Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

AAA Spa & Pool Services

Phone: (740) 453-4931 Fax: (740) 450-3250 1735 Maple Ave, Zanesville, OH 43701

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers service for above ground and inground pools, hot tubs, and most billiards.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that AAA Spa & Pool Services meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for AAA Spa & Pool Services include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on AAA Spa & Pool Services
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 08, 2002 Business started: 04/01/2001 in OH Business incorporated 10/24/2001 in OH
Type of Entity

Private Limited Company by Shares (LTD)

Business Management
Ms. Danielle Shalosky, President/Co-Owner Mr. Earl Shalosky, Vice President/Co-Owner Ms. Jenny Wagner, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Danielle Shalosky, President/Co-Owner
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Swimming Pool Cover Sales & Service Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies Swimming Pools- Above Ground Swimming Pool Service & Repair Swimming Pools - Maintenance Billiard Equipment & Supplies Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers Spas & Hot Tubs - Service & Repair Swimming Pools - Private

Hours of Operation
M: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
T: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
W: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Th: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
F: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
S: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Su: Closed
Method(s) of Payment
All Major Credit Cards
Personal & Business Checks
Refund and Exchange Policy
ALL SALES FINAL for electrical merchandise.  NO CASH REFUNDS on any merchandise.  In store credit only.  No returns after 60 days from date of sale.  We cannot accept returns on merchandise that has been neglected by customers by means of improper installation, improper chemical balances, undue abuse, excessive strain, acts of God, and so on.
Service Area
Zanesville, Coshocton, Conesville, Newark, Granville, Cambridge, McConnelsville, Roseville, New Lexington and the surrounding areas.  
Alternate Business Names
Shalosky Enterprises, Ltd.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

AAA Spa & Pool Services has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: purchased a pool from this company, have never been in the pool as it is new and immediately the liner leaked. was told to purchase another 100$ of chemicals to treat the stagnant pool water. The filter wont work because the water will not stay high enough to filter it. Installer patched pool after much complaining and the patch lasted less than 24 hours. Now need more chemicals for stagnant water. Was told me and my girlfriend could get in the pool she got in the water smelled fishy so she got out because she has a primary immune deficiency disorder and was afraid of contamination due to the foul smell of the water. I purchased the pool for her because she cannot get into a public pool as she was born immune compromised. It has been several weeks, the pool is paid for, the water hauled is now over 800$ (680$) was the start up fee for the water but now we have paid above and beyond that due to the leak. Summer is half over we still have no pool to enjoy and the pool was purchased weeks ago. Now I am being told to hold a bucket under the leak until someone can tell us what can be done and when. We were promised a new liner but told we would have to wait until fall as the pool company is swamped with business. we agreed to the patch and to wait but the patch only worked, if at all, a day, and even then it may have still been leaking without us knowing. It is now questionable if the pump is burnt out as the pool installer told us the water was adequately high enough to turn the pump on and leave it on continuously. It was filtering yesterday when checked at about 9 pm then in the night the leak either got worse or was already leaking substantially enough so that the water level went to low to filter and the pump ran all night with no water going through it. The pump may be ruined. I feel this is a breech of contract. repeated calls are becoming futile. It is next to impossible to speak to the owners. I usually speak to a nice lady who tries to help but her hands are tied as she is not the owner.

Desired Settlement: replace the liner immediately or repair the leak satisfactorily and immediately and continue with the owners agreement to replace the liner in the fall and winterize the pool free. want reimbursed for the cost of extra water hauling and chemicals used while not being able to enjoy the pool. Pump to be checked and put into writing that it will be replaced if problems incur above and beyond the manufacturers warranty if problems incur. Free chemicals to resume opening the pool once it is repaired

Business Response:

We are, in all honesty, stunned by the complaint by Mr. ******.  We are aware that there is a problem with his liner and we have been working with him to come up with a resolution.  His complaint is dated July 10, 2014, and as you can see on the attached letter, we let him know on July 8, 2014 that we had every intention of taking care of the problem for him.  At the time of the letter, the plan was for us to wait until fall to replace the liner.  However, the repair patch did not hold, thus we are proceeding with a replacement immediately.

******** ******** (one of the owners) has spoke with Mr. ****** on several occasions, and **** ******** (the other owner) has been to Mr. ******'s property and examined the pool himself!  After **** ******** looked at the pool, he returned to the store and ordered a new liner that will be installed 07/16/14, weather permitting.  For Mr. ****** to submit a complaint that it is 'next to impossible to speak with the owners'... that is simply not true.

Again, we are simply perplexed as to why Mr. ****** is submitting this complaint.  Yes there were problems, but we are aware of them and we are actively working to correct them. 

Consumer Response:

I am appalled that I chose to do business with such an unprofessional business as  AAA pool and spa services. As a customer I have never been humiliated. I contacted the BBB because I have been told repeatedly that the company is swamped with work and I am put on the back burner. Nothing is done on my time frame everything is done at the convenience of the company when they can get around to it. All I here is that they are very busy. Two patches were put on a new pool liner that was never even used by me. A brand new liner. I was told I would need to wait until fall to replace the liner because the company is too busy to get to my pool until the fall. The owner did not go to my home until after the BBB letter was received  and discovered by the owner. I have been denied being reimbursed for the extra chemicals and the extra water I had to have hauled due to the  large holes in the liner. This was promised by the owner and is being denied now. I had to make several calls to even get the minimal chemicals to start the pool once the liner was replaced and the new water was hauled, which incidentally is murky and not clear like the first water we had.  The water I purchased had to be drained away to install the new liner.  I am not satisfied that my pump is has not been compromised when the pool water ran too low to filter the water through the pump. The pump ran dry all night. Above all else, the most important point, is that  the joy and thrill of getting  new pool is ruined by the company's defensive nature and their failure to take ownership for these issues properly from the beginning. This did have to escalate into this much frustration. The company is difficult to communicate with, everything is done at their convenience, once the pool is bought and conflict resolution seems to be the burden of the costumer to proof and plead for any help. The company does not seem understand that all I ever wanted was to be treated fairly, with dignity, and open communication. That has been lost by the nature of this company to be defensive, unapproachable, and to view themselves as above reproach. The costumer is lost in a sea of phone calls begging for help and literally at the mercy of the companies attitude of the day. 

Business Response:

We are responding to ******** ******'s rejection of our response. In all honesty we cannot believe that after all the time and attention we have given to resolve the problems he has experienced, he is still issuing a complaint. To show that we have done everything in our power to make this customer happy, we are giving a timeline of events:

06/28/14 – Pool was installed and ******** ****** signed off that he was satisfied with the job.

07/05/14- ******** ******'s girlfriend/wife came in to the store and told us there was a hole in the liner and the pool was leaking.

07/05/14 – We contacted *** ******, who is our sub contractor that installs our pools, to let him know of the situation.

07/05/14 – *** ****** called ******** ******'s girlfriend/wife and let her know he would be out to patch the hole.

07/06/14 or 07/07/14 – *** ****** went out and patched the hole and performed a leak detection to ensure there wasn't a secondary cause for the leak.

07/08/14 – ******** ******** spoke with ******** ******. At that time the patch was holding, and Mr. ****** agreed to wait until fall for us to replace the liner (at no charge) so that he would not loose any swim time. We put this in writing and mailed it to him on the same day. We also told him that we would close his pool for free after we replaced the liner.

07/09/14 – Mr. ****** called to check that we mailed the letter. Our office manager, ***** ******, confirmed that it went out in the mail on the 9th.

07/10/14 – Mr. ****** called to say that the patch 'came off'. Our technician **** ******** went out that same day and re-patched the liner.

07/10/14 – ******** ******** spoke with Mr. ****** again and told him that since the patch did not hold, we would order another liner and replace it as soon as it comes in. Mr. ****** requested that **** ******** (our lead technician and business owner) come out and look at the pool himself

07/11/14 – **** ******** went out and looked at the pool in the evening and told Mr. ******'s girlfriend/wife that we would be out Tuesday or Wednesday to replace the liner. **** came back to the store and ordered the liner.

07/14/14 – **** ******** went out and put a pump into the pool to drain the water so that it would be prepped for the new liner.

07/14/14 – We called Mr. ****** to let him know that the liner would not be delivered to us until late Tuesday, July 15th. We told him that we would not be out until 07/16/14 to install the liner.

07/15/14 – We installed, and paid for, the new liner. We paid to have the water rehauled at a cost of $ 520.00, which was given to us at a discount by ****** Water Hauling since he had already hauled the water once to this job. Enough water was hauled to hold the liner in place 07/15/14, and the remaining water was hauled out 07/16/14.

07/16/14 – ******** ******'s brother came in and picked up chemicals for the pool. We did not charge for these chemicals. Value was $ 107.24.

As you can see, we have been in constant contact with ******** ******. Incidentally, Mr. ****** has not been home most of the time these calls were taking place. He is a truck driver and is on the road. He is relaying information given to him by his girlfriend/wife.

Additionally, when we went out and installed the new liner, we discovered three things that are NOT consistent with a manufacturer's defect or installation error:


  1. There are marks on the pool wall from where the ladder was sitting. The marks on the pool are in the same location where the liner was ripped/torn. This indicates to us that the customer put the ladder into the pool harshly, which would have caused a tear.

  2. The hole in the liner was so large, there would have been no way that the pool installer or the water hauler would not have noticed on the original day the liner was put in. This indicates to us that the tear was caused after the liner was installed and not during installation.

  3. There wasn't a 'flap' coming off the tear in the liner. This indicates to us that the flap was pulled or cut loose by the customer. We are enclosing a photo of the liner tear for your review.

Although we were originally suspicious of ******** ******'s claim that the liner was ripped due to a manufacturer's defect, or an installation error, we did not dispute the claim and did everything we could to satisfy him. Once we saw the area of the liner that was torn, it left little doubt that it was damage caused by the customer. Still, we went out of our way to make the customer happy because we did not want him to be left feeling dissatisfied.

Consumer Response: At the urging of my wife, *****, I want to close this dispute. I will be reimbursed through store credit if **** keeps his word, for the hauling of extra water I paid for due to the pool liner leak. I will not be blamed for putting the hole/rip in my brand new pool liner. There will be no blame pointed at anyone, it just happened, it my have been delivered with the hole in it, it may have happened during the placement of the liner, it is an honest mistake and no one should be blamed. I am satisfied that the AAA Pool and spa services honored the contract and replaced the liner,the pool water, and starter kit of chemicals. Thank You! I hope that the damage done to our business relationship can be repaired with AAA pool services.   

 This is an amendment to my prior letter. My brother was given the entire start up kit. He had thrown one bottle away he used it in it's entirety as directed to the new pool water. This does not excuse what **** said to my brother at the time of this transaction in the AAA store. **** evidently told my brother that I put the hole in the liner with the placement of the ladder. My brother stated that was impossible as the ladder was never placed in the area where the hole was. In fact we are both offended that someone would state this to be fact when it is an assumption not factual. Once again, my brother was present in my yard when **** stated that he was not interested in pointing blame or accusing anyone for the hole that he just wanted to fix the problem to our satisfaction. I am finished doing business with someone who will resort to intimidation tactics and false accusations. I have consulted with a pool expert and it would be next to impossible to put a hole in the liner of a pool filled with  about fifteen thousand gallons of water by carelessly plunging a plastic ladder into the pool. They are willing to testify to this fact. We want reimbursed the $200.00 in extra water and the cost of a bottle of sanitizer and oxidizer which my fiancé purchased after the first hole was patched. These chemicals were put into the pool and in the night the pool leaked again after the patch failed to hold and the chemicals were a waste. We will find another place to test our water and purchase our chemicals. After my fiancé was ridiculed and humiliated from an employee over the phone for my consultation to the BBB I have decided the damage the AAA company  is irreparable at this point. 

Consumer Response: Clearly temperaments were challenged during this ordeal. I work over the road, trying to handle an issue is frustrating by phone at times.  Multiple things happened at the same time the brand new pool liner leaked. My wife received additional news about her already devastating chronic medical conditions. I am sure this affected my/our ability to cope with the frustration of a brand new pool leaking. It is difficult to speak to the proper chain of command at times at AAA pool services. I do understand they are a thriving and busy company especially this time of the year. I resent being accused  of carelessly ripping  the hole in my new liner. this is simply not the truth. **** said to my wife that he did not want to point blame as it was pointless. The hole in the brand new liner could have been missed during the inspection process at the manufacturing company, it could have happened during shipping, or installation. In any case no one purposely put the hole in the liner. Things do happen and it was an honest mistake. My frustration built after the first patch failed and my pump ran dry. I had agreed to have the liner patched and wait to get the liner replaced in the fall as initially planned. Then to get help after the first patch failed and the pool water leaked out frustration built as it took several phone calls to reach the right person to discuss a resolution to the problem. Once **** visited my home and inspected the pool at my urging things were done but by this time frustration had overcome my wife and I. In retrospect we want to end this conflict and move on to a more positive working business relationship with the company. No more lies, no more accusations, just pure and honest communication is what we desire. I also want reimbursed for the extra water I had hauled as **** promised, we are willing to work this out in store credit for future pool chemicals. In addition when we walk into the store for water quality test and to make purchases and ask questions about our pool I expect for my wife and I to be treated with dignity and respect as any customer should be. Any comments or resentment displayed by the companies staff will not be tolerated. This has already been an issue. I want the company to promise to uphold the pool contract as it is written. I consider this issue resolved satisfactorily if the conditions I have mentioned are honored. We sincerely do realize that it is very difficult to run a business in this complex world and that people can get demanding and things are said with future regret. I feel this happened in this case. This is a good company and they try to bring affordable quality pools to the community. I appreciate that, it is my hopes that we can all shake hands and begin over. 

Business Response: We feel that this case has reached an impass. Any further attempt to try to resolve the situation seems futile. In light of this we will not supply any additional chemicals, merchandise or credits to Mr. ****** for this complaint. We have replaced the liner for free. Replaced their water for free. Replaced their chemicals for free. We have used up several hours of man power and tied up our equipment that could have been at other jobs. Due to the fact that we have been speaking with three different individuals during this situation (Mr ******, his wife and his brother) it appears that there has been some type of miscommunication. We feel that we are defending ourselves for statements that were not made in the context they were taken. As an example, when Mr. ******'s brother came into the store to pick up the chemicals, **** ******** DID suggest that the damage to the liner could have resulted from the ladder. **** was not pointing blame - this statement was merely Earl's attempt to educate the customer on the possibility of it happening so that the same mistake was not made again. It is our belief that we have conducted ourselves in a professional manner and have went above and beyond the call of duty. We have done everything we can think of to resolve this issue. We do not have any ill feeling towards Mr. ****** or his family, and will be happy to assist them with their water testing and any future needs, however we will not be issuing any further reimbursement for this complaint.