BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/23/2010

McAdenville Motors

Phone: (704) 824-7433Fax: (704) 824-74535347 Wilkinson Blvd, GastoniaNC 28056-8257

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/23/2010

BBB has determined that McAdenville Motors meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised McAdenville Motors' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on McAdenville Motors

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (8)BBB Closure Definitions
09/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company did not disclose title information and knew of mechanical issues on car and sold it anyway.
I bought a 2003 bmw x5 that I was told had a clean title.

When I was driving it for a test drive the check engine light popped on. When I asked about it he said that I should not worry that it wasn't a problem. Upon my husband arriving to inspect the car I told him about the problem and they told him it was just a oxygen sensor. My husband can fix that so he told me it would be fine and we bought the car.

Then it all started.

Lights came on to check the rear lights and the brake lights. These lights were flickering and when I took it to be looked at they needed all new assemblies to work properly on the car. The light assemblies themselves are over 200 dollar a piece.

I had a check engine oil light come on. There were a ton of oil leaks that had to be fixed as well as coolant leaks. This cost me 800 dollar to fix because there were so many.

Then a few months after that stuff I was driving down the road and one of my tires blew. They had sold me a car with the incorrect rim size on the back and the tires had rubbed on the wheel well for so long, because they were too wide, and caused the rear tire on the drivers side to blow and the passenger side was right behind it. I could have really hurt someone. My 2 year old was in the car with me at the time too. I had to buy a new set of rims and tires. The new rims cost me 400 dollar because thank god I knew someone that could find me some used ones but the tires were 800 dollars.

When I finally got around to fixing the oxygen sensor it was not really the oxygen sensor. The catalytic converters needed to be replaced. The work and labor for these catalytic converters are 1800 dollars each. The car needs two

2 of the control arms have had to be replaced as well. These cost me 300 dollar each.

This is all in a one year span. And I haven't even gotten to the best part. The title is branded. So while they gave me paperwork saying the title is fine and as far as the loan company knows it is fine, the car fax says otherwise. The car title is branded and so when I finally had enough and went to trade the car in I couldn't get what I was told it was worth because they lied to me. The car could have been traded for about 6000 dollars I barely got 3000 dollars for it.

Desired Settlement
I would like my money I paid for the car back as well as the money for everything that was fixed due to their neglect and the fact that the flat out lied about the title for the car.

Business Response
I looked up Ms xxxxx file and went through it this sale took place under the previous manager xxxxx and I can see where she purchased this vehicle AS IS we allow all customers to have a vehicle checked out by there mechanic weather or not she did that I don't know I was not there and I don't see where she purchased a warranty either. Further more I just checked today 8/26/14 on this vehicle in question it is a 5 owner no accident vehicle with No Title or Odometer issues. People in general have a misconception about buying a vehicle when you purchase a vehicle from an individual or a dealership after that transfer of ownership takes place any current and future problems are your responsibility to take care of and we offer warranties at the time of the sale it is up to the consumer to purchase that warranty or not. I'm sorry that Ms xxxxx has had some issues out of her vehicle if we knew of something being wrong with it we would have addressed it prior to the sale.

05/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I thought they were good business people but was I wrong!!! Do not buy from them without getting the vehicle looked at first trust me!!!

I purchased a 2004 Audi A8 from them on 03/28/2014 not even an hour after I purchased the vehicle the radio stopped working, the next morning the check engine light came on and a week later, the window regulator broke. The next day I went back to the dealer and spoke with xxxxx the guy who sold me the car he said he would get the radio fixed for me or replace it keep in mind this is less then 24 hrs after I purchased the vehicle. I said cool. I told him about the check engine light he kinda brushed it off, I said no biggie I'll take care it myself as long as they get this radio fixed, I call him a week later after I had the Audi dealership look at the vehicle and he acts as if he never said this to me, what a lie I would never do any type of business with these guys again, why lie about it if you never planned on fixing the radio he should have just said that instead of giving me the run around. When I called him and told him what the dealer said he told me to go to xxxxx a local car stereo place, I was blown away, like whoa you sell me a vehicle and in less then 24hrs after I purchase it the check engine light comes on and the radio stops working, a week after that the window regulator breaks, I've purchased used cars before and have never had so many issues as soon as I left the lot. I didn't care about the check engine light and window regulator I would fix those things myself but for them to lie to me about they'll fix the radio is completely unprofessional and I would run from these guys if I could do it all again, you can buy from them just get everything in writing before you sign and have the vehicle looked over by the dealer if you don't want to get ripped off because obviously that do not take care of there customers or honor their word. All xxxxx kept saying is that customers complain about everything, no one is complaining I'm just addressing an issue you said you would correct. I mean less then 24 hrs come on that's not right and he knows it. Do not do business with McAdenville Motors. They'll rip you off and lie to you. Oh yea xxxxx looked at the vehicle and told me it's $500 for that check engine light and $1000 to replace the radio, I'm staring to think these guys at McAdenville Motors knew what was going on with the vehicle and sold it to me the anyways.

Desired Settlement
I just want the radio to work in a vehicle I purchased less then 3 weeks ago. I just want what xxxxx told me that he would do and take care of the radio issue, never mind the window regulator or check engine light, I'll take care of that myself just do what you said you would do. Replace my radio or get it fixed

Business Response
The dealer ship is currently working with the customer to resolve this issue and assist the customer in getting his radio repaired. There were NO known issues with this vehicle when sold and customer signed an AS-IS agreement as does all cutomers. No matter what time elapsed, it is a used car and there is no way to forsee any failures in parts of any kind. It is now totally in the customers hands to get the information to me to assist in repairing the radio and no promises are made to the customer!! The dealership will however make all efforts to help the customer with their problems.

01/16/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
False promises of taking delivery of 99 dodge ram 1500 4wd 5.2l silver, it was guaranteed approval, xxxxx assured me I would be driving it home today.
Was promised over the phone twice yesterday from xxxxx, that I would leave today with 99 dodge ram 1500, went down this morning to test drive truck and returned back after 20 minutes of driving it, then after 15 minutes of returning they stopped talking to me and finishing my paperwork, to speak to 2 elderly guys with 5900 check, then xxxxx told me I couldn't get the truck due to my Tahoe for trade in, but Thursday it was fine. I had agreed to payments of 304.95 per month which would have been 12810 by time of pay off,, but xxxxx kept stalling and kept my family and I waiting for 1:30.

Desired Settlement
the 1999 dodge ram 1500 4wd, 5.2l truck,, I was going to pay them the 12810 that was agreed upon after 42 month payments.. still will if I can get the truck since xxxxx treated me falsely.

Business Response
In response to case #xxxxx, Mr xxxxx was never qualified to purchase the Dodge Ram until his trade in was appraised. Phone conversations with Mr xxxxx did not disclose the poor value of his trade and he was told by xxxxx (by my direction) that we HAVE to see the trade before anything could be promised!! Once the trade was appraised we found it to be approximatly $400 dollars less that was Mr xxxxx had described. He had no cash to make up the difference, so I was in the process of working on options for him when a customer who had already test drove the vehicle, paid cash for the truck he wanted. I still continued to work on options for Mr xxxxx, but he left. I personally heard my salesman tell Mr xxxxx twice that we have to see the trade before we could promised approval and Mr xxxxx misrepresented the condition of his trade. If you have any more questions or need any more information please contact me:
xxxxx
General Manager
McAdenville Motors

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have not received anything from the business.

Final Business Response
Mr xxxxx was told several times that he would NOT be approved until his trade was appraised properly and in person. He insisted the trade was only needing a couple of door handles and some minor repairs. After appraising the trade we found the vehicle was in very poor condition, and that Mr. xxxxx had not disclosed all of the problems to us. If he would have paid $400 more dollars down the truck would have been his. I worked on helping Mr. xxxxx get the truck until another salesman sold the vehicle before I could get his deal financed. We are not a buy here pay here dealer and do not control what the banks require to get an approval!! If the customers bad credit or lack of down payment or trade is not sufficient we have no say in approvals!!
Thank you!

10/28/2013Problems with Product / Service
10/28/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Sold me a 2007 Suzuki that they had just gotten in.They had said this was a good car-Car has been in shop 11 times since purchase date of Aug 7th-2014
I purchased a 2007 suzuki reno from mcadenville motors on 8-7-2014.From the 2nd day this car has given me problems. I have asked to get another car or refund of my $1000 down payment.They will do nothing.This car had just come into their possession-it had not even been cleaned up-xxxxx the sales rep told me this was a very dependable car.It has been in the shop for repair 11 times since i purchased it.I have asked numerous times to at least give me another vehicle and they have refused,coming up with excuse after excuse.I am on disability and cannot afford to do the repairs that are required on this car-at the present time it is sitting in my driveway-i cannot drive it due to the serpentine belt coming off and their is some kind of issue now involving something under the car that makes it hard to handle.There really should be some knid of law in north carolina that protects the consumer on used car purchases. I would expect minor things to be wrong but 11 times in the shop in 2 months is just not good.

Desired Settlement
Replacement with another car or refund of my $1000 down payment

Business Response
I'm sorry to here that you are having a problem with your vehicle if the catalytic converter was bad when we had the vehicle we would not have been able to get it inspected until it was fixed. As far as the vehicle is concerned we sell all of our vehicles as is that means you purchase it with any and all of it's faults you are given the opportunity to take vehicles on test drive and even have them checked out by your mechanic and i recall that we asked you to take it to your mechanic and your mechanic called us and said he didn't know what you were talking about the car was fine. We gave you a 3 month 4500 mile power train warranty when you purchased the vehicle at no cost to you so if any major components failed you were covered. after purchasing a vehicle it is YOUR responsibility from there on out to properly maintain your vehicle at that point the vehicle is yours and we are not responsible for the maintenance of it. We tried helping you out a couple of time after your purchase with some things you wanted addressed and after that you need to step up and take ownership of the vehicle.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
When i purchased the car i was given a 30 time limit on the tag to test drive the car i was not told i could take it to my mechanic. The only time i took it to my mechanic was after the o2 sensor went out twice. When i took it to him the check engine light was not on, Thats the reason he couldn,t check it out to tell me why the o2 sensor was going bad.When i purchased the car and brought it back for detail,cleaning the next day. The sales man xxxx told me the check engine light come on then and it was the throttle body and he had it replaced but that was not the issue. It did make the check engine light go out TEMPORARILY so it could pass inspection.This car has been in the shop 12 times since august 7 2014. When i purchased the car I put $1000 down and xxxxx told me to lie to the loan company and tell them i paid $1400 down.I should have known by him wanting to lie about things that this company was not reputable but no i thought you guys were ok.You could have put me in another car in the beginning.You knew this car was no good.When i first came down there i talked to a saleman named xxxxx,when i came back the next day he no longer worked there is what i was told,come to find out he was arrested by DMV enforcement for selling cars that were no good. Can you explain that? I have also filed a complaint with DMV and we will see how that works out.Your company on BBB has had 11 complaints since nov 2013. I'm taking it thats not all the complaints,thats just the ones people took time to do,that doesn't count all the other dis-satisfied customers who just let it go.I am on disability and your company took advantage of me,You got my $1000 down payment and 2 car payments.I for one will not settle for the lies anymore. If you all tried to work with people instead of lying to them maybe your business would profit. I am not done filing complaints,I will go as far as i have to to be compensated for my loss.I have contacted the loan company about your company having me to lie to them about the down payment.If you got this car to pass inspection, I don't understand how because it will not pass inspection now and its only been a little over 2 months.Be a reputable business and do what you know you should do,give me another car or give my money back

07/08/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Refund on holding vehicle so we can come look at it. Was told would refund once we showed up. It was just in case we didn't show up to look at it.
On 5/28/2013 I gave Credit Card info for $100.00 to a lady at McAdenville Motors to hold a 2005 BMW X5 until we could get there to look at it coming from xxxxx, NC. The lady (xxxxx. wife) ask xxxxx if they could refund it once we showed up to look at the car and in the background I heard him say YES we will refund it if they show up. This was only a deposit if we didn't show up not that we had to purchase it. We did go the next day and the vehicle was NOT what was expected nor it didn't have the options on it that we were told. I called him the next day to tell him that we were not interested and would he make sure that he had the deposit of $100.00 credited back to my Credit Card. xxxxx said that he would. I called xxxxx on 6/18/13 to find out why they haven't refunded the money and he started yelling at me stated that he never told me that and that his wife didn't even work there that she was just there to clean up that car. I proceeded to tell him that she is the one that took my information for the credit card and I heard him tell her that he would refund the $100.00 back to me once I showed up. The salesman gave her the telephone to take the information that he couldn't do it. He started yelling that I was putting words into his month and slammed the phone down on me. To also add to this he tells me and my husband while we were there that he had only been there 1 week and the previous mgr. wouldn't let anyone touch the so called nicer vehicles, that's why it looked so bad. Was told it had heated seats and DVD player complete. It had neither!!

Desired Settlement
I want my $100.00 good faith refund for showing up. Whether it be credited to my Credit Card or a check sent to me ASAP so I can put it towards my Credit Card.

Business' Initial Response
Customer asked us to take a deposit on a vehicle as it would take her several days to come and complete the viewing and acceptance of the vehicle. Our policy is all deposits to hold vehicles are non-refundable as the car was taken off the market and other customers were denied a chance to buy. They only exception is when the customer finds a problem that either the dealer cannot or will not fix before delivery. All concerns were discussed with the customer and dealer agreed to correct all concerns and then dealer was told customer would call and advise of a decision the next day. Dealership even offered to correct concerns and deliver the vehicle to the customers home. The customer then called and said to go ahead and sell the vehicle if we needed to but she wanted to think about it more. Car was then sold and a week later the customer called and said that I (the sales manager) had said she could get her deposit back. I explained to her until she showed up to see the vehicle, I had never even spoken to her before. And, that I never gave anyone the authority to promise a deposit refund that we had held for over a week.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
1. I would never offer to give a deposit to someone unless I was told I had too and it would be refunded once I SHOWED UP.
2. I was never told about any policy because YOU had only been there for 1 wk and didn't know anything about any vehicles on that lot. (Blame the other guy for all the wrong things that were there) along with xxxxx (salesman) telling me before I came down there that it had options on it that it did not. The is enough for the refund itself. (Heated seats and DVD player which it did not)
3 Sure you had never spoken to me before but YOUR WIFE has (which I found out that she doesn't work there and took my credit card info and ask you and I HEARD YOU SAY OVER THE PHONE "if YOU SHOW UP WE WILL GIVE THE DEPOSIT BACK" YOU NOT xxxxx!!

All I can say is I hope you enjoy my $100.00, you thief and also hope you can sleep at night. I will surely let others know about how crocked you are. Not a good way to start a new job......

PS I have never known of ANY dealership that holds $$ if someone comes and I do know that there wasn't anyone that even looked
at the car before I got there.....

06/25/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a vehicle from mcadenville motors and the check engine light came on that day.
I purchased a vehicle that needed a catalytic converter, the dealership stated that it replaced the part and that the check engine light went away.(they had me wait all day while they did this, before I came to the dealership they said the vehicle was ready). Anyway, the vehicle had to be delivered to me the next day and the check engine light came back while I was driving. I took the car to xxxxx the mechanics stated that the parts used by the dealership were not up to par. I called the dealership and asked to split the cost of the repairs, and so far they have either ignored my phone calls, refused to call me back, and finally refused to pay any part of the bill.

Desired Settlement
The parts cost $2500.

Business' Initial Response
Customers vehicle had a new OEM converter installed pryer to purchase of the vehicle and vehicle then passed the required xxxxx emmisions and safety inspection with no problems. Customer then called one week later saying our converter was not the correct converter and wanted at least half the cost of a grossly over priced converter as compensation. We were never given the opportunity to let the tech to inspect the vehicle to see what the problem is. The converter we installed is OEM direct replacement. Under Warranty and the customer has on file a signed AS-IS form for the DMV. I have spoken with the customer on at least four occasions and every reasonable option has been discussed, except sending the customer $1250 dollars for a problem we never saw exsist.

Consumer Response
Never resolved.

The vehicle did not pass emissions for almost two days. As I stated I showed up a day prior when I was told the vehicle was ready, but could not take it home because of this problem.

No alternative was discussed, I offered to bring the vehicle in to have it inspected and you failed to return my calls with any alternative reasonable solution. I did not ask for $1250, I simply stated that was how much new ones cost from dealership.

I was stone walled every time I called and could not speak to anyone except for the one sales associate who never had any information.

The money is not the issue, it is the way you do business.


Business Response
I was assuming this case was closed?? This customer has not asked for anything other than a cash amount and as stated in our other responses, We do not have any resolutions that the customer will accept. As stated before we have exhausted all efforts to explain what was repaired, how the car was inspected and what could be done to help. Unless we can take the vehicle and inspect it ourselves, we do not feel obligated to pay for something that we have already addressed!
xxxxx
General Manager
McAdenville Motors


Consumer Response
Not true at all. I asked how you all would like to proceed with my complaint, your manager said he would call me back. I called several times and never received as much a phone call explaining your position. The last time I spoke with one of you representatives (the same one I spoke with who never had any information and none of the managers ever seemed to be there nor have the time to call me back) he told me that you guys can't do anything because it's not your fault.

Like I have already stated, I don't care about the money or any compensation from your part. I already fixed the problem. I just want your future customers to be able to see this before buying from you guys.


01/28/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/20/2006Business started: 04/01/2004
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Division of Motor Vehicles, NC
1100 New Bern Ave.
Raleigh, NC27697-0001
(919) 861-3808
http://www.dmv.dot.state.nc.us

BBB records show a license number of 0066260 for this company, issued by Division of Motor Vehicles, NC. Their web address is http://www.dmv.dot.state.nc.us.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Wetmore (Owner)
Number of Employees

3

Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for McAdenville Motors

5347 Wilkinson Blvd

Gastonia, NC 28056-8257

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5347 Wilkinson Blvd 

    Gastonia, NC 28056-8257(704) 824-7433

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*McAdenville Motors is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - Used Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.