BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Carsmart of Mooresville

Find a Location

Phone: (704) 664-2018 (Disconnected)Fax: (704) 664-2018420 E Plaza Dr, MooresvilleNC 28115-8069http://www.facebook.com/pages/Carsmart-of-Mooresville/195008863942439

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Carsmart of Mooresville is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Carsmart of Mooresville include:

  • Failure to respond to 3 complaints filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Carsmart of Mooresville

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
05/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I want my $1,760.00 refunded back to my. I returned there vehicle back to them I refuse to give them my business.
On March 12,2014 I got approved for a 08 Subaru Forester w/ $1,760.dn started having problems with called ***** on 3/24 told him that the car is over heating he said bring it in I did on 3/25/14 @10:30ish I called them @12ish car still not ready don't know whats wrong with the car I called every hour on the hour,I even stopped by ****** said he was changing 1 spark plug because the car was idling hard i told him abt the over heating he said all I have to do is change the radiator hose,now the car was not ready I picked up the car @8:15ish PM car ran ok I bought the hose pt it on car still over heated I had the car towed to them on 4/3@ 2 am on 4/7 ****** said to me he had some option for me to come into the office my options where to get the extended warranty the most expensive one

Desired Settlement
they where going to back dated as if I bought it when I sign all my paper work for the car That is illegal. well on 4/11 ****** said they changed 2 hoses & the thermos oil chage flter well after driving 2 miles it stared over heating I called ****** he gave me the mechanics # for me to call him its closing time. next day I had the car towed back to his place. I am wanting my $1,760. back that I went there with for a deposit. I DO NOT want to do business with these crooks,Liars. ****** said they changed stuff on the vehicle which is not true he also said they test drove the car which we can add up the mileages and see that no one test drove it see if the vehicle over heating. ****** runs a very poor business

Business Response
******** ************* ***** purchased "AS-IS, No Warranty and took delivery of the 2008 Subaru on X-XX-XX with 163,299 miles on the odometer. The vehicle was returned to our business by the towing company hired by Ms. *************-***** on 4-11-14, with 166,977 miles on the vehicle. The vehicle was driven roughly 3,670 miles in the 30 days she owned it.

The only warranty offered, was at the time of purchase and Ms. ************* ***** declined and signed the included copy of form, re-assuring her decision. Some warranties are legally available within 30 days after the original sale date, with vehicle re-inspection. Of course, per NC Law, vehicle was inspected before sale and no check engine light was on. We sell machines maintained by new owners, and cannot predict future breakdowns. Warranties are offered at time of sale to help with any problems that arise, & are encouraged to purchase.

In good business practice, we tried to help Ms. *************-***** fix her complaints with the vehicle, although not required.

Ms. *************-*****'s demands became unreasonable and we could no longer assist her.

I have attached all documents supporting Carsmart of Mooresville followed all laws and proper business practices were followed. By her own admission, we went beyond what was required of us, to maintain a good business relationship. Ms. ************* ***** relinquished possession of the vehicle by abandoning it at our business.

10/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Dealer caused the title to be branded with true miles unknown.
When purchasing the vehicle the dealer filled out the paper work wrong and also told the loan company mid xxxxx the mileage information wrong causing the vehicle title to become branded and in SC a branded title is just like a salvage title. So the dealers mess up caused my vehicle value to go from 12-14k to less than 6k. So now we can't trade it and are majorly upside down in it.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking a settlement of six thousand dollars, the value of the truck without a branded/salvaged title would be 12,000$ private sale value and the difference between a salvaged title and a clean title is roughly 6,000$. We traded in a perfect vehicle and in return we were deceived by a crooked salesman.

09/24/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
purchased car 5/9 transmission went out claimed fixed, 1yr warranty. took to acura and they stated i need new transmission.
Purchased car on Friday 5/9/14, left lot at 12:30pm to NY to pack up my mother's apartment because she passed ** 3/20/14. At 1:30pm reached Virginia State line on 77N and car began to smoke and had to pull over. Contacted dealer and advised them I was on side of the road car broke down. Dealer sent partner and mechanic to fix or find out what was wrong with vehicle. Car was driven back by mechanic on staff at the time back to dealer lot which they to took shop to be fixed, gave me a loaner car (Tahoe) and told me to contact shop tomorrow to pick up the next day. On Saturday, 5/10/14 contacted shop was told car was not safe to drive, would not make to NY and would not give car back to me until spoke with dealer. Texted (all texts printed out as proof of conversation from time of purchase till 8/19/14) dealer advising of what car shop stated to me and he said he would fix to my satisfaction for my travels when he returned in town to call him on Monday. Called dealer on Monday 5/12/14 and he stated car needed transmission and it would be taken care of at their expense with no out of pocket from me although car shop told him transmission blow due to me driving in wrong gear. Told him I did drive in correct gear and I only had car for an hour. Car was towed to The Transmission Physician on Monday evening and was informed that car would be ready by Wednesday/Thursday. Thurdsay 5/15/14 called dealer and he told me to call shop directly and gave number and mechanic name of *****. Spoke with ***** and he stated never guaranteed by dated told by dealer. Called dealer (******) complaining my situation how I had a timeframe to get to NY and pack up my mother's apartment. He told me ***** did advise him of completion date AND paid extra to be done ASAP. Unable to get car in time needed told them I had to fly cause couldn't wait no longer ****** informed me once car was completed they would have it shipped to me in NY at their expense. Once in NY contacted dealer (******) and mechanic ***** trying to keep lines on of communication open in regards to repair process and when car would be delivered because had to rent a car until it arrived and that was my mines of transportation to return to NC because I had to brings things back. Several calls and texts where made to ****** and calls to ***** from 5/19 through 6/4/14 which car was completed and finally delivered to address requested which was driven by employee of dealership. Had to drop employee off to airport where he waiting for a plane ticket to be purchase to by dealer to return home. Left NY on 6/7/14 and car drove fine to the best of my knowledge. Once in NC had my husband drive and he stated there was still something wrong with transmission. Called ****** and told be to bring it in and they would have it looked at because I had a year warranty on it but was under staff will get looked at asap which was on Saturday 7/12. Contacted ****** on 7/14 and 7/15 for finding of what was wrong with car and pricing, was toldhe is very under staffed and car will be taken to shop on 7/16. Texted on Wednesday 7/16 advising if hadn't taken to shop don't needed to pick up because person car I was using needed it. Went and picked up car, when arrived car was still parked in same spot I left it on 7/12. Went inside asked for copy of transmission paperwork was told computers were down, gave my work fax number to guy at office because ****** was out of the office asking to fax paperwork in morning when and if system came back up which was never received. Called ****** few more times trying to get situation with car fix asap until I was informed by him by text that they were no longer open needed to contact transmission mechanic directly, car was brought as is and good luck on 7/31/14 with no additonal communication to help resolve. Since then, I contacted him by text on 8/18 and 8/19/14 advising him that took truck to Acura and was informed I need a new or rebuild transmisson.

Desired Settlement
$5000 back for repairs and/or making my car paid in full with no payments required because sold me a lemon. Or monies back paid on car to purchase car from somewhere else.

08/29/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Engine light on, he said he would fix up to $150 of the problem, not done yet and hasn't sent in the Warranty papers to xxxxx $649
Engine light on, he said he would fix up to $150 of the problem, not done yet and hasn't sent in the Warranty papers to xxxxx $649, I bought the car 7/10/14 today is 8/5/14, he cashed the check but I don't have Warranty, the Warranty place called him too on 7/23/14 and xxxxx of Carsmart said he was sending it in with other peoples papers. I called xxxxx on 8/5/14 and they still haven't received it. I called xxxxx of Carsmart on 8/5/14 and he said it was taken care of, which is a lie, xxxxx hasn't received it yet.

Desired Settlement
He needs to fix what is wrong with the engine light issue like he said and I have it in writing, plus he needs to send the Warranty money of $649 I gave him and send to xxxxx by 8/10/14 or refund me $649

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Auto Repair & Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/06/2011Business started: 03/02/2011
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James E. Kennedy (Member)
Number of Employees

3

Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
JFK Motors LLC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Carsmart of Mooresville has received 1.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of F.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Carsmart of Mooresville

420 E Plaza Dr

Mooresville, NC 28115-8069

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 177 E Plaza Dr 

    Mooresville, NC 28115-8042(704) 664-2018

  • 420 E Plaza Dr 

    Mooresville, NC 28115-8069Fax: (704) 664-2018

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Carsmart of Mooresville is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - Used Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.