BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 02/16/2006

National Auto Sales 1

Phone: (828) 441-2271Fax: (828) 441-2276

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Problems with Product / Service5
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints8

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (8)
08/25/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Salesman falsified bank contract and cursed me out for not telling bank what he wanted them to hear. Bank stated insufficient collateral value on vehi
Salesman was dishonest and wanted me to advise bank of false information. He kept harassing me on my job and threatening me with warrants and texting him on company time. He cursed me and called me names in text messages. He scared my girlfriend so bad that she had her vehicle returned back to him. He even called my home and spoke with my mother without my authorization. This was less than one week after he had 2 vehicles delivered to me. His name is xxxxx and I would not recommend anyone ever dealing with him.

Desired Settlement
I want completely released from any contractual obligations with him is he is nothing but a crook and a thief. No matter what he tells you, he is only looking out for his own best interests. There are no direct dealings with this representative whatsoever. My mom asked to speak with his boss and he told her there was no boss over him.

Business Response
you have bought your car and you can drive it for a while and deside to bring back you sign a bill of sale there no cooling period we thank you for your purchase it was a pleasure doing business with you and your mom

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Salesman mentioned nothing about fact of calling and texting me with threats and cursing me the way he did.

Final Business Response
THIS TRY TO COMITTE FRAUD AND HAD HIS GIRL FRIEND DRIVING WHO IS A EX CON AND HAS OPEN PENDING CRIMES NOW AND HAS APAST OD OBTAINING GOOD FROM FALSE PRETENCES THER EBOTH CROOKS PLEASE GOOD ELSEWHERE THEY BANNED FROM OUR DEALERSHIP

08/13/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Employees contacting me numerous times harassing me about purchasing a car and running my credit through a ton of times.
I filled out a finance application for purchasing a vehicle with this company along with my brother who was going to cosign for me if I decided to buy a car. The day we went to look at their inventory the sales staff not once did they exit their office to assist us. They wouldn't tell us prices just told us to pick out a car and the price would be on the key so we left. In the days following they continued running my brothers credit and mine and found out I had purchased a car through a local dealership and text me lying saying the dealership had contacted them wanting to know if natonal auto was able to finance me. Why would another dealership ask you that? I received numerous text saying they hoped I had gotten a high interest and payment because I deserved it and that my credit was terrible. I had to ask them numerous times to stop texting and calling and to shred my information and my brothers. They told me I had wasted their time not to ever come back there again. This place is very unprofessional

Desired Settlement
I think they should be investigated for their harassment tendencies and terrible customer service that they provide to someone who chooses not to ppurchase through them.

Business Response
******** called many times with different co sign to point where we told please don't call again unless we have some one good credit each time it cost 5 dolars to run there credit she called repeatly we were getting 4 or 5 calls a day athen when she had us check here bother credit she us the salemens time and dis reguard his efforts and wasted a lot of his time she is very rude and should treat people how she want s to be treated and please go elsewhere she is a time waster


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
epeatedly received phone calls and text messages from this business before even going to the lot to look for a car once I was there. I don't see how I wasted anyone's time when the only thing you did was run my credit and my brothers credit numerous times sitting behind your desk not one salesmen walked out to show us around. How rude is it to say I wasted your time. your unprofessional I think you should take a customer service class. I will provide text messages showing the rudeness.

08/12/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Contact on my personal number and at work in regards to services that i have more than once told them that i do not wish to pursue.
xxxxx with this auto sales group has called me multiple times has hung up ln me and cussed me and caused me hard times and harrassed me at my work place about an auto loan i applied for. I told him i was no longer interested and he continues to call and harrass me. There have been others from this auto group call over and over but xxxxx is the one that cussed me

Desired Settlement
Quit calling me on my cell or at my place of business.

Business Response
customer applied for a car if not looking please don't apply we called you very ignorant to our salesmen you rude and we file a compliant with the firehouse chief about your attitude you should not be in public service and represent a job that contact with people

05/26/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
with holding information about vehicle and not honoring verbale agreement
on 04/24/2014 myself and my wife purchased a used 2011 camaro with 60,000 miles on it from national auto sales 1 in xxxxx c.salesman xxxxx and owner xxxxx promised to get me the spare tire and jack that was missing.i called several times and all they both would say was they were working on it.on 04/28/2014 i had a friend that works for a new xxxxx dealership run a auto check on the vehicle i had purchased and found out it had been involved in a accident in nj.i called xxxxx and confronted him with why this wasnt disclosed to begin with.his reply was to just bring the car back and he would pay off the loan because he sold me the car too cheap to begin with.i told ho
im that by state law that if it was 25% or more of the alue that it had to be disclosed.i got no reply.i called th nj township that the accident happened and got a copy of the accident report.on 05/09/2014 i went by the car lot to pick up my tag and xxxx wanted me to sign a xxxxx showing the car had been wrecked.i told him it was a little to late for that and refused to sign anything.i still havent got the spare or jack.i contacted to attorney generals consumer protection office and talked to xxxxx.she told me to obtain a copy of the wreck report and a good faith estiment of the cost of repairs and any dollar amount that the insurance had paid out for repairs and if it meet or exceeded 25% of the value at the time of the accident that it was state law it be disclosed and that i had to sign the papers asying i new the vehicle was wrecked.the way they are conducting buisness by not telling people they are buying a vehicle that has been wrecked is dishonest and could be illegal.i have also filled a complaint with the attorney generals office and dmv. i also asked for a full extended warranty package that wasnt added in.

Desired Settlement
a NEW OME GM spare tire package for a 2011 camaro.NOT JUNKYARD STUFF and a full extended warranty that i asked for when i purchased the car that xxxxx didnt see fit to add in.or we can let the attorney generals office handle it which ever way they see fair.

Business Response
mr ****** can re turn the we pay iy off if he is not satisfied the car did not come with a spare from factory he did not by a warrentty we offer now we don't want mr ****** as a customer we advise him all this and he said he still want to keep the car again we like to take him out of car and let him go elsewhere if he can

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First off.its very hard to understand the response and make out what is being said.second is that i have the vis or build sheet(window sticker)for the car from GM.2011 camaros came with one of two options.a spare tire and jack or a sealer/air compressor package.that was on ALL camaros moron.i have the window sticker showing what it came with and they both cost the same so i will let you guess which one it had.now as far as buying back the car this is what it will be.18,000 dollars to pay off the loan.2,500 dollars for the CASH down payment as stated on the sales contract.438.57 dollars for the payment i allready paid a month ahead of time.500.25 doolars i paid for four new tires and1,500 dollars i paid for the insurance.the two options are buy a new GM ome spare tire and jack kit orcompressor kit or paid off the list up top.any further communication with me if you do niether will be made thru xxxxx law offices in xxxxx,the state attorney generals comsumer protection division of ncja and the license/theft devision of the ncdmv.YOU pick

Final Business Response
This customer was informed and given a car fax we told it had minor body work we have bought this in a green light at auction and it had less 25 percent body we ask him to sign the car fax and he would he well knew this and was looking to get free stuff we worked very hard to get financing he had tried many time before to get a loan and after he had the care using scare tatics to get free items witch he did want to pay for like extended warrenty he treating and said he would use his power as a correction officer to contract stae ageny if he did not get want threating we turned this over to our attorney in for further action if needed we told from day we would buy the car and pay off loan the next when he came to our dealership before he if he was not happy we no this is a good car he tried to bait the salesmen this car had no paint worked when I stepped inn and said they all have some minior paint work but no flood or salvage to day he signed this guy is creep and trys to abuse his power working for the state as an officer he should be repermanded for abuse off power we looking into that as well iam sure we have all supporting docs from auction to back this up we could sell this car to a good customer and be happy as well as sell to and auction for what he paid he knows that and now just want free stuff must have a lot time on his hands at work

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Car came with a compressor/sealantkit.i have the build sheet from gm.i will settle for a NEW FACTORY compressor kut in NEW condition from GM

11/18/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Warranty that was told we had purchased and that was added to our loan was not honored.
Three months ago we had bought a 2008 BMW 328i with less than 60000 miles on it. Was told the cost of the car was 19,000 dollars. We specifically told the salesman that we would not purchase the car without a warranty. He said that is fine and would be added to the loan. This was an extended warranty since the manufacture's warranty had ran out. So the cost of the car was 22,000 dollars. On 11/11/13 our car does not start. Our check engine lights come on. So we have it towed to a garage. On 11/12/13 my girlfriend call the dealership and the salesman rudely tells her that we do not have an extended warranty then hangs up. She calls back 3 more times and is hung up on everytime. So she goes up there and is still rudely talked to. The salesman tells her that the loan company wouldn't finance the extended warranty and that she was lucky to even get the car. After hearing this she ask for a copy of all the papers we signed. The salesman told her that she would have to get them from Raliegh. Even though the file he had in his hands had her signature on them. She leaves the dealership and goes to the garage. The nice mechanic tells her that the repairs will probably cost 1000 dollars. I have purchased 2 cars from this lot. The first one I had problems with but were an easy fix. I am very dissatisfied with how my girlfriend was treated. Lastly their were 4 people in that room that heard him say we had an extended warranty on the car. If he had told us we couldn't get a warranty on the car we wouldn't have purchased it. We told him that and that is why he lied to us.

Desired Settlement
I would like for the salesman to redo the loan for the original price we were quoted which is $19,000. then take off for the payments we have already made on the vehicle. Which has been $1260.

Business Response
we had offer a warrentty to this customer if they wanted to pay cash for it the lender would not finance it and cuto the dela back this customer never finace or paid for it and if they they would of seen on there bill of sale and had a copy at time of pick up we tret the women very nicly until call 10 times and demanding we sold her a car and she had a warrenty both people signed as is and we tried to sell a less expensive care but she only wanted a bmw a lesser car would been able to fit a warrentty but not on a more expensive car the bank xxxxx would not lend on this customer over 22k on other they would lend 26k with no problem debt ratio as per the call the customer never paid for a warrentty period we would of liked if she had one in stead calling 10 times and trying to push her will with everyone she talked to we had hard time sell both car next time please go else where


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I knew you would say that because you wouldn't keep your word. We took your word that the 22,000 was with an extended warranty and you took advantage because we told you if there wasn't a warranty we wouldn't buy the vehicle. That is fine though because the file you had in front of you when the lady came in and wanted copies we will get those one way or another. I am sorry you do not treat your customers the way you are supposed to.

Final Business Response
If Extended warranty is purchase with this BMW please bring in the contract of the Extended warranty or call warranty company neither way we always honor the warranty that we sell(Contract of Extended warranty),or it will brake down showing that you pay for warranty on box it said warranty on your finance contract which is you have. You can go anywhere in the US to buy used car and drive it for 3 mons no one would fix that car without you buy Extended warranty.We sorry you have bad experien like that like we said if you have extended warranty it would alot easier.We have nothing to hide we give you what we supose to gave you at the time you sign papers work.If you have any proof of the Extended warranty you purchase please feel free to bring them in.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Auto Dealers-New & Used Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.