BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/23/2010

Modern Hyundai of Concord, LLC

(704) 262-4408965 Concord Pkwy S, ConcordNC 28027-9061

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/23/2010

BBB has determined that Modern Hyundai of Concord, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Modern Hyundai of Concord, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service6
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Modern Hyundai of Concord, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (8)BBB Closure Definitions
06/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I contacted Hyundai Protection Plan (GAP Coverage) administrator to cancel my Gap Coverage. My coverage was canceled effective April 1. Due a Refund.
I contacted the Hyundai Protection Plan -HPP administrator directly to cancel my GAP coverage on a 2013 Hyundai Sonata GLS. I prefered to deal directly with the HPP directly due to my unfavorable experience in dealing with this dealership and the whole finance process. When the deal was completed i felt like i was f'd over. I traded this car in on April 1, 2014 and the subsequent loan was paid off which entitled me to a refund of the unearned GAP coverage. The HPP administrator had processed the cancellation on April 11 and sent the dealer an invoice indicating the amount i was owed. I have called and left several messages with ***** and ******* only to keep getting the run around on who is supposed to hadle getting my refund issued. No one has called me back with a resolution, and now the one who is supposed to handle this is on vacation. This is an example of lack of customer service within the finance department at this dealership. I am still waiting on a refund of these monies that i am owed. I expect that since they have refused to process this refund in a timely manner that i should be owed interest as well.

Desired Settlement
i am seeking a refund of the Gap coverage monies plus interest.

Business Response
My name is **** *******. I am the GM of Modern Hyundai. The check for 689.75 has been cut on X-X-XXXX and will be in the overnight mail today. 6-10-2014. Our dates do not exactly match up with the time frame indicated. This is something that may have slipped through the cracks and Modern Hyundai will certainly apoligize for any mistake we have done. The customer should not asked to wait for someone to get back from vacation. I will investigate. Thank you and we are sorry for the inconvenience.

05/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
have left messages on 3 different occasions with no response. have emailed on 2 occasions with no response. insurance/plate issues.
4/12/14 purchased a 2013 Hyundai Sonata. was told they would take care of getting with my insurance company. i gave them my account number, phone number and agency name. found on 4/28/14 that didnt happen and i had no insurance on my vehicle for 16 days while driving. i emailed asking for a response by end of business day 4/28/14 by a manager but never received a call. as of today 4/30/14, i still have not received a return call. my insurance agent also called and left a message to get the vin number and other information and never received a call back.
i called 4/29/14 to verify my license plate info was sent to the dmv. i had to leave a message. as of today i have not receive a return call. i called the dmv 4/30/14. called and left another message for xxxxx asking for a return call. per the dmv, the dealership went in on 4/24/14 (12 days after purchase)to file for the registration for this car. they received the plate and i have yet to receive the plate or a call from the dealership. per the dmv, i will have to physically go to the dealership to get my plate if they will not return my calls.
i also left a message for the finance department on 4/18/14 in regards to the downpayment check i signed as it wasnt yet removed from my bank account. i never receive a return call. the check cleared my bank 4/21/14, 9 days after purchase.
there were issues with the salesman that i was push towards because the salesman i initially dealt with had another customer.

Desired Settlement
i would like the license plate for my car. i would like it mailed to my home.

Business Response
MS. xxxxx INSURANCE HAS BEEN CONFIRMED AS BEING TRANSFERED. Her tag was mailed to her on MOnday the twenty eighth. i personally have sent her an email and left her a voice mail with my name as the contact. xxxxx.

02/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On Dec 2, 2013 I purchased a 2013 Hyundai Genesis from Modern Hyundai in Concord. The transaction was completed by their finance manager. Unknown to me at the time he included two charges which I did not need nor did I select. One was in the amount of 2330.00 for a 10yr/100,000 miles warranty,(which this vehicle comes with without this warranty). In addition, a 600.00 pre-paid maintenance plan (for oil changes). After conducting a thorough review of my contract I noticed these two charges and called the dealership and voiced my concern. I informed the finance manager this was something I did not want or need, he told me to come back to the dealership. I returned to the dealership that same day to cancel both these warranties. The finance manager meet me in the showroom area with a form and said "sign here", he then attempted to walk away and I asked him what the next step was, he replied "you'll get your refund". I waited and about 2 months, then I got a copy of a 600.00 check which had been sent to xxxxx. I called and spoke with the finance manager and told him that I had only received a copy of one check not both. He replied "they were both canceled, you can contact April here at the dealership she handles warranty issues". I waited about 2 more weeks until the 600.00 check cleared xxxxx on Feb 18, 2013. I called the dealership and tried to reach April I got her voice message 3 times so I left a detailed message, she returned my call later that day. We spoke and she said "I only canceled the 600.00 warranty", I asked why, she said "because the finance manager didn't tell me to cancel both", I informed her that I had spoke to the finance manager as recent as 2 weeks ago and he assured me that both had been canceled. I asked her what I could expect next and she really didn't want to communicate and provide me an explanation and transferred me to the finance manager who came on the phone with yet more excused saying "I am not sure why this happened". I don't believe him.
Product_Or_Service: Hyundai Genesis
Account_Number: xxxxx

Desired Settlement
I expect a full refund ASAP accompanied with an honest explanation about why this occurred. I expect someone other than their finance manager to contact me to get this resolved the right way. I expect an apology for being taken through this ordeal, especially considering I have my own bank and excellent credit and didn't need to use their unethical finance manager in the first place. I expect others to be warned about this dealerships unethical practices.

Business Response
i have personally talked with Mr.xxxxx and apologized and corrected the mistakes. Mr. xxxxx responded with positive comments. i have made committments to him to solve his issues by weeks end. Thank you for your help.

04/18/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Right axle repair resulted in multiple repairs and dangerous conditions. Misrepresented use of inspection report - drove with hazardous tire.
In September 2012, I took my 2004 Hyundai Santa Fe to the Modern Hyundai of Concord Maintenance Shop for substantial maintenance on my vehicle including having the right CV axle assembly replaced due to a torn outer CV boot. In October 2012, as I was driving through an intersection, I hit a pothole and the right side tie rod end disengaged, causing my right tire to turn inward and seizing, not allowing my car to move forward. I then called a tow truck which took my vehicle back to the dealership. It was there that I was told that the cotter pin that holds the tie rod end retaining nut in place was missing and that was why the tie rod had slipped out of the joint. Cotter pins are designed so they do not "work" themselves out of place; therefore, the only way that a cotter pin could be missing is that the technician did not replace it after the work on the axle was complete. That is why, without "admitting" any wrongdoing, the dealership paid for the tow of my car and the cost to repair the tie rod end.
Approximately 2 months later, my ABS light came on. Unfortunately, since my brakes appeared to work properly, I did not take it back to the shop. On 4/6/13, however, the sway bar end links were replaced and it was discovered that right front wheel speed sensor was not snapped into place, was hanging loose, and the wire had been significantly damaged and a tear was discovered in the CV axle outer boot.
This sensor wire has a 2-point attachment method and it took force to lock the wire back into its retaining clips. This sensor wire should not have come loose unless it had been removed when work was being performed on that axle and it was neglected to be put back in. It is also possible that the sensor wire was pulled loose during the tie rod end disengagement incident described previously. In either case, there is no excuse for this wire to have become damaged, to cause problems with the ABS system, and to cause a potential safety threat in the event of ABS failure. And I can only assume that the tear in the brand new CV boot was caused by this same incident.
On 4/12/2013, the dealership replaced both the sensor and the axle without cost to me.
I had my sway bar end links replaced as the first step to getting my car aligned. It had been pulling to the right beginning at or around the same time that the technicians repaired my tie rod end and I had an alignment scheduled for Saturday, 4/13/13. I also knew that would be forced to buy two front tires due to the inner wear on my tires from the misalignment of my car, which were to be bought after my car was aligned. After the damage was discovered to my sensor and CV boot, I made an appointment with the dealership (on 4/10/13) to get those items repaired before my alignment. As with all the maintenance visits, a 27 point inspection was performed (per my check out sheet, it states, "Perform 27-point inspection per inspection sheet. Complete inspection sheet as required. Completed."). I never received a copy of this inspection sheet but I do know that the inspection does include inspection of the tires. Either the service technician did not perform an inspection of my tires or did not accurately record what he saw; I will never know since I did not receive a copy of the report. But I do know that I was sent home with a tire that was so "bald" that it had steel showing through it. And no one said anything to me about it. No one even mentioned to me that my tires had no tread. And per the inspection report, the condition of my tires should have thrown up red flags.
In summary, the maintenance staff of this dealership: "forgot" to reinstall a cotter pin which caused my tie rod to disengage while I was driving, did not clip my wheel speed sensor wire into place causing it to be damaged, and sent me away with a tire that was a hazard without so much of a warning (either lied about performing the inspection or lied about the status of my tires on the inspection report)

Desired Settlement
The original cost of my right axle replacement -
Job #8 on Invoice xxxxx 480.81

This does not even come close to covering the cost of the inconvenience I have dealt with in taking time off from work, in driving to xxxx from xxxxx for these repairs and for waiting on a tow truck when my tie rod disengaged. Not to mention safety hazards that all three defects put me in (can you imagine what would have happened had I been traveling on the interstate and when my tie rod came out of the joint instead of going through an intersection?).

Business' Initial Response
We have contacted the customer and have agreed to refund her $480.81 as a goodwill gesture from Modern Hyundai of xxxxx.

10/12/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
New car has had stalling issues for the past year; Hyundai hasn't taken steps to alleviate the issue.
August 17, 2011: I purchased a brand new Hyundai Elantra Limited. It arrived with 288 miles.

About three months in (October 2011), I was leaving a store one night, and went to start my car. The car didn't produce the expected response - you know, the sound of the engine turning over and roaring to life. Instead, the car puttered as the engine tried to turn over and when it finally managed to get going, it puttered some more, idled roughly, then stalled out. You wouldn't have known the car was on if it weren't for the bright lights of the dashboard. But oddly enough, no Check Engine light.
I try again a few moments later and she roars to life.
Everything is all good.
But it's not.
This has been randomly happening ever since.

From what I can recall, this happened once in October 2011, twice in November 2011 and I believe once in December 2011.
In 2012, she has stalled twice in January, once in February, three times in July, four times in August (happened twice in one day within 35 minutes of each occurrence) and once in September

This most recent occurrence is the most unsettling. Sunday, September 2, 2012 at about 4p I go to start my car. It was a warm day and it had been parked for about an hour. I go to turn it on and notice the start-up is kind of rough and it idled roughly for a few moments. Once it finally calmed down, I turned on the low A/C and put the car in Reverse. It started idling roughly again. I get kind of freaked out, so I put the car back in Park and turn off the A/C and then put the car back in Reverse. It idled roughly again. I back out of the parking spot, put the car in Drive, apply pressure to the gas pedal...and I don't move.

I look down at the odometer, my car shut off. Some of the dash lights stayed on, but no Check Engine light.

I have taken this vehicle to a Hyundai dealership seven times.
Two different Hyundai dealerships. I have mentioned the stalling issue five of the seven visits.
I have even taken the vehicle to a privately owned shop.
No one at either shop can duplicate the issue. And since they can't duplicate the issue...nothing can get fixed.
Modern Hyundai has kept the car for a couple days at a time, but still could rectify the issue.

One instance when I went to Modern Hyundai about this car issue (August 15-16), I spoke with the Manager Donnell. The only solution he offered me was to trade in the vehicle for another. This is not acceptable. My thoughts when he proposed this "solution":
1) This is akin to sweeping the issue under the rug.
2) If I wanted a comparable vehicle, I'd be upside-down financially.
3) Would they have sold my defective Elantra to someone else?

To me, this car is a lemon, but now that a year has passed, I'm not sure I can still explore that avenue.
The service people at the Hyundai dealerships recommended I call the Hyundai Customer Service number. I called, they created a case for me. It took almost a week for the Service Manager at Modern Hyundai to get in contact with the Hyundai Customer Assistance.
My case has finally been escalated, but I have yet to speak to any one about resolving this issue.

I am filing a complaint against Modern Hyundai because they sold me a defective product, but have not taken steps to either exchange the car or offer a refund.
I feel as if they are not taking this car issue seriously and are continually blowing me off since they cannot replicate the issue.
The fact that the car shut off on me while it was in Drive is a serious problem. This product they sold me can no longer be considered reliable and safe as a vehicle like this should, since Hyundai likes to tout how safe and reliable its vehicles are.

Desired Settlement
All I want from Modern Hyundai (or just Hyundai period) is a full refund for this vehicle. I have spent way too much time trying to get this issue fixed, but in the end getting the run-around from Modern Hyundai. This car is not stable - it is defective.

Business' Initial Response
modern hyundai has tried several times to duplicate the customers concerns. we do not doubt the customer, however the dealership cannot fix the problem that it cannot duplicate. Modern Hyundai of Concord has throughly checked the vehicle with the assistance of hyundai's technical assistance dept. We just cannot get the car to stall when it is in our possision. Modern will be happy to continue to try if needed.

Consumer's Final Response
I understand I just missed the response date, but hopefully someone will see this.

I do not accept Modern Hyundai's response.
They are not standing by their product they sold. I undertand this is a vehicle, so the whole "buy defective product, return and get a refund" thing won't exactly work like that, but this is ridiculous.

They are suggesting I take time to go back up there so they can keep the vehicle for another two day period and find nothing wrong with it - again. This is not going to work! Modern Hyundai needs to keep this vehicle until they can duplicate the issue. When I drop off my vehicle, they need to take it and keep it until they can experience this issue.
In essence:
I DO NOT WANT THIS DEFECTIVE VEHICLE BACK UNTIL THEY REPLICATE THE ISSUE.
This would involve someone driving this car on the DAILY, not just starting it up a couple times a day in the parking lot. If it takes months, so be it.

Because Modern Hyundai has decided to try and "fix" this vehicle, I will be taking precious time (I am a graduate student after all) to continue to go back and forth with them about this instead of a quick fix like I had proposed in my original complaint.

And the fact that Modern Hyundai referred me to Hyundai's Customer Service line and I have yet to hear back from them is ridiculous. I shouldn't have to keep contacting you all with an issue like this!

You would think that with a rare issue like this (you know, a vehicle with an automatic transmission STALLING WHILE IN DRIVE) Hyundai/Modern Hyundai would be more proactive with rectifying the issue in an efficient manner. It's not gonna negatively affect your company if you all just exchange vehicles. Then you would have all the time in the world to try to replicate the issue instead of using up my time!

Page 1 of 2
09/21/2012Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Modern Hyundai is claiming that the caster and camber of the car is out and it is not a warranty issue.
Dear BBB-

I currently own a 2010 Hyundai Sonata, which was purchased new. I brought it in to MODERN HYUNDAI of Concord to have it checked due to it pulling to the left. First they said that they did and alignment and its ok. I told them to look at it again and that it pulls harder to the left when the brakes are applied. They then came back claiming that the camber and caster are out and that it has to be taken to a body shop to see if the strut is bent and refuse to do any further work on the car. They said "It is a call between doing this work and their job." So their job is on the line? I know the location of a strut and there is no need for a body shop to be involved. They sent me home with a "force road alignment, no real fix and I am suppose to drive around with my 2 ½ year old son in the car?

This place is trying to get over with out performing warranty work. It is sad that they are being underhanded in their business. I attempted to follow up with Hyundai USA, to which I was met with different stories of what could be/ will be done and eventually a dead end.

Hyundai USA is not living up to its warranty and is very underhanded in its business. I will be trading my cars in for Hondas!

Sincerely
xxxxx
Disgruntle, soon to be former Hyundai owner

Desired Settlement
Replacement and repair of the car as the 5 year bumper to bumper warranty states

Business' Initial Response
xxxxx will be happy to perform any customer pay work or warrenty work. We feel obligated to do this to serve our customers and our community. It is out of our control what The manufacturer,(in this case HYundai) warrenties or not. In this particular case the the alignment is covered for the fisrt 12 months or 12000 miles of ownership. Modern did and alignment at no charge to the customer as an act of good will (the car has surpassed the 12 month 12000 miles warrenty period). This did not fix the problem so MOdern and Hyundai are concerned there may be a bent component that may be causing the problem. We have explained to the customer that we can disasemble parts of the suspention and advise the customer after we do our due diligence. After our search this may or may not be covered by the warrenty which has been explaind to our customer. We are sorry for his dissapointment but as a dealer we must work under the guidelines of the manufacturer.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is an exemplary example of dishonesty in a dealer. They never said they would disassemble the car and examine it. They told me to take it to a body shop! They said that it was "damaged" and the Head of the service department said and I quote "It is a choice, if I do the work I can loose my job."

Hyundai has a 5 year/ 60,000 mile bumper to bumper warranty the car was a 2010 with 59000 miles.

But its ok because not only I, but my wife and mother traded in our cars for Hondas. So whether it was Hyundai or this dealer with its changing story they lost 60,000 dollars plus maintenance! That could add up to over 100 thousand dollars! And the company is exposed on the BBB. Have a nice day. Oh and I hope the head of the Maintenance department sees this and understands I was serious.

Business' Final Response
Modern Hyundai of Concord is very sorry that we were unable to please the customer and are very thankful for the opportunity. There are times that we are unable to please the customer. We wish xxxxx and his family all the best and if there is anything in the future that we can do as a dealership to assist the family in their car needs, we would certainly embrace the opportunity.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers-New & Used Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/10/2010Business started: 06/19/2007
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Division of Motor Vehicles, NC
1100 New Bern Ave.
Raleigh, NC27697-0001
(919) 861-3808
http://www.dmv.dot.state.nc.us

BBB records show a license number of Active for this company, issued by Division of Motor Vehicles, NC. Their web address is http://www.dmv.dot.state.nc.us.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Business Management
Principal: Mr. James Welborne (General Sales Manager)
Contact Information
Mr. Robert Fowler (Member)
Number of Employees

25

Business Category

Auto Dealers-New & Used Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Modern Hyundai of Concord, LLC

965 Concord Pkwy S

Concord, NC 28027-9061

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 965 Concord Pkwy S 

    Concord, NC 28027-9061(704) 262-4408

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Modern Hyundai of Concord, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers-New & Used Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.