BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/25/2010

Matthews Motor Company

Phone: (704) 845-3070Fax: (704) 845-2622View Additional Phone Numbers10501 Monroe Rd, MatthewsNC 28105-8395



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/25/2010

BBB has determined that Matthews Motor Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Matthews Motor Company's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Delivery Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Matthews Motor Company

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
08/10/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased vehicle almost 2 months ago still have not received title for bank, registration or plates.
Purchased a 2011 Nissan Altima on 5/28/14. Took the vehicle back to dealer a few days later to have tire replaced. Asked about the registration and plates and was told I would receive them soon, asked what soon meant xxxxx stated by the end of next week. On July 7, 2014 received a letter from the bank asking about the title. Called xxxxx and he states he was working on it, had one more thing to submit would definitely be next week, also acknowledged receiving the letter from the bank as well. Spoke to xxxxx again on July 17 and stated we should get the title, registration and plates any day. on July 20, 2014 I texted xxxxx reminding him of our conversation on Friday 7/17 to which he never replied. Filed a complaint with the License and Theft Bureau which is investigating.

Desired Settlement
I would like the registration and plates, and for him to send the title to the bank.

Business Response
There was some confusion with the new ELT program regarding electronic titles. We had to complete something different than we were expecting. I have that all completed. Customer has her tag and the credit union has the title. I am sorry there was a delay, however it has all been completed.

Consumer Response


04/19/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I paid cash for my vehicle feb 15th 2013 & never received my title my perm tag!
I paid in full for my vehicle & taxes & was told I'd have tag within 3-4 weeks. It has been almost 2 months & I'm continually given run around by xxxxx the owner! I have not been able 2 drive car since temp tag expired march 15th! No tag, no title, so legally it's not even my car. Andy has said it's DMV rejecting paperwork over & over. DMV told me tag was never even applied for.

Desired Settlement
I have asked 4 my permanent tag & title for over a month, now I only want my $ back in full, $15,250.00.

Business' Initial Response
Shortly after the purchase of the car, the customer contacted me and said that it was too big for her, There was nothing wrong with the car, but she wished she had a smaller one. I told her that if she picked out another car I would be happy to swap it for a car that she would enjoy more. I did delay some of the paperwork while I waited for her to decide. Sometime after that she said that she would just keep this one. By that time I discovered that I had a couple of corrections to make and I was in the process of getting it all completed, when she got upset and requested that I just buy the car back. I informed her that I may be able to, but I couldn't guarantee it. I told her that if I could it may take a little bit of time for me to work that out. After about a week I was not able to work out a plan to buy her car back. At that time I completed her registration and her title is being sent to her from the state. There has not been a single problem with the car and I honored the original agreement that she signed. I tried my best to work with her using every available option. To summarize she bought a great car at a great price and she has not had any problems with it. We completed everything that we agreed to do and we feel this issue is resolved.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This man is not being completly honest in his responce. When he claimed he was working on getting the perm tag over a month after I should have had it the dmv said it had never even been applied for. I lost all faith in his word at that point and wanted nothing more than to bring him the vehicle, which there is a problem with and told him that, that I never asked him to fix because of the run around he was giving me. He knows there is a problem with the car but he never asked what it was. He said it would take him a little time but he WOULD buy the car back from me. So as for him saying he couldn't, that is not true. I have texts to prove it. And while he was giving me the run around saying he was getting the $ together to buy the vehicle back he was actually filing for the perm tag & title (over a month late) And as for the car, I am stuck with a car that I paid for in full, that has a problem and I rufuse to take it to him to fix, because I DO NOT trust him at all and havent since the dishonesty began.

Business' Final Response
There was never any dishonesty on our part we were 100% honest through the entire process.

The customer tried to twist a paperwork correction into us giving her a full refund for a car that turned out to be bigger than she wanted. She chose to purchase this car, it's not our fault that a month later she felt like it was too big for her. I would have been happy to refund her if I had been able to, however I was not able to. We have documentation to prove everything we have stated. One reason this has turned into a huge misunderstanding is because the customer refused to have a conversation about this. She would not answer or return our calls to resolve this issue. She chose to text over and over and things can very easily be misunderstood in a text. We tried on many occasions to reach her by phone, however she chose the more difficult route.

We would have been happy to take care of any problem with the vehicle at any time had she ever notified us of any problem. Of course she never chose to say there was a problem until after the entire process was complete. The customer gave us a false address so that when we sent the tag to her she informed us that was the wrong address. Looking through the notes she specifically gave us that address to use. I don't think she meant any ill intent, but it was not the address where she lived.

We have completed the entire transaction and the customer has everything she was promised. If she is indeed having any problems with the vehicle, we are still happy to fix them provided that she brings it to us. We have no hard feelings in this process.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Detailing

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/19/2008Business started: 10/16/2001
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Division of Motor Vehicles, NC
1100 New Bern Ave.
Raleigh, NC 27697-0001
(919) 715-7000
http://www.dmv.dot.state.nc.us

BBB records show a license number of 63728 for this company, issued by Division of Motor Vehicles, NC. Their web address is http://www.dmv.dot.state.nc.us.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: October 2001, NC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Andy Battoglia (President/Owner)Ms. Cassie Garrett (Marketing Director)
Number of Employees

6

Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Detailing

Alternate Business Names
Abatt, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Matthews Motor Company

10501 Monroe Rd

Matthews, NC 28105-8395

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 10501 Monroe Rd 

    Matthews, NC 28105-8395(704) 845-3070
    (704) 361-8666
    Fax: (704) 845-2622

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Matthews Motor Company is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (704) 361-8666
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - Used Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.