BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 03/05/1999

Modern Nissan of Concord

Phone: (704) 788-2110Fax: (704) 262-4403

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints7

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)
06/08/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We were promised a second key to our vehicle. Communication dropped between us.
We purchased a Chevy Cruise in June of 2016. At the time we noticed online that ALL cars come with a second key. Upon delivery of the vehicle, we were told there was no second key available.

I sent a letter to the dealership with evidence that a second key should have been provided. We received a response from ******* ***** promising to make things right and to get us a second key.

She set us up with a locksmith in Charlotte who was going to help. After waiting and waiting for the locksmith to call us back, we contacted ******* again. She said that they have a new company making their keys. She also gave us a suggested date and a time to come to the dealership without allowing us to properly plan our schedule.

We responded in February, that we would not be able to make that day work due to our jobs and we would like other arrangements to be made.

We still have received no response.

We want our problem to be dealt with.

Aside from that, we also had a problem with the rear door locking. We took it to our local Chevy dealership where a mechanic discovered that the lock had been "rigged" instead of fixed. It was basically being held together with duct tape.

Also, currently we are having issues with the electrical system. Our radio and turn signal sound randomly turns off.

I don't expect anyone to fix this problem, but I am putting it out there considering all of the trouble we have had with receiving our key.

Desired Settlement
We are wanting them to follow through and provide us with a second key. It has been a year. We should not have to drive almost two hours to them and be on their schedule. I work at least 50 hours a week. I am asking them, since we went through all of this trouble, that in addition to providing the key.. they find a way to provide it to me at a location close to home.

Business Response
***Document Attached***
I hate that there was a lack of communication in this matter; we have had a change in GM's twice since his happened and with the time lapse in emails, there was a new GM each time we spoke. However, we tried to accommodate them as much as possible; I never communicated with *****, I actually only spoke with his wife, ****. I have reached out to her through email to resolve this issue and have attached the two emails sent out.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The company is finally providing our key. We are scheduled to have it made this Friday. I do need to note that my wife emailed two emails since the last communication and never received a response. The lack of communication was not on our part.

12/11/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was told one price, charged another, and charged for services I did not need.
I recently bought a used Nissan Altima from a private party seller in Texas. I drove the car back to xxxxx, NC, and on the way back, the "service engine soon" light came on. I stopped at a roadside mechanic who stated the light was related to a factory recall on the car. The roadside mechanic did not charge me and stated that I should take the car to a Nissan dealer who should fix my car free or charge.

I drove the car straight to the Nissan dealer who stated that the recall was from 2007, and that they couldn't see if the recall had been performed or not because the records for the car were "locked." This practice sounded suspicious to me, but I didn't have a reason to not trust them at this point.

I also asked them if they could complete an inspection on the car because I needed to register the car. Last few hours of waiting later, I was told the car would cost $457 to repair. I was given a form to sign agreeing to the amount.

I typically request a copy of forms I sign, but as I told xxxxx, the individual involved in this transaction, my mother was sick. I was trying to finish business in North Carolina so that I could go be with her. I also requested at this time if my mother could pay for the service with her credit card to which he agreed to.

xxxxx took me back to his office, and he stated that my window tint was too dark to pass inspection. He also stated that my car would need to fail inspection due to the check engine light. He stated that I would need to pay additional funds when I came back for the rest of my inspection.

When I called my mother to pay for the service, he told her what was fixed. He also stated to her that the tint would need to come off, and they could take it off for about $50. My mother stated that we had just paid $457, and couldn't they waive the tint, which he said would be fine.

I had an uneasy feeling about my service at Modern Nissan, so I took my car to Valvoline to pay for another inspection. The mechanic at xxxxx took one look at my out-of-state plates and said that I didn't need an inspection, and I had a year to obtain one, since the car had never been registered in North Carolina.

I finally had some time when I went home, and I viewed the receipt only to find out that xxxxx charged us $508.57 instead of the $457 he originally quoted me. He never said anything about the change in price, and had I never examined the receipt, I never would've known.

What's worse is that he also charged $10 for some window tinting fee that he didn't perform. It also states that the maximum amount that I should have been charged was $30 for the inspection that I didn't need, and he charged me $33.

I was really going through a rough time in my life, which I eluded to with him. I feel that he took advantage of my vulnerable state and held me back from time I could have spent with my mother making me go through all these changes for services I didn't need. On top of the fact that I may not have even needed the original services he charged me for.

This is all so unfortunate because Modern Nissan could have had a customer for life.

Desired Settlement
I would like to be refunded the $50 overage he charged me and the $33 inspection that was not needed.

Business Response
We will be happy to mail check for 88 dollars. we apologize for any problems.

10/02/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Front left wheel/ Rim damaged prior to purchase and both sales rep and manager well aware that this was to be replaced as part of buying the vehicle.
As part of the prior agreement before purchasing vehicle I Stated and made it very clear to the sales rep (xxxxx) and sales Manager (cant remember his name) that in order to make the deal and purchase the vehicle a few items must be taking care of first. I went over these with both sales rep and sales manager. I feel I was pressured into purchasing the vehicle and for Modern Nissan to get me to hurry up and sign all the paper work and get me out the door. I made several attempts to speak with the sales rep (xxxxx) and the sales manager after the purchase in order to get the wheel issued resolved. Every time I spoke with either one I was told something different why the wheel could not be replaced. first I was told it could be repaired, then it couldn't, then they gave me name of company to call to get price to repair wheel. I then made several attempts to try and speak with sales manager but was never able to speak with him. I left several voicemail messages, messages with front desk, and messages with sales rep xxxxx since he at that point said he could not help me and that I would need to speak with the manager about it. After finally able to get in touch with manager Modern Nissan agreed to pay for only 50% of the cost to replace wheel. I told them I disagreed and would go another route

Desired Settlement
I am asking that the front left wheel be replaced with a "new one" since Modern Nissan stated that " The wheel could not be repaired and would have to be replaced" after I purchased the vehicle and Modern Nissan finally agreed to pay 50% of the cost of a new wheel, but I do not believe I should have to pay for any of this. It was part of the purchase

Business Response
I have reviewed the information and spoken with the dealership personnel involved with the situation Mr. xxxxxx has described. After which, I feel that poor communication and mis-handling by the dealership has created an issue that otherwise should not have existed. After my determination, I have also been in contact with Mr. xxxxx to apologize for this situation and make arrangements to get the rim replaced.

07/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Vehicle purchased with 3 day, 300 mile exchange policy. Vehicle returned exchange not being honored
Began deal with salesman xxxxx for a 2005 kia sorento, 88k miles. Provided check from our bank on t g

Desired Settlement
Started deal with salesperson xxxxx for 2006 kia sorento, around 88488 miles. Financed through personal bank. 3 day, 300 mile exchange policy written and verbally communicated. gave check and took posession of the vehicle the evening of july 11. On july 13, the vehicle shuts down while driving; total of 2 times while traveling at high rate of speed. On july 14, the 3rd day, the vehicle was returned. At that time, the manager said he would exchange the vehicle, and if the exchange cost less, he would cut a check for the difference. A loaner morano was issued on the 14th. Later, the salesman calls to try to coerce my husband to keep the car. We told him no, we were interested in the exchange. We spoke with the manager on tuesday who agreed to again honor the exchange, told us we had full access to the entire modern platform to look for what we wanted. On saturday morning, 18th, we provided 3 stock #s for exchange vehicles of interest. The salesperson calls and says come in to extend the rental agreement for the morano. When we get there, the manager confronts us and says we are behaving illegally, he has already cashed the check, and we have to take possession of the sorento. We again restated our expectation of the policy being honored and surrendered any spare keys for the sorento to the salesman. Later, we received a phone call implying the loaner vehicle would be reported as stolen on monday. ( prior to this call, no one requested it be returned, in fact, the salesperson said the loan term was to BE extended). We desire for comparable exchange vehicle, as promised. If they cant do so, we expect a full refund immediately, and an apology for the way we have been treated

Business Response
MR. xxxxx check has been fully refunded.

03/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Lack of Integrity
I purchased a 2010 Honda Accord on Monday 3/3/2014.I test drove the car on Sat. 3/1/2014 and the car was covered in pollen.I asked the sales rep why the car was dirty. He informed me the car was not cleaned until after purchase.I arrived Monday night to pick up the car and sign paperwork. I noticed the next morning that the windshield had two cracks in it.I immediately called the dealership and spoke to the sales rep. who told me that they would buff it, but would not replace it.I asked had the guys seen these cracks when detailed. He said he didnt know.I then called the manager xxxxx who told me that they would make it right and put me in a rental while the car was being serviced on Thursday.I received a call at work from sales to inform me that it had already been filled previously and he asked me to put the windshield on my insurance. I told him that's insurance fraud, the damage was done before the car was covered on my insurance on Monday. I arrived Thursday night to pick up my car and noticed that one of the cracks was still there and just had more filling in it. I then went in to talk to the manager on duty, xxxxx. I asked him" what was the point in me bringing my car in if the dealership wasn't going to do what it said" He then stood up and began yelling at me that " What you want you are not going to get .We have already filled it before we gave it to you and we don't have to show you anything.It will pass inspection.We are done here!!!" I asked if this was in the service records as already being filled, " why wasnt I shown this starburst crack in the windshield." He then yelled "Its a chip not a crack, and we dont have to point out anything to you. Its not the law. You just want it to be!!" I asked could I speak with the general manager. He then responded really arrogant " It's the same number as the building." Took five minutes before I could finally get the name of the gm. I was told over and over again by different people at the dealership before I dropped off the car. " We dont do business like that. We will take care of you." To only get nothing done. Really disappointed with the level of respect given. And could tell all of the employees were really embarrassed by this managers behavior. They all had their heads down as he yelled at me in the lobby of the dealership. I also told him I didnt want the car. And he told me that I couldnt return the car. I asked him about a five day return policy that reputable dealerships have. And he told me that Modern doesnt have that policy. And I especially couldnt return it for that. To be shelling out cash for a car that was just purchased three days ago is really unreasonable.

Desired Settlement
First I would like an apology for the lack of integrity shown on the part of the dealership. And also an apology for the low level of customer service given by xxxxx. Everyone else at Modern is really respectful when talking to people. And I hope that this is the not standard accepting by any employee of the company. I also would like the windshield replaced or to be allowed to return the vehicle since it was on 3/6/2014 when I tried to return the vehicle due to dishonesty and unprofessionalism shown by the manageer xxxxx.

Business Response
This complaint is handled. i personally have talked to customer and apologized for her displeasure and have agreed to pay for a new windshield. we are mailing her a check. thank you.

Page 1 of 2
12/12/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Told a $500 rebate check would be mailed if we financed through Nissan.
We purchased a new Nissan Juke in August and told that we would get a $500 rebate check if we used Nissan to finance the vehicle. After we agreed on trade-in and price we purchased through Nissan. I asked our sales person a day later about the rebate and he said it would be sent to us. After 2 months I asked another sales person who took over for the one we purchased through because he was no longer there and he told us that it would come from the Nissan finance and to call them. I called and they said that it would be sent by the dealer. I called the dealer and did not recieve a call back so I called again a week later and he left me a message saying that it was taken off the price of the vehicle, which was not explained at the time of purchase and not listed on the paper work as the $500 rebate. This is dishonest and they should not have told us to expect a check and make us call around if they new that is what they had done in the first place.

Desired Settlement
We would like the check mailed to us like originally stated at the time of purchase 3 months ago.

Business Response
I called and left Mr. xxxxx a voice mail to contact me personally. This can be confusing sometimes and this gentleman is not the first to have questions. All documentation shows the customer recieved all rebates and applied them to the deal. I can scan and email if necessary. We also have the customer to sign a "WE OWE" to clarify if things are promised by either party. Nothing on this signed document shows either party oweing anything. I hope MR.xxxxx and I can personally meet and see what I am trying to put into words. Thank you again.

Final Consumer Response
i tried going by and meeting with the finance manager and he was not available and I also called and left a message and did not get a return phone call. Still not happy to be getting the runaround on this rebate check that was supposed to be issued.

Final Business Response
i will try to call Mr. xxxxx and set a time when he can review all of his documentation. he recieved all rebates possible available to him. It is of no benefit to the Dealer at all not give the customer's rebate to them. The rebate is required to go to the customer per the Manufacturer.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers-New & Used Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.