BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Appliance Repair

Find a Location

Phone: (704) 915-2073Fax: (704) 573-4628View Additional Phone Numbers2125 South End , CharlotteNC 28203http://www.applianceservicecharlottenc.comView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Appliance Repair is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Appliance Repair's rating include:

  • Failure to respond to one complaint filed against business.

Factors that raised Appliance Repair's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Appliance Repair

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
03/27/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Very unsatisfied with his business ethics and products received.
On February 8 2013 I purchased a stove, washer, and dryer what I was told was called xxxxx Appliance restore sales and repair on xxxxx In xxxxx. Paid $350 cash for product and $50 for delivery. I got a matching xxxxx washer and dryer. Washer model # on receipts was xxxxx. On February 23 the owner was contacted at xxxxx which was the number I was given on the receipt. No answer but he called me back from xxxxx. His name was xxxxx told me he was the owner. I told him it smelt like my washer was burning when I washed clothes. He told me to text him my address and he would come out that Saturday and fix the problem. After the text message I received no response until February 25 and he told me someone would be out between 10-12 and nobody showed up. Finally on the 26 of February two men showed up one man looked drugged while the other man entered my home. He took my washer apart said he found nothing wrong but replaced a belt. Again on March 8th I called the owner again because now my washer had completely stopped working full of water. He told me it wouldn't be until march 11th between 3 pm and 8pm he could come out to bring me a new washer. He did not show up until almost 9 and night and I have three boys. He brought me a xxxxx washer model # xxxxx. I was told at that time if I wanted my matching washer back I would have to drive to xxxxx and get it after I was fixed. Mind you I have a 90 day written warranty. He left me with this xxxxxx washer that was loudas can be but he told me xxxxx had a punch and for me to.put bricks under it. One the 13th I called him wanted my original washer back because this xxxxx one felt like it was going to fall through the floor and he told me he already sold my washer in one day after he told me I could have it back. I told him I just wanted my money back I was tired of dealing with this I have gone almost a month without a washer going to the laundromat. He told me he did not do that and argued hateful things he got very angry. He finally after we called on the 13 pretending to be someone else he agreed to bring another washer but not until the 15 between 8 am and 9 pm. I have three kids going to school so that was very inconvenient for me. Some man finally showed up about 8 pm with a xxxxx washer from 1950 with the dark brown top I was unable to get the serial number became it was wore off but I took several pictures and refused the washer. We called the owner" xxxxx" he said it was not his problem he was closed and hung up on me. So here it is March 15 and I still have no working washer that I paid for and he refuses to give me my money back so I can go somewhere more reliable. I have been told several different address from xxxxx to xxxxx so I am not sure of exact address just phone numbers.

Desired Settlement
I would like my money back as well as all the funds I have had to spend at the laundromat. I have had to go to the laundromat 3 times. Not only an inconvenience that could have been avoided but as a single mom I just don't have money to just throw away.

Business' Initial Response
We do not do cash refunds we went out to refund the money an take the washer she refuse to give up the washer but wanted the money the tech look at the washer and found nothing worng we change the belt just because 2 weeks later she having another problem we brought another ge washer out that works fine we got her old washer back to the shop an found a towel stuck in the tub thats not my fault she over loaded her washer i told her if she want the washer back come the next day an swap it out she did not call or come. a week later she calls back says the washer is loud we took out a kenmore washer the same age as the first washer she recived she did want it because it to old she call and said she going to kick my ass if i come to her house whit a another washer i feel unsafe for myself an staff she can come pick up a comparable model after we test the ge washer that was sent out to her

Consumer's Final Response
In correction of my last responses I don't see how a towel would stuck in the tub of a washer unless there was something wrong with it in the first place. I paid that man $400 why would I make up a lie about a small $100 waher? As far as safety he would come out at 8 and 9 o'clock at night. If he would have just given me a reliable washer that I paid for it would have never come this far. This is not th first complaint he has had to BBB.

01/02/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Replacement of refrigerator motherboard done by xxxxx ****** on 11/3/12. Refrigerator had same issue after he left, he returned the next day and replace the motherboard again. Refrigerator had same issue. He returned two days later and said that the fan needed replacement. He said that likely the motherboard didn't need replacement and when he returned he would refund me the money for the board. He then ordered the fan, but the wrong part was sent. He then claimed he was ordering another part. Never heard from him about the part despite numerous calls / texts to his two cells phones. I had to call GE to fix the frig. I then sent Mr. ****** an email expressing my frustration, and he promised a refund in exchange for the motherboard. Despite several attempts to set and keep an appointment, I am still waiting for him to return to take out the motherboard and provide me a refund in the amount of $405.00. His cell phone numbers are and xxxx. There are multiple complaints filed against Mr. ****** using the company name Queen City Appliance Repair.
Product_Or_Service: Incorrect Repair of Refrigerator

Desired Settlement
I would like Mr. ****** to come remove the motherboard he installed, reinstall the motherboard he removed that was functional, and provide me a full refund. Previously, I was willing to pay a reasonable trip charge for the time he came to my house, but since he has been unresponsive I now want a full refund in the amount of $405.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Appliances - Small - Service & Repair, Appliances - Small - Supplies & Parts, Appliances - Major - Parts & Supplies, Mason Contractors

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 10/21/2010
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Benny Stafford (Manager)Mr. Theodore Daycor (Owner)Mr. Benny Johnson (Manager)Mr. William Searl (Owner)Mr. William Spencer Mr. Benny Hilliard Stafford Mr. Benny H. Stafford
Business Category

Appliances - Small - Service & Repair, Appliances - Small - Supplies & Parts, Appliances - Major - Parts & Supplies, Mason Contractors

Alternate Business Names
A Pro Tech Home Appliance Service, Appliance Service, Appliance Services, Brick Works, Consumer Appliance, National Appliance Repair LLC, National Appliance Repair Services, Pro Tech Appliance Repair, Queen City Home Appliance Repair, Search Appliance Service, Searl Tech Appliance Repair, Tech Appliance Repair, Appliance Service Repair, Queen City Appliance Repair, Queen City's Tech Appliance Repair, Best Price Appliance

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Appliance Repair

2125 South End

Charlotte, NC 28203

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Appliance Repair is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (704) 921-2200 (Disconnected)
  • (704) 332-9767 (Disconnected)

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (704) 644-0747

Additional Web Addresses


Additional Email Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.


Industry Tips for Appliances - Small - Service & Repair


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.