BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 01/08/2001

Lake Norman Chrysler, Jeep, Dodge

Phone: (704) 896-3800Fax: (704) 892-3805

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service9
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints11

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (11)BBB Closure Definitions
08/26/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
disappointment with the service that I have received from Lake Norman Chrysler.
My vehicle was towed into the dealership on June 7th with concerns that the vehicle was stalling and engine turning off. Upon the inspection of the vehicle on June 11th service technician stated that the vehicle would need its brakes & rotors replaced in addition to the vehicle needing a new engine coil to repair the constant problem of the vehicle cutting off. picked the vehicle up from repair on June 14th, and as the vehicle was brought to me it shut completely off. The service technician stated that they were unsure of the problem and would follow up with me with a day. I phoned a week later and spoke with ***** *****, I addressed at that time, that no one had followed up with me to tell me the status of my vehicle, to let me know why in fact the car stalled right there in the bay of the repair shop. I was told that someone would get back with me soon. Mr. ***** was very rude and lacked the compassion *** empathy to a customer, consistanty telling me those things that I need to be done, should have done so I wouldnt be in the situation I was in. On June 23** I emailed the service technician asking the status. No email reply was given. On June 25th. I was told that the vehicle needed a throttle cleanse and that would be an additional $100 to be paid after the repair had been made. On June 30th I picked up the vehicle and on July 8th the vehicle stalled again. I had the vehicle towed into the same location for the repairs the 3** time for SAME problem. Another diagnostic was performed and according to the diagnostic an incorrect reading was presented . For 2 weeks, I have had constant communication with several individuals at the dealership that have not been customer service oriented. I was told that I should be "happy that the repairs on the vehicle were not worse" I have been told that " maybe you should consider just buying another car" I have been told that they have done everything that they could to fix my car, and find the problem, not the dealerships fault that the vehicle diagnostic was unable to be read" I have been told that it was fuel pump and harassed about not following the suggestions of the service technician (which there was none) only to be told again that I need to pay $895 to over the cost of the motherboard. I took the recommendation of the chrysler dealership and took my car too a reputable service agency toperform the work since taking my Chrysler to teh Chrysler dealership was not helpful, which after installation of new motherboard, and new fuel pump, based on the recommendation of Chrysler, the vehicle still did not operate correctly. I phoned Chrysler and asked to speak with someone, to consider refunding me for the money that was vested into the car, and still undriveable. I spoke to Gary ***** again whom for the second time in conversation was very condenseding, and unprofessional with his choice of words. I have called several times and left 5 different messages for 5 individuals including the GM and owner.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking the reimbursement of the total dollar amount of parts and labor that I have paid that should have repaired the vehicle.

Business Response


August 15, 2014

Better Business Bureau
**: Case # XXXXXX

Dear Ms. *****

This letter is in response to Ms. ******* ****** concerns voiced in case # XXXXXX.

Lake Norman Chrysler Jeep Dodge is a five star facility which operates with highly trained professionals that have our customer's best interest in mind. Our number one goal is to attempt to satisfy each and every customer that Lake Norman Chrysler Jeep Dodge comes in contact with. Ms. ****** contacted several folks with Lake Norman regarding her concerns on many different occasions in which the Lake Norman employees communicated in a professional manner. As a Customer Service Manager I listen to calls frequently in order to ensure customers are being treated with fairness and respect. On Tuesday August 11th 2014, Ms. ****** called in looking for assistance with her **-occurring service issues. Mr. **** *****, our Manager on Duty called Ms. ****** back in order to assist her with her concerns and make amends however, the customer did not give Mr. ***** the opportunity to do so. The customer said that she would be reaching out to the local news stations and her attorney in order to resolve her concerns. Unfortunately Ms. ****** was not receptive to any communications Mr. ***** attempted during this call.

The following day I personally reached out to Ms. ****** to communicate the refund amount that she would be receiving from Lake Norman Chrysler regarding the drivability concerns and diagnostic fee from an additional visit. The refund was $164.95 total parts & $150.00 labor from repair order #XXXXXX. Also the diagnostic fees from repair order # XXXXXX. ($97.50). The other repair items that were charged at Lake Norman Chrysler were in regards to the brakes which were not a concern voiced by Mrs. ******. (Repair Orders Attached) Therefore every dollar amount spent by the customer at Lake Norman regarding her complaint has been refunded. The refund check was Fedexed to her home address that was provided on the final call with Ms. ****** on Wednesday August 13th 2014. (Fedex Delivery Receipt Attached).

As for the repairs that were suggested to Ms. ****** to repair the vehicle in which she had completed elsewhere; those items will not be refunded. The fuel pump and PCM were recommend in result of our diagnostic testing which is a step by step process that utilizes a computer provided by Chrysler. We as a dealership make these recommendations in hopes that we are able to utilize our trained Technicians to complete the repairs with Mopar parts. These Chrysler parts and Chrysler trained Technicians repair work can be backed by Lake Norman Chrysler and if were not the correction for the problem, are able to continue repairs in order to ensure the customers satisfaction. I as a dealership cannot back the work, skill level or parts utilized from another dealer, especially not a Chrysler affiliated dealer.

Lake Norman Chrysler Jeep Dodge apologizes for the experience that the customer has incurred at our dealership however; we fulfilled all obligations consistent within our means.

Sincerely,


********* ****
Customer Relations Manager XXX XXX XXXX
*****@**********************
Lake Norman Chrysler Jeep Dodge


Attached : Repair Orders
Fed Ex Delivery Receipt

* Emails with the Owner who dropped off the vehicle can be provided regarding approval for the repairs that have been refunded at this time.




08/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Went to buy a car, asked for certains option, was told by saleman the option was included, after buying car, noticed option not there.
My husband and I started looking for a new car March 2014, we visited many dealerships, and finally came back to Lake Norman Chrysler, Jeep, Dodge, Torrence Creek, Cornelius, NC XXXXX, and we had purchased a few cars from there before and felt comfortable with the service we had gotten there before. We had also recommended a few people who bought cars there too.

We had a bucket list of things we definitely wanted on the car and made this clear to the salespeople ***************** we dealt with.

One of the top items that was a must for me was the backup camera and sound effects, since I had been so used to it for the last 8 years. When we went for a test drive with the salesman,****** he showed us the camera and I asked him if the camera beeped when getting too close to an item, he said yes. This is where the problem began. I did not question him at the time, assuming he knew the options of this car. Well 2 weeks after I bought the car, I realized that I never heard a beep, thinking perhaps I never go near enough to anything for it to activate. My husband and I tried it, as he stood behind the car as I backed up, NOTHING!

Well, I called the dealership to questions the salesman, but I found it very hard to get anyone to talk to there, so I took a ride down there, I stopped by, the salesman wasn't there that day, but two other salesman spoke to me and looked at my car and told me no it didn't have the beeper. I was very upset, as this was one of my top options I required. I subsequently tried calling the salesman during the next few weeks,left messages, with no return calls, I stopped by again, he was with someone, and I waited, I waited for almost an hour, then I had to go, still not being able to discuss this with anyone.
I called again, and finally got to talk to the salesperson, he was basically not understanding or acting like, to what the problem was. He said he really didn't remember saying that option was on the car, to which I reminded him, my husband was in the back seat, when I asked and he replied, then he was like eer, well I don't remember. He said that they was nothing he could do, but would look into how much it would cost me to have this option installed!! I told him that was not acceptable to me, since this was an option so important to me and he knew it, I then tried talking the General Manager ***** ***** and the Sales Manager ******** who had handed us off to this****** no one got back to us, I can't begin to tell you how frustrating this whole ordeal, no one wanted to even hear what my problem was, no less try to satisfy a customer.

That's when I decided to call Chrysler Customer 6/25/14, at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX. I spoke to a ******* who gave me a case number of XXXXXXX, he attempted to reach someone at the dealership, and put me on hold. He got back to me and said (********* ****) would call me back and then he would follow up with me. Well Ms. **** did call me back and stated that she had spoken to General Manger ***** and that they would pay for the labor to put the part, but not the part itself, I told her I would think about it. (she said she would get back to me) Well, I did and thought, no,this is not acceptable, I was told I would get this option before I bought the car, and I don't have this option, I didn't feel as if I had to pay anything for this option. Anyway almost a week went by, no call from the dealer of customer care, so I called Customer Care again, spoke to******** this time (7/1/14), she called the dealership and left a message for someone to get back to me, well day before the 4th,7/3/14, I called spoke to ****, he explained that the case was closed! I said what? No one has contacted me. He said that the GM closed the case,(**** tried calling there for me to clear this up) and came back to me saying that the GM didn't want to talk to me, and that they would pay for the labor for this option, but not the part, & for me to deal with dealer, Customer Care done.

Desired Settlement
Here's the situation in a nutshell

* Wanted to buy a car

* Asked for certain options

* Didn't get those options promised

* Asked the dealership to honor this sale

* Dealership doesn't want to be bothered

* I'm upset

Anyway, this is still not acceptable; I feel they sold me the car, said goodbye, have my money and don't want to make this wrong right. Even though they are offering to pay for the labor for this option, they still are putting the cost of the part on me. I feel, I asked for the option, was told I would have it, I bought the car with that information, I don't have this option, and was deceived, and therefore firmly think, they are responsible for getting me this option, totally. Not just part. Someone is to be responsible for the salepeople there and the statements and promises they make. I feel for $250.00,(which I believe is the price of the part itself) they will lose a future customer and any one I might have recommended. This is bad business if you ask me.

I so appreciate having a venue like yours to come to, thank you in advance for any assistance you can be to me, and help me believe in this business again, I fear that what I've heard about car salesman, was always a joke, I hope its not true.


Thank you

*********

XXX-XXX-XXXX

***********@hotmail.com



Business Response
This letter is in response to Ms. ******** complaint in Case # XXXXXX regarding her sales transaction in April 2014. The customer is stating that we as a dealership sold her a vehicle that did not meet her needs. Ms. ****** returned to the dealership weeks after the purchase to inquire about the cost of the rear sensors with our Parts Department as well as speak with our Floor Manager & her Sales Associate. Our Floor Manager explained to the customer that we are unable to compensate for something that was not agreed upon on the date of the deal; the Sales Associate remembered the back-up camera being a necessity however nothing regarding the sensors. As a dealership we rely on all paperwork notating the vehicle options, price and any negations of due bill items to review after the sales date if any questions. All contracts were signed by the customer agreeing to the purchase of that particular model vehicle and the costs; there were no notes of the addition of sensors.
Chrysler Corporation contacted Lake Norman Chrysler on July 2, 2014 to inquire about what we as a dealership would do to assist Ms. ****** with her concerns. We let them know that we offered to cover the labor costs as well as sale the part at our cost. Chrysler deemed this as an acceptable resolution and closed the case on our end.

Our General Manager would like to still offer this opportunity to Ms. ***** however, we will be unable to cover the entire costs at this time.


Consumer Response
From: *** *****
Sent: Saturday, July 26, XXXX X:XX AM
To: Better Business Bureau
Subject: **: BBB Complaint Case#******* (Ref#XX-XXXXXX-XXXXXX-X-XXXX)
Importance: Low

Thank you for getting back to me

I used to trust the word of a car dealer, but in this case, its not worthy of it.

I will contact the dealer, now that they have opted to sell me the part for their cost, and pay for labor, that will help me make a decision.
Once I find out the cost , it will cost me to get a part I was originally promised!! I will let you and the dealer now if I will go ahead with it.

Once again, thanks for your help, although I am still not pleased with the outcome, I really want that option, as I had stated to the salesman at the time, and will now consider their offer.

Thank you

Sent from Windows Mail

06/13/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My extended warranty was supposed to go till 100k miles or 36 months. It was terminated 4/10/14 2 months and 1 week earlier.
on June 18th, 2011, I purchased a 2008 Sebring Hardtop Convertible from this dealership. The car had 57k miles on it, so being I was single and it had a mechanical hardtop where things could go wrong on, I purchased the extended warranty on this used automobile that was to cover me till 100k miles or 3 years. On June 4th, 2014 I went to have a part repaired at ********* that was covered under my warranty only to be told it was cancelled in April 2014. I then called Lake Norman 4 times and left 3 messages and spoke to 1 person whom never got back to me. I then emailed ********* the CS Manager. WHo told me I purchased a Wrap Around Warranty that already existed on the car from original owner. I was not aware, I tagged onto someone else's warranty. I thought I was buying a used gar warranty for $2660.00. I would like my warranty extended to June 18th 2014, or reimbursement of $180.00 which represents The $280 ********* charged for the parts and labor less my $100.00 deductible which is what I was expecting to pay!

Desired Settlement
280.00 for repair, less $100.00 deductible I would be charged = $180.00 reimbursement.

Business Response
June 12, 2014

Better Business Bureau
Attention: ***********



**: Case# XXXXXX

Dear Ms.*******

This letter is in response to Ms. ******** ******'s complaintBBB Case #XXXXXX.

After reviewing Ms. ******'s concern regarding her warranty, the case was brought to the attention of our Finance Department. In a recent email with the customer, her warranty purchase details and the timeframe were explained in detail. Ms. ****** did purchase a wrap warranty for her 2008 Chrysler Sebring Hardtop Convertible which may have covered the parts she was looking to replace if were in effect. The date of her warranty expired based on the date the vehicles original owner purchased.

Due to the poor communication of the warranty terms Ms. ****** received Lake Norman Chrysler will reimburse the customer for her $180.00 paid. The check will be mailed to Ms. ****** at the address provided to the Better Business Bureau.

Sincerely,


********* ****

10/30/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Car defects are unresolved and car has been at dealership 25 business days. Lemon law limits are surpassed *** dealership will not resolve per law.
New 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee was purchased on 8/14/13. Repairs were necessary by 8/29/13. Paint defects were noted and requested for repair on 8/30/13. Car has been at dealership since Sept 10th (24 consecutive business days) and is on the 4th repair attempt.
Various portions of the car have been buffed, sanded and/or repainted. The paint is still not right and I have paid for the vehicle for over a month without being able to drive it. The attempts to repair the vehicle have failed and the lemon law limits have been exceeded. The dealership will not discuss replacement or refund.

Desired Settlement
A replacement of equvilant vehicle with same features was originally requested.

Due to inability of the dealership to repair the paint or replace the vehicle, I would like to obtain a refund for the purchase price of the vehicle, sales tax, and all other charges, fees and monies due under current NC Lemon Law.

Business Response
October 21, 2013

Better Business Bureau
**: Case # XXXXXX

Dear Ms.************

This letter is in response to Mr. ***** ******'s concerns voiced in case # XXXXXX. In an attempt to verify any communication with Detroit, the case was reviewed with our Service Director & Management from another local dealership.

Our Area Representative for Chrysler and a Chrysler Customer Service Representative on a corporate level has been assigned to this case. We as a dealership are awaiting their response or suggestions to remedy the paint concerns at this time. Unfortunately, once a case has been sent to the folks on the corporate level we are unable to do anything on a dealership level without their input/response. The other issue is that the case was opened by another local dealership, Gastonia Dodge which will be the communication point for this case. The customer purchased the vehicle here but was speaking with the Service Management & General Manager of the Gastonia dealership.

In order to move the case quicker or provide Mr. ****** with confidence that the case has been reported; he is able to personally contact Chrysler. They will acknowledge the complaint to them on a corporate level by Gastonia Dodge and be able to provide the customer with more information than we may have at this time. The customer service line is X(XXX) XXX - XXXX.

Lake Norman Chrysler Jeep Dodge once again apologizes for the experience that the customer has incurred at our dealership and hopes that Gastonia Dodge will be able to remedy the concern according to Chryslers guidelines.

Sincerely,


********* ****
Customer Relations Manager
XXX XXX XXXX
*****@lakenormanchrysler.com
Lake Norman Chrysler Jeep Dodge

05/01/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
If you are thinking about getting a car from Lake Norman ChryslerJeepDodge Cornelius NC you might want to think again!! 4 weeks ago I paid $9000 cash money for a car and I was treated like my money was not green. The salesmen ************ was broader line rude and brushed me off like I wasnt a priority. When the vin # would not show up for my insurance company Willie assured me that the Vin # was in FACT correct, so USSA had to override my claim, which was also paid in full. When I called today to ask why I have not received my plates and title, I was told that my vin # on all my paper work was wrong!! I have been driving around for 4 weeks with invalid plates, invalid insurance and invalid Vin # because of this OVER LOOK. What if I was pulled over by the police? Or had a car accident with my son in car? When I got to the dealership this morning the finance lady (*****) was very helpful and apologetic but by this time it was far too late. I wasnt offered a cup of coffee, a we are sorry card or even gas money for having to driving all the way to Cornelius with two sick children. I feel disrespected by Lake Norman ChryslerJeepDodge, Cornelius Nc.
Product_Or_Service: 2008 Suzuki Forenza

Desired Settlement
This require an explanation to me. How can it be settled?

Business' Initial Response
Better Business Bureau

Attn: *****************
CC: ****** ******


Dear*****************
This letter is in response to the concerns voiced by our customer ****** ****** in case number XXXXXX.

During Ms. ******'s sales transaction on March 13, 2013 the dealership did make a typographical error; the error wasn't recognized until the tag work was being processed by our Title Clerk. At this time, we take full responsibility for the lack of communication by our Finance Manager who was assigned the task of calling Ms. ****** to notify her of the mistake. This Finance Manager has since been counseled by the Owner of the facility due to his poor customer service and accountability.

On the day that Ms. ****** was asked to return to the dealership, our Title Clerk had all of the paperwork ready for the ******-sign so that it would be as painless as possible. She did recognize the poor experience that Ms. ****** suffered during her transaction and immediately brought it to the attention of the Sales Management Staff. On this same day a $50 gas card with a hand written apology note was mailed out to Ms. ******'s home. This was to thank her for her patience with our dealership and assist with the fuel she had to spend due to the return.

Lake Norman Chrysler Jeep Dodge apologizes for the experience that the customer has incurred at our dealership however; we completed the sales procedure with Mr. ****** as normal and fulfilled all obligations consistent within our means. Unfortunately mistakes due occur and we try to repair the mistake as soon as possible. If there are any other questions or concerns I can be reached by phone at (704) XXX - XXXX or by email at *****************************


Sincerely,

****** ******

Page 1 of 2
03/25/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Our 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee has been in for service at this dealership on 8 occasions. The service dates were 2/17/14, 3/4/14, 3/8/14, 3/11/14, 4/1/14, 4/25/14, 8/6/14, and 9/25/14. During each of these services, we indicated 1-vehicle was loosing coolant, 2-there was oil in the cooling system, 3-vehicle overheats, 4-vehicle often hesitates on acceleration, 5-while on the interstate the vehicle motor bogs down, idles at a high RPM, runs hot, removes itself from cruise control, and begins merely idling without the ability to accelerate. We have been more than cooperative with the dealership to have these issues repaired. However, they refuse to address our concerns. In one attempt to fix the vehicle, they made significant repairs to the motor yet we had the same results. On several repeated trips, they merely kept changing thermostats and the thermostat housing. I pleaded that this had yet to fix the issue yet they continue to give the vehicle back in the same condition. The dealership then began refusing my calls. I filed 2 complaints with Chrysler Corporate with the same results. I was lied to regarding repairs that were made with the vehicle being returned in its same unacceptable state. I have had a recall that has been refused to be addressed. A 2nd recall was repaired but during the repair they left greasy finger prints all over the interior of the vehicle. In the past few months we have had several oil changes with coolant having to be added each time by the service shop. The vehicle continues to overheat, loose coolant, and collect oil in the cooling system. 2/12/15 I contacted Chrysler Corporate to register a 3** complaint and was told that I had to take the vehicle to the dealership and pay a $99 diagnostic fee to move forward. The vehicle is under warranty and these repairs need to be made without paying a diagnostic fee for the same issues we have had for the past 12-months. There is a known motor issue for this vehicle and they need to repair/replace the motor.
Product_Or_Service: Certified Pre-owned Jeep Grand Cherokee

Desired Settlement
This vehicle needs to have the motor replaced and the cooling system repaired. There is clearly a terminal issue with the motor and cooling system that needs to be addressed. I also feel the other repairs that were advised were made are completed. I have offered to have them take the vehicle from us on trade but they have given us low offers advising it was due to the current state of the Jeep. I advised if you say the issue is "fixed" why can we not get a fair offer.

Business Response

Febraury 14, 2015
Ms. ***************
CC: ********************

Dear Ms. ***********

This letter is in response to claim# XXXXXX made by ******************** regarding the service repairs on his 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee.
Lake Norman Chrysler worked on Mr. ********** 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee on several occasions and during each trip the vehicle was worked on by one of our Senior Service Technicians which are Chrysler trained and certified. These Technicians utilize our Chrysler Tech Connect and STAR Program which guides the Technician through a repair. As a Mopar/Chrysler dealership, we rely on these programs to show our Technicians the best diagnosis and repair process for the vehicles concern. However, this may be different from the customer's perspective or diagnosis based on their findings.
As a dealership, we follow the instruction of our corporate team which includes customer complaints. Once a complaint is filed with the corporation, a resolution process is set-up and the communication with the dealership begins. Our corporate folks provide the dealership with guidelines and "goodwill" options. A "goodwill" is the allowance Chrysler gives the dealership to provide a customer outside the normal realm of warranty repairs while backing the dealership in the future with any further concerns. Mr.********* was provided with an opportunity for this goodwill and Lake Norman completed these items based on the recommendation of our Area Service Representative for Corporate Chrysler. Mr.********* is a second owner of the Jeep Grand Cherokee and that does limit the dealership in the amount of things we can cover without corporate assistance.
Lake Norman Chrysler would like to extend the offer to complete any recalls, place on the parts waiting list for any of the open recalls on the vehicle, or finalize any repairs based on the diagnosis provided at service visit. However, Lake Norman will not be responsible for any of the costs incurred for the service work whereas none of the items are covered under warranty.


Sincerely,

********* ****
Lake Norman Chrysler Jeep Dodge
*****@lakenormanchrysler.com
(XXX) XXX - XXXX


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I understand that the vehicle was worked on by a trained technician. However, the vehicle continues to loose coolant and the vehicle overheats. I understand that customers have complaints that are not easily detected by a service technician and their computer diagnosis. However, with our concern of loosing coolant you can clearly open the hood and see that the coolant levels are low. You are also able to easily see that the coolant reservoir contains oil. Seeing how this is a closed system, it is obvious to any technician that the indication of oil in the coolant is not normal and shows that we have significant problem with the coolant system. The concern of over heating is also one that is easily determined as when traveling on the interstate, the motor temperature rises to the point that the vehicle goes in to "safe mode" and no long functions properly until the vehicle is pulled to the side of the road and allowed to cool down.

I have included a color-coded document that shows our concerns from previous visits, a visit from 9/25/14 and the issues that are still persistent to this day.

I have attached a copy of the Warranty that we received upon purchase of the vehicle. We were not the original owner of the vehicle, however, the vehicle was purchased as a CERTIFIED PRE-OWNED VEHICLE from a Jeep dealership. Therefore, I can assume that the vehicle was thoroughly checked by a trained technician in-order to sale the vehicle as certified pre-owned. Thus being said, they manufacturer should address all concerns addressed in the warranty that was provided at the time of purchase. The attached warranty clearly reads that motor and coolant system issues are covered under the warranty up to 100k miles.

I also understand that the dealership acted under "goodwill" to address some concerns. This brings me to another concern. Chrysler authorized up to 1k in repairs and I would pay 10% to cover the costs. I had two services performed under the "goodwill" that totaled repair costs of $754. I however had to pay the full $100 for these repairs even though I was told that I would not have to pay full price because Chrysler would give me better pricing. There was an additional concern that they advised they would talk to Chrysler for approval. Upon return of the vehicle, this repair was not made and the Case Worker that was working our case was never contacted by the dealership pertaining to this repair.

The corporate case worker advised me that atleast now we have a record of the dealerships inability to repair the vehicle and will be noted for future work orders. I was awaiting a return call from this case worker for a future visit / meeting with the dealership but the case worker did not contact me. After several messages to the case workers voicemail without a return call, I learned that this case worker is no longer employed with Chrysler.

The dealership has refused to speak to me on several ocassions and anytime the vehicle has to be picked up, none of the service writers or technicians were available for discussion. When I would periodically stop by the dealership, I would speak to a service writer and they would tell me that they would fix the vehicle. I had one service writer advise me that I needed to let them have another chance to make the coolant repairs before "something big" had to take place. I was told by them that if they could not fix the vehicle, and under laws contained in the Magnuson-Moss Warranty Act, that they were obligated to make the warranty repairs or the vehicle would ultimately have to be replaced.

At times when I was able to speak to a service writer, as well as the Service Manager, I was told that they would not want their wife traveling alone in this vehicle and they would make the repairs. However, these repairs were not made as previously stated, the vehicle continues to loose coolant and overheat.

In an attempt to make the repairs, the dealership made several repairs / replacement of parts to the motor. However, they did not replace the Heads. This is very significant in my case as the heads that were placed on this motor at the time the vehicle was manufactured are defective. I first learned of this issue by a service writer, so I am confused as to why this repair has not been made. A simple Google Search indicates the validity of the service writers comments. To further address these issues by Chrysler, they have extended our warranty on the motor to 150k miles. Therefore, they know we have an issue with cooling the motor but have failed to address this concern.

We now have a total of 3 recalls on the vehicle that are in addition to the defective heads. The first issue has been reviewed by the dealership but has not been repaired as I was told that the part was on back-order. The 2nd recall was repaired by the dealership. However, the technician left greasy / dirty finger prints all over the roof of the interior as well as on the visors. This is not acceptable workmanship and needs to be addressed. The 3** recall is more recent and needs to be repaired.

I have photos that were taken that indicate the low coolant levels but I am unable to upload them in this document. The first was taken prior to an oil change in December 2014 in which a trained technician added coolant to the vehicle to the "full" line. The 2nd photo is from 3/3/15 and is from today that shows the current coolant level of the vehicle. A glance of the photos also shows the oil that is collecting in the cooling system. Also note that coolant was added to the "full" level during an oil change by a trained technician in November 2014 but I do not have a photograph from this service.

As clearly explained in this document, the work and services on our vehicle were not made. These services are all covered under our warranty and should be repaired. If the dealership is unable to make these repairs or acknowledge them than further measures need to be taken. We purchased a CERTIFIED PRE-OWNED vehicle from a Jeep dealership and Chrysler needs to stand by their warranty of the vehicle, the dealerships that represent them, and the technicians that service the vehicles. As a United States consumer, I do not feel that are requests are unreasonable.

Please feel free to contact me with any questions or if further proof / documentation is needed.


Final Business Response
03/09/2015

This letter is in response to the rebuttal made in regards to claim# XXXXXX by ********************. While we appreciate Mr. ********** recent business with our Service Department and his brand loyalty to Jeep, we will have to refer him back to our Corporate Customer Service. Several of the requests that are being made by Mr.********* are something that the selling dealer or Chrysler Corporate Customer Service will have to address. As a dealership we would like to again offer the opportunity to complete any recalls, place on the parts waiting lists for any of the open recalls on the Grand Cherokee or repair any of the items reported during the last diagnosis. Please note, Lake Norman Chrysler will not be responsible for any of the costs incurred for the service work whereas none of these items are covered by our warranty.

Sincerely,

********* ****


Final Consumer Response
As requested by Chrysler the Jeep was taken to a different dealership in the Charlotte area. The Jeep dealership has spent significant time diagnosing the vehicle and it appears that there was a part that was not properly installed on 3/11/14 which was the 4th time the vehicle was in the shop. This poor installation has resulted in 5 additional work orders and multiple conversations from Lake Norman Dodge to myself that resulted with them telling me the vehicle was fine.

Lake Norman Dodge may not have been the dealership that sold the vehicle, however they were an authorized repair shop for Jeep and thus should have had not issues with wanting to repair our vehicle. Instead, they caused us months of grief and countless hours of time on the side of the road with an inoperable vehicle. Though they did not sale us the vehicle, they should have treated us much better in terms of service, not mislead us, not broken parts that were not faulty before service and should not have left greasy finger prints on the interior ceiling of my vehicle.

02/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I receive harrasment phone calls. I was getting phone calls around 20 times a day and text messages. They also called a friend of mines.
On Nov.17,2013 I went to purchase a car from lake norman dodge. I was told by the salesman to come back that Monday to bring in my trade in. On my way to Lake Norman Dodge With my trade in mr. Willie ***** told not come today because they would have someone pick up my trade in and would call me back to make the arrangements. Mr.***** had called about 20 times a day and kept sending me text message everyday. I was told to come in on Tuesday to Lake Norman on my way there again I get a phone never mind not to come today.Mr.***** said come on Wednesday instead, then he on Wednesday he said never mind. For reasons unknown. On friday I get another phone call saying they need one paystub from me and I didn't have to bring it I was told to fax it which I did. Then over the weekend of Nov.23,2013 things got more crazy with Lake norman dodge I start getting phone calles 8am all day. Mr. ***** was calling me yelling at me saying you better be in my office right now, reminding I am at work and I go to college I could not stop what I was doing to rush there. Then he would not texting or calling me while I was at work. On Sunday around 10:00am 0**10:30 Mr. ***** called me and said the bank wants to talk to me on the phone at 2pm. I told Mr. ***** I could not be there by 2pm. I told him I was out of town on a family emergancy. I ask him could the bank call me at 2pm? Or could I call the bank myself. He said No they I better be at his office he better see me at his desk. He was yelling at so much it became scary. Then I called Lake Norman Dodge to speak to a manager, to find out they was close, they would not be open until the after noon. Which was alarming, because he was calling me as if he was in the office. Then I started receving phone calls from different men who didn't give a name saying call lake norman. I got text message saying I waitng for you lake norman with no name of a person from a few different phone numbers. There was back to back text messages for three days saying I am waitng for you Lake Norman. This became very scary. I called Lake Norman Dodge and told the woman who answers the phone what was going on and she said she would have a manager tell Mr.***** to stop calling me. But the werid texts and calls didn't stop from the staff of Lake norman dodge. I called a 800 number for Dodge to make a complaint and talk to a guy name Frank, he said he would follow up with me and he never did. The crazy phone calls stop for almost an hour after i talk to Frank. Then my friends and family started to receive phone calls and they sent people to my family and friends house saying they want the car back. At time of the harrasement from Lake Norman Dodge my aunt was sick and almost died before Thanksgiving which the staff at Lake Norman knew about. I give the car back on Nov.26,2013. This was a nightmare, I could have lost my job from all the phone calls while I was at work. And to make matters worse I watching my aunt almost die and they would not stop stressing me out I though I was going to have an heart attack. I was also promise a $25.00 master gift card that I never got.

Desired Settlement
I would like my $25.00 dollars master gift card. And I should receive something from Dodge for all the stress they put me through.

Business Response
Good Afternoon-
Lake Norman Chrysler's records show that Ms. ***** was mailed a giftcard to the address that the dealership was given on the date of the sales transaction. On November 18, 2013 the card was set-up to be mailed to 543 E. Front Street Statesville, NC. At this time we are unable to redeem antpoher card through this promotion whereas it is one per household. Any fuirther questiosn can be directed to me by email at *****@lakenoramnchrysler.com.

Sincerely,

********* ****
Lake Norman Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram




Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept there respone. Because I do no live at East front street. I still receive mail from lake Norman dodge and they mail it to Stockton street. How can you have the right address for junk mail? But when they mail out the mastercard gift card they mail it to the wrong address? I think that Lake Norman Dodge should at least say sorry for all the stress they put me through. Plus I had to pay for car insurance for the dodge averanger 2014. To have me get car insurance for a car that was not mines, please explain?

10/10/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
New 2013 Charger Purchased, I have 3750 miles on it with Transmission Issues they can't figure out. Service Dept. says to install a new Transmission.
I purchased a new 2013 Charger July 26th,2013 from Lake Norman Chrysler. I have had it a little over one month. I had driven it about 3700 miles, when I noticed a loud thump from the transmission when dropping in the passing *****

I took my vehicle to the Lake Norman Chrysler on Wednesday August 21st 2013 for repairs. They did acknowledged there was an issue, however had to contact the manufacture for repair recommendations.

My Charger has been at their location since August 21st for repairs and have contacted the Manufacturer for answers. They advised me the manufacture said to start with changing the the transmission control module. They changed the control module as recommended by the manufacturer, then it continued to do the same thing. They contacted the manufacturer again and they advised them to install another control module (the same part again). So they installed another control module and it continued to do the same thing.

Now on September 5th, the service department is telling me that the manufacturer has advised them to install a completely New Transmission.

My issue is that it's now been almost 3 weeks and they have failed to repair my vehicle. I have purchased a Brand New 2013 Dodge Charger for over $30K. I have made one payment and not even had its first oil change.

The car has been in the shop close to half the time I've owned it. I have request that Lake Norman Chrysler keep this vehicle for their used car lot, as it is obviously having major issues, when they have to replace the entire transmission. I have expressed my dissatisfaction with the service and this particular vehicle and that they provide me with an identical New 2013 Dodge Charger.

Desired Settlement
I'm seeking an identical vehicle NEW replacement 2013 Dodge Charger.

Business Response
September 10th 2013

Better Business Bureau
XXXXX Ballantyne Corporate Place, Suite 225
Charlotte, NC XXXXX

**: Mr. ******* *****
2013 Dodge Charger

To whom it may concern:-

This letter is in response to the concerns voiced in case # XXXXXX with the Better Business Bureau on September 6th 2013. Mr. ***** has experienced several service concerns with his recently purchased 2013 Dodge Charger (Vin#**********HXXXXXX). These concerns have been noted in service repair records and forwarded to Chrysler Corporate whereas they must get involved with a brand new vehicle that has multiple warranty concerns. Mr. ***** has also contacted Chrysler Corporation in order to open a CAIR claim. Since then, Our Area Representative from the Chrysler Corporation has been made aware of Mr. *****'s concerns and is handling on a corporate level with the customer/dealership. As a dealership we are able to assist in the trading out of the vehicle however we are prohibited from assisting either party in the process as the lemon law works between the consumer and a manufacturer.
Lake Norman Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram has offered Mr. ***** to trade out of the vehicle with the dealership however there were several factors that came into play that affected the deal. Some of those factors included credit, bank approvals, trade -in value, etc. A deal was unable to be consummated without a larger payment increase in which Mr. ***** was not in agreement with. Therefore the dealership had to remain in the stance as the selling/servicing dealer which provides all records to Chrysler.

Mr. ******* has emailed Mr. ***** on several dates and has kept him as up-to-date as possible with the information provided from our lenders and/or Chrysler Corporation. As a dealership we **** continue to notify Mr. ***** when any new information is available and assist him in resolving his concerns in the most time efficient manner possible.

I would like to apologize on behalf of the dealership for the poor communication in the beginning from our Service Department & several return trips that Mr. ***** has made to our location. At Lake Norman Chrysler we strive for one hundred percent customer satisfaction and anything less is unacceptable. We **** utilize this as a training opportunity for the dealership and all parties involved in the future. A special thanks to our valuable customer for being honest and patient with us and the Chrysler Corporation while his requests are being addressed.

Sincerely,

********* ****
Customer Relations Manager
Lake Norman Chrysler Jeep Dodge
(XXX) XXX -XXXX
*****@lakenormanchrysler.com



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Since my initial complaint, I have called the dealership, visited, emailed several times. Only to feel that I am still getting partial or incorrect information concerning my issue revolving around my vehicle.

I have received e-mails from **** *******,the owner of Lake Norman Chrysler, stating that he would call me a particular morning to discuss where we stand. However, the entire day went by without a phone call.

This has gone on for some time now, but eventually met with Mr. ******* on September 18th, to discuss Dodge's decision to do a MSRP to MSRP exchange, due to the amount of time my vehicle has been out of service (Since August 21st).

He advised that Dodge has authorized ISG to perform a mediation concerning my vehicle with the MSRP to MSRP. That I would be able to select a vehicle at or below the MSRP and they would do a collateral transfer of titles, not effecting my payment or having to refinance another vehicle, my payment would remain the same.

On September 23**, ISG contacted me by telephone. At which time they gave me information concerning the inability to do a collateral transfer with my bank. They stated that Dodge would only be able to buy back the vehicle and I would have to refinance another one under the circumstances. This was totally different information that Mr. ******* had given me during our meeting.

That same day, I then sent Mr. ******* an e-mail about my concerns, about the different information ISG offered me, confliction with our conversation. He mentioned that ************** from Lake Norman Chrysler, would be calling me to discuss my options.

Then the morning of September 24th, ************** from Lake Norman Chrysler, called me and we discussed options that were totally different from what ISG had offered. She advised me that the information ISG gave me pertaining to collateral transfer of MSRP was incorrect. That my bank would accept that as an option.

Then she also said I had other options available. I could have a vehicle built just like the one I had originally purchased or have Chrysler buy back my car and be totally out of the Chrysler product all together.

I advised her I would call her back before the end of business day on September 25th to let her know my decision.

Then on September 25th, before I was able to call ************** back at Lake Norman Chrysler....ISG called me wanting to know if I had mad a decision on their offer.

I explained to the ISG that there was conflicting offers from them and what Lake Norman Chrysler has told me. My decision was to have Chrysler buy back my vehicle. That Chrysler and the lack of communication between all parties involved has caused this decision.

The representative from ISG stated that the only offer that Chrysler has offered from me was to do the MSRP to MSRP vehicle collateral transfer, not to buy the vehicle back. She would have to get the approval from Chrysler and get back with me.

I then e-mailed Mr. ******* on September 25th regarding the issues. He replied to my email and asked that I call his direct line on September 26th and we would discuses the details I have.

I called did call Mr. ******* on September 26th at 8:30 a.m., as he requested and left him a voice mail for him to please return my call.
Today is now September 30th and haven't heard back from Mr. ******* either by phone or e-mail.

Then on Friday September 27th, I received an e-mail from ISG, advising that they now have approval for Chrysler to buy back my vehicle, requesting me to provide all the information concerning the vehicle.

Today, I have provided ISG with the requested documents, in hopes that this **** all be over soon.

I want to add that Lake Norman Chrysler's reply to my initial complaint: they apologized and acknowledged the lack of communication that I have been experiencing from them.

Their reply mentioned that they **** use this as a training opportunity for the dealership and all parties involved in the future and strive for 100% customer satisfaction, anything less is unacceptable.

I **** say, that communication is the #1 one thing that I'm upset about. I have placed many phone calls, e-mails and visits concerning the situation with my vehicle. Of which, many phone calls were not returned and seemingly pointless trips to their dealership to obtain false or misleading information about my options.

It seems that everyone from the bottom to the top of Lake Norman Chrysler has said they would call or email me back, and failed to do so.

The only one exception to this is their Service Manger (*****). The brief time that he was involved, he did call me when he said he would and sympathize with my situation. He took the time to explain the details of his and the service departments role between the customer and manufacturer with warranty issues.

At this time, I'm still in limbo with the outcome of my complaint. The vehicle I purchased at Lake Norman Chrysler has been in the shop on August 21st due to mechanical breakdown. I've still been obligated to make two payments on a vehicle that I don't drive.

As mentioned earlier, I hoping that I **** be completely finished with this nightmare soon. It's poor business to have so many people involved with this and the complete lack of communication between Lake Norman Chrysler, Dodge Manufacturer and Impartial Services Group.

It's sad that I have selected to purchase my first brand new vehicle purchase and had to jump though hoops and still don't know what the final outcome **** be.

Respectfully,
**** *****





09/25/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I would like them to get my seat fixed or take action and give me something else to drive that does not have this problem..they say they are waiting.
I bought a 2012 Durango in march 2012..have had to have a few interior things fixed already....vents and window seal...then 6 months later my seat starts making this noise why someone sits in it and you are driving...especially when even making small turns..i have spoke with ***** Robinette..he took photos and sent them to Detroit but all I get from him is they are still waiting...it has been since the first of May since they did that and still no response...he says all Durangos make this noise...but a car seat should not sound like it is coming loose from the car while driving....Now my window seal has messed up again..so i emailed them and when i could come in and get a check up and get my interior cleaned and washed...and it took and second email to get any response back...I love my car i just want it fixed...it was purchased new...with 25 miles when i drove off the lot.... When i took it in the first time i had to drive them around to show them the noise the seat was making...he told me since it was a safety issue..they would have to contact Detroit....but almost 3 months later a no-one has given me any hope...im scared to sit in the seat or let anyone else. Can you help me or help me get a differnt car? They say the seat is a bit loose..thats why its makes a noise..but for safety they canT do anything.

Desired Settlement
I just want my car fixed or another one like mine..I purchased this Durango for the third row seating which is great for my three kids...if they are not able to fix this one can we get it replaced with the same seating capacity...This is out main car for transporting our children and family and we need it resolve and fixed. I would hate to get in an accident and the seat fail and someone get seriously hurt.

Business' Initial Response
August 2, 2013

Better Business Bureau
**: Case # XXXXXX

Dear Ms.************

This letter is in response to Mrs. ******* ******'s concerns voiced in case # XXXXXX. In an attempt to verify any communication with Detroit, the case was reviewed with our Service Director.

Our Area Representative for Chrysler and an Engineer assigned to our case has been involved. We as a dealership are awaiting their response or suggestions to remedy the safety concern. Unfortunately, once a case has been sent to the folks on the corporate level we are unable to do anything on a dealership level without their input/response.

In order to move the case quicker or provide Mrs. ****** with confidence that the case has been reported; she is able to personally contact Chrysler. They will acknowledge our complaint to them on a corporate level and be able to provide the customer with more information than we may have at this time. The customer service line is X(XXX) XXX - XXXX.

If Mrs. ****** is looking to trade out of the vehicle without the assistance of Chrysler our Sales Management & Owner would be of assistance to do so. However, if Mrs. ****** is looking for Chrysler to work with her on the trading of her vehicle a Corporate Representative would have to initiate this response.

Lake Norman Chrysler Jeep Dodge once again apologizes for the experience that the customer has incurred at our dealership.

Sincerely,


********* ****
Customer Relations Manager
XXX XXX XXXX
*****@lakenormanchrysler.com
Lake Norman Chrysler Jeep Dodge

Consumer Response
I would like to get my seat in my car fixed...i brought it in back in April 2013 complaining of the noise it made.
They told me they would glue foam under the seat to stop the noise...my husband said no...he wanted it to be fixed right...well they did it anyway....i bought my Durango in March 2012...when i took it in i guess they thought i was crazy...untill ***** the service manager road with me back in July 2013...finally they say they can order the part....why could they have not done this back in April. They have not offered to give me a rental til mine can be fixed...this is made me so mad im ready to give them my car back. this is our main family car and it is very frustrating to here this noise on a daily basis...im scared the seat will fail if an accident would occur. I have had some other issues like my window seal keeps messing up. the dealership is a good drive from my house...so its take a good bit of gas to keep going back and forth to get things fixed. i have even called the 1-800 # they gave me...they dont know hwats going on either...they said my parts are in and i need to make an appointment to get it fixed...i think they should be calling me when it comes in or at least trying to make the customer happy since i have had this many issues.


I just want my car fixed or replaced or just take the noise away...i have had enough troubles and been patient and waited long enough. Someone who buys a new car should not have to faced these issues within a year. not so sure i will purchase another car from here with the experience i have had. I feel like i have been given the run around


Consumer Response
consumer **-opened case.

I would like to get my seat in my car fixed...i brought it in back in April 2013 complaining of the noise it made.
They told me they would glue foam under the seat to stop the noise...my husband said no...he wanted it to be fixed right...well they did it anyway....i bought my Durango in March 2012...when i took it in i guess they thought i was crazy...untill ***** the service manager road with me back in July 2013...finally they say they can order the part....why could they have not done this back in April. They have not offered to give me a rental til mine can be fixed...this is made me so mad im ready to give them my car back. this is our main family car and it is very frustrating to here this noise on a daily basis...im scared the seat will fail if an accident would occur. I have had some other issues like my window seal keeps messing up. the dealership is a good drive from my house...so its take a good bit of gas to keep going back and forth to get things fixed. i have even called the 1-800 # they gave me...they dont know hwats going on either...they said my parts are in and i need to make an appointment to get it fixed...i think they should be calling me when it comes in or at least trying to make the customer happy since i have had this many issues.


I just want my car fixed or replaced or just take the noise away...i have had enough troubles and been patient and waited long enough. Someone who buys a new car should not have to faced these issues within a year. not so sure i will purchase another car from here with the experience i have had. I feel like i have been given the run around


Business Response
From: ********* **** (mailto:*****@lakenormanchrysler.com)
Sent: Wednesday, September 25, XXXX X:XX AM
To: *****************
Subject:

Our original response to ******* ****** below is unable to change because she is still on a corporate level. The only changes I can make to our response would be to suggest to corporate what she is wanting as a resolve from us. We at the store level are unable to perform this request without corporate assistance.

12/18/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers-New & Used Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.