BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 06/14/2010

Cusick Community Management, LLC

Phone: (704) 544-7779Fax: (704) 542-0918

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues3
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints6

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
03/09/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They inherited a record keeping nightmare from previous management company but I have been trying for over a year to get my homeowner payments problem
Resolved and there is never any resolution. They say the association President won't respond. They are charging late fees that continue to mount when this could have been resolved a year ago. I don't mind paying what I owe but I do not feel I owe this. They President have written off late fees for some people but not others. This seems very unfair. The accounting problems were not due to my negligence. They say they will send a repayment agreement if there are any legitimate charges but they never have. I have had multiple cancer surgeries last year and haven't neen able to be persistent. Please help!

Desired Settlement
I want an accurate accounting of what is actually owed, late payments waived as I don't feel I am at fault and have tried for over a year to resolve while they continue to wrack up late fees, and when actual accounting is resolved I want a repayment agreement as promised. I want to be treated fairly. If they waived late fees for some because they realize the accounting records from the previous company were terribly flawed, then they should waive for all. I want to be on that friends list.

Business Response
We understand ******'s frustration with her account. We are attempting to reach out to her directly to address her concerns with her outstanding balance including any late fees that have been imposed. We are also happy to consider any repayment plan she would like to propose.

We are not aware of any situation in the community where some owners are getting preferential treatment over others.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They have reached out to me and Are looking into the matter and will get back to me in a few days. I would like to keep this open until it is resolved.

If some people are getting late fees waived and others are not, I would say someone is getting more favorable treatment.

03/25/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Continue to demand payment for HOA for 3000 Council Fire Circle, Acct. # XXXXX.
The manager called me later and said both checks had arrived (one for my second property on ******** Court).However, later I received another bill demanding payment. I called back and left a message on the manager's voice mail thle numbesr of both checks and the date they had been posted. I assumed that would end the matter. However, today I received a seco;nd letter again demandiong that I make a SECOND payment. It appears to be very easy to make demands of senior citizens on the West Coast who do not have legal representation in Charlotte.

Desired Settlement
(1) Stop demanding double payments for a single bill. (2)Send a letter admitting your mistake and your pledge not to make further fraudulant demands.

Business Response
After receiving complaint via BBB, both accounts were researched. Property owner owns two homes in neighborhood with two different account numbers. Unfortunately, the owner wrote the same account number on both checks so both payments were applied to the same account, leaving one in a "delinquent" state.

As of Monday, March 24th, the money will be applied equally to each account and all other late fees and charges will be waived. Both accounts will be in good standing. We apologize for the inconvenience.

01/30/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The gate and front lights have not been repaired after numerous calls. Poor lanscaping is an issue as well.
I have sent numerous emails over the past year of a entry gate repairs, and bad landscaping. In the beginning there were responses after a while none. Now I sent an email last week and have yet to receive an email back on the broken gate, and the lights that dont work in front. My HOA fees have been raised 80 dollars and no work is being done to keep up the grounds where i live. When asked who do I talk to A guy named ******* said him but he mentioned the Board of Directors and he said i had to go through him to get to them. I am totally disgusted.

Desired Settlement
I purchased a home in a gated community. The gate needs to be serviced properly. The grounds and entry lights should be maintained. The lanscaping needs to be done adequately. I should be able to talk to somebody who is in charge. These fees for the HOA have not been justified. I am not happy at all.

Business Response
Mr. ***** has contacted our office on a few occasions about his concerns. All questions, comments and suggestions have been passed ** to the developer / HOA Board who is preparing to respond. Unfortunately, as the management company, these items are out of our control. Because of the nature and frequency of the gate being broken, the Board is looking for a long term solution. We will do our best to resolve these issues as quickly as possible.



05/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
landscape crew repeatedly destroyed things on my lawn.
Since August of last year 2013, I have constantly called and called and emailed. No one would respond.Once I finally did get a hold of someone I told him my complaints and he assured me that they would be taken care of.I spoke with the president of the company at the time.Well here it is almost May and nothing!!!..My complaints were that the landscape crew they hired ran over the irrigation cover with the mower and broke it. There are little kids and I could possibly step in this and break my ankle. Also I have put up a second set of solar lights and one is missing!!..They were brand new just purchased on
Sat April 26. I'm just really fed up and need some help on getting my complaint addressed. I pay the HOA fee every month, but nothing gets done. They are suppose to re-paint the outside of the houses, pressure wash them, keep things neat and tidy not leave me more of a mess. I want all of these things addressed, If not what exactly am I paying for???

Desired Settlement
I want them to do everything outside of my home they are entitled to do when I signed that contract. I was told everything outside wise would be handled or covered by HOA fee.I want a new coat of paint all my covers replaced and my lawn maintained whether that is mowing or pine needles or whatever it is they are suppose to be doing.

Business Response
We had initial conversations with the homeowner last year and had resolved any issues he had at that time. The first communication we received since then was this complaint. We received a follow up email from the homeowners daughter-in-law on May 1 stating there were issues with the landscape company.

Since May 1st, we have had numerous follow ups with both the daughter-in-law and the landscape company to resolve their issues. We also have put the customer in direct contact with the landscaper who is responsible for a few of the items they mention. As recently as yesterday, we received an email that thanked us for our help.

We continue to work with them to resolve any open items they may have.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
That statement is only partly correct.I had been emailing and calling since last Aug. I even forwarded ************** the emails I had sent someone else because he wanted to know who I had spoken with. Upon talking to Mr ******* he said they would take care of things, and yes I thanked him, at that point I was even happy someone responded to me! There are still issues to be resolved.I was promised they would be taken care of soon. Until I see some action being taking place I wont follow up with a good response because this has been an ongoing issue. Hopefully things will be taken care of soon.

12/27/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We have requested several times to have the dead bush in front of house removed, to no avail. The first service request was in June 2013
Once again, we have requested removal of the dead bush from in front of our yard. It is unsightly and a tripping hazard. The service request orders have been place x's 4 since June with an email response stating that it will be addressed "immediately". This was in September of 2013. ironically enough, our assessments have gone up again! What is being done with the money? Please facilitate the maintenance of our yard as per the covenant of this subdivison. It seems to only work in 1 direction...theirs!

Desired Settlement
Removal of the dead bush in a timely manner!

Business Response
We first received the request for information in October, 2013. After receiving the request, communicated the request to the landscaper. We also informed the Board who must authorize the action. The Board authorized the removal of the bush and instructed us to communicate with the landscaper. As of today, the service has been performed.

We regret the homeowner didn't contact us directly as we would have been happy to give them an update on the process of getting the landscaping changed.

04/21/2014Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Association Management, Homeowners Association Consultants

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.