BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 03/25/1993

Toyota Scion of Concord

Phone: (704) 979-7700Fax: (704) 979-7774

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service6
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints7

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
10/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I called Hendrick Toyota Scion Concord, the closest Toyota Dealer Service to me at the time, to have a diagnostic test ran on my *****************. I could barely travel 5mph out of the parking lot after flooring the gas pedal. I also was experiencing some really bad shaking while driving 60mph. or higher. Apppointment set for 2:30pm, Sept. 29, 2014. On Sept. 30, 2014, I picked up my car to drive home 9 miles, after getting off my exit, I noticed a loud grinding sound on the right side of my car, and a dark cloud of smoke coming from my right wheel, and the car was drifting to the left. I called the service department to let them know I was bringing the car back. The tech looked at the car again, an hour later said, "the brake fluid is contaminated, that there was a peice of my brake fluid cap broken off and lodged in the line and that the PCP Splitter Valve or Master Cylinder needed to be replaced. They were supppose to do a complete Full Diagnostic, but they stopped at what they though the problem was and did a multi point inspection that did not cover everything. They did not drain the brake fluid before replacing the brakes. I just paid them $****** to fix the problem, now they want to charge me $****** more to fix what should have been taken care of during the actual brake repair. My car was worst after the repairs than it was when I took it in to them. I feel that Hendrick Toyota Scion Concord Service Department was neglence in the part of dignosting and repairing my vehicle. I dont feel as though it is fair to double charge me for repairs that should have been noticed during the dignostic testings. The LABOR CHARGE was $******. (1st repairs included: (1)PAD Kit Disc Bra - $******; (1)Brake Fluid - $**** "BUT they are saying my fluid is contaminated. Did they actual change the fluid or not?" (2)DISC, FR - $*****; (1)Caliper - $*****; (1)CAP ASSY, Reservo - $*****; CAR RENTALs; SS Servic charge - $*****; MISC - $*****). This is what my RECEIPT states.
Product_Or_Service: Auto Repairs on Brake system
Account_Number: ****** Customer No.

Desired Settlement
CAR FIXED at NO ADDITIONAL CHARGE, or FULL REFUND & original PARTS (still under warranty).. I went in asking for a dignostic of what was wrong with my car.... The tech#*** inspected vehicle and found Right Front Caliper Seized; and Left Front Caliper sticking; Front brake pads at 2mm; and Right front Rotor worn from seized....Rotor replaced, Right front Caliper and both front Rotors.Installed new front brake pads and lubricated and freed Caliper pin on Left front. Tech states no further problem

Business Response
10/2/14: Service Advisor, *********, spoke with client. Offered customer to pay for parts only. Dealership will absorb labor charges. Parts will take 3-5 days to come in. Client put in loaner (at no charge) while vehicle is down waiting for parts and being repaired. Client agreed and is satisfied.

05/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Technicians broke center cap on my custom wheels when I took truck in for service.
While servicing my vehicle the technicians broke the center cap on my custom wheels. The service advisor, ******* *******, disclosed this information to me and informed me that Toyota would be paying to have it replaced (this information is also listed on my paperwork/receipt from the service appt). After getting back to ******* with the information on ordering the new piece it took over a week after emails and voice messages left for him to get back to me. He then informed me they would be ordered the piece and would let me know when it came in. After 2 more weeks of no communication I received the following email from *******:

"We recently received an email from the manufacturer of the center cap stating that the order had been canceled because they no longer make the center caps or wheels in that style. If you have any questions please contact me or my service director, *** ****, at ************."

I followed up with ******* via email on 4/11/14 to inquire what the next course of action was to replace or reimburse me for the broken center piece. As of 4/25/14 I have not received a response. On 4/17/14 I called and left a voice mail for *** **** regarding this issue. As of this email I have yet to receive a returned call from him. This lack of follow up and disregard for the damage done to my vehicle is very disappointing.

Desired Settlement
I would like to be compensated for the damage done to my vehicle as they are claiming they are unable to replace the damaged item.

Business Response
4/30/25. Per Parts & Service Director, ********: : *** SPOKE WITH THE CLIENT ON 4/25/14. Advised that he had not contacted the client because he had not located the center cap replacement. Client stated that he had sold the vehicle.

Client stated he put a washer in place of the broken part and the new owners did not have a problem with that. Client suggested that the dealership give the new owners complimentary service vist. *** asked client to have new owners contact him. Client was satisfied

04/04/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Verbal sales agreement not upheld
Provided verbal lease agreement for 2014 Toyota Highlander after all day phone negotiation with ***** ***** as follows:
1500 down (500 of which was loyalty cash)
240.59/month 36 month lease with 15,000/miles yr
This also included my turning in to the dealer taking my current Toyota leased vehicle with no money owed
After arriving at dealer and completing initial paperwork, including credit app and being presented with a written pre lease agreement document that listed the monthly payment and terms agreed to (listed above). I signed this agreement a d by this point we had spent about 2 hours at the dealership. We then moved to office with finance manager (***** last name unknown).
Each finance document was printed for signature as we sat in *****'s office and then signed. Before actual lease printed, ***** indicated he saw an error and left room. When he returned he said someone entered a wrong number into the system and that the monthly payment should really be $320.00.
This deceptive sales practice as the price and terms had been agreed to both verbally and then with the initial pre lease document presented by the salesman and signed by me. A business should not be permitted to treat a customer in this fashion, promising a price for an item and then at the time of the transaction, change it's mind. Such dishonest behavior should be punished.

Desired Settlement
Toyota should honor the agreement.
1500 down (500 of which was loyalty cash)
240.59/month 36 month lease with 15,000/miles yr
This also included my turning in to the dealer taking my current Toyota leased vehicle with no money owed

Business Response
Our General Manager, ****** ***** has been in contact with this client. A mistake was made in the initial calculations of the new car deal. He has apologized and sent a check to the client to pay the client's last lease payment as an apologetic gesture.

Consumer Response
As of 4/10/14 no check has been received from the dealership.


Business Response
4/16/14: CRM, ******* *******, spoke with ****** ******. The check for $225 was received on 4/11/14.

07/22/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a used SUV for around 16,500 and it has sever more problems after 53 days also was lied to about the features that came on it.
I purchased a 2010 equinox on 5/23/13 from Toyota scion of concord. After the purchase of the SUV I found that several items on the window sticker were not present. They told me they would add these options and did not as it was expensive. They hen told me they had another car with these options and asked me to view it on the website. I did and told them this would work they then informed me it had been sold. At this point I told them just to knock the price down and repair the cracked window that was not disclosed. We did this and parted ways still knowing they lied to me. On 6/10 the car made a noise which I thought was a heat shield or exhaust rattling but the sound went away. It then started to happen more often and get worse and I tried to find the problem. I found the issue the car had no oil registering on the dip stick. There were no leaks and no oil warnings in the vehicle had to have 3 and half quarts added and it took 2 before it registered. The noise stopped but appeared to run a little rough. I researched the issue and there are several complaints from people having the same issue with this model. I called the dealership and was told to bring it in I explained I was 2 and half hours away and at work. The lady said let me check and we can find somewhere closer to bring it to. I was then contacted back by the Sales Manager *** ***** who was immediately on the defensive and told me you are past the 30 day warranty that came with the vehicle and you should have purchased the extended warranty. We offered it and you declined to purchase it so we can not help you may want to find a Chevrolet dealership and have it looked at. I realize this but the problem started to become apparent after 40 days and discovered on the 52nd day. I have only driven the vehicle 2,000 miles and they are the ones who changed the oil. It is apparent that either a. the motor is using way to much oil 3 1/2 quarts in 2,000 miles and 52 days or b. they did not put enough in it when they changed the oil. There was no leak and no oil light indicator. In either scenario I hold them responsible if they did not fill it properly then their mistake. If it is using this much oil part of their sales pitch was to tell me how they rigoursly put their vehicles through an inspection and they also showed me documents where they worked on it to make sure it was a fine vehicle before I purchased. So then they must have been covering up the issue. I told *** that if it had been 6 months or something then I would have never called but this is only the 53rd day. His response was snicker and he said so if it is 6 months past the warranty then it is ok but if it is a month out of warranty then it is not ok and we are responsible. I was lied to at the beginning of this whole process which should have told me something about their morals as a company. Which leads me to believe they knew their was an issue and just covered it up and sold the vehicle. At this point the noise has stopped since adding the oil but it appears to running rough and I am sure there is internal motor damage at this point. What I want is them to repair what is causing the problems and take the motor apart and repair any issues caused by this and provide a warranty or take the vehicle back. I would prefer taking it back at this point who knows what will be next. If they will take the SUV back I am open to a refund and walking away or an apology and purchasing another vehicle from them even if they say I need to purchase one at a slightly higher price point.

Desired Settlement
Three options which are listed below

A refund and walk away

A refund and purchase another vehicle from them

Or as a last resort all repairs made including the motor being taken apart and any damaged items replaced or rebuilt and a extended warranty provided to ensure no future issues take place due to unsavory and immoral business practices by Hendrick Automotive Group

Business' Initial Response
GSM, ************, spoke with the client on Monday, July 22, 2013. The dealership was able to trade them out of their vehicle. We were also able to upgrade them to a newer and more equipped Equinox with Hendrick Autoguard coverage that will cover them for 12 months or 12,000 miles. The client is satisfied.

02/28/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I took my car for an oil change and the service advisor said I needed over 1,000 dollars worth of work. Got a second opinion,the car is fine.
The date I took it in 2/12/XXXX XX Toyota Corolla. I took my car in for a oil change, the engine light had been on but was off, I put a new gas cap on, the car was fine . I told the service advisor this. He tells me I need all of this work done. Intake gasket, water pump,oil pan leaking. Over 1,000 dollars . I did not feel comfortable so I went and got a second opinion because I saw no leaks at all on the ground. The mechanic that I took it too told me that nothing was wrong with my car at all. These people lied to me and I don"t think this is the first time. I have already had one water pump put on. The car has 68,542 miles and runs really good. I am really upset about this and if they are doing me this way ,how many more people are getting ripped off? The year make model no is 07/Toyota/Corolla/4dr/SDN/CE 4ECT Vehicle no is ***************** Bought it on 01/01/07 The service advisor was ************* 118

Desired Settlement
I just want them to not do this to anybody else and I am so thankful that I got a second opinion.

Business' Initial Response
Client, ***** ******, was contacted the day after her service regarding her concerns by the Service Advisor, Assistant Service Manager, and the Parts & Service Director, We offered her to bring the vehicle back in so we could do a visual inspection with her and the vehicle but she declined.

Consumer's Final Response
Hi***** ,
The service advisor at Toyota Of Concord left a message on my answer machine this afternoon and said he wanted to touch base with me and that they had got a letter from you.I won"t call them back.I would be so afraid to even go back down there after they lied to me about my car.

Page 1 of 2
12/17/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
FAILURE TO INFORM ABOUT SAFETY AND MAINTENANCE SERVICE ADVISOR PLACING HIS PERSONAL COMMENTS ON CUSTOMER TICKET
11/03/2012 SERVICE FOR OIL CHANGE.*************** TOLD ME HAD TO MAKE APPOINTMENT. WITHOUT APPOINTMENT ONE AND 40 MIN I WILL HAVE TO WAIT.WAITING TIME NO PROBLEM IF THERE WAS A LINE PROPLE WAITING TO BE SERVICE.WAS TOLD STAFFING WAS THE ISSUE.SURVEY CALL ASK ABOUT SERVICE TOLD HER ABOUT ISSUE WITH WAIT TIME.SHE TOLD ME THAT THEY 25 POINT INSPECTION IF THAT THE CASE WHY I DONT HAVE POWER STEERING FLUID WHEN THE COMPANY FOUND STEERING LEAK (SAFETY PROBLEM) BUT *************** PLACES HIS ON PERSONAL REMARKS CUSTOMER STATES HAVING SERVICE DONE ELESWHERE CHEAPER ONLY THING HE HAD TO WRITE WAS "DECLINE" BUT HE PUT THAT SO IT SHOW UP EVERYTIME I COME TO GET CAR SERVICE.NO WASHER FLUID FOR WINDOWS,NO TRANSMISSION FLUID ALL WELL BELOW LEVELS WHEN I TALK TO **** NO LAST GIVEN HE TOLD ME THAT THEY DONT TOP FLUID LEVEL BUT WHEN I TALK TO TIM HAYS HE SAID IT SHOULD HAVE TOP AND HE WILL TALK TO THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT HIS MOTTO "if your service was anything less than excellent please contact *** ****" AND I DID.ALSO TOLD THEM ABOUT MY DRIVER SIDE WINDOW NOT WORKING GETTING STUCK LAST YEAR AND THIS YEAR THEY CHECK IT $80.00 FEE SAID CLAMP THAT HOLDS GLASS CRACK. NOW TOYOTA HAS A RECALL FOR PROBLEM WITH THAT WINDOW ASK IF THIS PROBLEM COULD HAVE CAUSE THIS PROBLEM HE SAID NO BUT DONT REALLY KNOW. I BELIEVE IT HAD SOMETHING TO DO WITH IT BECAUSE MY PASSENGER WINDOW DOING THE SAME THE DRIVER WINDOW WAS DOING BEFOE IT STOP GOING UP AND DOWN IS IT CRACK TOO.

Desired Settlement
TOP ALL MY FLUID LEVEL
SHOW ME THE PROBLEM WITH BOTH WINDOWS IF ITS JUST THE CLAMP THAT HOLD THE WINDOW AND NOT THE GLASS THAT CRACK RPLACE IT
CHECK MY LEFT SIDE BACK WINDOW ALSO IT STICKING AS IT GOES UP AND DOWN
I THINK ALL THIS COMES FROMTHE PROBLEM WITH THE RECALL OF THE SWITCH WHICH CONTROL ALL WINDOWS BUT TOYOTA IS TAKING THE EASY WAY BY PUTTING GREAS ON THE DRIVER SWITCH SAYING IT THAT WHEN ITS RELLY CAUSING OTHER PROBLEM

Business' Initial Response
I (Customer Relations Manager) spoke with the consumer on Nov 7, 2012. At that time the consumer spoke about the service visit that he had on Nov 1, 2012 with the Service Adviser. We discussed the issue he was having with his window and he was to call back the following Tuesday to set an appointment for us to evaluate the issue. The consumer did not come in to the dealership or call back for an appointment. The consumer called back on Dec 1, 2012. He spoke with a Service Assistiant and was then transferred to me. He voiced his dissatisfaction with the Service Assistant and again spoke about the window issue and also spoke about the topping off of fluids from his previous visit (Nov 3, 2012). I apologized to the consumer and asked him to come in to the dealership so we could evaluate the issues he had with the vehicle. The consumer would not make an appointment. I advised the consumer that we would not be able to resolve his concerns until he brought the vehicle in. The consumer was then transferred to the Service Director. After a lengthy conversation between the consumer and the Service Director, there was still no commitment from the consumer to bring the vehicle in. (The consumer said he would be out of the country for 2 weeks.) The dealership is unable to resolve the consumer's concerns until we have the vehicle back to the service department.

Consumer's Final Response
received the following email from consumer on Friday, XX-XX-XXXX at 7:18am:

GOOD MORING **********

IN RESPONE TO THE E-MAIL I GOT ON THE MORING OF 12/13/2013 TOYOTA OF CONCORD HAS NOT OFFERED ME TO BRING THE CAR IN FOR SERVICE OR ON THE OTHER HAND OFFER TO CALL ABOUT THE THE CAR.I HAD TO CALL THEM AND MAKE A COMPLAINT.THEY SAID THAT THEY HAVE DID AND ONLY DO WHAT IS REQUIRED AT THAT TIME AND THAT WAS TO DO A OIL CHANGE.FURTHERMORE IF THIS IS THE WHY THAT YOU ************ HANDLE COMPLAINT COMING INTO THE BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU CLOSING COMPLAINTS SO QUICKLY THEN YOU (****) WILL NEED TO BE REPORTED BECAUSE YOU WORK FOR SOMEONE YOUR SELF AND THAT MY NEXT STEP.TOYOTA OF CONCORD HAVE NOT I REPEAT THEY HAVE NOT REACH OUT TO ME AS YOU OR THEY HAVE SAID TO RESOLVED THIS ISSUE IF THEY SAID SO THEY LIED AND YOU TOOK THEIR WORD.IF SO WHY AFTER THEY RECEIVE THE COMPLAINT THEY HAVENT CONTACTED ME ABOUT THE COMPLAINT AND TRY TO RESOLVED THE ISSUE BUT YOU ARE CLOSING THE COMPLAINTA COPY OF MY COMPLAINT WILL BE FAX TO THE COUNCIL OF THE BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU AND THE FEDERAL TRADE COMMISSION WITH ************ NAME AS THE MANAGER IN CHARGE OF MY COMPLAINT.

---------------------------------------
Follow up email from consumer on Monday, XX-XX-XX at 10:18am:

YOU MUST HAVE SOME COMMON INTERST IN THE COMPANY. I SEE ON THE BBB WEBSITE THAT TOYOTA OF CONCORD HAS SEVERAL COMPLAINTS AND ALL HAVE BEEN CLOSED FOR THE SAME REASON MY COMPLAINT WAS CLOSED .DO I SEE A PATTERN. MAYBE YOU WAS THE MANAGER HANDLING THE COMPLAINT

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers-New & Used Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.