BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/06/2009

Keffer Kia

Phone: (704) 660-1520Fax: (704) 658-1182View Additional Phone Numbers164 W Plaza Dr, MooresvilleNC 28117-6806

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/06/2009

BBB has determined that Keffer Kia meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Keffer Kia include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Keffer Kia

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
07/30/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
failure to provide promised price matching on a set tires when the original tires were replaced with different brand without consultation with owner.
Brought my car in for inspection. Inspection failed because of tires not meeting minimum depth. Tires were bought less than a year ago and had less than 25k miles on them yet were worn beyond passing *********** This set of tires was put on the car replacing a set of michelin tires. Tires were a different brand of tire from the michelin tires taken off the car. Dealership failed to consult me about the change in the brand of the tire and charged me the same price as the michelin tires. Then when the car was brought in for inspection it failed the inspection due to wear of tires.

Desired Settlement
Request refund of the difference in price between the Michelin Tires and the set of tires that was put on the car without my knowledge or consent

Business Response
Re: XXXXXX
****** ********
**** ************* Drive
Vale, NC XXXXX
XXXXXXXXXX

Dear *******
I am in receipt Mr. ********'s complaint dated, 07/27/2015. Since receiving the complaint, I have spoken to him directly in order to make sure that the issue has been addressed. After discussing Mr. ********'s concerns with him I am confident that the issue has been resolved.
Mr. ******** had his vehicle in our store on 07/24/2015 for an oil change and state inspection. Upon performing both the state inspection and our multi point inspection we found that two tires would not pass ***** inspection due to tire wear. We recommended that two tires should be replaced. We quoted two Kumho tires to match the other Kumho's that were on the vehicle. However neither Mr. ******** nor Mrs. ******** was made aware that we were not installing Michelin tires which were their preference. Mr. ******** called back on Friday 07/24/2015 and discussed this with my Service Manager **************. ***** apologized to Mr. ******** for the confusion and agreed to replace the Kumho tires with Michelin's for the same price that was already paid. We replaced the tires on his car with Michelins on 07/28/2015.
After discussing this with my staff we have addressed this and our policy is to make sure that we are quoting a good, better, best tire brand to all of our customers to avoid this type of confusion in the future. I appreciate you bringing this to our attention so we can improve our processes at the store, so that all of our customers have an excellent experience.
I feel certain that Mr. ******** was satisfied with the resolution that we have come to. If you have any further questions, please don't hesitate to contact me directly on my cell phone at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Sincerely,

****** *****
General Manager


Consumer Response


03/16/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Out the door price quoted via phone did not match contract, plus had to pay $210 of property tax on car, which dealership did not represent.
I purchased a car from ****** Kia, all dealings were done via phone and emails. I was quoted an out the door price of $26,500, which includes all fees, we've discussed where the car will be registered for city and county fees. When I got the contract, the price was $26,590. Then I received another bill for $210 for a property tax for the vehicle. I called the dealership to ask about this, and was told that this was not part of the out the door price. I asked them, isn't that what out the door means? That all fees are paid for at the $26,500 out the door price? I was told no, this is a North Carolina law. When I purchased this car, I was never told that this is going to be a charge above and beyond the out the door price of $26,500. When I purchased this car, I made it known that I am in CA and that I will be purchasing this car for NC and registering it in NC. No one including the sales person ********** or the General Manager ****** ***** or the Finance person Paul during this purchase mention that this property tax fee will not be included in the out the door price. I was not even made aware that there is such a charge. I told the dealership that in CA, this fee is included in the out the door pricing. I feel the dealership misrepresented and were dishonest in their dealings and withheld important information from me. I feel defrauded and did not purchased the car for the out the door price of $26,500 but instead paid $26,800. I have contacted them via phone and emails to ask for this to be resolved. When the car was delivered, the owner's manual was also missing. I have since asked them to mail this to me. I received a call that they will and I am still waiting for this after one month.

Desired Settlement
I would like for the dealership to refund me $300 and mail the owner's manual.

Business Response
Re: Case No. XXXXXX
**** ****
*******************
San Jose, CA

Dear ********
I am in receipt Mrs. ****'s complaint dated, Tuesday 03/10/2015. Since receiving the complaint, I have spoken to her directly in order to make sure that the issue had been addressed. After discussing Mrs. ****'s concerns with her I am confident that the issue has been resolved.
Mrs. **** bought a car from us on 12/31/2014. The out the door price was negotiated via phone and agreed to by Mrs. ****. The out the door price included the highway use tax, title fee, and tag fee. The paperwork was fed-exed to her so she could review and sign, and the vehicle was delivered to her residence in North Carolina.
North Carolina now issues a license plate with a 60 day permit. In order to get a full year permit the customer is required to pay personal property tax on the vehicle. This is a reoccurring annual fee in order to get the North Carolina sticker for that year. In order for us to be fully transparent in this process we implemented a dealership form that the customer signs explaining this ever since this went into place in 2013.
When Mrs. **** received the bill she was overwhelmed and is understandable. In the state she was residing the dealerships collected the first years property tax and the last 6 cars she has purchased where in that state. However upon discussing this with Mrs. **** and explaining that every state collects property tax a little different she now understands.
On Mrs. ****'s other concerns we have issued a check for the ninety dollar discrepancy and have over-nighted her owner's manual. I apologized for the oversight on these two items and she was satisfied. I have also attached the copy of the property tax explanation form that Mrs. **** signed for your review as well.
I feel certain that Mrs. ****'s concerns have been addressed and that she will be satisfied with the resolution. I also made sure that Mrs. **** now has my personal email address so that she can contact me directly in the future if there are any other concerns. You are more than welcome to contact me directly on my cell phone if you have any further questions at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Sincerely,
****** *****
General Manager


01/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchase a 2012 Kia Optima Hybrid that was " Certified Used" this means that the car is required to come with an owners manual. This certification was $611.71 and cleary states there is to be an owners manual. I purchased the car on 10/24/2013. I have YET to receive a return phone call (as promised on 3 occasions), and have YET to receive the owners manual. All they keep saying is, it's on back order. Backorder for Over 60 days ?????? I've left messages with the salesman, we have called the parts department on several occassion all we get is the run around and a promise to call us back and NO ONE EVER CALLS US BACK. I PAID $22,000 for this vehicle and I NEED TO KNOW HOW TO OPERATE IT - I CAN NOT DO THAT WITHOUT THE OWNERS MANUAL. This is NOT ACCEPTABLE.
Product_Or_Service: Owners manual
Order_Number: ******
Account_Number: *********

Desired Settlement
SEND ME MY OWNERS MANUAL !!!!!!

Business Response
Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.

Mrs. **** is a valued customer and we regret the inconvenience with regard to the owner's manual for her Certified 2012 Kia Optima.

Unfortunately, the owner's manual is still on back order from Kia Motors of America. After discussing this with Mrs. **** she informed that no one had let her know that it was still on back order and that was her biggest source of frustration.

We held a team meeting regarding our failure to effectively communicate this with her, and we now believe we have a policy in place that will insure that this situation is not repeated.

I would again like to offer my sincere apology to Mrs. ****, and realize that an owner's manual is a vital resource for new owners. I have placed a 2013 Optima Hybrid Manual in the mail to her and have sent her a link to the 2012 web version of the owner's manual. I would also like to invite her to contact me for any further needs in the future on my cell phone at ************

Thank You

****** *****
General Manager


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As of Friday 1/10/2014 I still have not received the hard copy 2013 owners manual. If it was mailed on Monday the day I had the conversation it should have been delivered to me by now. It has been 5 working days and no manual.

03/06/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
****** Kia did over $11,000 dollars in work on my car. It was supposed to have a 12 month 12,000 mile warranty. Somethings wrong and they won't call
My car threw a rod 250 miles away from my home just off of exit 36 on 77 north. My car was towed to ****** Kia for repairs. They did over $11,000 dollars of work on my car. It was supposed to have a 12 month/12,000 mile warranty. Unfortunetly when I drove it back to ********** (home for me) the engine light came on and it started making an terrible noise. Keep in mind that at this point the engine had about 500 miles on it. So like any person who gets something fixed by someone else I called up Kia immediately. With out even knowing the exact problem. Kia's Service department manager ***** told me that it was not Kia's fault. I just don't know how he could have known that based on what I told him over the phone. My car has been sitting now for another month. Kia sold me on a warranty then when it was needed they washed their hands of it. I can get you more paperwork, including the invoice.

Desired Settlement
I want my car fixed and fixed right. I spent over $4,000 out of my pocket and my warranty company spent over $7,000. They sold me all these expensive OEM parts claiming that if I didn't repair them they wouldn't be able to offer me the warranty on their work. So I agreed to use their parts in lieu of Their 12 mon/12,000 mile warranty. Now that it needs work they won't honor it. I would like my money back. They didn't fix it right the first time, they have been leaving me hanging, and now I have to pay someone else to fix something what they didn't fix right in the first place.

Business Response
Re: Case No. XXXXXX
******* *****
*************
Charleston, SC XXXXX-XXXX

Dear *******
I am in receipt Mr. *****'s complaint dated, Tuesday 02/24/2015. Since receiving the complaint, I have spoken to him directly in order to make sure that the issue had been addressed. After discussing Mr. *****'s concerns with him I am confident that the issue will be resolved. The dealership prides itself in standing behind our repair work and doing whatever is necessary to make sure our customers are fully satisfied. This repair was a little complicated due to the fact there was an individual, a warranty company, and a third party parts vendor involved.
Mr. ***** had his vehicle towed to our store on 12/22/2014. Upon inspection we found that the vehicle had thrown a rod through the engine block which would require the engine to be replaced. After receiving authorization from both the extended warranty company and Mr. ***** we installed the remanufactured engine from a third party vendor that the extended warranty company suggested that we use. After the vehicle was repaired we test drove and inspected the vehicle and found that the vehicle was operating to normal specifications.
Approximately three weeks ago, Mr. ***** took possession of the vehicle, and after driving approximately 500 miles the vehicle developed a noise. Upon this happening Mr. ***** contacted my service manager. My service manager instructed him to take it to the closest Mazda franchise since he was in another state. Unfortunately, they found that the engine supplied by the third party company was defective. The third party agreed to replace the engine under the 12 months XXXXX mile parts warranty that was now in effect from doing the original repair. The third party company agreed to pay the labor at a discounted rate. The shop that Mr. ***** had taken the vehicle to did not agree to do the work at a discounted rate. On Monday, 02/23/2015, Mr. ***** contacted my service manager around 1:00 pm and emailed me around the same time. While I am sure that Mr. ***** could have found a repair facility in the town where he was that would have been glad to do the repair at the discounted rate I decided in the essence of time to bring the car back to our shop, replace the faulty engine under the parts warranty along with providing him with a rental car. This had been decided before I had received the complaint. We are in the process of getting the vehicle and replacement engine sent to the dealership.
I feel certain that Mr. ***** will be satisfied with the resolution that we had come to before the complaint was received. We are now waiting for the car to be released from the Mazda dealership. If you have any further questions, please don't hesitate to contact me directly on my cell phone at XXX-XXX-XXXX.
Sincerely,
****** *****
General Manager


03/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This dealership sent me numerous emails and I received numerous phone calls up until I purchased. After I purchased and had issues with the vehicle,

It's been about three weeks since I purchased the 2010 Nissan Maxima and it's been a nightmare ever since. The fact that the salesman promised me gas and a detail service while I was in finance, and I didn't receive either was the start of poor customer satisfaction.The first day I purchased the car the service engine light, brake light, and vdc light came on. I texted the salesman John the next day and told him. His response was, well you know you have a 3 month 3,000 mile warranty with us. I later find out after calling the dealership that warranty only convers engine/transmission issues. How convient? To make a long story short. I've been dealing with the same lights coming on every couple of days. It's been back and forth to my local nissan service. I haven't even made the first car payment yet and haven't even been able to really enjoy my new vehicle. Come to find out the car needs basic maintenance that ****** should have performed such as alignment, brake fluid, brakes, and cam shift. They botched this car up enough for me to purchase and now I'm stuck with a lemon. I'm a also being told the car has possible flood damage. I'm getting that inspected and if so you will see me in court.The general manager ****** ***** was no help either. His response to everything was I think you should take it to Kia in your area and get a second opinion. He never apologized for anything nor offered to pay for any basic maintenance or reimburse me for gas. I drove 2 hrs to their dealership to purchase and it was the worst experience ever

Desired Settlement
Take the vehicle back or offer a trade for the same amount I purchased it for.

Business Response
I am in receipt of Mrs. *******'s complaint dated 03/17/2014. I spoke to her today and apologized personally for my failure to ensure her that her needs were very important to me. I explained during our phone call that my reason for contacting the other Kia store was that it is also owned by our group, and we could ensure that her needs were adequately served and that any service issues were addressed. I regret that these intentions did not come across clearly to Mrs. ******* in our first conversation.

After discussing this with Mrs. *******, we are waiting on parts that have been ordered from the Nissan store to complete the repair. In an effort to make sure she is not inconvenienced she will be stopping by our other store in Greensboro to acquire a rental car that will be paid for by us. We also discussed her inquiry about trading out of the vehicle she is in. She let me know that she wants to think about this, but I did assure her that we would be glad to trade her into another vehicle.

To alleviate some of her concerns I also researched and reviewed with her the car fax that we provide to our customers and confirmed that this was a one owner vehicle and had no history of accidents, flood, or theft reported on the car fax report.

I feel certain that she will be completely satisfied with the vehicle we trade her into or the follow up and commitment that we give our customers if she so chooses to remain in her Maxima. I will email you when the transaction is completed. If there is any additional information needed at this time, please contact me directly on my cell phone at XXX-XXX-XXXX.


01/11/2016Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers-New & Used Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/17/2007Business started: 08/29/2006
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Division of Motor Vehicles, NC
1100 New Bern Ave.
Raleigh, NC 27697-0001
(919) 715-7000
http://www.dmv.dot.state.nc.us

BBB records show a license number of Active for this company, issued by Division of Motor Vehicles, NC. Their web address is http://www.dmv.dot.state.nc.us.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steve Suggs (CFO)
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jim Keffer (Managing Member)Mr. Dwayne Smith
Number of Employees

17

Business Category

Auto Dealers-New & Used Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Keffer of Mooresville, LLC

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Keffer Kia

164 W Plaza Dr

Mooresville, NC 28117-6806

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 164 W Plaza Dr 

    Mooresville, NC 28117-6806(704) 660-1520
    (888) 419-9966
    (704) 654-9749
    Fax: (704) 658-1182

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Keffer Kia is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 419-9966
  • (704) 654-9749
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers-New & Used Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.