Text Sizesmall medium large

BBB Accredited Business since

Vector Security

Phone: (614) 367-7820 Fax: (614) 367-7815 View Additional Phone Numbers 792 Morrison Rd, Columbus, OH 43230 http://www.vectorsecurity.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Vector Security meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Vector Security include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 6

Additional Complaint Information

This company appears to have a pattern of customer complaints alleging material misrepresentations in sales presentations, failure of a product to perform in the manner promised and poor customer service. Specifically, consumers allege they were told their security companies had gone out of business, when they had not, as an incentive to switch security companies. Some consumers indicate Vector is slow to respond to requests for assistance concerning the equipment.  

On May 21, 2014 BBB emailed Vector Security requesting their voluntary cooperation in resolving complaints on file with BBB and providing steps it will implement to eliminate the underlying cause of the pattern.

On May 27, 2014, Vector responded stating: “Vector Security and in particular Vector Security – Columbus Branch takes great pride in providing excellent service and support of all products we put into homes and business.  As we do not advertise, other than at trade shows we depend on referral business from satisfied clients to grow our business.  We cannot grow unless we are responsive and service orientated.  Both as a company as well as the Columbus branch we have one of the lowest attrition rates in the industry due to our satisfied clients.  We provide our clients with an award winning central station that alerts either the home owner, police or fire departments whenever there is a security action via the security, access, video situation.  When we have issues with equipment we try to resolve over the phone and if we cannot we dispatch Vector trained employee technicians to correct.”

On May 27, 2014, BBB asked Vector to clarify what training their sales representatives receive, and to provide copies of the sales scripts. BBB is awaiting Vector’s further response. This portion of the Review will be updated when information is received. 

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Vector Security
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 27, 1999 Business started: 01/01/1970 in PA Business started locally: 02/01/1971 Business incorporated 12/27/1991 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Division of State Fire Marshal
8895 E Main St, Reynoldsburg OH 43068
http://www.com.ohio.gov/fire
Phone Number: (614) 752-8200
websfm@com.state.oh.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Paul Snitkin, West District VP Mr. Brad Prasse, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Brad Prasse, General Manager
Principal: Mr. Paul Snitkin, West District VP
Business Category

Security Control Equipment & System Monitors Access Control Systems Television Sys & Equipment - Closed Circuit Fire & Smoke Alarm Systems

Products & Services

Vector Security offers the following product(s): Commercial & Home Security, Fire, Access Control CCTV/Video

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
S: Closed
Su: Closed
Method(s) of Payment
All Major Credit Cards
Cash
Check
Debit Card
Auto Withdrawal
Alternate Business Names
Vector Security, Inc.
Industry Ratings Comparison Chart X
Same Relative Size   All Businesses
The information in the chart below represents an industry ratings comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size or for all businesses (see toggle). This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 21 Counties in Central Ohio. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business.
X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.