BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Lake Norman Tire & Auto Center

(704) 664-8473889 River Hwy, Mooresville NC 28117-9057http://www.lakenormantire.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Lake Norman Tire & Auto Center is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Lake Norman Tire & Auto Center's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Lake Norman Tire & Auto Center

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
01/05/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Lake Norman Tire and auto repaired my car that resulted in more damage because they didnt do their job correctly nor make sure my car was safe
June 24 i took my car into LNTA to have the cv boots replaced, the total cost of that repair was 673.91 In November my brake lines went out. I took the car to another mechanic who stated and recorded that the previous work was the result of the failing break lines and wearing of the boots. ******* Auto and Diesel was the shop that fixed the driver side break line that went out due to the neglegence of lake norman tire and auto. The shop did record and gave me a statement saying lake norman tire and auto was at fault due to failing to properly put things back together, and over time it wore my break lines out. This was on November 12 that ******* fixed the break line which cost another 99.64 I contacted lake norman tire and auto to inform them of the mistake they had made, they offered to "look" at my car, which on the billing receipt it states all work and parts are covered under a one year warranty. I took my car in they did fix the right break line for free although they claimed it wasnt their mess up. However, when they called me to pick my car up, they never checked the boots on my car, *** said "lets put it back up on the lift and look". Which they just had my car up on the lift with both tires off and fixing one break line, so again they neglected to check my boots and make sure they were in good condition, which is why i took the car back up there in the first place. I got upset and left because these people have been dodging me and giving me the run around since day one. They have copies of the work done by the other mechanic, however they paid no attention to the notes he made on the second invoice i had to pay to fix the work they messed up. The parts are under warranty and i have proof saying they are damaged parts and lake norman tire and auto will not fix it and claim the boots are fine, which i have been told by ******* they are not.

Desired Settlement
I would like the work to be done correctly for free since they didnt fix it in the first place. i would also like my money refunded for having to have even more work done when i shouldnt have. this has cost me close to 700.00, not to mention the pain and suffering of worrying how to get back and forth to work, getting my daughter to school and not worry about wrecking because my brakes do not work. considering theyve went out on me before, and by the grace of God i didnt get into a wreck.

Business Response
We received this complaint on Dec 23, 2015

**************** originally requested front end repair of a vibration on 06/24/2015 which required 2 axle shaft assemblies (both sides) to be replaced. Originally the repair was sought thru a warranty company but after the claim was denied her friend **************** agreed to loan her the money and paid for the agreed upon work with a Master Card.
Invoice #***** dated 06/24/20015 includes 2 axle shaft assemblies, the labor to install them along with a front end alignment totaling $673.91 at a recorded mileage of ******.
On 11/02/2015 ********* returned for a State Inspection which she Failed (the Emissions portion) her MIL light was on indicating and emission issue. She PASSED *** safety inspection portion which includes inspection of her brakes, driving axles (axle shaft assemblies) among all of the other requirements from the State of North Carolina. At that time her mileage was XXXXXX.,.. some 6,392 miles since she had the driving axles replaced 4 months and 8 days earlier.
On 11/20/2015 ********* returned for a re-inspection which she passed ***** telling us her mechanic took care of the problem 821 miles later.
Then on 12/16/2015 ********* came in telling us that her mechanic has repaired her front left brake hoes that was rubbing on the axle shaft assembly we had installed. That in fact when he installed a new brake hose it had continued to rub.... So the gently BENT the metal part of the brake line up so the NEW hose would not rub the axle as well.
Although replacing the axle shaft assembly can in no damage the brake hose....and even though the right side showed signs of rubbing, as an act of customer service I ordered and replaced that hose as well trying to reassure her that the process of replacing an axle can't do what the other shop claims it can do. I ordered multiple hoses from DIFFERENT vendors thinking that perhaps someone somewhere had installed a hose that was packaged incorrectly from the MFG. All of the hose were in fact the same and resemble the hose we took off the right side not the bent upwards line that the other repair shop had modified.
The axles looked good, there was no apparent tears in the axle boot other than where the hoses had rubbed up against them....I have both brake hoses and will be happy to show them to any organization that would like to verify that they are virtually identical to replacement hoses.
The following week, ********* called back and stated that her mechanical shop insists the axles are bad.... So again and even though another shop has clearly worked on and modified her front brake hose, even though our North Carolina Inspector saw no evidence of any damage after 4 months of service, even though I saw no evidence of any tears, even though we replaced a front right brake hose at no charge to the customer as an additional act of customer service.....
We agreed to replace both axles under warranty including the labor.
********* was supposed to come in this past Tuesday for us to make that repair, instead she canceled until next Tuesday after Christmas.
Under the circumstances, and considering another shop repeatedly worked on her vehicle (which would void most warranties) I'm not sure what else I could do other than offering to replace her axle(s) and the one hose we replace to keep her safe.
Considering that doesn't seem to be an option to satisfy her....I withdraw all offers of assistance.

Final Business Response
I would like to revise my final statement and offer to correct the alleged problem on this customer vehicle.

Lake Norman Tire will replace, as it originally agreed weeks ago (and before this complaint) to replace both axle shaft assemblies under warranty even though it appears that it will not satisfy the customer as per her note and filed complaint to the BBB.

Since we have held 2 prior time slots for a ASE L-1 lead technician and have ordered the replacements from our vendors on two separate occasions to satisfy this customer.....we will make one final attempt to replace items we could not have damaged and other shops have worked on.

This offer to replace under warranty is good for 2 weeks from Jan 1, 2016 with an appointment necessary....and kept.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service, Auto Services, Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto, Transmissions - Automobile, Mufflers & Exhaust Systems, Engines - Rebuild & Exchange, Brake Service, Auto Repair - Shocks, Auto Inspection Stations, Auto Electric Service, Auto Air Conditioning, Tire Dealers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/09/2012Business started: 05/01/2000
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Russell Silverman (Managing Member)Customer Contact: Mr. Ken Silverman (Operating Manager)Ms. Deborah Silverman (Member)
Number of Employees

4

Business Category

Auto Repair & Service, Auto Services, Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto, Transmissions - Automobile, Mufflers & Exhaust Systems, Engines - Rebuild & Exchange, Brake Service, Auto Repair - Shocks, Auto Inspection Stations, Auto Electric Service, Auto Air Conditioning, Tire Dealers

Alternate Business Names
Silverman Enterprises, LLC

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Lake Norman Tire & Auto Center

889 River Hwy

Mooresville , NC 28117-9057

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 889 River Hwy 

    Mooresville, NC 28117-9057(704) 664-8473

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Lake Norman Tire & Auto Center is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Repair & Service

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.