BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/06/2012

Fairway Tire and Auto

Phone: (704) 596-0043Fax: (704) 598-39115221 Sunset Rd Ste A, Charlotte NC 28269-2869

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/06/2012

BBB has determined that Fairway Tire and Auto meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Fairway Tire and Auto's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Fairway Tire and Auto

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
12/09/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Install new battery in BMW; Not correctly, cause later issues.
November 13, 2013
Ticket:*****
Customer Information:
****** ***
*************************
*******************
(***)********

Vehicle Information:
Year:2001
Make: BMW
Model:325i
Engine: 2.5L 6-Cyl(M54 B25)
VIN: ****************
License: ******
Mileage: 132,564

Description: R&R Battery
Part: NONSTK
QTY:0.50
Price: 75.00
Amount: 37.50

Manager: *** *****
Mechanic: ******

It was paid using a Visa card.

I came in on this day to have my new battery installed and the computer reprogrammed because I have a BMW and that is the necessary steps in replacing a new battery in this car. I left the shop thinking that everything was repaired correctly. On November 17, my car would not start and it was reprogrammed. I had to have it towed to the shop on this night from work. The next morning on November 18, I came into the shop telling them what the problem was and that it must had reprogrammed itself believing that they performed this action of reprogramming the computer. Unfortunately it was not reprogrammed the first time which cause my car to shut off. I think that this is a safety procedure that could have been avoided. While I was there trying to get my vehicle repaired and not be charged an additional price for their mistake, one of the mechanics gave me back my keys and said, "I can not work on your car anymore." I did not understand why someone would work on my car the first time and not repair it correctly then refuse to repair it the second time. I therefore asked to speak to the manager and explained the situation to him, I tried to ask for the refund but he would not refund it and charged me an additional price of reprogramming my computer that they should have been done initially . At this time I was highly upset. I just did not understand the way this repair shop conducted business and I believe I should have justice from this situation. I have a feeling that they were just taking advantage of the fact that I was a young female. This situation caused me to miss out on my revenue because I could not make it to work because of a minor issue that could have been resolved beforehand. I spent more money then I had to because of this situation and I believe this is not the correct way to handle any kind of business.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund and I would also see the steps of shutting down this business because the mechanics are not knowledgeable of the cars they repair. I believe that they should not have certification in the mechanic field.

Business Response
We installed the customers battery at her request and charger .5 labor hours 37.50 charges determined by all data labor guide. Customer brought the car back six days later stating it was not working and we needed to fix it. We told her we would check the car to see what was wrong and there might be a charge if further work was needed. She stated that the computer may need to be reprogrammed and we told her that would cost 110.00 dollars to get done. She stated she should be refunded for the battery install. This was work already done and agreed upon by the customer. Without any further comment the customer left and had a tow truck remove the vehicle from our shop. It's our position we did nothing wrong and were not given any chance to inspect the vehicle to find anything

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
My car was worked on to replace a battery in a BMW would is known that the computer needs to be reprogrammed to work for the new battery. I was serviced the battery installation on November 13,2013 ; my car stopped working on November 17, 2013 where it was towed to the auto repair shop until they opened the next day. A routinely issue such as replacing a battery should be known how to be done properly by all mechanics. I came into the shop on November 13, 2013 with the expectation that you replaced my battery correctly. I paid for a service that should had automatically include the reprogramming of my computer; that is one of the most important steps of replacing a battery in a BMW,. I thought the service was inexpensive for everything that needed to be done that is why I was satisfied when I left on November 13, 2013 . I should be refunded for what you did not completely properly the first time , which caused me to come back November 17, 2013 with an issue that should had been already completed. I strongly believe that you should know more about the cars you service. I am suppose to come to you with the advice of my car since it is your profession, it should not be a customer informing you on how to do your job .

Final Business Response
We contacted a local bmw dealer and they told us that the computer does not usually need to be reprogramed when the battery is repalced.We use alldata software to determine the cost of jobs as well as any special procedures that a job may call for.There was no information that called for the computer to be reprogramed .The rate for just replacing the battery was .5 hours or 37.50 that was the charge. The customer brought their own battery.When they returned with the problem and told us that they believed the computer needed to be reprogramed we told them we would check the vehicle for them to find the problem.We also told the customer that if the computer needed to be reprogramed ther would be a charge for that service. This charge will be made at any garage the car is taken to.We did not have any opprotunity to check out the car or do anything from that point on. The customer had the vehicle towed off the lot without any further communication.If we are given the chance we will be happy to do what we can to resolve the issue.

10/13/2014Problems with Product / Service
12/13/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service, Auto Services - Oil & Lube, Auto Services, Auto Repair - Windshield, Glass Shops, Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto, Truck Rent & Lease, Transmissions - Automobile, Radiators - Automotive, Lubricating Service - Automotive, Engines - Fuel Injection Service & Parts, Brake Service, Auto Repair - Power Steering, Auto Repair - Suspension, Auto Air Conditioning, Tire Dealers, Engines - Gas

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/18/2007Business started: 01/01/1996
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

NC Department of Environment and Natural Resources
1601 Mail Service Ctr
Raleigh, NC 27699-1600
(877) 623-6748
http://portal.ncdenr.org/web/guest

BBB records show a license number of 200208863O for this company, issued by NC Department of Environment and Natural Resources. Their web address is http://portal.ncdenr.org/web/guest.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joe Lyles (President)Mr. Scott Granger (Co-Owner)
Number of Employees

6

Business Category

Auto Repair & Service, Auto Services - Oil & Lube, Auto Services, Auto Repair - Windshield, Glass Shops, Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto, Truck Rent & Lease, Transmissions - Automobile, Radiators - Automotive, Lubricating Service - Automotive, Engines - Fuel Injection Service & Parts, Brake Service, Auto Repair - Power Steering, Auto Repair - Suspension, Auto Air Conditioning, Tire Dealers, Engines - Gas

Alternate Business Names
Fairway Tire, Lube & Auto, LLC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Fairway Tire and Auto has received 3.7 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Fairway Tire and Auto

5221 Sunset Rd Ste A

Charlotte , NC 28269-2869

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5221 Sunset Rd Ste A 

    Charlotte, NC 28269-2869(704) 596-0043
    Fax: (704) 598-3911

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Fairway Tire and Auto is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Repair & Service

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.