BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/10/2009

Queen City Audio Video & Appliances (Headquarters)

Find a Location

Phone: (704) 391-6000Fax: (704) 391-6038View Additional Phone Numbers2430 Queen City Dr, Charlotte NC 28208-2715

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/10/2009

BBB has determined that Queen City Audio Video & Appliances meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Queen City Audio Video & Appliances' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Queen City Audio Video & Appliances

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
08/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We spent over $8000 w/ Queen City. One item purchased for $2300 was "scratch & dent" they did not inform us it was 4 years old. It's now broken.
In April of 2013 we spent over $8000 w/ Queen City Appliance warehouse location. One of the items we purchased was a "scratch & dent" item. We were under the impression that it was priced $700.00 less because it had a dent. Our sales person did not inform us that is was 4 years old and also that it had much more damage that was not clear to us. We paid $2300 for the broken item. A new model would have been $3000. Considering the fact that we spent over $8000 I would have never purchased a 4 year old model to save $700. The item is now broken and after speaking with *** **** their customer service manager, I was offered no help with an exchange or refund.

Desired Settlement
I would like to exchange our very damaged microwave oven combo unit for a new one that we will be happy to pay full price for, or have our money refunded for selling us a damaged item with out explaining the extent of the damage. The item is significantly damaged and we were sold the item under the impression that it had a minor surface dent on the front of the unit. It was sold to us not even having original parts. We feel as though we have been scammed.

Business Response
BBB Case# ******** ***************
August XX XXXX
In regards to the customer, they did indeed buy several "scratch & dent" as well as several new appliances from our Warehouse Clearance Sale in April XX XXXX.
I don't know that I can agree with her saying that they paid $2300.00 for a broken item when it has worked properly for approximately 16 months. There are a number of new boxed appliances that malfunction within the first year factory warranty. That is the purpose of the factory giving a warranty.
As to her concern about her salesperson selling her an appliance multiple years old isn't a question that comes up since that oven model number was still currently in production, at her time of purchase. The factory warranty always starts from the time of delivery or possession, not the production date.
I contacted xxxxx and found that oven was in production from May 2007 into April 2014. Even if she had decided to buy that oven, new in a box, she could have possibly received an oven that was produced several years prior.
When she called me yesterday (8/20), I looked up her receipt and found what I thought would be great news. She had an Extended Warranty on the oven that she was unaware of. Generally, people are extremely happy when they find that they wouldn't have to pay for a repair because they have an extended warranty. That extended warranty is valid until 4/25/2016.
At her request, I have talked with others here and am in agreement that we are unable to exchange her oven due the date of manufacture.
Her husband called us this morning (8/21) and will contact the extended warranty company about the repair. I gave him the warranty phone #************* and the information he would need to start the repair process. The extended warranty validation # for the oven is ***********. They will ask him to confirm the model & s/n of the oven. It is **********, *********.

Sincerely,

********
Queen City Audio Video Appliances Customer Service ********************


Consumer Response
***Document Attached***
In response to Mr. xxxxx reply to my initial complaint I would like to make a few points as to why we are still unsatisfied customers of Queen City Appliance.

We have had the microwave/oven combo unit repaired at this time. It was an incredibly long and arduous process that left us without a working microwave for 3 months. This was an incredible inconvenience as anyone with 2 small children will tell you the microwave is something used several times daily. We had to call the warranty company several times to get the service we needed and they made several unsuccessful trips to repair the unit.

The fact that we purchased a warranty is a non-issue for us for the reasons listed below.

I am attaching pictures of our oven. When it was removed from our kitchen wall by the serviceman that came to fix the microwave it had major damage to the back of the unit the we had not previously seen. I am guessing this happened in transit during the delivery process or during installation. The serviceman informed me that two major components had failed in the microwave and needed to be replaced after we owned it for a little over a year. When I remarked to him that it was odd for it to need such a large repair when it was only a year or so old he replied by informing me that the unit was actually manufactured in August of 2008. This was also information I was previously unaware of.

When we purchased the microwave/oven combo as "scratch and dent" we were led to believe it was because of the surface scratch and small dent on the front tot the unit.
We had no idea it was 5 years old and had been refurbished with non original parts.
I have pictures as well as two servicemen who worked on it that will verify this.
I also called and spoke to a very helpful person at xxxxx that informed me that it would be increadably unlikley to buy a 5 year old unit from a major retailer. Even if that particular model number was manufactured during the dates he mentioned it would not be the same unit sold over that period of time, there are cosmetic updates etc. She also informed me that it is illegal to sell refirbished or reconditioned items as new. The unit we purchased has non original ill-fitting parts. This was pointed out to us by the serviceman who worked on the unit. It is for this reason I still adamantly believe Queen City appliance should allow us to return this unit and purchase a new one. Their deceitful business practices are unethical at a minimum and quite possibly illegal.


Business Response
Good Morning,
I have attached a file in regards to Ms. xxxxx rebuttal.
Thank You,
xxxxx

04/29/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The Queen City installer butchered my cabinets. After several attempts of contacting Queen City there has been no resolution.
On March 15th, I bought Jenn Air model # ********** from sales representative Stephen Bradley on invoice # ********. I paid $150.00 on invoice and paid the installer an extra $100 at installation to install the new range. The installation included the price to cut my cabinets. The installer installed the range on March 22nd and butchered my cabinets. There are uneven cuts and huge gaps between the range and cabinet. After several attempts of contacting Queen city and speaking with the store manager concerning this issue, there has been no resolution.

Desired Settlement
I will need patch work performed on my cabinets and request Queen City to refund the installation charges. I do not want the butcher back in my house.

Business' Initial Response
Hi ****,

I know that we haven't worked together on a complaint but I like to get it done right away. I left Ms. ****** a message this morning to call me but she was probably at work. I also let Ms ****** know that I'm out for the rest of the week but will return next Monday.

We weren't aware of her complaint(at the office) until today but I don't think it will be hard to resolve once I get to talk with her.
If she doesn't call me until Monday-I'll still have a response back to you by 4/30.

Thanks
******

Customer Service
Queen City Audio Video & Appliances

Business' Final Response
Case#-XXXXXX
In regards to Ms. ******, our apologies about her cabinets, but our Corporate Office had no knowledge of any damage claim by Ms. ******.
I have contacted both Mr. & Ms. ****** about the complaint.
We have agreed to reimburse them $150.00 and the ******'s are now satisfied.
Thank You,
****** ******
Queen City Audio Video & Appliances

Industry Comparison| Chart

Appliances - Major - Dealers, Home Electronics, Television & Radio - Dealers, Mattresses, Electronic Equipment & Supplies - Dealers, Audio-Visual Equipment - Dealers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/15/2006Business started: 01/01/1952
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: February 1957, NC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Roddey Player (CEO)Customer Contact: Mr. Bob Lund (Customer Relations)
Number of Employees

50

Business Category

Appliances - Major - Dealers, Home Electronics, Television & Radio - Dealers, Mattresses, Electronic Equipment & Supplies - Dealers, Audio-Visual Equipment - Dealers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Queen City Audio Video & Appliances

2430 Queen City Dr

Charlotte , NC 28208-2715

To | From

LocationsX

4 Locations

  • 2430 Queen City Dr 

    Charlotte, NC 28208-2715(704) 391-6000

  • 7320 E Independence Blvd 

    Charlotte, NC 28227-9400(704) 536-2112

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2166 Statesville Blvd. 

    Salisbury, NC 28144

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2166 Statesville Road 

    Salisbury, NC 28144

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Queen City Audio Video & Appliances is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 365-6665
  • (704) 525-0355
  • (704) 637-3966
  • (704) 596-9240
  • (803) 324-5284
  • (704) 788-3303
  • (704) 663-8222
  • (704) 889-3301
  • (828) 327-2642
  • (828) 437-2494
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Appliances - Major - Dealers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.