BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/08/2012

LKN Automotive Group, Inc.

Phone: (704) 237-3322Fax: (704) 230-4019View Additional Phone Numbers629 Oak Ridge Farm Hwy, Mooresville NC 28115-7947



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/08/2012

BBB has determined that LKN Automotive Group, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised LKN Automotive Group, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on LKN Automotive Group, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
07/10/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have a chipped windshield
I purchased a 2007 Toyota rav 4 on 2/26/13. It needed a repair to chipped windshield that dealer couldn't accomplish before pickup date so was given a we owe voucher. Contacted windshield repair company that dealer provided information on and was told payment needed to be made at time of service. So then contacted dealer regarding situation and have yet to have repair completed. Dealer will now not commit to satisfactory repair.

Desired Settlement
To have the repair done in next month since my work schedule has changed and I won't be available for next 14 days.

Business' Initial Response
*** was told on several times to come up do our dealership to resolve this issue. We have set appoinments and she has been a no show. We have left messages with no return calls. We have communicated with our glass company also. We have recorded all conversations because she was starting to be unreliable. We run our business with integrity and want all our customers to be happy. We are happy to resolve this anytime

Consumer's Final Response
I called *********** 7-3-13 at 1pm and still no pre payment on records from LKN Automotive.

Business' Final Response
Deals Glass has been contacted. New windshield is paid for and appointment is set for 7-9-13 with customer approval.************ will contact *** today

05/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We purchased a car from LKN and asked to buy an extended warranty three times. The business never sent the info and the transmission is now out.
We bought a 2008 model Subaru Impreza WRX from LKN Automotive Group. We test drove the vehicle and I asked about noise coming from the transmission. The owner stated that Subaru cars built like this high end model have that sound. The car looked good and drove well. We stated that we would like to buy a service contract on the vehicle. The owner stated that he would get us the information and that he had several companies that we could choose from. That was our first visit to the business and we had to wait an hour for the owner to show up. The night before we let him know that we would be down to see the vehicle at 10:am. It was 11:20 am before he came. So we made a second trip down to the business and bought the vehicle on a Saturday. Again, we asked for a service plan and we were told he would send us the information. We never received any information about any service plan that we could purchase. Forty Five days later, the transmission in the car has quit working. We had the car towed to our local Subaru dealer. It cost $400.00 to have them evaluate what was wrong. The verdict is the transmission is ruined. It will cost $5200.00 to put in a new transmission.

We called the owner and told him that we thought the transmission was gone before we took it to Subaru. After the initial call he told us that he would call us back after he finished with a customer. Almost 3 hours later, he did call. I explained the problem to him and let him know that we would call him back after Subaru gave us the diagnosis.

The next day we called the owner back and told him that we need him to pay for the transmission or buy back the car. We reminded him that we had asked for service contract information and never received any. He told us we shouldn't have driven the car off the lot. This sort of conversation went on for about 20 minutes or so and he said he would call us back later that evening.

He did call us back and stated that he would buy the car back as is for the Kelly Blue Book Value. We told him that we would have to get what we paid for it which was $16,000. He refused to pay $5200 for a transmission. He then offered $14,000. We told him to call back buy 10:00 am the next morning and let us know how we can resolve the issue. He did not call. We have left 4 messages with the owner and he will not return our calls.

If ***** *****, the owner, would have sent us the information to purchase a service contract, we would not be in this predicament. We feel that the level of customer care is poor at best.

Desired Settlement
At this point, we want the owner to buy the car back for the amount that we purchased it. That amount is $16,000. Or, he can pay the $5200 to have the transmission installed.

Business Response
As we are a small family owned business we tend to be in and out of the office at certain times. Therefore, we run our business mostly by appointments. When the customer contacted me letting me know they wanted to come and see the vehicle; I made it known to them that I wouldn't be able to be there at that time. They decided to come anyway. However, that is not what this is about and is irrelevant. The fact is he bought a vehicle from me, and did not purchase a warranty at the time of sale. We also stated that if he was concerned about any noise he could take it to Subaru and have it looked at. They said that it would not be necessary. He then decided to purchase the car,and signed the contract stating the vehicle was sold as is with no warranty. We do offer warranties, and since there is paperwork that needs filled out it has to be done in person. The customer never made an appointment to come back and purchase a warranty within the allotted time frame. Now that there is something wrong they expect me to do something about it. The fact of the matter is I am not going to do anything. They had an option to buy a warranty and they chose not to. Therefore, it is their vehicle and their vehicle to fix. We try to ensure our vehicles are mechanically sound, but being it is a used vehicle with several moving parts sometimes things happen. It's an unfortunate situation for this customer, but it is their responsibility to fix.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Contrary to the owners opinion, we did contact him and said that we would be at his business at 10:30 am. He never contacted us to say that he would be late. Instead, he text our son and asked him to relay that message. Almost an hour later, he shows up. So the inference to small, family owned must mean that we will show up when we can; not when a customer is waiting.

Secondly, we asked about a warranty during the first visit. The owner said that he could get us information. He did not. We did go back and buy the car. We asked for information again about a car warranty. He said that he would email us. He never did. According to his own paperwork, we are allowed to buy a warranty for the car within 90 days of purchase. After the transmission failed, we again spoke about a warranty. He has yet to provide that information. By the way, we are still within the 90 days.

This business is erroneous and substandard at best. After three requests to get a warranty, we were not given any information on where or how to purchase. For this entire complaint, Caveat Emptor will apply.

The owner did offer to install a used transmission for $1500. He said it only had 15,000 miles on it. We ended up repairing the vehicle through Subaru, a very reputable company, at a cost of $5,000. That included a brand new clutch and a brand new transmission all with a warranty! The owner of LKN failed to mention to us that when you change a transmission, it is standard operating procedure to replace the clutch.

LKN,after several phone calls, promised to call us back and never did. After reading their "side of things" we now understand why.

To all who read this, please remember: Caveat Emptor. We are done with this company and will never do business there again. Good luck to you.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Diagnostic Service, Auto Detailing, Motorcycles - Repairing & Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/30/2012Business started: 01/01/2011
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Division of Motor Vehicles, NC
1100 New Bern Ave.
Raleigh, NC27697-0001
(919) 861-3808
http://www.dmv.dot.state.nc.us

BBB records show a license number of 0071748 for this company, issued by Division of Motor Vehicles, NC. Their web address is http://www.dmv.dot.state.nc.us.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: December 2010, NC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jason Radle (Owner)Ms. Jessica Radle (Office Manager)Mr. Robert Xerri (Parts & Service Manager)
Number of Employees

3

Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Diagnostic Service, Auto Detailing, Motorcycles - Repairing & Service

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for LKN Automotive Group, Inc.

629 Oak Ridge Farm Hwy

Mooresville , NC 28115-7947

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 629 Oak Ridge Farm Hwy 

    Mooresville, NC 28115-7947(704) 237-3322
    (888) 333-1599

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*LKN Automotive Group, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 333-1599
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - Used Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.