BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/20/2012

Appliance Outlet, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (704) 523-3624Fax: (704) 523-36234200 South Blvd STE A, CharlotteNC 28209-2691



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/20/2012

BBB has determined that Appliance Outlet, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Appliance Outlet, Inc.'s rating include:

  • 6 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised Appliance Outlet, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

24 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Appliance Outlet, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 24
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 24 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
05/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased washer and dryer. Dryer never worked, replaced and that one stopped working. Dryer returned and have not received credit.
I purchased a washer and dryer set. Upon first use, the dryer did not heat. Repair man was sent who claimed to have fixed it, I was at work and had a relative be there to let him in. Upon my first use after, still did not heat. Was told to come to the store and pick out a replacement. I was very disappointed with the selection as all were very dated models. The owner xxxxx took me to their storage facility and I picked out one there. Very basic, but looked the newest. Dryer worked for about three weeks. One night I put a load in to dry and went to bed. Woke up the next morning in a panic as the dryer was still running. This was a complete fire hazard. I called for repair and was told would be close to a week before they could send someone out. I scheduled the appointment and waited all day, no call, no show. I called the store requesting the owner, xxxxx. I received a call back from him claiming to be "nobody important" and after continually asking was "xxxxx a repair man." He then remembered me so I knew it was xxxxx the owner. He was completely arrogant and told me he would bring another dryer out the next day. I advised him at this point I think I just lucked out with the washer that it has not broken YET. I wanted a refund on the dryer and would purchase a new one from a reputable retailer. He advised me it could not be done since I opted for the 90 days same as cash through xxxxx. I immediately called xxxxx who told me otherwise. They would honor the refund, Appliance Outlet would need to send them the updated receipt and they would credit the balance accordingly. I placed a three way call with xxxxx, xxxxx and myself to which xxxxx agreed he would have someone pick up the dryer the next morning and update the balance with xxxxx. The dryer was promptly picked up but two weeks later the account has not been credited with xxxxx. I have called Appliance Outlet several times with no resolution, just told they would take care of it and it has not been done. I cannot believe this company gets away with such shady business practices. Especially and owner who will outright lie to a customer and not identify himself. Extremely unprofessional and I am in awe that they're website states AAA+ by the BBB.

Desired Settlement
Refund for $249.50 plus tax applied to balance with xxxxx.

Business Response
Good morning in reponse to case ABv we refund The funds to customer vía The financing Company And we Pick up The dryer about a month ago so not sure Whats her complaint or what else she desiere

01/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Sold a defective(rusted)refrigerator to my company for $309, projected was rejected, the replacement product was a used product. I needed a refund.
I purchased a specific refrigerator and microwave from the seller, upon delivery, It was found to be rusted. I rejected it and they took it back. They delivered another item which is a complete used product. I questioned the delivering person about its condition and he acknowledged that it is used. I asserted that the item I selected is not used, but had a small dent on the front door, and was not willing to pay $309 for a used refrigerator while a new one sells for $379. I rejected the product and requested a refund and he asserted that I will be charged a re-stocking fee and delivery fee. The delivery person who may also be an owner, showed a careless attitude about his product and service. My representative called and spoke to him about obtaining a refund from them, he was obnoxious and did not care about customer satisfaction. At this point, I have no confidence in any of their product and will escalate this matter to the courts. The refrigerator is needed to store pharmaceutical products and collateral damages will follow as appropriately. I hope that these group of individuals will not get any positive rating for BBB.

Desired Settlement
I have no confidence in the products they have to offer and as such will need to have my money refunded to me, perhaps less their delivery charges

Business Response
Good morning The issue was resolve we exchange The Fridge For The customer to his satisfacción

03/10/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The advertised price wasn't honored
I originally came to the store to purchase an all in one washer and dryer posted on *********** for 450. Went in the store and saw the same unit with the price tag of 500. I asked the sales associate is that the price of the unit. She said yes. I figured they already sold the other units. I asked her if there anyway she can lower it and she did to about 479. I purchased it since I was already drove out to the store in need of a washer and dryer and wasn't going to waste the trip. With fee's i ended up paying around 550. The next day the online sales associate messaged me back through *********** saying that they still had plenty units available and it was for 450. Trying to call back to dispute was more of a waste time since the women over the phone was rude and told me it was my fault that i didn't mention the low price and that its "already loaded on the truck" nothing she could do. They "dont do refunds" and the manager refused to talk to me. Bait and switch. Not to mention it was really unprofessional how the sales associate was scolding one of the workers there in front of my partner and I for not working and calling him lazy. Ironically he was the only one who approached us and answer some of our questions.

Desired Settlement
a refund of the difference in price from the 450 that was posted online. Thats all I rightfully wanted.

Business Response
We honor our price that we post on daily basis only .and the discount have to be presented at time of purchase not after .thats our policy

12/23/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
they refused to install the microwave as agreed
I purchased a refrigerator and a microwave from appliance outlet and i told them that i need them to remove the old microwave and install the new one and they said that that is fine and when the delivery guy got there he refused to do so and told me that if i don't install it myself that he will take the stuff back so i told him to take it back and now they don't want to refund my full money back

Desired Settlement
i'm requesting a full refund of $396.78

Business Response
The customer above purchase a fridge and microwave and paid for delivery when our driver deliver and unload the appliances the customer requested a free installation of the microwave is our policy for liability reason we don't install microwave we offer the the customer a contact inf from a sub contractor who can installed the microwave he refused it and ask us to us to paid for the installation its policy in writing and explain to him at time of purchase the customer refuse the fridge and microwave and immediately report a claim to cc before he call us so we waiting the form to release his funds from cc and we took back the appliances back customer did not want to paid for delivery he should

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The lady that works there her name is xxxxx she told me and put a note on the account that the installation is free for the microwave. If she would have told me that they don't do installation I wouldn't of purchase the micro wave or the refrigerator

Final Business Response
That's incorrect because we know we have to hire a subcontractor to install the microwave we only can deliver them we can't offer free installation one we have signs on the store plus is our policy we will not install for liability reasons plus we don't offer a free microwave installation math don't add up not sure what the customer want but we are not paying a subcontractor that's customer responsibility he already place a dispute on cc for payment as soon as we get the form we will signed for the customer to get his funds released at this point I we just waiting on cc company to Cancell the transaction because we have the appliances back and the bank place a hold of payment on the dispute as describe by customer when he call c

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They need to issue a refund through their credit card processor once they do that the bank will close the dispute case because until now I still didn't get my money back

10/21/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
notified the store that the dryer only worked for 30 mins.I called them right away but they said they would send a tech but charge me 55.00 !
bought this dryer and plugged it in and 30 mins later the dryer did not work! I called them up right away and they would not give me a refund, and said that its their policy to only give me a store exchange... so I changed out the thermal fuse for 20.00 since I thought it was the most logical thing to do. it worked for 30 mins again, and it failed... I also had to change out the plug from a 3 prong to a 4 prong plug which also cost me 25.00.I paid 225.00 for the dryer and when I brought back the machine and they would not honor what I paid for the repairs and the plug.They showed me a dryer for 499, and a washer for 500.00, I said I would give them 75.00 extra and go home with the washer, (since I already went out and got another dryer out of necessity) they refused my offer and were not very helpful or wanting to make me satisfied with their customer service. so all they wanted me to do was to exchange the dryer for a more expensive one and I did not trust them that if I gave them more money how would I know that the more expensive dryer or washer would not give out... I felt this was a scam that they made their money out of continually working on repair of their products and charging fees to repair parts that only cost 20.00

Desired Settlement
At this point since my trust in this company is gone, and how they treated me, which was very rude, I would like to have my money back in full and just not deal with them anymore. total with tax I paid them 241.31 I have already returned the dryer to them, so they now have the dryer and my money.

Business Response
Customer came to our store requesting a refund nc he alleged the dryer was not working we exchange the dryer and the second dryer brought it back with same issue we found that the customer pull the connection and it was touching the metal he also told us that he did some electrical repairs in his house by his 220 was faulty I explain to him that the reason why the 2 dryers burn the internal fuse we try to give the customer another dryer more expensive at not cost to him he decline we came to a solution of giving him store credit for a full amount he agree and was wrote on his receipt that he got and was valid for 1 year so I thought was done and resolve so not sure what else I'm supposed to do pls ask him for the invoice I wrote last conversation we have withe agreement that he agree of full store credit

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)

This store manager does not have the story straight. It was only 1 dryer not 2, nothing wrong with our electric or anything else. The dryers thermal fuse kept blowing out and we are done with this establishment and we just want our money back.

Final Business Response
Good afternoon when me and him spoke he agree to a store credit even do the dryer was fine and I wrote on the receipt the total full amount store credit bc he agree company policy I front of the invoice is not cash refund by reading his revutal he's asking now for his money now so he change his mind is that what's he want now correct if he wasn't that there is a re stocking fee of 50 dollars even so this not apply to him I can use that policy of minus 50 and refund his balance back to resolve the situation

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have traveled 2 times to his store which was 36 miles round trip,for a total of 72 miles, and all the inconvenience I went thru,I feel that I should not pay the re stocking fee. I would like the full amount refund. Plus when I returned the dryer his employee took it off my trailer and slammed it around like he did not care about it. If that was Re stocking, then why should I pay for that? And if his employee treated that dryer in that manner, why would I be interested in getting any other dryers or washers from him. I would like the full amount refunded to me for $231.31. Please just mail it to me: xxxxx,
xxxxx, xxxxx,SC xxxxx

10/22/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Appliances - Major - Dealers, Appliances - Installation, Appliances - Major - Service & Repair, Appliances - Small - Supplies & Parts, Appliances - Small - Dealers, Appliances - Major - Parts & Supplies

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/10/2005Business started: 06/10/2005
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: November 2010, NC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Paul Pena (Owner)
Number of Employees

4

Business Category

Appliances - Major - Dealers, Appliances - Installation, Appliances - Major - Service & Repair, Appliances - Small - Supplies & Parts, Appliances - Small - Dealers, Appliances - Major - Parts & Supplies


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Appliance Outlet, Inc. has received 4.6 out of 5 stars based on 24 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Appliance Outlet, Inc.

4200 South Blvd STE A

Charlotte, NC 28209-2691

To | From

LocationsX

4 Locations

  • 4200 South Blvd STE A 

    Charlotte, NC 28209-2691(704) 523-3624
    Fax: (704) 523-3623

  • 6301 N Tryon St STE 114 

    Charlotte, NC 28213-8069

  • 6400 South Blvd 

    Charlotte, NC 28217-4445

  • 1506 N Chester St 

    Gastonia, NC 28052-1847

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Appliance Outlet, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Appliances - Major - Dealers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.