BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/03/2010

Darrell's Garage

Phone: (704) 867-8566Fax: (704) 853-0651317 N Pine St, GastoniaNC 28054-3181

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/03/2010

BBB has determined that Darrell's Garage meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Darrell's Garage's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Darrell's Garage

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
03/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Took vehicle in to have repaired because it would not crank.
In October if 2013 I had my vehicle towed to this shop to have repaired because it would not crank. I was told that it needed some type of harness because it was burnt out. I felt that i was way overcharged for this repair. I was given a price before the repair was even done. How they new how long it was going to take beats me. That was $560. Labor was over $400. Well after i got my car back i got all these lights popping up. Now my horn doesnt work, my heat doesnt work and they were suppose to replace some type of antifreeze housing. I took it back to them and they told me it would be over $400 to fix my horn when everything else was working perfectly fine. I cant even get my car inspected!! I am highly upset and dissatisfied with this repair shop. Till words cant describe. Then at times my car wont start unless it sits for several minutes. This is on my 2006 Chrysler 300.

Desired Settlement
I just want my car fixed or take it somewhere else to have it repaired and Darrell's Garage take care of the bill!!!! Highly upset.

Business Response
Thurs 10/13/XXXX X:XXpm - Called Customer. No Answer. Left Message for them to call me back.

To Review:
Customers car towed to our shop due to starter inop.
Owner admitted she had the starter & the battery recently replaced at another shop. We diagnosed the problem as a "burned fused link" in the starter feed harness (12 volts available at battery, but only 4 volts actually getting through to starter). It was necessary to remove upper intake manifold plenum for access as the affected harness is located between the engine and firewall. Repairs also included an oil change, and replacing a badly leaking plastic coolant bleeder housing on the intake plenum while it was accessable on the workbench at no extra labor.
4 months later, In February of 2014 customer returned with the "SRS" light on & the horn inop. We diagnosed a faulty "clockspring mechanism" inside the steering column behind the steering wheel. (The broken/shorted clockspring mechanism is a common failure with the Chrysler Product, so much so that the local dealers keep the parts in stock and Chrysler has actually issued numerous recalls on these parts on various models). Advised owner of problem found and gave them an estimate to repair, which was declined at the time. Diagnoses was done at "no charge" to owner. And, we have not heard from owner since.
Needless to say, the clockspring failure behind the steering wheel in the passenger *************** nothing in common with the engine harness repair under the hood made 4 months earlier. Customer has not contacted me concerning any "other" lights coming on, nor intermittant starting issues, so cannot answer those.
I will continue to try contact customer to try set up an appointment at her convenience to check out these other issues if they wish.
***** ********
Owner: Darrell's Garage

Final Business Response
Tuesday 3/18/XXXX X:XX pm
Called Customer back again at their published phone# and once again "no answer". This is the 3rd attempt to reach customer and have left a message each time requesting them to call me back anytime during our normal working hrs Mon - Fri, 8am - 6pm. To this date we have not heard from them. Will suspend attempts to reach them and wait for them to respond.

***** G
Darrells Garage

05/21/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I took my car in for a timing belt/water pump replacement , and the replacement failed, resulting in a damaged cylinder head.
I took my 2007 Suzuki Forenza in to have the timing belt and water pump replaced as recommended . The work was completed. Within a few months the water pump failed, and ****** honored the warranty, and replaced the pump again free of charge. A few week later the car began to overheat, and I took it back in, ****** told me I had a bad Cylinder head. and that my best bet was to replace the entire engine, or since I would also be needing break-work done soon, maybe just to buy a new car. I thought this very suspicious and was hesitant to use his services again. I suspected the damage had been caused by the failed water pump. I asked him directly when the first pump failed if it had caused any collateral damage, to which he replied "no". I took it to another garage and they repaired it for $800.

Desired Settlement
I firmly believe that the failed pump damaged my engine, ****** even stated that this was the third time that this particular part had failed, and that he would no longer use it. When I asked him if it failed again would it still be under warranty, he became visibly agitated, and told me I has already exercised my rights, and that was the end of it. When he tried to get me to replace the entire engine, at a additional cost of ~$2,400, or just buy a new car I knew something was wrong.I found ****** to be very congenial, and liked him very much, but I do not think he is being honest with me.

Business' Initial Response
Just received the 5/8/13 notification (no evidence of the 4/29/13 notification having been received here)
Customer has not contacted me. I have left a message at his home phone @ 6:45pm 5/9/13 to please call me back.

Business' Final Response
5/17/2013 - Friday. No contact from customer today, nor was there any contact from customer yesterday, Thurs 5/16/2013.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service, Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto, Radiators - Automotive, Engines - Fuel Injection Service & Parts, Brake Service, Auto Electric Service, Auto Diagnostic Service

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 01/28/1999Business started: 06/01/1972
Type of Entity


Incorporated: May 1992, NC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Terry A. Gregoire (Owner)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Auto Repair & Service, Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto, Radiators - Automotive, Engines - Fuel Injection Service & Parts, Brake Service, Auto Electric Service, Auto Diagnostic Service

Alternate Business Names
Gregoire Enterprises, Ltd.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Darrell's Garage

317 N Pine St

Gastonia, NC 28054-3181

To | From


1 Locations

  • 317 N Pine St 

    Gastonia, NC 28054-3181(704) 867-8566
    Fax: (704) 853-0651

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Darrell's Garage is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.


Industry Tips for Auto Repair & Service


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.