I was in attendance at all times while they looked at the car it took no longer than 30-45 mins. At no time was the tires removed. Next my vehicle was left in his care for over 4 days and once in the shop they did an inspection sheet that showed mileage at 150028. at no time on the sheet was any work needed, tires, etc.. The vehicle was return with mileage 150127. The vehile was driven99 miles without permission. At that time they changed out the tires for a part that he told me he got for free. I know for sure the tires were changed while in their care.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I don't feel this is BS and tried several attempts to get this matter resolved. I have attach documents showing that the business response on work needed is untrue. I had the brakes checked, wheels taken off and clean rims- at all times, I stood there while the work was being done and can confirm the tires was placed back on. At no time did I need tires- I have also included the business check off sheet that does not mention anything about tires or brakes needed repaired or replacement. Nor did anyone mention this to me. I'm at the point now that I will need to take the next step and go to the local news Media if nothing is done. This is not BS to me as the business mention and would think their business concerns with customers is better that what they are taken. Nevertheless, I'll wait your response. I had to go buy a new set of tires and would like compensation towards them.

Final Business Response
After looking at his invoices from another Tire Dealer, At no time you bought tires. It shows you had tires repaired. Also on my check out sheet it shows the 32nds left on your tires. LF 5/32 RF 4/32 RR 6/32 LR 6/32. These are your tires that are over 3/4 wore out. I as one owner of Mecklenburg Fleet say this. We are not in the business to remove used tires and replace with used tires. We do not sell used tires. We are a xxxxx Dealer also. We have a great reputation in xxxxx. Why you would think we would take a set of tires off your vehicle and put on a set of used tires in ludicrous. I stand by my Business and say NO, we will not pay you for something we do not owe for.

12/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

The business performed unauthorized repairs and pass additional cost off to me the customer.
My car broke down and I had it towed to Mecklenburg Fleet Holdings. I explained to xxxxx, the person handling the repairs for my car, that it seemed as though there were no gas going to the engine, and that I needed my car repaired by end of business on Tuesday, he said no problem to having the car completed by that day, and that they were not that busy. On Tuesday, xxxxx called me to say that they had completed the repairs and it would cost 381.00 total. He said that the crank shaft sensor had to be repaired. I was a little suspisious since my car wasn't having starting problems. When I came time to pick up the car, I was informed that the issue with the car was not fixed and would not be completed that day. The next day I spoke to xxxxx and he informed me that it was the fuel pump that was causing the problem. I told him, that I suggested that to him when we first spoke him. I informed him that the crank shaft sensor work should not have been done, and that the part should be removed from the car and bill. xxxxx agreed, and called me with the price of the fuel pump job. He quoted me a price for the parts that was $150.00 more the the most expensive part at other places. I told xxxxx that the price for the parts were unacceptable and that he needed to locate cheaper parts. That afternoon xxxxx Called xxxxx the co-owner and my wife tod explained that the car would cost 685.00 to fix, and which was extremely high for a fuel pump repair. I spoke to one of the co-owners and explained that the price was to high, and that some of the charges were not authorized. Such as the diagnostic charge since the repairs were completed by the same shop, I should not get charged that fee. In addition to the fact that the mechanic mis-diagnosed the car creating the problem of the additional work being performed in the first place. He removed this fee, but would not remove the additional charges that were applied to the bill as result him having to remove the unauthorized work done from the Mis-diagnoses. As a result of the poor work done by his mechanics, there were an additional charges of $200.00 added to the cost of the repairs, that should have been removed. I explained that he was passing the expense created by his mechanics poor work off on me, by adding $200.00 additional charges to my car repair. He explained that he had overhead that needed to be covered and that he would not be removing any additional charges.

Desired Settlement
I would be willing split the cost of the additional charges by accepting a refund of $100.00, since I had to endure having my car held up for 2 additional days since they claim they did not know why my car was still not fixed.

Business Response
After investigating the problem with xxxxx and the tech,Yes your car was mis diagnoised on Tuesday morning. You was called back and told this and was told that the fuel pump was bad and given a price. You stated to xxxxx that you would call back. When you called back you stated you could get the Fuel pump from xxxxx on the Internet for $129.00. You was told that we did not use those type parts because of warranty that we provide, which is 24 months or 24,000 mile xxxxx warranty. After talking with your wife the part was not a xxxxx fuel Pump. We only install quality parts on cars that will last. Yes we do have to make a profit on parts, so we can pay for our overhead costs which include(Liability Ins.,Fire Ins.,Theft Ins. Building up keep,workers comp,electric,Gas,and so on which gets pretty expensive in a months time. I understand you think you were over charged for the mis diagnoise. That charge was completely removed from the bill. You did not pay for any diagnosing of the fuel pump. I even went to the phone book and called two other Garages and i was actually quoted between $15.00 to 65.00 more than you were actually charged. But in lieu of the fact that I believe we were fare in the charges, I am giving you $100.00 in store credit towards futher repairs.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The reason I do not accept the business owner's response is this problem was started by the incompetency of the mechanic who should have used common sense to diagnose the problem. And the problem was further compounded by the owner's unwillingness to correct the problem at the time the bill was paid. An Honorable business owner is one that places the customer over profit, because this type of owner knows the customers will help to grow profits with patronage. And this business owner chooses to stand by the mechanic's error. His offer to take $100.00 off future work is another attempt to pad the invoice at the customer's expense. And his statement that charges were removed is an outright lie. The only charge that was removed was the diagnostic fee, and that fee should not have been applied in the first place since his business did the work. Even after acknowledging that there was a problem, part of the original bill should have been refunded, the owner chose not to.
Anyone doing business with this business should be made aware that the owner's intentions are to scheme profits out of their customers.

Final Business Response
The absolute thing that was charged to you was the fuel pump and labor to install the pump. I do not lie. Please call around and see what it cost to install a new xxxxx Fuel Pump in your car. Not a cheap part from rock auto. Also I have been in business almost nineteen years and a member of BBB. This is my first complaint of any kind to BBB,so I now I run a respectable business. If I thought I owed you 100 dollars I would be the first to give it to you. I have offered to give you a credit towards other repairs. I believe this is more than sufficient to your complaint.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This owner is disillusioned, his price for a fuel pump repair was 200 dollars more than the dealer and repair pal which is higher than most mechanic shops. And if he insist on standing by his 700.00 price for a fuel pump repair than, I'm sure he will not be in business for another 3yrs. So, based on his last comment, there is nothing that a crook can do to for an honest customer. He is not capable of hiring a qualified mechanic that can diagnose a car the first time around , which means he will continue to pad the bill to make up for poor work of his staff.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service, Truck Repair & Service, Mufflers & Exhaust Systems, Auto Electric Service, Auto Body Repair & Painting, Tire Dealers, Auto Air Conditioning Equipment

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 06/29/1999Business started: 07/01/1996
Type of Entity


Incorporated: January 2005, NC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gene Reed (Owner)Mr. Jeff York (VP)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Auto Repair & Service, Truck Repair & Service, Mufflers & Exhaust Systems, Auto Electric Service, Auto Body Repair & Painting, Tire Dealers, Auto Air Conditioning Equipment

Alternate Business Names
Mecklenburg Fleet & Automotive, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Mecklenburg Fleet Holdings, Inc.

3227 Wilkinson Blvd.

Charlotte, NC 28208-5515

To | From


2 Locations

  • 3227 Wilkinson Blvd. 

    Charlotte, NC 28208-5515(704) 392-1253
    Fax: (704) 392-5790

  • PO Box 667930 

    Charlotte, NC 28266-7930

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Mecklenburg Fleet Holdings, Inc. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.


Industry Tips for Auto Repair & Service


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.