BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 04/23/1992

Toyota of Gastonia

Phone: (704) 824-7777Fax: (704) 824-0163

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service7
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints8

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (8)BBB Closure Definitions
09/13/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Charged $99.95 for a diagnostic code that was free from Advance. After $99.95 they still couldn't tell me what was wrong with my truck.
I took my Toyota Tundra into the service department on March 4, 2013. I told the service manager the codes that I already knew were wrong with my truck. I received a call on Tuesday and they told me they didn't know what was wrong with my truck and would need to do some more extensive testing and the charge would be $99.95. After I agreed, I got a return call on Wednesday and they told me it was the ECM and would cost $900, I told them it wasn't the ECM because I had just replaced it. I then received a call on Thursday saying the still couldn't figure it out and that I really needed an ECM and it would be $1400.00. When I asked about the price increase from the day before, I was told "we have put alot of hours in your truck and we have to get our money back somehow." It isn't my fault they couldn't figure out what was wrong with it. I went and picked up my truck and they gave the the same codes I gave them when I dropped the truck off. I then took the truck to an independent technician on March 14, 2013 who traced the problem to electrical connectors being corroded. He took apart all of the connectors, cleaned and greased them and charged me $350 and it was fixed. Because of the codes we knew it was an electrical issue, but Toyota of Gastonia couldn't figure it out. Since they only gave me the codes that I gave them before they started to "diagnose" it, I believe I should get a refund.

Desired Settlement
I would like to be refunded the $99.95 since Toyota of Gastonia were not able to tell me anything more than Advance was able to tell me for free.

Business' Initial Response
We would like to apologize for the delay in responding, but this communication, received today 9/12/13, was the first we have received. According to our Service Manager, ***********, the ECM did need replacing and Mr. ******* was quoted $991.00 for the part and including labor the total repair would be $1400.00. There were never two price quotes. Had we replaced the ECM and continued to get error codes, we would have continued with diagnostics. Mr. ******* said no. As a good will we will refund Mr. ******* $99.95. The check will be mailed on Friday, September 13, 2013.



************
General Manager
Toyota of Gastonia

07/07/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Important part left off of used car. Not noticed until later. Was told I would have to pay for part(s)/labor.
I purchased a 2006 Scion Xb (VIN *****************) on 5-17-2013 from ***** ****** at Toyota of Gastonia after a couple weeks of waiting for them to finish repairs on the car that I assume was taken as a trade-in. The car was listed on the dealership's website without any pictures. When I called about the car he told me there was some damage on the front end and he wanted to fix/paint it before they put it on the lot for sale.(I briefly saw car during the repair). I didn't notice that the fender/front bumber liner was missing until later(6-16-2013). When contacted about this issue, ***** ******(salesman), said to bring car by dealership for inspection(6-26-2013). He then handed off responsibilty to the body shop. Was told by body shop manager/personnel that the part was on the car when it was put on the lot/sold so if they replaced/installed it I would have to pay for it. I tried to call Mr. ****** back after inspection and he wouldn't answer my call. I spoke with another manager?/salesman and he restated I would have to pay for repairs myself. With my patience used up I told him to just get me a part number and I would take care of it myself. He transfered me to the parts department and I was told the part was about $80. The rather large part's location around driver's side front wheel and lower left front bumper,if it would have came off, would surely be ran over by the car and would be impossible not to know it. It would be equivalent to running over half of a plastic garbage can, possibly resulting in much damage to the underside of the car. Obviously the part was not replaced/installed when the initial repairs were made. This is also,in my opinion, a safety concern as this part helps to keep water from invading the engine bay and also helps keep water off of the front wheel/brakes.

Desired Settlement
For them to pay for parts and labor for missing part(s) to be repaired by another dealer/bodyshop. Really don't want them working on car. Approximately $80-$100.

Business' Initial Response
We repaired this car prior to customer purchase and installed two new inner fender liners. Not sure why or how one liner is missing. I have ordered a new liner for this car at no charge to customer. Please have customer contact **** ***** our body shop manager and make arrangements for replacement. We will install this as customer goodwill, and sorry for this problem.

06/13/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I PURCHASED 60,000 MILES TIRES 3 TIMES AND GOT LESS THAN 40,000 MILES OFF OF THESE TIMES EACH TIME.
A SET OF 4 TIRES WERE PURCHASED AND PUT ON MY CAR 3 TIMES. I PAID OVER $500 EACH TIME. THE TIRES HAD 60,000 MILE THREAD LIFE. THE FIRST TIME I GOT LESS THAN 40,000 MILES BEFORE NEEDING NEW ONES, I WAS TOLD I DIDN'T GET THEM ROTATED EXACTLY AS I SHOULD AND THAT IS WHAT WORE OUT TIRES SO FAST. THE 2ND TIME I CALLED YOKOHOMA HEADQUARTERS IN CALIFORNIA AND WAS TOLD I COULD GET A DISCOUNT ON NEXT SET . THE SERVICE MANAGER WAS TO CALL & GET CASE # FROM HEADQUARTERS AND THEY WOULD LET GASTONIA KNOW HOW MUCH DISCOUNT TO GIVE ME. SERVICE MANAGER CALLED WHILE I WAS STANDING THERE AND THEN HE HOLD ME HE COULD ONLY GIVE ME $8 OFF EACH TIRE. I WASN'T HAPPY BUT WENT AHEAD & LET THEM PUT ON THE 2ND SET. AND NOW 2 YEARS & 1 MONTH LATER, I HAD A FLAT AND TOOK MY CAR TO TIRE SHOP NEAR MY HOME, THE GUY REPAIRED THE TIRE BUT STATED THESE TIRES ARE SHOT AND THAT I NEED NEW ONES. THESE LASTED ABOUT 40,000 MILES ALSO. I CALLED YOKOHOMA AGAIN AND ANOTHER CASE WAS OPENED. STEPHANIE AT HEADQUARTERS STATED I SHOULD HAVE GOTTEN ONE THIRD OF COST OFF LAST SET OF TIRES. SHE STATED CALLS ARE RECORDED AND NOTED AND NO ONE FROM GASTONIA OFFICE CALL THEM. SO SERVICE MANAGER WAS NOT TELLING THE TRUTH ABOUT $8 OFF. I CALLED GM OFFICE AND LEFT MESSAGE. CUSTOMER RELATIONS MANAGER CALLED AND I TOLD HER THE SITUATION WITH 3 SET OF TIRES AND THAT HEADQUARTERS STATED I SHOULD RECEIVE 33% DISCOUNT ON MY PREVIOUS TIRES BUT I WAS NOT DONE, AND ALSO IF I GET ANOTHER SET OF THE YOKOHOMA TIRES THEY WILL HAVE GASTONIA TO GIVE ME THAT DISCOUNT ON A NEW SET OR EVEN HIGHER DISCOUNT. I TOLD GASTONIA I DID NOT WANT A NEW SET OF YOKOHOMA TIRES BUT WOULD TAKE THAT DISCOUNT OFF MICHELIN OR GOODYEAR TIRES. TOYOTA OF GASTONIA STATED THEY COULD GIVE THAT TYPE OF DISOCUNT. I TOLD THEM I WAS OUT OF 60,000 MILES AND THAT IS A NEW SET OF TIRES. I HAVE BEEN A CUSTOMER OF THEM SINCE 2005. I WENT & PURHCASED TIRES ELSEWHERE. I WILL NOT BE GOING BACK TO GASTONIA STORE.

Desired Settlement
REFUND OFF CARD FOR 1 SET OF TIRES OR HALF OFF MY NEXT SET OF MICHELIN OR GOODYEAR TIRES.

Business' Initial Response
xxxxx

RE: Tire Wear

2002 Toyota Camry
Toyota of Gastonia replaced tires on xxxxx car at:

63,009 miles on 8-12-05 at that time it was the third set of tires since production meaning the first two sets of tires lasted approximately 31,500 miles.
We replaced tires again on 12-22-07 with 99,753 miles driven 36,744.
We replaced tires again on 4-2-10 with 140357 miles driven 40,604. At this replacement we discounted the tires 14% or $13.00 per tire.
We have no record in our system since 1-10-12 showing a tire rotation performed. In regard to the contact with xxxxx tire headquarters, we have no agreement with this manufacturer direct, since we purchase our tires directly from xxxxxand they offer any warranty or adjustment to us for our customers. xxxxx was given a discount of the 14% based on our conversation with xxxxx on 4-2-10. Not knowing the mileage or tire depth now or when she replaced her tires I am unable to see what discounts would have been offered at that time from xxxxx.
Driving habits and proper rotations and alignments are a key factor in the mileage of tires and from our records I believe xxxxx has been properly rotating her tires. I am not sure about the alignments, but showing the consistent mileage from all of her replacements of tires I would guess she was okay with that as well.
When xxxxx contacted us about a 33% discount through the manufacturer and she wanted to switch brands from the xxxxx brand, but this is something xxxxx would not offer. We do value xxxxx business and surely want her happy with her service at Toyota of Gastonia, but it seems that her mileage is consistent with 35,000-41,000 miles on her tire usage.
As customer goodwill I will offer a 25% discount on tires and labor toward her next set of tires needed since they have been replaced now from the content of her complaint.
xxxxx
General Manager
Toyota of Gastonia

10/23/2013Problems with Product / Service
02/13/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a service contract ************ 1695.00 which was cancelled without my knowledge the same day.
I purchased a service contract ************ 1695.00 11\13\14 which was cancelled without my knowledge the same day. I found this after requesting 2/5/15 the contract be cancelled and called 02/12/2015 ***************************** to find out My 1695.00 is lost. The dealership replaced it with their own service contract purchase ************ which they own and may cancel at their convenience. I have no knowledge paperwork or possession. I contacted the dealership today where ********** avoided any responsibility or answers. He refused to call the warranty company and there is no telling if others are affected in same manner. Customer that maybe affected by this will not be known until they attempt to use their voided warranty years later.

Desired Settlement
1695.00 was paid-it should be refunded to the contract in full absent of any penalties or per diem for use because it was cancelled without my knowledge the day I purchased it. I have requested proper legal authority in the state to assist in notifying other if this has occurred with other customers unbeknownst to them.

Business Response
Two exact extended warranty policies were submitted to the warranty company for this customer/vehicle in error, therefore one had to be cancelled. This was not discovered until the billing was received for both policies. #************ was cancelled on 1/28/2015 to rectify this duplicate coverage, but #************ was still in effect. Per the customer's request, we have now cancelled the 2nd contract (************)and are processing the refund check to her bank.

Consumer Response
Conveniently they forgot to notify me of their error leaving me holding a worthless contract. They cancelled my contract number 11/13/14 the day it was written without my written permission. Conveniently they forgot I was the one spending 26, 000 at that dealership when they rudely refused to listen, verify, or even politely accept responsibility for this. Had I not checked on their progress years later I would hold only a worthless paper if (oops...) they conveniently cancelled the mysterious 2nd contract. That a lot of mistakes and conveniences for their own sake for a dealership hoping to stay in business. Their poor judgement is not an acceptable explanation for mishandling 1700.00 of my 'a customer' money much less their impossibly rude and arrogant response to me in person.

Final Business Response
Again, we apologize for having entered TWO policies on the same vehicle. The customer was NOT charged for the twice, only once. Even though the paper/contract # the customer had showed it was cancelled, the warranty is attached to a specific VIN #, so the warranty company would be able to see that a policy was purchased for her vehicle and that only the contract # was different. The existing policy HAS been cancelled at the customer's request and the refund has been sent to the lein holder and a copy of the check to the customer. This was mailed on February 13, 2015.

11/09/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Poor communication by this dealership, in following up with open services issues,and not being responsibility for failing to provide proper service.
In the beginning of 2010, I started test driving SUV's, like the Honda CVR, Nissan Rogue, Hyundai Tucson and the Rav4. I was getting a lot of pressure from the other dealerships to stay away from Toyota. This was a time when I stood with and by Toyota's side while other car manufacturers were taking the opportunity to exploit your lost sales to increase theirs. I purchased my 2010 Rav4 in March. On August 7, 2012, I ordered a new chip key (I lost my spare key) for my Rav4 and would get the key programmed and cut to match to my vehicle at the same time while getting my Rav serviced. This routine service appointment, an oil change, occurred on Friday, August 10th. Also, during this same time period, I was experiencing problems with the pre-programmed AM stations on my radio. Randomly, on occasion, whenever I changed from 610AM to 730AM, the radio would completely shut off. Upon arriving at Toyota of Gastonia, I reported this concern to ***************, assistant service manager. He hadn't heard of a radio problem or he wasn't aware of any recalls regarding this radio. Regardless, I wanted it checked out. After my vehicle was returned to the customer pick up area, I talked to the mechanic, *****, who brought my vehicle back. I asked him about the radio. He said he couldn't duplicate the failure, but either he had seen it before or other mechanics told him about the failure. In any case, ***** told me that Toyota would order me a new radio. He also told me that the wrong chip key was shipped to this dealership. After not hearing from this dealership for over two weeks, I called on August 27, 2012 about the status of the radio. Apparently the radio was received, but later it was returned with no justifiable reason explained why it was returned. So I contacted Nancy Wilkinson, she told me that this was a system problem and her dealership was NOT responsible for this error; it's a "Toyota" problem. Isn't Toyota of Gastonia a CERTIFIED Toyota dealer, sharing in the responsibility of this "system" problem? Ironically on August 29, 2012, 2 days later, Spike from the parts department at this dealership called me to tell me the radio had been received. I went back to Toyota of Gastonia on August 31, 2012, to get the chip key and to get my radio replaced finally, 3 weeks later. Upon completion of these 2 open issues, I approached the desk to checkout, thinking that maybe, due to the huge inconvenience that this dealership caused me, they might comp something off my chip key bill. I did suggest that the dealership absorb the $100 cost of chip key for my inconvenience.Nancy Wilkinson told me that her dealership did nothing wrong. I disagreed stating that CUSTOMER SATISFACTION is the driving force behind any successful company.She even suggested I take my car to Town and Country, which is closer to home. I requested the contact information for Toyota National. Nancy gave me the contact info. Toyota National failed to do anything, but I should report my complaint to BBB.

Desired Settlement
Small incentive refund and written corrective action for systems failures in communication and follow-up.

Business' Initial Response
The customer came into our Service Dept on 8/10/12 & ordered a replacement key due to losing his key. At this time the customer also complained about his radio dropping stations & cutting off during use. We ordered a radio for the customer, even though we were unable to duplicate the problem. On 8/27/12 the customer contacted us in regard to the radio order & at this time we determined that the radio had been sent to another dealer in error & we reordered the radio. The radio company over nighted the new radio to us due to the mistake on their part. Radios are not supplied or serviced from Toyota Motor Sales (TMS) directly, but through a faxed order sheet & because of this there is no ability for us to track the order electronically as we can with other parts.
We apologized to Mr. ****** for the error & on 8/31/12 he returned to have his radio installed & pick up his key that he had ordered from the previous visit. Upon check out on the 31st, Mr. ****** requested that we give him the key & programing required at no charge due to the mishap on the radio order & because of the poor customer service that he felt he had received. ***********, our Service manager, explained the details in length to Mr. ****** & he still insisted he wanted the key for free. He was then referred to our Customer Relations manager, ***************. ***** again apologized & offered the customer a 50% discount on the key & programing, but this was not acceptable. Mr. ****** told ***** that he has never had worse service than here & she suggested that he could use another dealership if he was dissatisfied with our service.
We do value our customers and in fact have given Mr. ****** two or three free service certificates in the past upon his dissatisfaction with our service.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
You know it's unforunate that it took the involvement from the BBB to get an apology from this dealership. If I didnt follow-up with the dealership, checking on the status of the radio, who knows how long it would have taken before they contacted me. No one at this dealership took ownership/responsibility to follow-up on tracking the status of my replacment radio. Regardless, whether the radio was retuned or not, your inadequate systems allowed the radio to be shipped to the wrong location, without any communications with me, the customer.
I pointed out the system problems within this dealership, but they insisted they were not at fault or responsible for my dissatisfaction, but now after I filed a complaint with the BBB, Toyota of Gastonia acknowledge responsibilty by discussing "the radio ordering process with our vendor, and our in-house process in ordering & notifying customers", indicating it was their error, by taking action to prevent a repeat problem.

Remember 100% customer satisfaction is your goal, hopefully this complaint will assist your dealership with preventing, future, dissatisified customers. I appreciate your response, a little late, but at least you acknowledge the system problems, and have taken action to improve your communications. Best regards, Doug ******

Business' Final Response
Toyota of Gastonia understands the customer's frustration and we have in length discussed the radio ordering process with our vendor and our in-house processes in ordering & notifying customers.
As stated in previous response, we did not return the radio - it was shipped to the wrong dealer from the supplier & another dealer who received it error returned the radio. When Mr. ****** contacted us asking about his radio, we had the radio overnight shipped for immediate installation to rush the process & try to satisfy the customer.
In regard to the key, Mr. ****** ordered the key seperately from the Service Dept ticket & our Parts Department did in fact order the wrong key blank. We apologize for this and did also at the time it was discovered. Again, we are sorry for the mix up and misscommunications. Toyota of Gastonia has reviewed our ordering process & have put in place some new processes for future orders. If we can be of any further service to Mr. ****** we will surely try and do a better job going forward.

04/20/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Toyota of gastonia has customer service issues.
I had went on a friday to toyota of gastonia to see if I could get a new truck and the salesman was trying to work something out and told me It would take a little while and if I wanted to leave he would call me back and give me a answer well its Tuesday and havent heard from anyone. I have trying calling the salesman and he will never return my calls so I gave up on him and have started calling the finance manager and have talked to him one time and that was Sunday. He told me he hasn't had time to work on my deal and he would get back with me and haven't heard anything from him and I have tryed calling him four times and he will never call back and I think this place is ridiculous and would never recommend anyone to buy a car from them because they have the worst customer service I have every seen.

Desired Settlement
An answer.

Business' Initial Response
Customer is trying to purchase a Toyota truck & we have communicated with the customer on matters of credit rating score & amount of requested financing. We are unable to get our current lenders & finance companies to approve financing due to amount requested & credit score.
Finance manager states he told the customer of these issues. We apologize for any miscommunications with the customer.

06/19/2012Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers-New & Used Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Auto & Truck Brokers

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.