BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
21 Counties in Central Ohio
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Pools and Spas by Classic Designs?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Pools and Spas by Classic Designs

Phone: (740) 964-1796 Fax: (740) 964-9048 View Additional Phone Numbers 9446 Mink St SW, Etna, OH 43068

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pools and Spas by Classic Designs meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Pools and Spas by Classic Designs include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Pools and Spas by Classic Designs
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 23, 2007 Business started: 03/15/2007 Business started locally: 03/15/2007
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. John H. Jones, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John H. Jones, Owner
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies Swimming Pool Service & Repair Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers


Additional Locations

  • 9446 Mink St SW

    Etna, OH 43068 (740) 739-1760

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (740) 739-1760(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 6/26/14 I apologize for the hand written letter, but my computer is down. My complaint is against Pools & Spas by Classic Design, 9448 Mink Rd., Reynoldsbrug, OH fro work done on my above ground pool. I noticed on line they have an A-1 rating with the BBB because of one customer. When i searched deeper there more unsatisfied customers with this company. I have tracked everything that has transpired since providing them with a $1500.00 deposit on March 31st, 2014 on a quote for $3130. - $3490.00. I hope you will review my complaint and adjust your rating, so no one else has to go through this with this company. Thank you, ***** ********* Pool Issues/Complaints against Pools & Spas by Classic Design 3/31/14 - Contac*** Pools & Spas by Classic Design, 9448 Mink Road, Reynoldsburg, OH 43068 to give me a quote for replacing deck, liner, plumbing and carpet on my above ground pool. **** from Pools & Spas came to my residence the 3rd or 4th week in March and gave me a quote which **** da*** 4/30/14. I thought this was the date he would start on the pool. He asked us to come to his facility to pick out the carpet and liner which we did on March 31,2014. At this time I gave him a deposit of $1500.00 toward the price given to repair my pool. This check was deposi*** on 4/2/14. Quote was $3,360.00 - $3,720.00 which included tax. I made several phone calls to determine when they were going to start the pool repairs. They finally called me on June 2,2014 and told me the pool guys would be there on June 4th. They arrived in the afternoon and I thought they were there to start the deck work. As it turned out, it was the subcontractor who Pools & Spas contrac*** to replace the deck. They did not come to do the deck replacement, they came to measure to see what they needed to replace the deck. I called Pools & Spas to let them know that they were not there to start the work, just to measure and asked when they would be starting the deck. They told me I should call the contractor and find out when they could do the deck and gave me the contractors phone number. Wasn't sure why they told me to call since they hired the contractor but I did. I called the contractor, *** ************ and talked to the owner, ***, and was told by the owner that he called **** at Pools & Spas to give him the quote and **** never called him back. *** also told me that he could do nothing until **** accepted his quote and as soon as the quote was accepted he would make sure the deck would be done as soon as possible as they had other contracts they had to fill. He also stated he would find a way to work me in and did so within that same week. 6/8/14 -Pools & Spas sent their carpet installer to do the carpet on the deck. He was here half a day and said he would be back on Monday, June 9th to finish the carpet. He knocked on my door to let me know they completed the carpet and if there was any problem to call Pools & Spa. When I went out to inspect I did find a problem. He left all 4 corners uncarpeted and the deck wood exposed which gave the look of being unfinished. I called **** at Pools & Spas and asked him to come look at the carpet and he said he does not have time to look at all the work. My son called and they got into a very heated conversation. **** told my son never to call him again and tell your Mom never to call again. He then proceeded to say they were coming out on June 9th to remove the carpet. **** then called me and said they would be out the following day to remove the carpet and I told him fine. The following day the installer for the deck stop and was going to put the deck drains in and I told them no because **** was removing the carpet. He left and the carpet installer from Pools & Spas showed up and I assumed it was to remove the carpet. He did not have a clue what I was talking about and said he was there to fix the 4 comers. I said fine and apparently **** decided not to remove the carpeting. 6/12/14- I called **** once again to find out when the liner would be installed. He told me the liner would be installed that weekend, either Sat. or Sun, June 14th or 15th. I waited both days and no one showed up. 6/14/14 - Called service (got **** again) and told him no one showed up over the weekend and that I assumed it was because of Father's Day. 6/17/14 - Came to put liner in and finish pool. I was told they could not start the work, until I gave them check for the balance of the quote before they would finish the pool. I really had no choice as I want the pool done. I am trying to put a hold on the check and contacted my bank but they deposited the check immediately. The bank is trying to put a hold on the check. I had water delivered so the pool would be filled all at once. When the driver went to get the 2nd load the pool guys left and never came back. The pool liner is pulling away from the pool, water was leaking under the pool where the fittings are, they did not replace the skimmer which we asked when **** was quoting the job that all plumbing be replaced. I called them to let them know about the liner pulling away and the leak. They were trying to give instructions of things to check that might be causing the leakage but I am 71 years old and not really able, or have the knowledge of how to stop the leakage. Then they wanted to know if my son could do it but I informed them he was not here. They said they would send someone out the following day. It is now 1l:20 the following day and no one has showed up yet. 6/17/14 - I contacted my bank to see if there was a way to put a hold on my check. I was told they already deposited the check. I have every intention of paying Pools & Spas, however, when I am told they need a check for the balance before they complete the work and deposit my check and don't complete the work, well I have a big problem with that. All I want is my pool completed and I don't think that is too much to ask. It has been three months since I contracted with them and I still cannot use my pool. 6/18/14 - Contacted Ohio Attorney General's Office and added 6/17/14 events to the complaints I already have on file against Pools & Spas. Also, emailing the Better Business Bureau copy of all complaints once the pool is finished, if in fact this actually occurs. 6/18/14 - Contacted Pool Co. to see when they would be coming out to fix the liner. I was told by the woman who answered the phone that they would be here around 6:00 PM . Once again they never showed. 6/18/14 - My bank was able to reverse the transaction on my account. I feel as a customer I have the right not to pay for the work until it is completed. A company that tells you they need a check before they can finish the job they started tells me that I am not the only customer that is having problems. I fully intend to pay the balance in full once the job is completed to my satisfaction and no other issues have to be addressed. 6/22/14 - Received a call from Pools & Spas and a lady said she was coming out to give the Liner but she would need another check before they could fix the liner. I told them that is not going to happen. Then I received a call from the owner, **** Jones. He said "what do you want, a free liner. I told him I did not want anything free, I just wanted my pool done. The fact that they wanted another check for the balance before they even started on the liner did not sit well with me since the first check I wrote for the balance they left before the job was done, deposited my check immediately and only called me back because I stopped payment on the check. If they wanted a check for the balance before they could finish the job, why did they not finish the job while they were here. **** told me he would see me in small claims court in Licking County. I told him fine, I had already contacted an attorney. 6/23/14 - Updated Attorney General's Office with recent events.

Desired Settlement: Consumer appears to desire the company to complete the pool repairs. I hope you will review my complaint and adjust your rating, so no one else has to go through this with this company.

Business Response:

In responce to the complaint  Mrs. ********* dated June 26, 2014.

On April 30, 2014 **** went to Mrs. *********'s home for a scheduled appointment for a deck rehab on a 12 X 24 on ground pool that required carpet on the deck and a 12 X 24 X 4 liner and also replacing  inground grade plumbing 1 1/2 lines..  No skimmer replacement at that time was reques*** on the invoice. Weather and Holidays were a factor on the job. The work was also held up by her son telling me that he said he called an attorny. Afer a customer calls an an attorny it is customary to stop work and not continue the contract with the customer untill an attorny contacts Classic Designs  No attorny called  and after a few days I caled Mrs. ********* and told her I would finish the job if her her son would not interfear whith the job at hand. Mrs ********** was not saisfied with a portion of the carpet I sent the crew back and fixed it to her satifacation on june 9 2014.The job was finished on JUNE 17 2014. a check for 2200.00 was given by Mrs ********** and deposited in Classic Designes account at P N C Bank Mrs ********* went to P N C Bank on june 18 2004 and told them she did not mean to write the check for $2200.00 to P. N. C Bank with out good cause and reversed the deposit of $2200.00. Mrs ********** has refused to unlock her yard for any repairs allegd that are needed

To this date July 15, 2014, Mre. ******** nor her phantom attorny, nor the Atorney General office has made an atempt to contact Classic Designs for a resulution

A small clames was filed on july 15, 2014 by Classic Designes to come to a resluation in this matte.r        

    

Business Response: Response to complaint #********. From Pools & Spas by Classic Designs. Complaint was da*** 6-26-2014 from ***** **********. On March 30th 2014  I did give Mrs. ********** (the customer) a estimate on a contract for complete deck and rehabilitation on a 12 X 24 on ground pool, including allcarpet, a new liner and replace 1 1/2 cream flex lines. The skimmer was not to be replaced. She was given a VERY competitive price for the estimate. Unusually rainy weather and busier than normal holidays factored in the time frame of the job. The work was also held up be her son telling me that he had called an attorney. It is customary whenthe attorny word is said to stop the work and contact with the customer so the issues can be resolved thru the legal system. But when no calls or certified letters came, I did call the customer and told her I wouldfinish the job. The custome was not satified with a portion of the carpet and I sent a crew to fix it to her satisfaction on June 9th, 2014.The poll was finished onJune 17th, 2014. The customer wrote a compleation check on that very day for $2,200.00. I deposited the check into Classic designs account at PNC bank. The customer also signed off on the contract/job invoice. On June 18th, 2014 the customer went to her PNC bank and toldthe bank personel that she did not mean to write the check $2,200.00 and PNC bank, without good cause reversed the deposit of $2,200.00. Since then the customer has refuses to unlock her yard for any aledged repairs that may be needed. To this date July 16, 2014 the customer nor her phantom attorny not the attorney General has made any attempt of contacting Classic Designs for a resolution. A small claims was filed in Licking County Court on July 15, 2014 by Pools & Spas by Classic Designs to come to a resolution in this matter.    

Business Response: ***......it was nice to talk to you too.  **** was pleased with your comment about how few complaints we have in this line of work. He appreciated that and he said he would be happy to try to mediate.  Keep us pos*** on what to do next..Thanks so much in advance.  

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

BBB Comments: BBB Note:  Business agreed to mediation but consumer declined.

7/21/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The day after Mother's day we order a new pool heater from them. This included installation and removing the old heater. The product was to be a ******* *** 250000 btu heater with electronic ignition and was to be installed in two weeks. After two weeks I went in to check where we were and the owner couldn't find the order but at that point I was under the impression that he had it straighten out. In the second week of June I did another follow up to see where we were and came away with the impression that it was just being ordered. After several follow ups he finally said the heater was in his shop and he would install it Tuesday June 12th. We didn't hear anything and called in only to be told it arrived damaged and he would have them over night another heater. Once again we didn't hear anything and stopped by his shop. He told me he would have it installed Friday 15th without fail. We stayed hoem all day and once again didn't hear anything. I went to his shop today to tell him to just forget the whole deal and he stopped me in the parking lot and said he wanted to make it right and he would have it installed tonight. Sometoime after 5PM his crew showed up with the new heater but it wasn't the heater we had discussed it was a ***** with most of the same functions. They installed and I went out to check and was advised it was up to me to now hire an electrician to complete the insatllation.I didn't get the product we had originally discussed nor was the installation complete. They had never indicated that we would be responsible to hire an electrican. I feel this is the worst customer service I have ever received and that he has failed to complete his portion of the installation.

Desired Settlement: I would like part of my purchase price refunded to cover the cost of the electrican or he can hire someone to complete the job.

Business Response:

Classic Designs completed it s portion of the installation on the heater . Classic DESIGNS IS NOT A ELECTRIC CONTRACTOR  . NO PERMIT WAS PULLED TO CHANGE THE SERVICE AT 8633 ********* CT

BY MR **** . THE PRICE OF THE HEATER AND COST OF CLASSIC DESIGNS PORTION OF THE INSTALLATION WAS VERY LOW .   MR **** WAS HAPPY THAT THE ***** HEATER WITH A BETTER HEAT CHAMBER AT THE

SAME COST . iM SORRY THAT MR **** FEELS THAT CLASSIC DESIGNS SHOULD PULL A PERMIT CHANGE HIS ELECTRIC PANEL DIG A TRENCH TO HIS POOL AT NO CHARGE  OR PAY A LICENSE CONTRACTOR TO IT

FOR HIM AT NO COST


 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/5/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1