BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/23/2012

RK Motors Charlotte

Phone: (704) 596-5211Fax: (704) 596-59805527 Lakeview Rd, Charlotte NC 28269-2600

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/23/2012

BBB has determined that RK Motors Charlotte meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised RK Motors Charlotte's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues6
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on RK Motors Charlotte

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
12/11/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation misrepresented the product

Complaint: Advertised original glass. Windshield been replaced Advertised modern stereo. Item does not work.
payment method direct wire
purchase date 11/4/2013
sales rep. xxxxx

Initial Business Response
We are disappointed he is not 100% happy but as I explained to Mr.xxxxx he purchased the car in AS-IS condition with no warranties implied or given without ever looking at the car. Most out of state customers hire an inspector to give them an independent 3rd party inspection report.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

03/26/2012Advertising / Sales Issues
07/18/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Advertisement misrepresented a product

Complaint: RK Motors advertised a 1967 Nova as an SS which had been gone through by their mechanics and listed as ready to go. I purchased the car and it is not.
The car advertised as an SS is not an SS. According to their website. The following items are listed as being gone through by their performance center prior to selling a car and specifically listed out on their website. I will list the problem areas that were supposedly checked off.
"The car starts and idles properly" - does not.
"Grease fittings are lubricated" - not done.
"Functional heater and defrosting system" - there is no heat and no air comes out the defroster
"Spare tire, jack, hold down, lug wrench and inflator present (if applicable)" - none present
"Brakes are functional with all components in good working order" - the brake pedal goes to the floor and will not stop the car properly
"Commonly loosened bolts/fittings are tightened" - several bolts, screws, and parts were found loose and rattling.
"All basic suspension components are installed correctly" - Something is wrong with the suspension but I have not figured out what it is. I don't want to put a lot of money in it then get a refund.
It car is touted as having indestructible richmond gears in the rearend yet it makes noise like the pinion gear is not adjusted properly. Advertising it as an SS is not legal as far as I know. An SS is a more desirable car as well. Once I checked the VIN which wasn't listed in the sale page I found it was not an SS.

Initial Business Response
xxxxx

Please review the video link provided. We test drove the car before it left our facility and did not experience any of the issues in the complaint.

Please note, the customer purchased the car without ever seeing it or without hiring an inspector to provide him a third party independent report of the car. He just flew into xxxxx,North Carolina and drove the car back to xxxxx,Kansas over 1000 miles away. This is a custom build car with many unique components that were not on the car originally when it was built in 1967. It is possible to have a mechanical issue with a custom built car after a 1000 mile drive. We are disappointed Mr.xxxxx is not 100% happy with his purchase but no refund is warranted or will be granted.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It shouldn't need a third party inspection after RK Motors performance center went over the car making it "road ready". The unique items were meant to upgrade the car to drive like newer cars. Unfortunately they missed the mark.

I called the company that the builder used for the front end. They laughed and told me the xxxxx power steering pump was over powering the xxxxx rack and pinion. A classic car dealer with mechanics and fabrication shop who advertise custom rebuilds should be very familiar with this issue. It's costing me $200 to get a reduction valve for the power steering hose. I called a brake parts store who wondered who the world tried to cob the brake booster on that was supplied and that it was completely wrong. Another $200 and I now have the correct brake booster. They took note of who sold the car. I'm in the process of looking pulling the dash apart to find all the water leaks and I'll be contacting xxxxx to find out why the heat and defrost don't work. I'll have to fix the pinion gear that is listed as indestructible Richmond gears which is whining from day one. If they think all these things happened on the drive home .... I think anyone that reads this will get the message. It's just re-enforces the poor reputation of used car sales persons. A few hours of work and a a few hundred dollars on an 80k car could have resulted in a happy customer. I'll work out the other things as well.

If you watch the xxxxx link they provide watch the 8:15 mark. The glove box lock keeps coming out. When I picked up the car and put my insurance info in the same thing happened to me. So they didn't even fix it after they had trouble with it in the video. They sent a mechanic over when I was getting ready to leave but I fixed it myself...LMAO at these guys. Do yourself a favor and don't purchase a car from RK Motors. Yeah the lights work, the windows go up and down. The doors open and close. It's the other things I listed and some I didn't that show their incompetence and/or misleading nature. Be well everyone.

Final Business Response
It was advertised as a custom built car not a numbers matching xxxxx. Here is additional information on the custom build


350 cubic inch Generation II LT1 V8
* 4L60E 4-speed automatic transmission
* 10-bolt posi-traction axle / 3.73 Richmond gears
* Modified suspension
* Power rack and pinion steering
* 4-wheel power disc brakes
* 17-inch Billet Specialties Fast Lane wheels
* Sand Dune Metallic paint
* xxxxx interior
* Vintage Air conditioning


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I see no resolution proposed just a change of subject when cornered. On an email from xxxxx I was told I picked it up too fast and they didn't have time to go through the car and get it ready. In one of the listings for the BBB they have a xxxxx video where they are going through the car checking it out. We just keep going in circles but no resolution has been proposed. Now they've pulled the checklist off their website since I was using it to point out areas on the car that weren't working correctly that they had bulleted as areas they check prior to selling a vehicle. Like the emails I had with them prior to posting here it's just becoming a Merry-Go-Round. They are going to put me off until I get tired and go away. The only way to solve this is through the legal system. Hopefully others will read this and be wary.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

03/14/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Advertisement misrepresented a product

Complaint: Auction catalog contained misleading and false vehicle information
Purchased a 1995 Porsche 968 (Lot #xxxxx) from RK Motors Collector Car Auctions (RKMCCA) at auction on 11/2/13. Catalog described car as "meticulously maintained" and ideal for a "daily driver."

The price we paid, $9750, would have been fair and reasonable for a car in such condition with reasonable mileage for its age. We had even allowed another $5000 to fix as-yet unseen problems expected with a car of that vintage, and seemed prudent since no mechanical or road tests were permitted.

After purchase, I immediately had it taken to xxxxx in xxxxx, who specializes in Porsches. About a week later, they informed me that it would cost approximately $10,000 to get the car mechanically safe and sound enough to qualify as a "daily driver." The car had signs of abuse and neglect that were the opposite of "meticulously maintained."

I contacted xxxxx, Consignment Manager for RKMCCA, on 11/12/13, and explained the state of the car. In an email follow-up to our call, Mr. xxxxx stated that the car was purchased "as-is" and that neither RKMCCA nor the seller had any responsibility to take the car back and refund the money.

Had the car not been represented as a "daily driver," we would not have bid on it. That misrepresentation and the company's failure to work with me to resolve the dispute is the motivation for this action.

Initial Business Response

This letter is in response to complaint xxxxx and the BBB Case #xxxxx. RK Motors has operated for approximately six years (beginning first in Ohio before moving to xxxxxx, North Carolina) and has sold over 2,100 automobiles in that time. Please visit RK Motor's website at www.RKMotorsCharlotte.com and click on the "Testimonials" link (under the "Company" tab). RK Motors also has an xxxxx positive feedback rating of 99.0% over the last twelve months. This percentage is derived from over 460 different reviews. In short, RK Motors prides itself as one of the nation's premiere restorers, resellers, and builders of classic, muscle, and high performance cars.

With regards to the vehicle referenced, we must point out that Mr. xxxxx assumed the risk for any mechanical, electrical or other defects that occurred after he purchased the car "As Is". In connection with the consummation of the sale, Mr. xxxxx signed the federally required Buyer's Guide. The Buyer's Guide clearly states that the Porsche was sold "AS IS - NO WARRANTY", and Mr. xxxxx would be responsible for all costs for any repairs. Further, Mr. xxxxx signed a Bill of Sale that expressly states the Porsche was "SOLD AS IS", and Mr. xxxxx made the "purchase knowingly without any guarantee expressed or implied."

In addition to the acknowledgements Mr. xxxxx executed on all the closing documentations on the purchase of the Porsche, Mr. xxxxx also executed and consented to the terms and conditions of the Bidder Agreement which expressly state "......RKMCCA (RK Motors Classic Car Auctions) makes no representations or warranties and expresses no opinions whatsoever concerning any Lot or Lots, and RKMCCA expressly disclaims any and all representations, warranties and opinions, express or implied, concerning any and all Lots, including without limitation the warranties of merchantability or fitness for a particular purpose, and any representations, warranties or opinions given or made by any other parties. Buyer understands and acknowledges that all information contained in any catalogues, brochures, displays or advertisements and pertaining to (without limitation) condition, year or age, serial or identification number, make, model, mileage, equipment, accessories, genuineness, authenticity, originality, previous use or ownership, manufacturing or restoration processes of any Lot or any part of component thereof (together "Vehicle Information") is provided by the Seller........

For the reasons described above, RK Motors and/or any of it's affiliates is not responsible for any of the claimed items mentioned in the complaint.




Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Since RKMCCA has apparently decided to distance themselves from this matter (Update! Car started leaking coolant into the head just 3 days after getting it back from the shop...new total repair cost estimate? Over $20,000 for a "meticulously maintained" "daily driver"), further rebuttal seems pointless.

But this situation is in no way resolved, nor will it be until the company that brokered this abysmal deal in the first place does the right thing (or at least is willing to discuss what the right thing may be).

Final Business Response
We are disappointed Mr.xxxxx is not 100% happy with his purchase. Please refer to our response submitted on March 7th, we consider this issue closed.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company provided proper verification that indicated there was no obligation to resolve the issues of the complaint.

01/09/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation misrepresented the product

Complaint: When asked if car had any paint defects sls rep replied no dings, no dents & no blemishes.

Car arrived in inoperable condition


On 11-21-13 we began to make a deal on a 1971 Camaro. I inquired to the condition of the vehicle & if the paint had any nicks, dents, blemishes etc. Mr xxxxx, VP Sales at RK Motors responded in an email dated 11-21-13 that the vehicle had no scratches, dings, or nicks. I also asked if the a/c was working & his response was "a/c works fine. I also inquired as to any warranty on the engine & his response was no, however, our techs do a complete safety & drivability check on the car. We traded in a 2004 Z-06 corvette & $21,000 dollars thru a wire transfer.

Vehicle arrived 12-7-13. After checking the vehicle we discovered that the alternator was not working, windows do not go up & down, dent on roof, a/c not working, heat comes in thru holes in floor when car is being driven, idle is very bad, car shuts off when going over speed bumps, exhaust in leaking, radio is loose & moves around when car is being driven, side view mirrors do not stay in place, the glass moves as you drive. After waiting for 1 month I have been told that in order for theses problems to be fixed, I must now pay additional money & ship the car back to them.

Initial Business Response
We are disappointed Mr.xxxxx is not 100% happy with his purchase but he bought the car as is where is with no warranties implied or given. He did not inspect the car in advance or hire a third party agent to inspect the car for him. He arranged his own private hauler transportation from North Carolina to Florida and we are not responsible for transportation issues or related transportation damage.

Most out of state customers inspect the car or hire a third party inspector to provide them with a independent assessment.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Before buying the car I spoke with the sales rep who told me the car had no paint issues. Also the dealers seal of approval states that all cars are inspected before being shipped. As soon as the car arrived I sent an e-mail with all of the problems the car had . No dealer should sell a car that is a danger to drive.

Final Business Response
Mr. xxxxx did not purchase the car at the seal of approval level; he wanted a lower price on the car and agreed to purchase it in as is condition at a discounted price with no warranty implied or given. (Please review the signed documents which clear state it is an as is sale)


He arranged his own transportation and never inspected the car before his transporter picked it up in xxxxx,NC and delivered it to him in Florida. We are not responsible for any transportation damage.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company provided proper verification that indicated there was no obligation to resolve the issues of the complaint.

11/27/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation misrepresented the product

Complaint: I purchased a car for $67K that I thought was fully restored which it wasn't. My car broke down after only 3 miles.
Purchased car on 9/16/13. Car was in my possession on 10/10/13 after it was transported to me. Car overheated after going only 3 miles. Took it to repair shop next day and it was discovered toggle switch for cooling fan. They fixed that and after driving roughly another 15 miles car broke down again. Had it towed to repair facilty next day. Repair facilty found harmonic balancer fell off damaging the crank shaft and super charger was damaged and had metal through out. Crank shaft was beyond repair and brought to machine shop for further evaluation. They determined the following:
1. Crank was damaged because the crankshaft threads are worn out and no bolt was installed on the vibration dampner.
2. Both cylinder heads are cracked.
3. This is not a supercharged 383 stroker engine professonally built as they advertised. It is a worn out approx. 80,000 miles old 350 Chevy Stock engine.
Cost of repairs is $40K.
Their advertising lists vehicle as 137 miles. At point of sale I sign odometer disclosure statement and again it says 137 miles. Bill of sale has odometer at 137 miles.
I received title docs incl dealership transfer of tile on or around 10/15/2013 which was well after sale and already after my car is in the shop and still sits there. Only now on dealer's reassignment of title that again I received on or around 10/15/2013 do they show the truth showing odometer is 137 (the odometer reading is not the actual mileage.) Last person I was in contact with at RK Motors was xxxxx at xxxxxx. He offered me $2,500.00 which is ridiculous. Because of the condition of the motor and other problems the car is only worth a fraction of what I paid for it. I never would have purchased this vehicle if I had known the truth.

Initial Business Response
The customer purchased the car "AS-IS" were is with no warranties implied or given. He waived the ability to inspect the car or hire a third party inspector to provide him with an overall assessment. He purchased the car sight unseen over the phone from our showroom in North Carolina and then was not happy when he received the car California. He was offered a $2000 goodwill settlement but he refused.



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They are $38,000.00 short of what is acceptable.
They misrepresented (lied) about the condition and type of engine. I'm finding more customers that have had the same experience as me since they opened business in 2010.

Final Business Response
I am disappointed he is not 100% happy but he purchased a car in as-is condition with no warranty implied or given. Most out of state customers hire a third party inspector to look at the car and provide a independent assessment before any purchase agreements are signed. Our goodwill offer of $2000 is still available if he changes his mind.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

01/02/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - Antique & Classic, Auto Restoration, Auto Customizing, Consignment Service - Automobile

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/22/2012Business started: 03/01/2004
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Division of Motor Vehicles, NC
1100 New Bern Ave.
Raleigh, NC27697-0001
(919) 861-3808
http://www.dmv.dot.state.nc.us

BBB records show a license number of 0071783 for this company, issued by Division of Motor Vehicles, NC. Their web address is http://www.dmv.dot.state.nc.us.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gerry Notara (VP of Operations)Mr. Joseph Carroll (President/CEO)
Number of Employees

50

Business Category

Auto Dealers - Antique & Classic, Auto Restoration, Auto Customizing, Consignment Service - Automobile

Alternate Business Names
RK Motors, LLC
Industry Tips
BBB Teams with J.D. Power and Associates to Boost Value of Information Available to Car Buyers
Millions Expected to Heat up the Holiday Season with Auto Purchases
VIN Cloning Swindles Luxury Car Buyers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for RK Motors Charlotte

5527 Lakeview Rd

Charlotte , NC 28269-2600

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5527 Lakeview Rd 

    Charlotte, NC 28269-2600(704) 596-5211

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*RK Motors Charlotte is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.