Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Resort One International

Phone: (866) 314-5995 200 E Campus View Blvd, Ste. 200, Columbus, OH 43235 http://www.resortoneclub.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Resort One International offers vacation travel and buying club memberships to corporations and other businesses. As well as legal mediation and timeshare exit strategies. 


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Resort One International meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Resort One International include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Resort One International
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 18, 2009 Business started: 02/01/1985 in OH
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Jeffrey J Hall, President/CEO Ms. Jessica Hall, Customer Service Director Mr. Lee Michaels, Corporate Counsel
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeffrey J Hall, President/CEO
Business Category

Travel Clubs Vacation Rentals

Method(s) of Payment
payment methods vary by authorized sellers policies, All sales are made by third party Agents and marketing entities.
Refund and Exchange Policy
Consumers should refer to their contract for details regarding cancellation policies. 
Alternate Business Names
ROI Legal Mediation Services
Industry Tips
Vacation & Travel - BBB Tips

Additional Locations

  • 200 E Campus View Blvd, Ste. 200

    Columbus, OH 43235 (866) 314-5995

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/8/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Please do not contact us by phone, we want all communication in writing One of the Reasons that we purchased the promotion product by Resort One International was because Ohio BBB did not display any issues with the company and that it carried it best rating.However, Resort One International failed to deliver on everything that we were promised and has proven to be a scam therefore we are requesting a full refund of the $8,995

Desired Settlement: Refund of the entire amount.

Business Response: We have made every effort to satisfy this customer. We refute his allegations. We've made numerous calls, emails, and in person contacts to help him. We request BBB schedule legally binding arbitration to end this matter.


8/30/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 9/11/13 we paid $4800.00 to Resort One Int. for concierge services, which we did not receive. Over $6,631.50 of unauthorized charges were put on our credit card without our consent. Between 9/11/13 and 12/1/13 Resort One quoted us prices for an Alaskan cruise and airfare from Houston - Seattle - Houston. On 12/10/13 Melissa S. send an email saying she would offer a 15% discount for payments received by 12/16/13. We sent our payments IN FULL for cruise and air. Additional charges of $2,201.50 were charged to my credit card and reported to Melissa. When contacted, Melissa said it was "an error to be reversed" and she would credit my card. As of this date 7/13/14, there is still no credit on my account. We arrived at the Houston Airport on 6/28/14, to be told by United Airlines that we only had one-way tickets to Seattle. While on the cruise I was contacted by the shipline service desk that my credit card was cut off because I was over my limit. I contacted Discover Card and was told Resort One had given United Airline my credit card number to charge airline tickets of $2,262.00 and $2,168.00 all of which were totally unauthorized and without my permission as we had already paid for these tickets in December, 2013.

Desired Settlement: We want the initial $4,800.00 we paid for "concierge service" not received. We want the $6,631.50 of fraudulent and unauthorized charges returned by money order to me. I have suffered embarrassment with my family and am horrified by the lies, fraud, and theft. I am seeking compensation for the stress this company has caused me.

Business Response: I have talked to Melissa from our concierge department and she explained to me that we have never received a dime directly for any such services. However she did receive travel information and requests from the said customer and had arranged the air travel through Faruke at Blue Vida Travel a third party provider. Blue Vida has informed me that there were many relatives traveling and payment was made by various separate relatives and or friends. This became confusing and Blue Vida is currently trying to sort out the situation. It is my understanding that the party has already traveled and has taken the trip. I have no knowledge and have received zero dollars for any said travel plans. I hereby request a copy of the credit card statement showing and proving that Resort One was actually paid these alleged amounts. I have spoken with Blue Vida and it appears that the same party has complained to the Dallas BBB about Blue Vida Travel and they claim they have answered the same complaint. I feel that the customer knows that they did not plan their flights with Resort One. It is disclosed in all of our contracts that we do not deal with or promote discounted air fare. We Deny any responsibility to any such claim at this time. 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:  Melissa S. CTC, Resort One Concierge, Dallas, Texas, 866-926-1777 and Greg C. Resort One Concierge, Blue Vida Travel, Dallas, Texas,, 866-926-1777, cell: 813-358-6096 both received numerous payments for the cruise and airfare on our behalf.  We have documentation to support all our payments.  After many emails requesting information on our airline tickets, on June 9, 2014 @ 12:18 we were told by Greg C, "Your tickets and flights are fine.  We got you good prices on your tickets but we do use UNCONVENTIONAL MEANS to do so".  By the end of December, 2013, we had the cruise and airfare paid for in full.  I did not authorize any additional charges on my credit card after the end of December, 2013  and therefore am rejecting your response.  

3/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I attended a sales presentation in January and paid $5,094 for a lifetime membership in Resort One Travel & Vacation Club. We were told that this would enable us to have 2 weeks a year in a Condo of our choice in destinations around the world and other travel offers at deeply discounted prices. So far, booking of anything we would like has been impossible. The site says 'sorry this is not available at this time', even 6-10 months out. The destinations I have seen that are available are not any cheaper than I could have found on my own. I have called them numerous times and have yet to receive a call-back. We are retired on a limited income and thought this would be a way to afford the travel we have never been able to take. We should have been smarter!

Desired Settlement: We would like a full refund. These kind of false offers need to be stopped. They are taking advantage of people.

Business Response: Dear BBB, After receiving your notice this morning in regards to **** ******* ******** I immediately called both Concierge services and Member services to find out more about the complaint referred to you the BBB. I asked Mr. *** ******** in our verification and legal department to call and respond to Mrs. ******** directly to get a more precise picture of what her concerns actually are. In short the sales team and more over Mr. ***** allegedly failed to instruct her on how to navigate our web site correctly so she can adequately purchase condo accommodations. In reviewing their condo search's performed it was blank. That clearly shows me that a request was never completely completed for the same. To my knowledge Mrs. ******** was walked through and directed to our Resort One Advantage Condo site and was pleasantly pleased with her findings. In closing this complaint is with the third party sales team and not with Resort One Member services. We are very committed to servicing are members and thank the BBB for bringing this misunderstanding to our attention. Yours Truly, 

9/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We received a post card in late June or early July from this Company offering a free 7 night cruise for 2 and a free 3 day/2night vacation hotel offer if we attended a sales presentation in our area 7/15/2012. I ignored the offer, then a few days later received a follow up phone call. The "Event Coordinator" made it seem like she was representing Carnival Cruise Lines, a reputable company, so I decided to accept the offer. When we went to the "Carnival Cruise Event" we learned that it was actually a Travel Club membership offered by Resort One International. Most of the information we were given later turned out to be false. At the end of the presentation we declined their offer and several subsequent offers, and were leaving. We were given a final offer to purchase a membership that they said was a repo. We ended up purchasing this membership for $2082.00. The next day after considerable research we discovered several discrepancies in what was represented by this company. A few:1. Presenting them as Resort One International, with a A+ BBB Rating and then switching the name in the Contract to be******* ******* ****** **** ** ****** *** which turns out to have a F rating with the BBB.2. The "Corporate Headquarters" we were told were located at**** ********* ******* *** ****** *H is actually a Pac Mail located in a strip mall.3. The offices we were told were located at *** ** ****** ****** **** *** ******** ** ***** *** ***** ****** ****** **** ***** ****** ** ****** with over 65 employees at each of the locations are actually "Virtual Offices" with no actual employees.The contract and all attachments to this agreement which we were induced to enter into are fraudulent & excessively one sided in favor of ******* ************** ***. We canceled this agreement within our 3 day cooling off period. Therefore we are seeking protection under KSA 50-626 & 627 which requires all payments be refunded. To date our credit card has been credited $1338.70$747.30 is still due

Desired Settlement: Resort One International to credit our ******** Card the balance of $747.30 which is still owed us.

Business Response: Please be advised I have been retained to represent Resort One Vacation Club
(hereinafter "RVC") and its associated entities in your claim against them. My client originally
intended to handle this dispute without the assistance of counsel, but your false claims and
assertions in public forums have made it necessary for my services to be retained. Therefore, let
this letter serve as a formal request to immediately cease any derogatory statements or comments
regarding Rye and/or its affiliates. agents, or principals.

My client fulfilled its obligations as required by law. When made aware of your intent to
cancel your membership within the allowable time period, my client refunded the appropriate
amount, or $1.334.70, 10 your credit. In my opinion, my client is not legally obligated to refund
any further funds to your account and payment has been satisfied. Additionally. I do not see how
Kan. Stat. Ann. §§ 50-640, -626, -627 are relevant whatsoever to your claim.

As stated above, this is our formal demand that you immediately cease and desist from
making any disparaging remarks regarding RVC. Please refer to the paragraph 20 in the contract
you signed with RVC entitled "Remedies & Arbitration." Said paragraph contains a clause
stating "[t]he Member may not slander or use any public domain or venue (including but not
limited to Internet postings) to attempt to extort monies or force any refund payment from the
SELLER or RYC." The same paragraph also states that violations of the above can be enforced
by a liquidated damages clause in the amount of $7.500.00. It is clear, and can be easily proven,
that you are in direct violation of this clause by making false accusations against RVC.
Accordingly, my client is prepared to pursue any and all legal remedies to protect its
reputation against your false and misleading claims. Should you have any questions, feel free to contact me.

Consumer Response:
I am rejecting this response because:  I stand behind all statements made in my origonal complaint.



Regards,

*** ******