BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/26/2011

Jim Burton Accounting Services LLC

Phone: (704) 516-5160Fax: (704) 443-75412020 Galty Ln, CharlotteNC 28270-1147

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/26/2011

BBB has determined that Jim Burton Accounting Services LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Jim Burton Accounting Services LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Jim Burton Accounting Services LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
03/15/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Very Bad experience!!!!!!
I found ****** ****** on line on Feb XX XXXX Mr ****** agreed to come over to my place of residents to meet to exchange info and give him what he needed to prepare and file my taxes. Once ****** left with my paper work to make a long story short he did not respond to ANY of my Emails did not return any phone calls and not only did he not finish in a timely manner i was given 2 different return amount and 2 different quotes on what his servises cost here it is March 09th a month later i just received my return and he had the nerve to send my wife a threatening email that he would take me to small claims court if i didnt pay HIM in a timely manner.. BAD BUISNESS

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund it took xxxxx 3 weeks to complete what should have took only a few hours.

Business' Initial Response
BBB of Southern Piedmont, Inc.
Business response to Case # XXXXXX March 13, 2013

Mr. ****** seems to have misunderstood from the beginning.

I admit that Mr. ****** called me February 2, 2013......we talked for a total of 17 minutes.

Mr. ******, in the past, has gone to large chain preparers that prepare your return right in front of you. I don't work like that; I pick up the taxpayer's information, go to my office and put the new client in line with the other returns that I have to do. Mr. ****** asked how much it would cost and I told him that I cannot give an estimate without seeing the data. He tried to tell me that he had a W-2. I said a rough estimate is $1XX-XXX but that is not a price until I see the data. When I picked up Mr. ****** data I found that he had failed to mention his children. (Children and EIC take much more time and work). Mr. ****** gave me a copy of 2009's return prepared by Webtax. Their fee was more than my fee for this year. In 2010, for Tax year 2009 they charged: Fee $ 294.00
Tran/Software fee 20.00
Technology Fee 12.95

Total 326.95 plus the additional charges for the RAL

I say this not to say my price should mirror their price but rather to point out it took xxxxx a similar time to prepare the ****** return or actually longer. Rates have increased since 2009.

Mr. ****** exaggerates about the number of emails answered or un-answered. I keep all of my emails so I know that he emailed me 1 time inquiring as to the turnaround time. I did not respond to his 2/5/13 that email since I had picked the data the day before and explained how this company schedules return preparation. We have more than one return at a time to work on. The other email was providing me with information left out of their data.

Mrs. ****** sent an email on 3/5/13 complaining about the amount. She said I told Mr. ****** the amount of their refund was $3,000 and it changed to $4,465. I don't remember that conversation but if they are un-happy with the extra $1,465, they can feel free to write a check to any of the many local charities. As I said, I don't remember telling Mr. ****** his refund was $3,000 but if the conversation actually happened; I may have told Mr. ****** his refund was approximately $3,000. I don't remember the conversation at all. This is the first time anyone has complained about their refund being more than they thought.

I communicated the amount of his invoice on or about 2/9/13. Mr. ****** said he was hoping for a smaller amount. I told him that I could offer a $50 discount to pay immediately. Since he didn't say anything about the invoice being unfair or too expensive, he constructively agreed with the amount. He said he would meet with me on March 2nd to pay, he said he would call me Saturday morning. He neither called nor paid that Saturday.

Mrs. ****** emailed me March 5th. She inquired about when her return was e-filed and what the amount of the refund was; I responded to her email on March 9th. Since she had e-mailed and called me so I don't see how, "had the nerve to send my wife.....". Mrs. ****** had communicated with me and the return was a joint return so I felt it appropriate to communicate with her. I take exception the statement that I threatened her. I only attempted to get them to call me and pay me. After they received their tax refund they had no incentive to pay me. I, again, did not threaten. I filed my action in small claims court this (Tuesday) morning. Assuming, I prevail in the small claims action, then the ****** will owe the $300 invoice to me and $126 filing fees. If I don't prevail, then ****** will get what he really wanted from the beginning.......something for nothing.

To restate:

"Very Bad experience!!!!!" I agree with him, the experience for me was terrible and, as of today, I have not been paid and I spent $126 in attempting to secure payment.

"I found ****** ****** on line on Feb 4, 2013......." I did drive to his house (over 30 miles) and pick up part of their data. I talked to them about important items they should watch for in a tax return. I also told them they shouldn't pay for RAL - the interest rate is about 30%. I don't do those loans.

" make a long story short..." I admit and agree that I didn't respond to all of his e-mails. He sent 2, one was more information from him to me and the other was asking me something I had explained, in person, the prior day.

".....did not finish in a timely manner ........." I was unaware of any schedule or promised time. I did not promise a day or time when their return would be ready. Who determines what is timely? I prepared their returns and they received their refunds. If I didn't prepare it in "a timely manner" then they should find someone other than me to prepare their future returns.

".....threatening e-mail that he would take me to small claims court....." that was NOT a threat, I was only attempting to save the ****** some money.

Consumer's Desired Resolution:

"I would like a refund" refund of what? They have not paid anything. Does he want a refund of zero dollars? Their tax return was prepared correctly, the return was e-filed timely, "...3 weeks to complete a job that should have taken only three hours" I did not have a deadline. The ******' were used to having their return prepared at a place that could supply a loan with their refund as collateral. I believe those loans are no longer available, but in any event, I have never used those and never will.

"......only a few hours." perhaps Mr. ****** should change occupations and stop driving a truck and begin preparing tax returns. I could not prepare their return in 3 hours; it took several more than 3 hours to prepare the return.

I have done nothing wrong other than trying to help a young couple; I would like to be paid now. There will not be any refund to the ******' from me. My best advice to them is to enjoy their $4,465 and to call someone, anyone besides me next year. Their relief or my relief will come from small claims court. If I win, I'll get paid, finally. If they prevail, then they won't have to pay me anything.


****** ******

Consumer's Final Response
From: ****** ****** (mailto:*****
Sent: Friday, March 15, 2013 8:23 AM
To: Better Business Bureau
Subject: (SPAM) Re: BBB Complaint Case#XXXXXX(Ref#REDACT3130*****@gmail.com39*****@gmail.com3131REDACT)
Importance: Low

Case #XXXXXX I have read ****** ****** response and its going to small claims court but yes ABSOLUTELY please feel free to post both mine and ******'s response so the public can see for them selfs that ****** has VERY poor business skills i hope some one from the BBB is able to read his response it is clear to see whats going on i will also do what i can to get his response out to the public his response was rood and disrespectful..

Sent from my iPhone

Industry Comparison| Chart

Accounting Services, Quickbooks Training & Support, Training Programs, Tax Software, Tax Return Preparation, Payroll Service, Bookkeeping Service, Investment Advisory Service

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 02/02/2011Business started: 05/04/2009
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jim Burton (Member)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Accounting Services, Quickbooks Training & Support, Training Programs, Tax Software, Tax Return Preparation, Payroll Service, Bookkeeping Service, Investment Advisory Service

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Jim Burton Accounting Services LLC

2020 Galty Ln

Charlotte, NC 28270-1147

To | From


1 Locations

  • 2020 Galty Ln 

    Charlotte, NC 28270-1147(704) 516-5160
    Fax: (704) 443-7541

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Jim Burton Accounting Services LLC is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.


Industry Tips for Accounting Services


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.