BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/20/2013

SmartWheels

(704) 496-77447401 South Blvd, Charlotte NC 28273-5907

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/20/2013

BBB has determined that SmartWheels meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered SmartWheels' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.

Factors that raised SmartWheels' rating include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service1
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on SmartWheels
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
07/09/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation did not disclose key conditions of the offer

Complaint: I have been taken advantage of by misleading sales reps and by the finance dept
I went into smart wheels to purchase custom wheels for my 2010 VA Jetta. The sales people were friendly as most are. I selected my wheels and they were mounted and balanced on my car. When I was driving home my car did not feel the same. Fine after market products are not the same as factory fine. The deception comes in when I never received a copy of my financial agreement. I was just told the longer you take to pay the more you will spend. I was rushed because this was the end of the day they were closing and i I work six days a week. Throughout my financial agreement I have made every payment on time. Everything I have made a payment I have asked each person what is my current balance. Each one informed me but never stated this balance was only good until 6/6/2014. I changed jobs and asked for a payment to be deffered. They said sure never letting me know that this would put me in jeopardy of the discounted price that I'm just finding out about on 6/6/2014. I never received a copy of the contract and never knew i would be obligated to pay an additional 500$ for being one day late. I even asked if I could pay the balance owed which changed from 150$ to 250$ to avoid paying 750$. They said no mind you this was on 6/6/2014. I feel that I have been taken advantage of. When I spoke to *********** concerning my car loan they had no problem making arrangements because of my employment situation. This is totally financially unfair. 1 day and now I have to pay an additional 500$. Their advertisements and sales dept and finance dept were very misleading and deceptive taking advantage of consumers trust

Initial Business Response
Our Operations Manager, **** *****, has called the customer today to discuss his concerns. After leaving a voicemail, the customer called back and hung up when **** tried to speak with him about his account. Our agreement clearly states that the expiration for the customer's 120 Days Same-As-Cash option was 6/5/14. The customer signed the agreement and also initialed the paragraph explaining the Same-As-Cash option and expiration date. We are happy to discuss this and any other issue with the customer if he will call or visit our SmartWay or SmartWheels location on South Blvd and speak with either **** ***** or ***** *******. Thanks for the opportunity to resolve this issue.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
this is absurd.I have not called anyone.Why isnt anyone addressing the fact that they would not let me pay the 250 I owed 6/6/2014. or the fact the my tpms has not been working which is against federal regulations. I was mislead and taken advantage of my a deceptive sales and finance dept. they never gave me a copy of this contract.I have went to the web site smart wheels.net and I have yet to see where I can make a payment or review my account history.

Final Business Response
Mr. ******* has discussed his account with ***** ******* and made a payment on his custom wheels and tires on 7/3/14. He is scheduled to make another payment on 7/11/14. If he has any other questions, he is welcome to call or visit our location at 5415 South Blvd., where we'll be happy to review his lease agreement with him again, print him another copy of it, and/or resolve any other issues with his wheels or tires. Thanks for the opportunity to respond to this issue.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

12/16/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation used high pressure methods

Complaint: My husband and I purchased a set of tires and rims and were told that $250.01 would have us paid out in time and that was a lie, we now owes more.
The expire date was Nov 15th and i went in on the 18th to make a payment and that's when I found out that we owed an additional $1,500.00 and the bill was paid down to $640.00. I tried to tell *****(no longer at the company) that I wanted to wait until I had more money to at least put half of the $1,300.00 down. ***** kept on assisting that I make the purchase because he was trying to help us. On Nov 18th my husband and I went in and spoke to the general manager and he told us that he couldn't promise us anything but he would try, two days later I still haven't heard anything so I called him and left several messages. The day after that I went in and talked to the general manager and he told me that he has not heard anything but he would be calling me on the next day. No call from him so I made another visit and I was told that he was out of the office. I left a message for him to call me and as of today I have not heard from him.

Initial Business Response
We have called our customer twice today and have not received a call back. The 120 days same-as-cash expiration date of 11/15/13, along with the payout amount, has been printed on each receipt and was 11/15/13. We will be happy to discuss this and answer any questions the customer has.

Final Consumer Response
Hello ****, I wanted to make sure you receive my fax today. I faxed them just a minute or two before 2:00 pm. We did not received a contract or anything. The company want us to come into the office again this Monday to discuss some figures. My reminding balance should be $390.58 but they keep saying that the contract was expired and I keep telling them that the salesman just wanted to make a sale so he set us up on a wrong payment plan from the beginning then told us as long as we pay the acct in full by the end of Nov, we would be fine but the whole deal to me was just a setup for the company to make more money off their customers.

Final Business Response
Our General Manager, ***** ******** met with our customer this morning and agreed on what the payout amount will be for this lease agreement. We appreciate the opportunity to continue to serve Mr. and Mrs. ******.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

04/10/2013Billing / Collection Issues
09/25/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to substantiate charges

Complaint: Worst company to do business with ever.
From the time I got into business with this company, they would add charges with no real explanation of the charges. I didnt get a copy of my contract as requested until today when I paid my balance off. They are a hot mess. Very rude and hood. Everytime a payment came due, a new fee was tagged on. I also received harassing phone calls when my payments werent even due.

Initial Business Response
We appreciate all of our customers. When a lease renewal payment is made past the due date, there is a late fee, as we disclose in our lease agreements that we fully explain and ask that all of our customers sign. We are happy to review any customer's payment history and signed lease agreement in order to answer any questions.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I want a refund of my late fees.

Final Business Response
Ms. ******, as you will see in your Lease Agreement with us, there is a $5 one-time late fee charged each time a payment is not made by your due dates. During your agreement, you were charged a late fee on 6/19 (payment was due on 6/15), 7/20 (payment was due on 7/15), 7/27 (payment was due 7/25), 8/3 (payment was due on 8/2), and 8/31 (payment was due on 8/30. If you'd like to come in and review your exact pay history, please feel free to do that any time. Thanks for your business!

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

07/19/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Contract Complaint Issue

Complaint: Told that the 120 days same as cash was up on 07/14/13, unable to reach the company, went to pay the $41.88 dollars due, and was told that I owe 204.0
I purchased 3 tires from Smart Auto under 120 day same as cash which expired on 07/14/13. I attempted to contact them on 07/14 and again this morning with no answer. After I got off from Work I went to the office and was told that in one day, I now owe $204.00 additional dollars, after already paying close to $300.00 for three tires. I feel that if your office is not open on 07/14/13, then how can a payment be made and how can the bill go from 41.88 to 204.00 in less than 24 hours.

Business' Initial Response
I have called the customer at the only contact number I have, ************, and it is not a working number. Please call my direct office line at ************ and I'll be happy to discuss the account. The 120 days same-as-cash option did expire on July 14. Every receipt our customers receive clearly states the Expiration Date of the same-as-cash period, as does the Lease Agreement. We are unable to adjust that date. Again, thanks for your business and please call if you would like to discuss further.

Consumer's Final Response
I also spoke with ****, identified as the Manager on the July 16th and was advised that I should have paid on Saturday. I was not aware that they were closed on Sunday, since they are also a car lot and furniture store, all with inflated prices, I assumed that they were open 7 days a week. So being closed on the due date is there error, so actually the agreement expired on July 13th, not the 14th.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Parts & Supplies - Custom Wheels/Rims, Wheels, Auto Customizing, Tire Dealers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/29/2013Business started: 05/14/2012
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ben Bost (President)Mr. Chris Caspair (General Manager)
Number of Employees

10

Business Category

Auto Parts & Supplies - Custom Wheels/Rims, Wheels, Auto Customizing, Tire Dealers

Alternate Business Names
SmartWay of the Carolinas, LLC, Smart Wheels

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for SmartWheels

7401 South Blvd

Charlotte , NC 28273-5907

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 7401 South Blvd 

    Charlotte, NC 28273-5907(704) 496-7744

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*SmartWheels is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Parts & Supplies - Custom Wheels/Rims

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.