Text Sizesmall medium large

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 10/19/1999

Vector Security

(614) 367-7820

Customer Complaints Summary

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 6

Additional Complaint Information

This company appears to have a pattern of customer complaints alleging material misrepresentations in sales presentations, failure of a product to perform in the manner promised and poor customer service. Specifically, consumers allege they were told their security companies had gone out of business, when they had not, as an incentive to switch security companies. Some consumers indicate Vector is slow to respond to requests for assistance concerning the equipment.  

On May 21, 2014 BBB emailed Vector Security requesting their voluntary cooperation in resolving complaints on file with BBB and providing steps it will implement to eliminate the underlying cause of the pattern.

On May 27, 2014, Vector responded stating: “Vector Security and in particular Vector Security – Columbus Branch takes great pride in providing excellent service and support of all products we put into homes and business.  As we do not advertise, other than at trade shows we depend on referral business from satisfied clients to grow our business.  We cannot grow unless we are responsive and service orientated.  Both as a company as well as the Columbus branch we have one of the lowest attrition rates in the industry due to our satisfied clients.  We provide our clients with an award winning central station that alerts either the home owner, police or fire departments whenever there is a security action via the security, access, video situation.  When we have issues with equipment we try to resolve over the phone and if we cannot we dispatch Vector trained employee technicians to correct.”

On May 27, 2014, BBB asked Vector to clarify what training their sales representatives receive, and to provide copies of the sales scripts. BBB is awaiting Vector’s further response. This portion of the Review will be updated when information is received. 


Complaint Breakdown by Resolution About Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)

View Complaints Summary by Resolution Pie Chart on Vector Security

Industry Comparison | Chart

Security Control Equipment & System Monitors , Access Control Systems , Television Sys & Equipment - Closed Circuit , Fire & Smoke Alarm Systems

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.