BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 09/01/1986

Hook Tire & Service, Inc.

Phone: (704) 843-3900Fax: (704) 843-1283

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
10/08/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My car failed the NC inspection due to a serpentine belt. The belt was replaced by the company in 2010.
In October 2010 my 2006 Nissan Altima failed inspection at ****** Tire due to a broken serpentine belt. I took the car back to ****** tire on October 2012 for my yearly inspection and was told once again my serpentine belt needs replacing. All research shows a serpentine belt lasts from 50,000 to 100k miles. Mine was replaced approximately 35,000 ago. I declined the service and took it to my regular mechanic. He said the belt was not damaged and the car DID pass inspection. He also said it didn't look like the belt that was on the car was a belt that had just been replaced. He also said a serpentine belt with minor cracks was normal and even if it did need replacement should not have caused me to fail inspection. I paid ****** Tire $23.75 to tell me a belt needed replaced when in reality it did not need replacing. I feel they try to scam patrons, especially women, into thinking there are things wrong with their car when in fact there was nothing wrong with the car. In section 19A NCAC 03D .0535 STEERING MECHANISM of the vehicle inspection guide it states a car will not pass inspection when "Power steering system shows visible leaks or the power steering belt is loose or worn" This makes no mention of a Serpentine Belt and therefore my car should have passed inspection as it did 1 hour later at my regular mechanic. I did not go to my regular mechanic because I was not getting any maintenance done to my car and simply wanted an inspection. ****** Tire was close to my place of business and I felt I could get a simple inspection job done. This in fact did not happen because I was told, for a second time in two years, a belt that is supposed to last 50,000 to 100,000 miles needed replacing when it was just replaced by this company 35,000 miles previous. The manager also said he could not replace it that day and I would have to come back for another visit. I was not able to see the belt but was only told in writing "Belt is coming apart is smooth side." Those were the exact words on the invoice. This does not satisfy me as a customer that there was legitimate damage to the belt when as I stated earlier it passed with no issues with another mechanic. It is no coincidence my car failed inspection two times at the same place for the same reason.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund for the $23.75 for falsely failing my car in the inspection. In addition, I would like the BBB to investigate how many inspections are failed at Hook Tire on Archdale Road due to a serpentine belt in need of replacement.

Business' Initial Response
To whom it may concern, Thank you for taking the time to mediate this situation. We are always concerned anytime a customer expresses disatisfaction with our service. Much of what Mrs. ****** states is true; However, there are enough misrepresentations of fact to prevent me from issuing an immediate refund. The serpentine belt drives the power steering pump, therefore, in this case it is part of the powersteering system. Our mechanic noted, not little cracks, as those are acceptable, but a long circumferential, significant and unsafe crack running along the back side of the belt. Mrs.****** was invited to look at the belt but she declined. The long crack was apparantly over looked by Mrs. ******'s prefered mechanic, whom may have violated state law in granting Mrs. ****** a NCSI. I suggest that a full investigation be made in to the matter by the North Carolina Dept.of Motor Vehicles, that will no doubt include a visual inspection by a Hwy. Patrol inspector. Please have Mrs. xxxxx send me a copy of her completed NCSI showing the station number that issued the inspection, and I will initiate the investigation. Or she may wish to do so her self. Thank you for you assistance. Sincerely, ****** ******

07/14/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Brought our car to this establishment for inspection. The car was not ready for inspection yet charged us an erroneous fee.
Brought car in for inspection two times. It was not ready due to two missing codes. We brought it in for the third time and still the same issue. We were not told that the car could not fail or pass ** that given point. Instead they advised some diagnostic test and charged me $150 for it. Still no fail or pass. Just an estimate of $1000 to pass. I didnt proceed with the repair due to price. But they made me pay for this unnecessary diagnostic. I have brought the car to two other mechanics and they will not look at it because there are still two codes missing. Cannot pass ** fail. They told me that the first mechanic shouldve never charged me and done any test since the two codes were missing. I got ripped off! I called and complained to **** and ****. They admit that the two codes were missing and the car could not pass ** fail.
I am very upset they took advantage of me and my teenager son as we didnt know the process. They new it was not going to pass ** fail even with a "diagnostic" test.

Desired Settlement
I would like a full refund for what I paid.$150

Business Response
To whom it may concern; On 4/24/15 ****'s son first brought her 06 Torrent in to our shop to purchase a No. Carolina State Ins. NCSI). We performed the inspection, but could not complete it, because the emission codes had recently cleared. We did not charge for this service and advised her son to drive the veh in an attempt to reset the not ready yet monitors. He later retuned, and we again checked the readiness monitors, at no charge,& found the vehicle still not ready for inspection. On the third visit 5/8/15 we again checked at no charge and found that the emission system had set fresh diagnostic trouble codes DTCs ( new emmission failure codes) & the check eng lite was on. We suggested that we diagnose the vehicle to determine the repairs necessary to correct the problems that were affecting the vehicles performance & hampering the NCSI. process. Diag involved over an hours work, including conducting a smoke test on the evap and intake systems. The Diag charge was $135. "not"$150 as stated by cust. Estimated repairs need to pass **** at $750. "not $1000 as state by cust. **** authorized and paid for diag and received the est. dated 05/11/15. We have done our best to explain to Ms. S how the vehicle's on board diagnostic system works; The difference between not ready monitors, that must be cleared by driving after the veh's DTCs emission codes had been cleared, (elsewhere), and the diagnostic & repair of actual emission component failures which ultimately set multiple DTCs codes ( PO171 PO300 PO455 ) & set a chk eng light. Our charges for services performed on ****'s vehicle are very fair. Our communication with her & son, have been timely & concise. **** Tire & Service has operated multiple locations in the Charlotte region for over 30 years, and has performed over 170,000 NCSIs. It is often the case that customers become frustrated with the process. We sympathize with ****, her vehicle is in considerable disrepair and she is attempting to circumvent the lawful processes associated with operating a vehicle in North Carolina. I would be more than willing to sit down with **** & further discuss her situation, but at this time I can not agree to her unfounded, request for a refund. Sincerely,

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
firsT I must say that **** is accusing me of " her vehicle is in considerable disrepair and she is attempting to circumvent the lawful processes associated with operating a vehicle in North Carolina" is SLANDER! I brought my car in as per NC law and there job was to pass ** fail my car of which they did neither. They performed an unnecesay diagnostic test for $90 that still did NOT pass ** fail my car. They new that performing this test was not going to give a reading either way. All it did was allow them to give me an estimate of repairs, This is a 2006 vehicle. Of course it needs repairs! I need my car to adhere to the NC law, not be fully repaired in every sense. And their first quote to me on the phone was $1000. Their written estimate was 733.22. And yes I paid $15 ($90 plus $45). Every other mechanic I have brought it to has not charged me because they tell me right of the bat that they can not pass ** fail the vehicle. The vehicle is missing two codes. So tell my why **** had to do a $90 diagnostic test knowingly my vehicle still could not be read and the inspection could not be performed, Which is what I brought the car in for.
I am not trying to break the law. I am just trying to get the vehicle an inspection of PASS ** FAIL. If it fails than I take the next step of repairing whats necessary to pass.
I AM STILL REQUESTING A REFUND FOR $90 DIAGNOSTIC TEST THAT WAS SUGGESTED BY THEM. This test was completely unnecessary. They way they explained this was that it would aid in the inspection process. Meanwhile all it did was produce an estimate of repairs. The codes are the indicators of what needs to be done to pass ** inspection laws.
I am not looking to get my car passed ** not up to the standards of NC law. What I am looking for is my car to pass ** fail an inspection. And NO mechanic can do this until my car has the codes ready. Every mechanic told me that there is no reason **** perfomed an unnecessary diagnostic test knowing that it would NOT lead to a viable inspection (pass ** fail) for which is what I came in for.
The estimate attached shows basic tune up and minor repairs. I did not have to spend $90 for that estimate.


Final Business Response
To whom it may concern.I am so sorry that **** was not satisfied with our initial response. I maintain that **** use the information gained from the diagnostic procdures we performed, to make the necessary repairs to her vehicle. Once the vehicle has been repaired it will be more likely to complete it's drive cycle with out setting new emission codes,and ultimately satisfying the North Carolina State Inspection requirements. I further suggest that a NC Dept. of Transprotation Officer NCDOT review **** attemps to inspect her vehicle, in order to validate our procedures. I will be more that happy to initiate that contact on her behalf. Please conact me if you feel this is an appropriate action. Moreover; I welcome any dialog with any of the mechanics **** refers to in hopes of clarifing the situation.

07/27/2015Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service, Transmissions - Automobile, Tire Repair, Auto Repair - Shocks, Auto Inspection Stations, Tire Dealers, Brakes - Manufacturers & Distributors

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.