BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Queens Landing, Inc.

Phone: (704) 663-2628

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints4

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
03/28/2016Problems with Product / Service
02/13/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Refusal to provide refund after services were not rendered.
We booked a dinner cruise for my birthday on Jan 17 2016. I researched the website which detailed the cruise as 3 things: a boat ride, a 4 course dining experience, and entertainment. I contacted ***** on Jan 16 to book the cruise and was told their was availability and at that time paid for the event. We arrived in time and boarded yacht at 5:15Pm. We were served course 2 (salad) at 6:15Pm. We asked the waiter where the first course appetizer was and was told that they forgot to order an ingredient, it would not be served, and that we would be refunded for that portion. Before the dinner 3rd course was served another waitress advised me that my dinner choice was the only one ordered that night and the chef did not bring it on the boat. I was told that I could have an additional salad and the side veggies or I could wait till we got back to land and the chef would then prepare my meal. The waitress apologized and advised that they were under new mgmt and they did not place the correct orders for the cruises, were in off season and adamitedly quite a mess. Being very hungry and 7pm at this point. I accepted the 2nd salad and anticipated speaking with mgmt at the conclusion of the trip. Once we docked, everyone had already left and locked the building. My husband called the next day and was told he would need to speak with ****** a n d she would call him back. 2 days later, he got a call from ****** and was told that my accepting a 22nd salad was services rendered and they have a well documented no refund policy online and posted throughout their location. We asked where online and were met with silence and an offer to take another cruise. Not living in that area, we expressed that we did not want another cruise. ****** asked my husband to have me call so we could talk "girl to girl". I contacted the next day and asked for ******. I was hung up on 3 times and sent directly to her voicemail twice. Upon my 6th call back, I was told she was with another client and I asked to wait. I was on hold for about 2 minutes then told ****** left for the day and I needed to call back. I refused and left my information so she could contact me like she did my husband. This was *** 20th. I was contacted by Queens Landing today and told my name was on a piece of paper and asked if I needed a reservation. I told them no, I was awaiting a call back from ******. I was advised she was in building and sent to her office. This transfer sent me straight to Voicemial so I called back and was told they didn't know where she was but she would call me back. I cannot seem to speak with the person in charge and I will not accept another cruise or the excuse that they have a well posted no refund policy. Their website for 'Lady of the Lake' does not contain any information about a refund policy and my boarding pass **** nowhere about No refunds. I was told on the cruise I would be getting a refund for not having our appetizer or my dinner. I was never told that my acceptance of a 2nd salad negated that prior conversation.

Desired Settlement
Since the cruise had 3 categories: 4 course dining, ebetertainment and a yatcht ride, I am seeking refund for 2 portions as I was not served my 4 course dining and the only entertainment was soft music. I am seeking $50 refund for my $75 cruise. In addition I am seeking a refund for my husband's lack of a first course. 4 courses at $25 plus lack of entertainment would be $31.24 for that as well. A total refund of $81.24.

Business Response
I have spoken to staff about this cruise and there was someone here who remembers it. The planner for the party, not Queen's Landing, sent out the times for the cruise from a "spent" website. In other words, they captured an image from earlier times. Some parties made it on time because they called to confirm and Queens told them exactly what time to be at the party. We don't throw away food at all. We have boxes to go on the boat and would have been more than happy to pack up their food. Queens Landing tries to attend to every complaint. This one did not make it to ******'s desk somehow.

Consumer Response
From: ************ (mailto:********************)
Sent: Tuesday, March 29, XXXX X:XX PM
To: Better Business Bureau <***************************>
Subject: Re: BBB Complaint Case# ******

Hello,
I am unsure what is being referred to in the first post by the business. The second post advised that I chose a meatless option, which was on the menu and I did choose this, however stating that I was served more than my share is not true. The staff offered a 2nd salad since they forgot my food on dock. This matter is still unresolved and business has made no attempts to resolve.

Thank you,
************

05/08/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to adhere to customer service claims
********** and I attended a Valentine's cruise and received horrible customer service. We have tried to voice our complaints to the company via phone calls and emails since 2/14/15. Each time we were told we had to contact *****, the Business manager. Until today, 4/2/15, she has not answered any phone calls or emails. She refuses to offer a refund and has only offered an appetizer cruise to replace the horrible experience - why would we want to come back? She hung up on me and refused to speak to me, stating I was not logical. She corrected me on a statement which she later admitted to my husband that she was incorrect herself. She also told my husband that I was being disruptive to her company by calling 30 times - I have not called the amount of times she stated and only called back because her employees continued to tell me to call back and ask for her when she was back in the office.

Desired Settlement
Seeking a full refund of $180.66

Business Response
RESPONSE TO COMPLAINT:
**************** made reservations for a Valentines Day cruise. On board, they had absolutely no complaints. We had ***** waiting on them and she is the one that would have taken a complaint. After they ate their dinner and after they took the 2.5 hour cruise, The ******' complained that their food was not as hot as they would have liked. We can fix that on the boat; but they had already eaten the food. Also, they said they didn't request anything on the boat because they didn't want to disturb the other guests. They also commented that customers at the next table requested the same thing. Our entertainer sat next to this table. Actually, the next table was served Lamb for the first time and they decided that they did not particularly like the taste of lamb so we replaced their lamb with a steak. The ****** were offered complimentary cruises on the lake with lunch; but refused that. They said they had just moved to *********** and needed their money back due to the expense of moving. Since they took the boat ride, enjoyed the music, ate the meal and did not offer any complaints until after they got off the boat....the best we could do was offer an apology and a two complimentary lunch cruises.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The above statements from the business are false accusations and further acknowledge their lack of customer care. On board the ship, we had multiple complaints that were voiced to our server (who was not *****) and then again to ***** (who appeared to be the manager on board) at the end of the cruise. ***** said she could not do anything for us but to call back during business hours the next week. We did not make a complaint concerning the temperature of our food after witnessing the tables next to us complain - one plate was simply reheated (not recooked) and the other was told their steak would have to be replaced with another dish as there were no steaks on board to recook. The only truth in the above statement is that we did in fact sit next to the entertainer, who upon boarding the ship, instructed the guests that he too was there to eat (with ******** and ************) and would play a few songs then sit at eat. During the times he was eating, the sound system (or radio) in the boat was turned on. We did not request to leave the boat while sailing because we were in fact in the middle of a lake and unable to get off the boat! We did not enjoy the boat ride, the music was horrible, and the meal was mediocre - not worth $170. We turned down an appetizer cruise, not a lunch cruise, because we would not come back to this business even for free. The statement that we need the money back to cover moving expenses is preposterous - this statement never came out of our mouths and we find it distasteful the management of this business would make such slanderous lies.

We requested a refund and even bargained for a partial refund as we knew there was some cost involved, but got a "you aren't getting any of your money back" response.

Final Business Response
********** was recorded on her last conversation due to an anticipated unwillingness to pay for anything. She received a 2 1/2 hour boat cruise, she ate most of her dinner and Queen's Landing offered her not only a sightseeing tour; but a $150 dinner cruise at night, plus other items; therefore Queen's Landing could be do anything to resolve the dinner. I personally was told that they had just moved to *********** and had a lot of moving expenses and just wanted their money back. ******

Final Consumer Response
The statements made by ****** at Queen's Landing are both false and unprofessional. The "anticipated unwillingness to pay for anything" is unwarranted as my husband I were required to pay for the dinner cruise in advance. The statement that "Queen's Landing offered...a sightseeing tour, $150 dinner cruise at night, plus other items; therefore Queen's Landing could be do anything to resolve the dinner" is also a false statement. We were denied any monetary refund and offered an appetizer cruise as repayment. Since the dinner cruise was just that, a cruise, we were forced to remain on the boat until it docked. Had we been at a restaurant, we would have left. Finally, the statement that she "personally was told that they had just moved to Lake Norman and had a lot of moving expenses and just wanted their money back" is both slanderous and sad. We had, in fact, told ****** that we recently moved to the Lake Norman area and were excited to take a lake cruise, but never brought up the cost of our move and aren't sure how this is relevant. We were originally very excited to take the dinner cruise on Lake Norman and were severely disappointed with both the cruise and the customer service received both during and after the cruise.

12/08/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Reservation made via phone call over one month in advance. Sales gave wrong time & then failed to refund money due to their error.
Made reservation on 9/28 for 2 people for friend's birthday on 11/7/15 & discussed bringing a cake. Was told I could not board before 6:30pm, but could bring early & they would take onboard. At 5:30pm the day of event I received a call from ****** (same person I booked with) stating boat was leaving. Asked that they hold the boat as I could be there in 15 minutes and was told they could not. Disputed charge as I was told wrong time. Was told I should have checked their website as the departure times were updated for winter. Have left multiple messages for manager "*****", but he will not return calls and ****** refuses to put me through to his voicemail. She did say she didn't know when the times were updated and it may have been after I booked my trip. Two web pages exist. One says 5:30, but one still says 6:30 (http://www.queenslanding/LadyoftheLake/index.html). Regardless, I have never had to check a web page for a time change when the reservation desk tells me a time. Found out through friends onboard (there were 20 others in our party) that we were not the only ones told the wrong time. At least two other people missed the boat for the same reason. Also discovered they actually didn't leave the dock until about 5:45 because the captain was late (we could have made it if we had known that). Friends on board asked that our food be boxed for us since they refused to allow us to board late. The crew refused and said they had already thrown it away. Management refuses to discuss the situation with me. ****** refuses to refund my money and refuses to issue a voucher for another sailing date. This was entirely their fault. I had purchased a cake, my date came in from out of town, I had my hair done, I purchased a gift for the party and I arranged for a babysitter. Total, their negligence cost me roughly $500.

Desired Settlement
I would like a full refund of the $150.00 I was charged for missing the boat because this was entirely the fault of their reservation desk and their manager refuses to answer calls or return messages.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Amusement Parks & Places, Restaurants, Gift Shops

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.