BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/10/2009

Priority Honda Huntersville

Phone: (704) 875-3232Fax: (704) 659-2990View Additional Phone Numbers12815 Statesville Rd, HuntersvilleNC 28078-9212



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/10/2009

BBB has determined that Priority Honda Huntersville meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Priority Honda Huntersville include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 17 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

17 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues6
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service9
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 17

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

6 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Priority Honda Huntersville

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 6
Total Customer Reviews 6 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (17)
09/05/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The company processed and cleared my check for a down payment. A few days later they electronically processed the same check, debiting my account 2x.
We purchased the care 4 days ago. The salesmen was great. We purchased a 2016 Honda Accord Ex-L. We placed a down payment on the car and the check was immediately processed in house on 8/19/2016. We were given a receipt and I was able to see that the check cleared in my account both via the difference in the balance and via the image of the cleared check. On 8/23 the same check was electronically processed through the dealership as using the routing number and account number. We spent an entire day trying to resolve the issue. I spoke with my bank and presented them with a transcript stating that the processing amount could easily be cancelled by the merchant given that it is still processing and that I would receive my money back later on that day. I was informed by my bank that if they were to cancel the transaction that I would be charged $30 and that it would take me a minimum of 48 hours to get my money back. Their merchant was able to "see the processing transaction" given that it was a check payment and not a credit card. After my husband and I were on the phone with the dealer for an entire day, they finally had spoken with their bank of ********. ******** informed them that they were not going to process the duplicate payment, however that still left us the downpayment credited to our account once and the funds held twice. We then contacted the General Manager who was not available so we were dealing with the Sales Manager, ********** With no resolution with him, other than to come up to the dealership to show the proof of exactly what ******** had told him. I spoke with him on the phone and he informed me, "That is not my department and I am trying to help." After informing him that after dealing with this all day that I am outraged he chuckled on the phone and informed me of the need to come up to the dealership with the same documentation and information that ******** provided. Once we arrive at the dealership we were passed *** to the General Manager, *********** His approach is like none that I have seen in the sales industry. He offered us no concessions for the amount of time lost or the fact that my husband had to leave early from work. He kept trying to get me to speak with my bank, when I cleared explained to him that I had first thing this morning and they told me that the easiest course of action would be for them to cancel the processing transaction. His next step was to give him a check for the amount of the down payment while he cut me a check. This didn't make sense given that neither one of us knows how his bank of ******** is going to handle the situation. Are they going to cancel both transactions? If so, then we owe them the downpayment. Are they going to only cancel the processing transaction? Either way it leaves us in a big mess and without much money in our account. In the process of being understandably upset, no immediate situation for getting our money back there. Even if deposited the check into our account then check would not have cleared for at least another business day, still leaving us without any money. Even after informing the General Manager that we were going to file a complaint and write negative reviews nothing was done in the immediate.

In addition, we went to have service done on the vehicle. We noticed that on the car that we had just purchased a few days ago that one of the bolts on the tire were missing. She wanted us to pay for the bolts.

I would like a resolution to allow me to have access to my money.

Desired Settlement
I would like for the processing amount to be stopped by either them or their merchant. This would be the fastest way for me to get my money back that was processed twice. I would like to not be placed in this situation every again with them. I would also like to have access to my own money! I want the second amount returned to my account.

Business Response
After dealing with our check processing company and bank trying to rectify the situation with no success we issued a check in the amount that was debited from the account. It was our mistake and I apologies for the inconvenience. We also compensated the customer for their time involved trying to rectify the situation. We have had 2 training classes to ensure this never happens again.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
We appreciate that we received our money back and some compensation for our time and frustration.

05/06/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was given a We Owe you to fix the wind noise that my car was making.
I purchased a used car from Priority Honda on 4/6/2016. I could hear a wind noise and took the car back the following day and to sign additional paperwork. I was told that they would fix the wind noise after **************** drove the car and they could hear it as well. I received paperwork stating that the wind noise would be fixed. I was told that someone would call me to schedule the appoint before **************** would be away for some training or seminar. After about two days, I never received a call so I called and scheduled an appointment. Then two days later, someone called me to schedule an appointment. My brother in law took the car in that following week and was told it was the tire but they did not have a tire there and would need to order one. The next day, they put a left front tire on but there was still noise. I called ****** and he said he would leave a message for ***** to call me. No one ever called. I called for about 4 days and left messages for **************** and sent ****** emails. I finally spoke ***** on thursday 4/21 and advised that the wind noise was still there. He said let me speak to service and see when we can get you in and call you right back. Never called back. I called the next day and left a message for ***** to call with the receptionist as he advised me to do and again no one called back. I called on the next day which was Saturday and spoke to ****** and he confirmed that an appointment had been scheduled for monday 4/25. My brother in law took the car again at 10:00 am and was told that it was the tires but they were not willing to spend any additional money on the car. I later received a call from the sales manager after they had him sitting and waiting for four hours and he told me that it was the wheel bearing but not to worry because it wont cause any problems and that I could continue to drive it and he said Honda's make that noise after a certain amount of miles. I advised that I had a 89 honda that I had as a second car for years and it never made that noise and his response was really? He said they were not willing to put any additional money into the car and that they would have to take the transmission out to replace the wheel bearing. I asked even if you put it in writing that you would fix it and he passed *** phone to someone else. He was a little rude and advised that the car was not mine yet and that they were not spending any additional money on the car. I asked how was it not mine yet and he advised accountant found some paperwork that I had not signed. I advised that I have had the car for almost 3 weeks and no one has called me and stated that I needed to sign anything additional. I find it a bit suspicious that all of a sudden now I needed to sign something else but no one every reached out to me or said anything until they decided that they would not honor a written request to fix the noise that was coming from the car.

Desired Settlement
I want the wheel bearing fixed.

Business Response
Ms. ***** did purchase a 2006 Honda Accord with 137,463 miles on it and financed the vehicle. The vehicle was sold AS-IS due to age and mileage and the Federal Buyers Guide shows that and she signed it. The we owe she has mentioned in the complaint is attached and does not reflect what she stated in her complaint. The "owe" form she signed reflects the services we provide ALL our customers at no expense and a detail cleaning and 5.00 gallons of fuel. The complaint also fails to mention that after the tire was replaced, and an additional request by her to replace the other three tires was denied, we offered her the option to return the vehicle and reverse the transaction. We prefer to sell vehicles much newer with lower mileage, but in this case due to credit limitations and her need for a vehicle this was the best alternative for both parties. The tires have great tread depth but the previous owner who traded had put all terrain tires on it rather than standard driving tires. The noise concern is based on the tires and not the vehicle.
The offer to reverse the transaction was declined and Ms. ***** advised the manager she was speaking to that her attention was to consult an attorney. We were waiting for Ms. ***** to get back with us when this complaint from the BBB was received.
We again, extend the opportunity to reverse the transaction.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have attacked the We Owe form that I am speaking off in which ***** signed where they stated that the noise would fixed. I was told when I spoke to them on the phone that it was the wheel bearing and that they were NOT putting any additional money into the vehicle. When I returned to the dealership on 4/7/16 the day after I purchased the vehicle, ***** stated that he wanted me to be happy with the vehicle and that the noise would be fixed. I kept the car at that point with the reassurance that the noise would be taking care of. Now three weeks later, although there is a written and legally binding contract to fix the noise, they have decided that they will not. Also, whatever credit limitations I had, I was approved for a higher cost vehicle, However, I chose the Honda because again I had one as a second vehicle for years and had no problems from it. I am clearly not making up that I was told on Monday that it was the wheel bearing and not the tires. I asked for clarity and he assured me the noise was the wheel bearing but I could drive it with no problems.

Final Business Response
Since a separate we owe was created and signed by both parties but not included in the original deal packet, we will honor it.
Before we start the process we need to conclude the actual sales process which is close to thirty days old. A signature was missed on the original retail sales contract which needs completed so we can get the deal funded.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
All paperwork was signed on Monday. I do accept the proposed resolution to honor the we owe and to fix the vehicle.

03/18/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
first place finish warranty
my husband and I purchased a car ( it is in his name) when he came home I noticed a warranty binder for a finish warranty for paint and fabric that had no price on it. I then looked over the lease contract and did not see dollar amount disclosed for this warranty. I emailed the finance manager and left several voicemail messages that we did not agree to any warranty. he never returned my calls or emails. when I questioned the sale representative about this he said that customer doesnt get copies of the warranty. when I brought the car in for fog lights to be installed the service dept wanted to perform the work for the finish protection. sw xxxxx in service. I asked him if this was an extra charge and he said yes. I told him not to do the work because I did not purchase a warranty. i worked in auto finance for 18 yrs so i know that the finance manager inflated the cash selling price to include this warranty without our knowledge. the last message that i left for him was that if he did not rectify the situation i would be contacting the BBB. i am pretty sure it is illegal to sell a warranty without disclosing it on the lease agreement. i don't even know how much the warranty was because he added it into the cash selling price

Desired Settlement
i want a refund for the warranty that you charged us for and any other good faith measure that you would like to restore with us

Business Response
I contacted Mrs xxxxx and we reviewed the documents and have resolved the issue and our customer is satisfied now.

Consumer Response


12/10/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Repeatedly said they would perform requested service but did not, resulting in loss of critical time and financial damage.
I felt I was given a run around and a lot of time wasted due to lack of clear communication on the part of service personnel.
1. No paperwork done at drop off despite my request. I wanted diagnostics run on the car to determine it the engine was damaged.
2. No clear decision by service agents as to whether they could work with my vehicle or not.
3. Did not meet service appointments on two occasions and did not communicate with me regarding.
4. Did not value the time and need to meet deadlines.
5. Car was at the service center from November 20th to December 8 without requested diagnostics being done.
6. i am the full and single owner of this car and they have wasted my time and insurance storage fee.
7. The service personnel quoted 95 dollars to get the hood open whereas another mechanic used the lever to unlatch the hood. There were trying to charge me for services not needed.






























That cost is going to be $95.00. I originally told you $115 but we can do $95.



If you would like to proceed please let me know but until we do that I cannot provide you with an estimate

Desired Settlement
Priority Honda is requested to return the sum total of storage fee as they have not provided the services requested for over two weeks and kept saying they would do it. They misused my funds and wasted critical time.

I am requesting a written apology for their behavior and their treatment of me as a valued member.

Business Response
********* had her vehicle towed to our dealership without any prior notification. She made two appointments in our system and assumed this would ensure a call back from a service representative. Our system doesn't work that way, until the customer and vehicle arrive and the customer checks in with a service representative and signs a work order our service department would not know the customer's car was on our lot. In addition to ********* towing her vehicle into our shop she did not leave the keys with the car and did not bring them in to the dealership for 10 days after the vehicle being on the lot. Once we were aware of the vehicle being here we waited for ********* to deliver the keys. ********* was also informed by the parts and service director that we were not a body shop and it was highly recommended for her to take the vehicle to a body shop. She declined saying she would like to know if the engine was damaged. Once we got the keys the customer was called and messages were left on her voicemail. She would take a day to respond and when there was a response it was toward the end of the day and she would have to leave a message. She then started communicating via email. Once the technician got the vehicle in the shop he quickly realized the hood would not open very far without doing more damage to the vehicle. The hood was pushing back into her winshield. Our technicians are service technicians not body repair men. We do not have the tools and expertise to work with wrecked vehicles. When vehicles are towed into our dealership for estimates on engine repairs they come from the body shop without the hoods on them if they are damaged. In order for our technician to try to get an estimate he would have to remove the hood and it was going to cost $95 to have that done. ********* agreed to do that on Friday afternoon at 4:45 pm via email. Her email was not seen until Tuesday when the service advisor and technician returned back to work. As for any fees ********* incurred for storage was not incurred by us. We did not charge her for any storage although her vehicle was on our lot for 10 days before anything was done. If she was charged for any storage fees we will be happy to pay for those for any confusion she had regarding her vehicle being towed to our shop. The Service Director apologies for the miss understanding.



10/30/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
For over two years I've been receiving unwanted emails after unsubscribing multiple times.
I'm receiving emails for two years. I've unsubscribed each time,and also called the dealership to be taken off the email list. I did this just this past week, and still received two emails in the same week.

Desired Settlement
I don't want to be contacted ever again by this organization.

Business Response
I am the new Internet Sales Manager. The customer profile has been deleted. There will be absolutely NO contact with *******.



Page 1 of 2
02/25/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The dealership is not repairing two recalls. I made two appointments and no repairs were done.
I took my car on 12/9/2015 for a power steering flush and to repair the airbag government recall. I received a call from the service rep. telling me that my car needed new belts. The rep. told me that they couldn't repair the airbag recall at that time. I had the belts replaced and total cost of repair was $1,058.91. I scheduled an appointment to have my airbags replaced on February 3, 2016, at 9:16AM. I had my appointment scheduled for February 8, 2016, at 11am. I took a vacation day from work to have my car repaired. I do not want my wife or son killed by the airbags. The airbags have already killed multiple people including an incident a few weeks ago. Before leaving my house on 2/8, I had to remove my son's car seat and all of our personal stuff out of the car. My wife follows me to Priority Honda. We arrive at the dealership at 10:56am. The service rep. tells me that they don't have the parts for the repair. I don't understand after scheduling an appointment, taking time off of work and you don't have the parts. No one called me from the dealership. I received an appointment reminder email on (2/6/16)Saturday morning about the appointment.... I never received a call from Priority telling me that they did not have the parts. The dealership just waited for me to show up and say "sorry, we don't have the parts". The rep then tells me that they have to wait until the SRS light is on. I believe the dealership is avoiding recall repairs due to this being the second time in the past 60 days. The government has issued a recall for the airbags to be replaced and Priority Honda is not making our safety a priority. I received a recall letter in the mail two weeks ago about the repairs. I'm now out of my vacation day (8 hours X my pay = $$$$), and the car has not been repaired. I contacted the manager at the dealership and he promised a returned call. I have not receive a return call as of 12:45pm. I will be contacting NHTSA (National Highway Traffic Safety Administration)and Honda. My wife and I were planning on buying a new Honda in March from Priority. Now, I will not be buying a new Honda from Priority and might look at other makes of cars other than Honda. I would not recommend this place for service or buying cars.

Desired Settlement
Other

Business Response
In response to Mr. xxxxx complaint. I tried contacting Mr. xxxxx regarding this incident the day he came into the dealership. I left a message apologizing for our outside appointment company not knowing the parts were not available for this particular Accord SRS Unit Update recall. I have since contacted xxxxx, our appointment providers, to let them know the recall doesn't state an airbag inflator replacement. To their defense they did not know the new recall doesn't replace an airbag inflator and it is to replace the SRS unit. The new recall states if the SRS light is on, scan for DTC codes and if the codes are for the SRS unit to replace it. If the SRS light is not on then the customer is advised to wait until Honda sends them another letter telling them parts are available. The recall that Mr. xxxxx has on his vehicle is not the airbag recall that has been shown all over the media. Mr. xxxxx was advised if his SRS light were to come on before receiving the letter from Honda stating the parts were available to bring it back in and let us scan it to make sure the code wasn't for the SRS unit. We would like to offer Mr. xxxxx a whole nine yards detail valued at $159.95 for his inconvenience of taking the day off of work to have this recall performed.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I contacted Honda and NHTSA on Monday. According to the rep at Honda Inc. if the SRS light is not on, the dealership should still test/scan the SRS for any errors. If no errors resulted from the test, then wait until further notice for a replacement. If you read the entire bulletin, it states that the dealer should test/scan the SRS even if the SRS light is not on. The recall has been posted since October 2015. Priority outsourced a company to answer phones and take appointments... Now with the appointment providers, they took my vin number, researched the recalls and scheduled my appointment. xxxxx was aware of both recalls for my Honda. I received three email notifications on 2/3, 2/6 & 2/7 and a phone call reminder about my appointment on 2/8. I attached copies of the email reminders to this report. During the entire time, no one at Priority contacted me to tell me that they did not have the parts, or the repairs were being delayed. I contacted Priority Honda using the dealership phone number to make the original appointment. My call is then transferred to a different company without my knowledge... When I contacted Honda, I was under the impression that I was speaking to a Priority Honda Rep. However, now I know that my information was being taken by xxxxx... Does xxxxx have my personal information/data? Does xxxxx have my credit card information? How long does xxxxx save personal information? Do they save customer information for days, months or years? Does xxxxx sell my personal information to other companies or third parties? Does xxxxx have call centers in the United States or other countries? I did not give Priority Honda rights to give my personal information to a different company or xxxxx. I contacted Priority Honda at xxxxx and was transferred to xxxxx... This is very concerning... I took a vacation day to have my car repaired due to a Honda recall on the SRS and airbag. The dealership did not test the SRS light and/or complete any repairs. I filed complaints with Honda Inc. and NHTSA. I do not want a $159 car wash/detail. I want to know my wife and son are safe while driving in our Honda Accord. I want my vacation day back and an apology from Priority. I want to know if my information is saved with xxxxx? I want to know if xxxxx sells my information to other companies. I received several phone calls last week from companies trying to sell car warranties. Did xxxxx give them my contact information? I believe that Priority should not be allowed to transfer calls to a different company without their knowledge and/or written consent... If xxxxx is selling or storing customer information, I believe you should have written consent.

Final Consumer Response
Priority Honda has not responded back regarding the third party information. The report states that Priority wrote the CFO; however, I never saw a response if they are collecting customer's information/data without our permission. Please reopen complaint. xxxxx

Final Business Response
Regarding the questions concerning xxxxx, we reached out to the Chief Financial Officer of xxxxx and this is what he sent back:

Does xxxxx have my personal information/data? The only non-public personal information that xxxxx receives is the Social Security number and Drivers License number only when a customer buys a car. If this customer didn't buy a car then we do not have any such information.

Does xxxxx have my credit card information? No, xxxxx does not obtain or store any credit card information

Do they (xxxxx) save customer information for days, months, or years? We only store NPPI for customers that buy cars and that information is encrypted.

Does xxxxx sell my personal information? No, never.

Does xxxxx have call centers in the United States or other countries? Only in the United States.

These were the questions the customer wanted answers to and I just copied and pasted this directly from the email from the CFO. If there are any additional questions regarding xxxxx please feel free to let us know. In response to the timely manner in which we were able to get this information to the customer, the CFO was out of town.

01/14/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Qualified for car. Followed all instructions given and then treated unfairly. Unethical business practices!
My name is ************ and on December 24,2015, my husband (**************)and I went to Priority Honda Huntersville to finance a car. We chose a used vehicle that we liked and proceeded with the qualifications process. We gave our salesman (*****************) all of our personal information that he asked for to finance the car, proof of income, social security numbers, drivers licenses, present car insurance, proof of address, etc. We were told that we qualified for the car and how soon could we bring in the down payment. My husband told the salesman (******************)that we could bring the down payment back in to him on January 1 or January 3,2016. The salesman said that this was fine. My husband received his check on December 31,2015 which was a day earlier than anticipated. My husband called the salesman right away to tell him that we had the money. My husband had kept in touch with the salesman on a regular basis during the week that we were waiting for the money. When my husband called the salesman, he asked him if we needed to bring cash or check and the salesman said that cash would be better. My husband then told the salesman that we had to go to the bank to get the cash and would be on our way and the salesman said that he would see us when we got there. When we arrived to the dealership, we were taken to the salesman's cubicle where we were told to wait. We waited for a while and the salesman came back to the cubicle and said almost quietly, that he thought the salesman next to us was trying to sell the same car. The salesman kept leaving us and I thought that he was just tying up loose ends and getting our vehicle ready for us to leave. After quite a long wait, our salesman comes back in the area and says the other salesman is trying to get his customer qualified for the same car. All along we are not being informed properly of why we are still waiting. Then after still waiting, we are told by our salesman that he dropped the ball and that the other customer is going to get a check for our car. The salesman then proceeded to tell us that he tried to get us financed on another vehicle that was twice as much and that we did not qualify for the more expensive car. He did this without asking us first. We did not care about qualifying for another car out of our price range and did NOT ask for this to be done.Our salesman said that he would find us another car around the same price so our down payment would not change and walked us out. We were still optimistic. After a few days calls were no longer being answered or returned. My husband called and spoke to the used car director about our incident and he gave us a lame excuse about first come, first serve. Well I feel we were first and should have been served! My husband emailed the general manager (**********)to ask if he could help and we have yet to hear from him. Now no one wants to respond to us but their company used our personal information and put hard hit inquiries on our credit reports which lasts for two years of reporting and we have to start over to look and qualify for a car and when the reports are pulled, those inquiries come into effect. I feel that this company did not value my husband or myself. I am highly offended at how this company treated us and now they feel no obligation to resolve this matter.

Desired Settlement
We would like a specific letter of apology from this company so that we can attach it to our credit reports beside the inquiries that they have that will appear on our credit for the next two years.

Business Response
We apologize for the unfortunate circumstances regarding the attempt to purchase a car at Priority Honda.

We, as a company, have a policy of not holding a preowned vehicle for a customer with or without a deposit. Since there are no two preowned cars that are just alike, holding a vehicle for a potential consumer inhibits another that is physically there ready to take delivery. If the unit had been on any type of hold and the consumer were to later call back and cancel the purchase, the other opportunity would have been lost as well due to the hold.

When this customer arrived back, a separate set of customers we already there making the purchase on the same car. We provide these vehicles at a first show first opportunity.

Again, we apologize to the consumer and would like to earn their business on a different vehicle.



09/04/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Dissatisfaction with the outcome of repair service.

I purchased my 2006 Honda Accord with 114,000 miles at the end of January 2015. It had been consistently serviced. I had my independent Honda service shop, check it out before purchasing and everything checked out okay. I purchased all new Michelins in April 2015, after during review of product. On 7/20/15, I went in to get airbags replaced and I asked service advisor if I could get my tires balanced and was asked the problem. I stated while braking my steering wheel would pull and at time I would hear a slight clunk and felt my tires slightly wobbling while driving. He said I'll have them check everything out (thinking it would only be wheel related and not multi-point inspection.) I asked if a certain technician would be performing service and was told no but the other technician was good. It was later recommended that I needed my front brake rotors resurfaced, which I agreed to. It was also recommended that I needed my front compliance bushings replaced and Fuel Induction Service (EFI). I didn't agree for service at that time. I inquired about my 120,000 miles service and was told all I needed was the compliance bushings and EFI service because all the other had been done in the multi-inspection. When I left I noticed my vehicle was not stable on the road and wobbling more than when I took it in. I parked vehicle until next morning and checked tire pressure, which were 37.5 and 36, vehicle felt like it had no suspension support, wobbling excessively. On 7/23/15, I received a survey from Honda Division regarding service and could not at this time give an excellent report. I made an appointment and took it back in on 7/27/15 and was assigned another advisor, whom sent me back to the original advisor. I was told by service advisor that I said the same thing before (my interpretation was in 3/13 involving my 03 Accord that had same service performed and same problem). He had me ride with technician, who came back and reported no problem found. I left with vehicle driving with little suspension support, steering wheel pulling and vehicle wobbling. On 7/28/15, I received and email regarding, "Reminder of Additional Services." I took vehicle in on 8/8/15 to have compliance bushings replaced and alignment. On my ride home, vehicle felt as though it had no suspension suupport, steering wheel pull, wobbling and a very noticeable vibration from wheel when coming out of a sharp right turn, and slightly on left turn. I called service manager on 8/11/15 and was told to bring vehicle back up and she would ride with me (since I stated I felt intimidated by the male drivers). During ride she stating what I was feeling was from the rode and that my tires were harsh tires and there were many reviews online stating so (I did not let her know I had done my review before purchase). I did state that I have been driving for 42 years and know when there is a problem with my vehicle. She stated she would have technician to look back over vehicle; however, later stated they found nothing and suggested I take it back to where tires were purchaed and have tire company install flexible tires. Two days later, I received an offer to come in and purchase a 2015 as they needed to get what's left on the lot off before the 2016 arrives. 8/17/15, I went to Firestone and had my tires rebalanced and alignment check (***'s does not do alignment). Service manager drove vehicle and noticed the vibration coming from right wheel area. 8/18/15, I took vehicle to ***'s where tires were purchased, stated concerns and what was suggested by dealership. Tires, wheels, balance and alignment (insight) check were performed by service manager, who saw no problems with tires. I can honestly say I had no problems with the vibration until after the bushings repair.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking to have the compliance bushings replaced and all related parts installed correctly and that my vehicle suspension system handles appropriately to where I can enjoy my driving vehicle again. I am in retirement and has purchased the vehicle I wanted at this time.

Business Response
To whom it may concern:

I am writing in regards to complaint https:********************************************** concerning her compliance bushings being repaired. ********** came into our dealership on July 20, 2015. At that time we did a multipoint inspection and let ********* know she needed to get the tires rotated and balance due to mileage since purchased at ****, the front rotors resurfaced due to shaking when braking, the compliance bushings replaced due to being cracked/torn and alignment done. ********** agreed to have the tires rotated and balanced stating she liked the way we balanced the tires better and she recently had new tires put on at **********. She also agreed to have the rotors resurfaced and decided to postpone the compliance bushings and alignment for that day. ********** then returned on August 8, 2015 to have her compliance bushings and alignment completed. After leaving the dealership and driving the vehicle ********** then called the dealership complaining the compliance bushing repair did not correct her vibration concern. When ********** checked in with the service advisor she never stated there was a vibration when driving her vehicle. The parts and service director called ********** and asked her to bring the vehicle back so they could test drive the vehicle together. Upon return and the test drive complete the parts and service director advised ********** she didn't experience any vibration when they were on the test drive. The parts and service director also informed ********** she had purchased a hard compound tire and may be feeling a difference in driving because of that. On the test drive ********** and the parts service director drove on several different roads to make sure she is feeling the road not a concern with her car.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
1) As stated in the complaint, I went in on 7/20/15 to have airbag installed from recall. At time of write-up, I asked service advisor if I could get my tires balanced and brakes checked. When asked problem, I stated I had a tire replaced by ***** and was feeling a slight wobble, and while braking steering wheel was pulling to left and slight clunk sound from driver's front when braking. Svc. advisor stated he'll have everything checked out.

2) Advisor came to advise that rotors were warped and needed to be resurfaced, which I agreed to service. However, compliance bushings were not mentioned until I was being wrote up after repair. At that time he came me the paperwork of the multi-inspection, which recommended compliance bushings and EFI service. I then asked what would be the cost for the 120,000 miles service and was told I would only have to pay for the recommended items (compliance bushings and EFI) because all the other things included in 120,000 service had been taken care of during multi-inspection. I did not say anything as to the compliance bushings as I had had that service with my 2003 Accord and knew it was a known issue with Hondas. My intentions were to have it further evaluated. I had never been to their service dept. on a Monday and noticed it was quite busy.

3) After leaving Priority, my vehicle was swaying while driving as if tires were not stable on the ground and wobbling. As stated above, parked until next morning to check air pressure. Sure enough tire pressure was very high. After adjusting pressure, vehicle still wobbled and suspension displayed looseness. I called and made an appointment for vehicle to be rechecked on 7/24/15. After sarcastic remark "You said that before" by service provider. (I took it to meant when my 2003 was repaired for compliance bushings in 2013, I had to bring back in because I was traveling out of town and almost went out of control. Problem was corrected). After riding with service technician, he came back and reported nothing found.

4) Left with problems still existing and since I was going out of town in a couple days, decided I would deal with it when I got back in town.

5) Upon arrival back in town, I made the earliest appointment to have compliance bushings repaired, which was 8/8/15. I was advised of the wait time and knew what to expect. However, the time spent for service was much less than originally stated.

6) After leaving couldn't believe I was still feeling suspension looseness, wobbling and vibration while coming out of sharp turning of the steering wheel. NO, it was not stated before service to advisor, because symptoms did not occur until after the compliance bushings repair.

7) Still could not believe this was happening. I took vehicle to ********* had balance and alignment check. Everything okay, but serivice manager noticed vibration while turning and was puzzled.

8) Took vehicle to ***** and had tires checked out since Service Manager was criticizing tires. All the tires tested good with no signs of balance or alignment problems.

9) Tires did not need rotated because Michelins were installed on 4/13/15 at 117,608; on 7/20/15 mileage was 121,517 on 3 tires and 1 at less than 100 miles because of nail replacement on 7/6/15.

Service record: Oil changes at 116,951 and 119,836 by a reputable Independent Honda Service shop. Brakes were checked - all good.
Dates: 3/25/15 and 6/26/15.

********* - Alignment - 4/20/15
Balanced/Alignment check - 8/17/15

***** - Tires Check - 8/18/15.

I have been running back and forth and enduring much stress since 7/24/15 with little success in getting my vehicle repaired to my satisfaction. My vehicle has only been driven limited times: to church and store since my visit with service manager on 8/11/15. My life is centered around serving people, which I could not take an elderly friend to her doctor's appointment or take a ************ friend to **************** appointment.

It is my hope that Priority Honda, who prides itself on amazing customer service and service repair, will do the right thing and repair my vehicle to my satisfaction and to the manufacturer's expectation. If that cannot be accomplished, I'm requesting that I be reimbursed of all charges for services of 7/20/15 and 8/8/15 - $190.85 and $452.44 respectively. I'm also requesting reimbursement if other reppair shop finds any damages as a result of the 8/11/15 service visit. I am planning on traveling out of state and need my vehicle repaired as soon as possible.

I must say that prior to this complaint, I have had a wonderful working relationship with Priority Honda and has referred many friends and hope that our relationship can continue.




Final Business Response
We value ********** as a Priority Honda customer and understand her concerns regarding her vehicle. Because we value her, we are asking that she take her vehicle to another Honda store to have it evaluated by a certified Honda technician at no cost to her. We want her to feel comfortable with her car and driving it which is why we are asking she get a second opinion. If any costs should occur while having it at the Honda store we will take care of it. When our technician, shop foreman and service manager test drove the vehicle with ********** it was operating at normal Honda specifications. We will not be reimbursing the cost of the compliance bushings as it was a repair that needed to be done.

08/06/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
A used car was purchased. Known defects of the car were intentionally left undisclosed from the consumer
A vehicle was purchased from Priority Honda of Huntersville Sat Mar 14th. Prior to purchase, a list of all known defects and repairs was requested by the consumer (this list is still in my possession). After purchase, the air conditioning was noticed to be faulty. This was brought to the attention of the seller within 10 days of sale (I have a record of call logs as well). On May 2nd, when the car was brought back in to the service department the service manager stated that the compressor was bad and that this was known before the car was sold. I checked my list that was provided prior to sale of the car and nothing about a faulty compressor was mentioned. She stated that she had told the sales manager about this defect and he had elected not to address the issue. I appreciated her honesty. She suggested that I talk with the sales department about this to see if they would be willing to cover any portion of the cost for the compressor since the defect was not disclosed for the consumer to make an educated purchase. After 10 weeks of constantly calling the sales department to discuss the issues (and receiving no call backs), I was able to speak with a different manager who told me that the sales department would not be able to help with this cost but they would ask the service department to provide a replacement free of labor. Earlier this week I brought the car in to have a new assessment of the a/c so that all the appropriate parts could be ordered and the work could be completed. I spoke with the same sales manager that I met with in May. She told me that the condition of the compressor had worsened. It had disintegrated and ruined all of the other components of the a/c. I was now going to need an entirely new unit which had nearly tripled the cost from what it would have been to get this fixed immediately. She said she would advocate on my behalf to the service department to uphold the price that was quoted to me in May. They declined stating that the car was sold "as is" and that they were not responsible for disclosing this information to the seller.

Desired Settlement
Every attempt has been made to try and resolve this with the manager(s) independently. They reiterate that the car was sold 'as-it' and they have no intention of providing assistance. They feel neither liable nor responsible for informing the consumer of known defects at the time that the consumer requested them prior to purchase. This is very disheartening but future consumers need to know about the business practices at this establishment. I have steered two clients away from them after they had test driven a car and been ready to make a purchase but more consumers need to know who they are dealing with at Priority Honda of Huntersville.

Business Response
The customer came to us in mid March requesting the least expensive vehicle he could purchase. We were able to show him several vehicles but all seemed too expensive or out of his current budget. He found a vehicle that was slated to go to auction that had been traded on a newer car earlier. Priority Honda prefers to sell vehicles that are less than 8 years and/or 100K to prevent reasons of complaints, much like this customer. From a business standpoint it is difficult to turn away a customer that really wants to buy a vehicle outside of those parameters. In this case, the sales manager advised him multiple times the vehicle had to meet NC safety inspection requirements and the total price would be reflective of the costs to meet those standards. Terms were agreed on, the vehicle was serviced and the inspection conducted. The system in question, air conditioning was and is not part of the NC vehicle safety inspection. The agreement between Priority Honda and the customer was we would agree to sell him the vehicle to meet hit budget needs but would need to meet NC standards. We did.
Later, the customer after taking physical delivery call service to inquire why the air comes through the vent cold when the vehicle is in motion yet is warm when in idle. Service advised the compressor was starting to fail and when questioned by the customer about the sale advised once again the air conditioner is working and is not part of the NC safety requirements. Service offered a deeply discounted price to repair the system that day in hopes of helping the customer. They were declined and the call ended.
Fast forward to end of month July, 3 months has gone by and the customer is now upset the compressor has completely failed. He is now reaching out to the selling dealer demanding the system be repaired though he acknowledges he purchased the vehicle on an as is basis. Now that the compressor has a total fail, the system requires a complete overhaul and the expense quoted to the customer is significantly higher than three months prior had he agreed to the discounted services offered. The lack of addressing the issue at the time caused the system failure and he wants the dealer to pay for it.
The customer was on a specific budget and selected a vehicle assigned to go to auction.
Customer requested to purchase said vehicle and dealer agreed only after exhausting all other options and only after it passed ** safety inspection which does not include air conditioning.
Customer took delivery and then later spoke with the service director by phone and was offered a deeply discounted price to remedy his concern of the air that again was not part of the NC inspection.
Customer declined and drove vehicle for three months and is now demanding dealership fix system.
Customer has been unrealistic from beginning even after acknowledging he purchased this vehicle on an as is condition.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This type of response is not surprising given the moral fiber that has been previously displayed. I would like to list a few claims made above which are either patently false or blatant lies:

"The customer came to us requesting the least expensive vehicle that he could purchase"

"We were able to show him several vehicles"

"He found a vehicle that was slated to go to auction" (This may be true but it would just be another item that was not ethically disclosed to the consumer - at the time I was told that the car had just come in, no decisions had been made and this is why no pictures were posted online)

"The customer was on a specific budget and selected a vehicle assigned to go to auction"

"Customer is now demanding dealership fix system".

It seems to me that the manager has a very different recollection of the order of events because he fails to acknowledge the bulk of my complaint:

"A vehicle was purchased from Priority Honda of Huntersville Sat Mar 14th. Prior to purchase, a list of all known defects and repairs was requested by the consumer (this list is still in my possession). After purchase, the air conditioning was noticed to be faulty. This was brought to the attention of the seller within 10 days of sale (I have a record of call logs as well). On May 2nd, when the car was brought back in to the service department the service manager stated that the compressor was bad and that this was known before the car was sold. I checked my list that was provided prior to sale of the car and nothing about a faulty compressor was mentioned. She stated that she had told the sales manager about this defect and he had elected not to address the issue. I appreciated her honesty. She suggested that I talk with the sales department about this to see if they would be willing to cover any portion of the cost for the compressor since the defect was not disclosed for the consumer to make an educated purchase. After 10 weeks of constantly calling the sales department to discuss the issues (and receiving no call backs), I was able to speak with a different manager who told me that the sales department would not be able to help with this cost but they would ask the service department to provide a replacement free of labor."

If the order of events had been as described in the response above then I would feel responsible for the repairs. However, the order of these events has been corroborated by the service manager. This was a defect known before sale of the car and intentionally concealed from the consumer even after request of fair disclosure was made as a condition of sale. A list of repairs/defects (pertaining to state inspection or otherwise) was given on the day of purchase prior to sale of the vehicle as requested, but the broken compressor is suspiciously absent. If there is concern as to whether I made a valid attempt to have the problem addressed in a timely manner I suggest we look at the call logs. A pattern of neglected calls will not be hard to notice on the part of Priority Honda (I would estimate 30+ calls and 4-5 hours spent making those calls on my behalf with little or no response). Thank you for looking out for future consumers.


Final Business Response
From: **-***** ********* (mailto:**********@****************)
Sent: Wednesday, August 05, 2015 4:48 PM
To: **** ** ******* <********@*****************>
Subject: CASE #XXXXXX

****,

Thank you for speaking with me today. We still believe after all the conversation that we did the right thing and stand by our decsion.


Thank You

***** *********

02/18/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Everything from lying about vehicle history to improper filing of paperwork to vehicle service was and continues to prove gross incompetence.
On 10/10/13 we purchased a "New" ****************. It had roughly a couple thousand miles on
it. I questioned it and was told, twice, that it wasn't a demo. Sometime after sale they admitted it was. They sent ALL paperwork to wrong county - DMV, Banking info, etc. They refused to correct paperwork issues, causing us to spend 2 weeks trying to resolve it. Still, they refused to refund the documentation fee. They also, instead of replacing severly scratch body molding (which from the pre-sale inspection sheet indicated that it didn't exist) they painted over it. Eventually, this was taken care of - after a couple of 2 hour round trips to dealership. The manager was extremely rude and unproffesional when confronted with our concerns, but promised a follow-up call. He never called. We thought we had the paperwork corrected, but a month after sending payment for our tag renewal, my wife got a ticket for invalid registration. Our vehicle information was still registered in Charlotte (wrong county). So we had to, again, address the incompetency of Priority Honda. AND WE HAD TO PAY A DOCUMENT PROCESSING FEE IN ORDER TO HAVE THIS PRIVILEDGE. Since, the service dept. has put me on hold for 15 minutes before hanging up on me. We had to replace a defective sun visor. When they ordered the part, they said they would contact us when it came in. No contact was made - they sent it back to the warehouse. They "said" they sent notification to wrong email address. So, we ordered it again and corrected the email issue. They still didn't call when it came in. I want our document processing fee back, and I want to warn other consumers about the business practices of Priority Honda Huntersville.

Desired Settlement
Refund of the document processing fee.

Business Response
It is unfortunate that our customer has had poor customer service since the purchase of his **********. It is very difficult to determine where the confusion started on our end in regards to title and registration after a period of 16 months has passed. Though some errors are reflected in our customers remarks, all registration issues appear rectified.

Consumer Response
From: ************************* (mailto:*************************)
Sent: Thursday, February 19, XXXX X:XX AM
To: Better Business Bureau
Subject: Re: BBB Complaint Case#******* (Ref#***********************)

This response is just another example of bad business practices. No, this is not satisfactory. The registration was rectified because WE rectified it.
But we paid a fee for THEM to do it correctly and/or make it right. They failed to do so, and forced us to take care of something that we paid them to do.


Thank you.
***************


Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers-New & Used Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/29/2009Business started: 03/01/1999Business started locally: 07/01/2009
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Division of Motor Vehicles, NC
1100 New Bern Ave.
Raleigh, NC 27697-0001
(919) 715-7000
http://www.dmv.dot.state.nc.us

BBB records show a license number of 70774 for this company, issued by Division of Motor Vehicles, NC. Their web address is http://www.dmv.dot.state.nc.us.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: June 2009, NC

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Brison Chu (General Manager)
Contact Information
Ms. Lollie Cornelius (Service Director)Mr. Keith McCullar (GSM)Ms. Victoria Moore (Sales Manager)
Number of Employees

90

Business Category

Auto Dealers-New & Used Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Priority Automotive Huntersville, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Priority Honda Huntersville has received 3.7 out of 5 stars based on 6 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Priority Honda Huntersville

12815 Statesville Rd

Huntersville, NC 28078-9212

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 12815 Statesville Rd 

    Huntersville, NC 28078-9212(704) 875-3232
    (704) 591-8800
    (855) 347-8929
    Fax: (704) 659-2990

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Priority Honda Huntersville is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (704) 591-8800
  • (855) 347-8929
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers-New & Used Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.