BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/09/2004

Modern Nissan of Lake Norman

Phone: (704) 237-5100Fax: (704) 237-513318615 Statesville Rd, CorneliusNC 28031-6751

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/09/2004

BBB has determined that Modern Nissan of Lake Norman meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Modern Nissan of Lake Norman's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Modern Nissan of Lake Norman
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
02/17/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised written warranty or guarantee

Complaint: Modern Nissan lied to us in writing they would take care of a small dent on a vehicle we purchased.
We bought a vehicle and Nissan promised in writing they would fix a dent. We drove to the dealer on the scheduled day ( 40 miles one way ) and were told after an hour their dent man didnt show up for work. We were then promised the dent man would come to us. This also never happened. After leaving message for nissan to help ( mgr XXXXX )never returned our calls. He ignored them. We need BBB'S help as modern nissan has no intention of honoring their agreement. We are also filing a complaint with Nissan.

Initial Business Response
There was mis-cumunication on our part for sure! We have contacted our customer and made plans to take a loaner car to his home and then bring his vehicle here to have the work completed. We applogies for the lack of follow-up.

Final Consumer Response
The dealership is stating they will now take care of this problem. Their proposed resolution is many days away and will not be resolved by Feb 14th. They have promised to take care of the problem but it is far from resolved as we still have a dent in our door.

Final Business Response
We have made arrangments to pick Mr xxxxx car up and have it repaired on Frioday the 14th. That is the soonest it can be completed.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

12/10/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation did not disclose key conditions of the offer

Complaint: My husband purchased a truck under prefalse statements regarding air conditioning on his vehicle.
My husband purchased a standard Nissan Frontier on October 31, 2013. Two days later my husband told me that something was wrong with the air conditioner and that is was not working. When the sales rep xxxxx contacted my husband's phone regarding how he liked the vehicle I answered the phone and told him that the truck drove very well but there was a problem with the air conditioner. I stated to him that the air was not working correctly. I asked him just to make sure was the air conditioner an additional option. He very much hestitated and said I don't believe so that usually comes standard on all vehicles and it may just not be working properly and we may need to bring it in. He said he would call me right back. I waited three hours and he never called me back. I called him back and he told me that was an additional option. He told me that was clearly stated when we purchased the vehicle. If it was clearly stated then why did he have to go research as he didn't know the answer to that question and he thought that was standard. At no time did they tell my husband that because if they did they would have clearly explained that to him and he wouldn't have tried to use the air conditioner. The Sales man did not say that because he thought it was standard too and didn't need to go over that part. I asked to speak to the manager but the sales person told me that his manager said that there was nothing that they could do. We know that this was never told to my husband and we wouldn't have purchased a vehicle with no air conditioning. When you ask a salesman and they don't know him self then there seems to be a big problem there. The manager stated to me on November 20 that there was nothing that can be done. I asked if they could knock some off to install it and they say no. Very upset how we were dealt with. When a salesperson has to ask then how was it explained to my husband there was no air conditioner when the sales person thinks there is one on there.

Initial Business Response
We have spoken to xxxxx about the transaction and the fact that the truck is not equipped with air conditioning. xxxxx picked this vehicle out online and we delivered the truck to his residence. The online description is correct and does not list air conditioning as an option. xxxxx agrees that he has some responsibility for not reviewing the equipment, but that being said we want happy satisfied customers and we are looking into options to resolve the situation. We will post a final outcome.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
At this time we are still working through if air conditioning can be put on the truck and also if not what would the pricing be to trade it in for another truck. So right now we haven't accepted any offer from the company.

Final Business Response
We left a message for xxxxx Monday 12/2 to contact us with regarding a trade option.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

10/03/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor money-back guarantees

Complaint: Dealership did not refund $2700.00 Warranty to the Lien Holder.
2 Weeks after purchasing my Vehicled I returned to the Dealership to Op out of the 2700.00 Extended Warranty. Paperwork was signed, and completed by the Finance Manager. I was told the Paperwork would be submitted the Next Day, and a Refund of $2700.00 would be returned to my Bank. I have not heard anything from the Dealership, I have left 2 Voicemails, and Nobody will return my Phone Calls. I feel like the Dealership isnt doing enough to get this Money Returned.

Initial Business Response
I apologizes for any delay in processing the refund. I appears the request was made through an employee whom is no longer with Modern Nissan of Lake Norman. The claim has been completed and xxxxx should receive the credit shortly. Please contact xxxxx directly if I can be of any further assistance.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

11/28/2012Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation not consistent with the written agreement

Complaint: I was told and sent a e-mail that if I drove up to Modern NIssan from xxxxx and purchased a car that they would pay my taxes, tags and title.
This dealership told me they would pay my taxes, tags and title if I drove up from xxxxx NC. I drove up payed them with a certifed check from my bank xxxxx. After reviewing my paper work I found out that I payed the taxes, title and tags, after speaking with the sales person xxxxx, her stated it was against the law to not pay the taxes, title and tags, I advised him that i knew that but they promised me that they would, he appeared upset and spoke down to me. I then spoke with the manager and he did nothing. Three weeks later I found out from my bank that they never received the title and was told if they did not in two weeks my interest and car payment would go up. After making phone calls back to the dealership I finally got someone to listen to me and it was found out that the person that took the check had written a contract that I had financed my car though Nissan Cooperation and sent the contract to the Company in Calif. The lady that assisted me was very nice and contact my bank and told them what happened so that my payment and interest rate would not go up. Finally I got the paper work and the title was sent tot my bank. I hope that there is no car out there that is in my name twice. I would like to also get the carfax on this car. The date of Purchase was June 22, 2012. This was a new car with 247 miles that they could not account for.

Business' Initial Response
The agreed upon price of the automobile sold to Ms. ****** was $23,500 which is exactly what she paid. The breakdown of those funds are as follows: $22176.70 Sale Price for the automobile, $69.00 Tag Fee, $665.30 Sales Tax, and $589 Dealer Fee. All charges where reviewed at time of delivery and a signed Buyers order was completed by both a Dealer Rep and Ms ******. This has been reviewed several times with Ms ******, but an understanding issue remains. There is No Refund due.

I will be more than happy to send a CarFax and will do so right away. The mileage on the car was a result of the car being transfered from another dealership prior to sale.

Ms ****** did not purchase any kind of extended warranty on the vehicle, she does have all Factory Coverages which include 3 years/36,000 miles on the vehicle and 5 years/50,000 miles on the powertrain. This is all stated in the owners manual presented at time of delivery.

Ms ****** drove from xxxxx to xxxxx because no local dealer in her market would agree to the price we offered.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

07/05/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor a repair estimate or agreement

Complaint: I recently purchased a car from modern nissan and was promissed repairs that still havn't been repaired.
I purchased a black pontiac G6 on March 28 2012 that did have damage to car.I was promissed that dents and damage would be repaired. went back to modern nissan a few days later to get repairs done but the guy who repairs the cars wasnt there. so i returned a week later and the guy was there but said he couldnt repair car and that i had to take it to a body shop. so i talked the the salesmen who sold me the car and he gave me a body shop to get an estimate from by the name of xxxxx. recieved the estimate took it back up to the salesman. he told me give him a few days to take the estimate to management and go from there. a week passed no call from xxxxx(salesman)nor anyone from management.so i called and asked to speak with tyrone, he told me he was still working on it and would give a call later on that day. no call was given. so the next day i called and asked to speak with management i wa referred xxxxx who asked me to bring the car up there and let him look it where he said his guy who repair cars could get all the dents out. so i returned a week later where the guy repaired some dents but the main dents were not touched. so for the last few days ive been trying to get in touch with xxxxx, who hasn't been returning any of my phone calls.

Business' Initial Response
Our Sales Manager will contact xxxxx and arrange a time to have the car repaired. Thanks for bringing this matter to our attention.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers-New & Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/18/2004Business started: 01/01/2003
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Division of Motor Vehicles, NC
1100 New Bern Ave.
Raleigh, NC27697-0001
(919) 861-3808
http://www.dmv.dot.state.nc.us

BBB records show a license number of 0065682 for this company, issued by Division of Motor Vehicles, NC. Their web address is http://www.dmv.dot.state.nc.us.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 2001, NC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Scott Traub (General Manager)
Number of Employees

66

Business Category

Auto Dealers-New & Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Lake Norman Nissan, Inc.
Industry Tips
Buying a New Car
Dont Fall Victim to Enticing Auctions Ads for Cars!
Purchasing a Car Online
Spot Delivery Complaints are on the Rise
VIN Cloning Swindles Luxury Car Buyers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Modern Nissan of Lake Norman

18615 Statesville Rd

Cornelius, NC 28031-6751

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 18615 Statesville Rd 

    Cornelius, NC 28031-6751(704) 237-5100

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Modern Nissan of Lake Norman is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.