BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 08/10/2009

Priority Honda Huntersville

Phone: (704) 875-3232Fax: (704) 659-2990

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues4
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service7
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints12

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (12)BBB Closure Definitions
12/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Finance department hasn't sent my refund of Warranty contract and GAP coverage for processing
I have been trying to cancel the warranty contract and GAP coverage on the 2013 Honda Accord Sport Sedan I purchased new from this dealership, for over a month. I first called to speak with someone in the Finance dept regarding what I needed to do, and was told no one was availble and I would receive a call back by end of day. I called a few days later after no one called back, and did speak to someone in the Finance dept who said they would mail the forms I needed to sign and mail back. I live an hour away from the dealership so this was a great solution...except no one mailed the forms. Even after confirming they had my contact and address info. So on Saturday October 18 I drove an hour to this dealership to sign the forms in person, which took another hour in addition to the drive, for waiting on someone to hand me two sheets of paper to sign. I am not sure why it had to be someone in Finance, because plenty of employees seemed freed up and capable of handing me two sheets of paper. Nonetheless I finally speak to someone who tries to convince me not to cancel in which I declined. I signed forms to cancel the warranty contract (#************) and GAP coverage (#******) on my car (*********************), dated 10/18/14. I was told these would take 6-8 weeks to proceess and the contracts say the refunded amounts are on a pro-rata basis plus any admin fees, that will be taken off the cost of my auto loan, which is thourgh *************. I called both companies Tuesday November 11, to find out neither have received my paperwork from the dealership to cancel those coverages. I gave a call to the dealership to speak to the Finance Manager, only to be told by the operator they were not available. The dealership seems to not want to honor my rights to cancel or at the least are neglecting the procdures they and I have to adhere to, as I cannot get refunds through the companies providing the coverages.

Desired Settlement
Refunding my money from the date I signed the forms to cancel the warranty contract and GAP coverage. I want this resolved ASAP because I suspect they think if they drag their feet or make this process as difficult as they can, that I will not pursue my rights to cancel, or at the least reduce the amounts of my refunds. I would also like an explanation as to why a business with any competence or responsible practices ignores customer requests, and why it takes one almost a month to put two pieces of paper in the mail, fax, or scanner.

Business Response
I wanted to apologize for our error in not cancelling the product once requested. We have recently had some personnel changes to facilitate things like this not happening again. The cancellation will be pro-rated from the 18th of October and the appropriate forms have been e-mailed. We will be expediting this refund because of our internal error.

Consumer Response
Resolution still pending on status of a processed return, but I was reached out to by someone in the Finance dpeartment at the Dealership. He explained the particular area's issues and his intent to remedy them, as he previously worked there and such issues didn't occur. Again, I am just waiting for an update, at least, in regards to expediting those refunds.

Final Business Response
We have processed the cancellation and used the original date of 10/18/14. The refund will be sent to his bank by the end of next week (by 12/5/14).

09/30/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Manager wrote down price and we signed it in agreement But manager refused to honor the deal 15 minutes later.
My wife and I went into Priority Honda of xxxxx in the evening of September 27th with the purpose of purchasing a new Honda Accord EX-L sedan. After we checked out the vehicle and negotiated with the salesman and manager, we eventually settled on a purchasing price. The manager wrote the price down on a piece of paper and we signed under the price as a sign of mutual agreement. The manager went off to work out the financing and things but when she came back, 15 minutes later, she flaked! She refused to honor the price the she wrote down and we agreed upon! We were shocked and couldn't believe that she would back out of the deal like that. A man is only as good as his words, we are infuriated and caution anyone from buying from this dealership as they obviously have no concept of honor and credibility.

Desired Settlement
We would like to purchase the vehicle at the price we mutually agreed to.

Business Response
I spoke with Mr ** and there was confusion about his transaction due to a locate with additional costs. Mr ** did agree on a different color in stock and he is taking delivery this evening. ***********, Managing Partner

Consumer Response
Hi
This matter has been resolved.
Dealer was willing to resolve the issue and sell us the vehicle at the original agreed price.

Thank you for your time and help.

03/18/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
lied to about refund of service contract money
Bought a 2011 Honda Pilot from Priority on 11/13/2010. Paid $1588.00 for a service contract from their financial man at that time with the understanding that we would receive the entire sum back when we traded the car off, if we did not use any of the warranty. We are now ready to trade our Pilot and was told we would only recieve a percentage of total amount paid. I knew this is how it normally works, but we were told at the time we bought the Pilot by their financial rep. that this plan (******** Warranty Services, Inc) was different and we would get the entire amount back if unused.

Desired Settlement
Refund of $1588.00

Business Response
The finance person in question is no longer employed by Priority Honda, so there was no way to verify the verbal statement. The warranty company will refund the prorated portion and we will offer to make up the difference in a trade allowance towards another vehicle. We will deliver the vehicle to Mr.********* at a location of his choosing. ***********

02/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Recommended service to car that was not actually needed.
Vehicle: 2004 Honda CRV - brought to deal on advice from local mechanic who has worked on my cars for almost 20 years, very trusted. The car was making an intermittent grinding noise front passenger side. Mechanic thought it might be ABS issue & only a dealer has the equipment to check that. I dealt with *** at Priority Honda. After evaluating the car I was told the front brakes were "metal on metal" & had to be replaced. The rotors were "rotted out" needed replacing. I was also told the ball joint boot on the front passenger side was "busted & leaking fluid". And once all of this work was done I would need to have the car aligned. Total cost around $800 (this is with a 10% discount that I was being given for some reason). My trusted mechanic had told me to check with him before having any work done by the dealer. When I told him what Honda had recommended he said he could do all of those & he was sure it would cost less. He also told me to be sure they had diagnosed the ABS system, as that's what he thought was wrong. I called back Honda & told them I did not want them to do the work & immediately they said they would match any price I had gotten elsewhere. This made me suspicious, like they didn't want me to get a 2nd opinion. I told them I would pick the car up. I was charged $59 for diagnosing the "alleged" problems.
When my mechanic looked at the car he said the brakes did need replacing, but were by no means metal on metal. The rotors were fine, still have 1/3 life left on them. The ball joint boot had a very small hole that appeared to be a slit & looked very new. Of course he had no proof, but he wouldn't be surprised if the dealership had done it. There was no fluid leaking. He had done an alignment in December, so it certainly did not need another alignment. When he go in to do the work he did find a locked up caliper on the brake which was likely real cause of the grinding noise. He said Honda didn't even find this & this would have cost me even more (probably my total at Honda would have been over $1,000). My charge at my mechanic was $292!
I completed a customer satisfaction survey from Honda & told them this. They called with all sorts of apologies & offers to let me come see what they saw. I told him I would not know what I was looking at which is why I have a trusted mechanic to advise me. I believe they were dishonest about the work required & I feel like it might be because I'm a woman & likely don't know better. I asked the customer service rep why I should trust them over the mechanic I've been using for 20 years & is a friend & has always been honest & fair. Would he?
In the end I don't think they even diagnosed the true problem. I am not necessarily looking for restitution, but I think people should know what goes on there. I see there is another very similar complaint involving a woman being given false information about repair needs during an inspection check.
On a positive note, everyone I dealt with there was polite & friendly.

Desired Settlement
Now that I know my $59 didn't even diagnose the correct problem, I wouldn't mind having it refunded. Mostly I'm just glad I didn't waste almost $700 I didn't need to spend!

Business Response
In response to BBB Case#: ******, ***** *******.

After reading Ms. *******'s complaint I pulled the original repair order where the Honda certified technician made recommendations as well as the internal follow up survey we conducted with Ms. *******'s concerns.

Ms. ******* came into our service department with a complaint of hearing a deep grinding noise on right front area at times. Ms. ******* was advised of the $59.95 diagnostic fee for her concern as well as a multipoint inspection to be completed on the vehicle and she approved this work to be done. The Honda certified technician pulled the vehicle in and started the inspection process on Ms. *******'s concern. For our protection and the customers protection we have a policy that any work that needs to be addressed on a customer's vehicle is to be disclosed to the customer at the time of visit. At that point it is the customers decision to have the work completed or take it to another person to look it over or have the work completed. We also have a policy in place where we will price match for our customers. This is not due to having a second opinion, it's just a courtesy.

I want to take a minute to address the items that were recommended to Ms. *******. The front brakes pad were recommended because they fell below the minimum of 3 mm. The pad material was worn at an angle and the metal part of the pad was hitting the rotors intermittently. The rotors weren't rotted outwardly, they were rotten internally where the cooling vents are. They were also at minimum specs and if were resurfaced would fall below minimum specs. Also if we were going to replace only the pads the rotors would not have lasted as long as the pads. As for both lower ball joint boots, they were dry rotted and split due to normal wear and tear and mileage. The factory grease had come out of the ball joint boot and road debris (dirt, sand) had contaminated the joint. As for the alignment, anytime you disassemble a front suspension to replace a component an alignment is required.

I do apologize for Ms. ******* feeling taken advantage of because of being a female. Since I too am a female and the service director at Priority I would hope my service advisors would never purposely make a female feel inferior. We offered to have Ms. ******* come back in so we could show her what the technician found but she declined this good faith gesture. I am willing to reimburse Ms. ******* her $59.95 diagnostic fee.

02/06/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Service contract added to car sale in deceptive manner. Still awaiting refund over two months after refund was requested.
On November 1, 2013, we were negotiating to buy a new Honda Accord. We were first presented a "four blocker" showing the car we were buying, the car we were trading in, the down payment required, and the monthly payment. There were no numbers associated with the car we were buying or the trade-in. It also indicated a 6 year 80K warranty, which we did not request, included as part of the deal. I told our salesperson, ****** *****, that I wanted to see numbers associated with the price of the car and the amount of the trade-in. I also specifically said that I wanted to see it without the warranty that we didn't request. She returned with a couple of proposals that showed different financing options and showed what we believed were all of the numbers (trade-in, document fee, taxes, and other fees). We assumed the payment numbers on this sheet were based off of the numbers presented on the sheet (I did not calculate the payments based off those numbers). The only writing on that sheet was 0% special (the financing we were receiving) and someone's initials below that. We came to agreement believing that those numbers were correct and reflected what we were presented on that sheet. After over three hours at the dealership we were taken into the finance manager's, **** *******, office. We signed all of the paperwork. I should have noticed it at this point, but we were exhausted from the process and assumed that what we were signing was correct with the numbers we were presented. After going home, I looked at the documents further and noticed a charge of $1800 for a service contract. I also noticed that the numbers were missing an additional $809.80 that was charged above the price of the car. After reviewing the documents further, I noticed that someone wrote "Inc 6y 80K warranty" on the sheet with the numbers that we believed to be correct and had signed. Someone added the warranty I specifically told the salesperson I didn't want and wrote it on the sheet after my wife and I had signed it. The cost of it was hidden in the payment per month amount and was not listed on the sheet. I went back to pick the car up on 11/6/2013 and informed the salesperson that I was very upset with what had occurred during the negotiation process. She took me to the finance manager. I was very upset at this point. I explained to him that someone wrote on a document after we had signed it believing it to be something else. I also told him that the numbers did not add up. He explained that the numbers didn't add up because he reduced the price of the service contract to include a road hazard and multishield (dent) protection. I may have been upset, but I never used inappropriate language. At one point he raised his voice at me and used profanity. I didn't say anything after that other than that I wanted a refund for the service contract and road hazard/multishield protection that was added. He filled out the paperwork which we both signed, gave me a copy, and I left. On 12/23/2013 I sent him an email requesting the status of the refund and heard nothing back. On 1/2/14 I forwarded that email to the salesperson requesting she look into it and haven't heard anything back. I also sent another request to the finance manager with the Market Area VP cc'd on 1/9/14 and have no response. I have no desire to call or visit the dealership based on how we were treated during the process and with the way the finance manager acted toward me when I went back to pick up the car. The cancellation form states to allow three or four weeks for processing. It has now been over nine weeks and I have yet to receive a refund.

Desired Settlement
I want the refund of $2609.80 that I have already requested for the service contract and road hazard/multishield protection.

Business Response
A PHONE CALL WAS MADE TO THE CUSTOMER ON JAN 28TH 2014 SAYING THAT ITS A SIMPLE FORM PROCESS TO RECIVE THE REFUND FOR THE 2 PRODUCTS THAT WERE AGREED IN THE CONTRACT. THE SERVICE CONTRACT AND THE MULTI-SHIELD PRODUCTS WILL BE CANCELLED WITH THE SAME DATE AS THE ORIGINAL CONTRACT DATE SO THE CUSTOMER WILL NOT BE CHARGED A $50 FEE.
CUSTOMER HAS AGRRED TO SIGN AND HELP IN THE PROCESS.
PRIORITY HONDA

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I accept what they have done, but the same process was performed previously and I did not receive the refund the first time, so I would like the complaint to remain open until the money is received. I will inform the BBB when that happens.

Final Business Response
WE ARE WAITING FOR THE SERVICE CONTRACTS THAT WERE BOUGHT TO BE FEFUNDED BY THE COMPANY THAT PROVIDEDS THE INSURANCE. UNTIL THAT MONEY IS REFUNDED BY THEM WE HAVE TO WAIT.
THANKS
PRIORITY HONDA

Page 1 of 2
02/18/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Everything from lying about vehicle history to improper filing of paperwork to vehicle service was and continues to prove gross incompetence.
On 10/10/13 we purchased a "New" ****************. It had roughly a couple thousand miles on
it. I questioned it and was told, twice, that it wasn't a demo. Sometime after sale they admitted it was. They sent ALL paperwork to wrong county - DMV, Banking info, etc. They refused to correct paperwork issues, causing us to spend 2 weeks trying to resolve it. Still, they refused to refund the documentation fee. They also, instead of replacing severly scratch body molding (which from the pre-sale inspection sheet indicated that it didn't exist) they painted over it. Eventually, this was taken care of - after a couple of 2 hour round trips to dealership. The manager was extremely rude and unproffesional when confronted with our concerns, but promised a follow-up call. He never called. We thought we had the paperwork corrected, but a month after sending payment for our tag renewal, my wife got a ticket for invalid registration. Our vehicle information was still registered in Charlotte (wrong county). So we had to, again, address the incompetency of Priority Honda. AND WE HAD TO PAY A DOCUMENT PROCESSING FEE IN ORDER TO HAVE THIS PRIVILEDGE. Since, the service dept. has put me on hold for 15 minutes before hanging up on me. We had to replace a defective sun visor. When they ordered the part, they said they would contact us when it came in. No contact was made - they sent it back to the warehouse. They "said" they sent notification to wrong email address. So, we ordered it again and corrected the email issue. They still didn't call when it came in. I want our document processing fee back, and I want to warn other consumers about the business practices of Priority Honda Huntersville.

Desired Settlement
Refund of the document processing fee.

Business Response
It is unfortunate that our customer has had poor customer service since the purchase of his **********. It is very difficult to determine where the confusion started on our end in regards to title and registration after a period of 16 months has passed. Though some errors are reflected in our customers remarks, all registration issues appear rectified.

Consumer Response
From: ************************* (mailto:*************************)
Sent: Thursday, February 19, XXXX X:XX AM
To: Better Business Bureau
Subject: Re: BBB Complaint Case#******* (Ref#***********************)

This response is just another example of bad business practices. No, this is not satisfactory. The registration was rectified because WE rectified it.
But we paid a fee for THEM to do it correctly and/or make it right. They failed to do so, and forced us to take care of something that we paid them to do.


Thank you.
***************


01/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was told verbally that they would no longer honor my lifetime oil change.
I have been receiving free lifetime oil changes from a coupon that was sent as a courtesy due to me being a Honda car owner. I was verbally informed that they will no longer honor this. When I originally received it I questioned the coupon and asked what was the catch. I was told no catch, no purchase needed etc just a free oil change. I've been getting them going on 2 years. Yesterday I'm told no because I don't allow any other services or my vehicle wasn't purchased there. That is the original place of purchase ironically from the owner before me but no stipulations were ever disclosed until my appointment yesterday. I asked to speak with management and was put off, I requested to see it in writing and was put off. I was repeatedly told its not a good business decision. Why was a letter sent to say effective xyz we will no longer do this or that, I couldn't get a straight answer. I am extremely displeased with this! How can stipulation s be added to a service after the fact?. Additionally, my car wasn't washed or vaccumed. I was told it was because of my antenna, push the antenna in like you always have done. I took my keys and left because i was livid at this point with them. I want my free lifetime oil changes to continue to be honored with the other services that comes with it.

Desired Settlement
I want my free lifetime oil changes to continue to be honored with the other services that comes with it. Is: fluid checks, wash, vaccum, etc

Business Response
The Priority Honda Huntersville store is recognized in the community for publically offering free oil changes, free state inspections, free towing, and engine coverage for life on all new car purchases. This service is in writing and the applies to the original buyer of that vehicle.
When Priority Automotive Group purchased this location in 2009, they sent out invitations to the local residents of Huntersville offering "open enrollment" in which it gave the opportunity for them to have an inspection of their current Honda for a small fee and then provided the services known as PFL (Priorities for Life).
We have checked all our service records for this particular customer to see if the purchase took place since 2009 or if the vehicle was included in the open enrollment. Neither of those inquiries checked out. This customer has taken advantage of an apparent mistake in recognizing they ere not part of the PFL program and has oil changes provided at no expense. Once the mistake was discovered, we advised the customer as such and asked if they could provide anything in writing to advise otherwise just in case we made the mistake on our end. They have not been able to provide any documentation.



Consumer Response
From: ***********************
Sent: Sunday, January 18, XXXX X:XX PM
To: ***************************
Subject: Re: BBB Complaint Case# ******


Hello, I have located an invoice with the lifetime oil information noted from Nov 2012. Please see the attached PDF to show this as proof that i have in no way made up this service. Most certainly the original document was given to them with that first visit to obtain it. This clearly shows the service has been being rendered accordingly for some time now.

I look forward to hearing back with concern of the lifetime oil service in question. Thank you for your timely attention to my situation.
****************


Business Response
As previously explained, this customer has never purchased a vehicle from Priority and can't provide any documentation that states they were part of the open enrollment in 2009 and 2010. What the customer is showing is a receipt from services rendered at Priority Honda showing where the customer was incorrectly provided services at no cost to them, which we have stated was our mistake. This mistake has provided many services to the customer as if they had purchased even though they had not. We are not asking them to reimburse us for previous charges, we are just advising them we can not going forward. We look forward to providing these services if or when the customer let's us earn their business on a purchase of a new or pre owned car.

06/20/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Promised cigar smoke smell will be gone.
Didn't happen
Sat. Car had not been cleaned and smelled of cigars. Was told no problem we deal with this all the time and we will have it all cleaned for you on Tuesday. Got vehicle Tuesday still smelled. Smoke with manager and they picked vehicle up and bombed it 2 more times. Got it back on Friday and still smells. During this time I was spoked to very rude. They acted like they were doing me a favor and I was bothering them bc I didn't think the smell would come out. Also was scammed into a key replacement for $350. Did get that returned to us but not before I was yelled at by finance guy. This car would never sell on a dealer lot smelling like this.

Desired Settlement
We would like $3000 off the price we paid

Business' Initial Response
Customer's Husband purchased the vehicle from us. wife came back and addressed the smell issue, we had a vendor that pluged in a machine to remove the smell, customer stated that the smell was gone, came back again and complained about the smell, we did the same process twice as she kept complaining, husband claimed that he was satisfied and could not smell anything in the car. Wife came back again and complained, the used car manager offered to trade her out of the vehicle at full purchase price, or run it through the machine again. customer refused the offer. Dealership offering at this time is to trade the customer out of the vehicle at full purchase price, or run it through the machine for the 4th time. Manager and husband could not smell anything in the car, but we are to work with customer to replace the vehicle if she would like. Dealership is no position to give customer $3000 for no wrong doing at this time. if customer would like to take any of the offers please contact the dealership, and we will do so. Thank you.

Consumer's Final Response
My husband never said he could not smell it in fact he called me to tell me he could still smell it while the manager was standing there. Everyone at this place has lied to us at least once except the service manager. The treatment we have recieved is nowhere near acceptable. The manager was rude on the phone bc I was worried about the smell not coming out and another finance man pretty much yelled at me in the parking lot bc he scammed us into a key replacement. We don't want to trade the car bc they don't have another car like ours. We will be happy to bring our car up there and get some waiting customers opinion on the smell.

06/27/2012Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Dealer advertises Free Oil Changes for Life, however, does not disclose any stipulations.
I purchased my vehicle from Priority Honda of Huntersville on April 1, 2012. Plastered across their store and their website is a service called 'Priorities for Life'. According to this service, a customer receives 'Oil and Filter Changes for Life!' At their website, http://priorityhondacharlotte.uptracs.com/priorities4life.php, it explicitly says "You'll never pay to change your vehicle;s oil or replace the filter as long as you own your Priority car or truck." During sales negotiations, I expressly asked my salesperson how often I was permitted to bring my new vehicle in for an oil change. He said I could bring the vehicle in as often as I wanted to as long as brought it to their dealership. And if I brought there, every oil change I requested would be free of charge. On June 15, 2012, my wife called the dealership to set up an appointment to have the oil changed. They asked the mileage and she said it was about 5000 miles. At that point, they said if we brought in the car for an oil change, it would cost around $32. They said only if brought in at 7500 mile increments would an oil change be free of charge. They NEVER disclosed that verbally or in writing when purchasing the vehicle. In fact, I checked my documentation and there is no information regarding the oil changes with Priority for Life. I feel this is an advertising misrepresentation. I contacted the Service Manager, xxxxxand General Manager, xxxxxand expressed my concern and frustration. Their response was essentially: Sorry but that's our policy and it's more than sufficient to care for your vehicle. Whether or not the service will care for the vehicle is beside the point; this is false advertising and the dealership would not support its salespersons's comments.

Desired Settlement
I want was promised: free oil changes for life of the vehicle whenever I decide to bring in for service, regardless of the mileage.

Business' Initial Response
I would be happy to resolve this issue by providing coupons for a number of oil changes in addition to our Priorities for Life Program that provides for oil changes every 7500 miles. We have no internal tracking/accounting system that will allow for us to handle this any other way. So, if xxxxx would like to let me know how many oil changes he would like in addition to the current program, I would be happy to honor his request.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I would like 10 and then I will close this case. Thanks.

Business' Final Response
I am sorry for the delayed response but I have been out of the office. I would be happy to provide 10 oil changes to compensate for the misunderstanding. I will put this in writing and mail out ASAP. Thank you.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers-New & Used Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.