BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
21 Counties in Central Ohio
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Bob Evans Farms, Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bob Evans Farms, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bob Evans Farms, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bob Evans Farms, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 03, 1992 Business started: 06/01/1963 Business started locally: 06/01/1963
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Randy Hicks, VP of Operations Mr. Steven A. Davis, Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer Mr. Jeff Miller Mr. Steve Shafer, Restaurant Operations Manager Mr. Mike Townsley, Pres., Bob Evans Farms, Inc Food Products Division
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Randy Hicks, VP of Operations
Customer Contact: Mr. Jeff Miller
Business Category

Restaurants

Alternate Business Names
Bob Evans Restaurant
Business Management

Bob Evans Farms Inc corporate headquarters are located at 3776 S High St in Columbus, Ohio, and the company owns and operates full-service, family restaurants in 18 states, located primarily in the East North Central, mid-Atlantic and Southern United States. The scope of this report covers the corporate headquarters and locations in the Central Ohio service area. Separate BBB reports on other locations are available at www.bbb.org.


Additional Locations

  • 8111 Smiths Mill Rd

    New Albany, OH 43054

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (614) 491-2225(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 3 weeks ago I filled out a form to have a duplicate copy of my W-2 sent to my new address. I have called and left 3 messages with the payroll department and have not received a response. I also spoke with Bob Evans IT department to gain access to my pay stubs and that did not work either. As of today I have not received my W-2 or any help from their corporate office.

Desired Settlement: I want a return phone call!!!

Business Response: ****** ******** called ******* and received her voicemail.  She left a message stating that she would be sending her a copy, today, of her W2 along with paycheck stubs.   She mailed the information to the address listed below: 836 ********** Dr. Reynoldsburg, OH 43068   Let me know if you need any additional information.   Thanks  

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In the past month or so I have called the corporate office a numerous amount of times, ive left about 8-9 messages possibly more begging for somebody to call me back so I can give them my updated address so my W-2s can be mailed to the proper address, I have pressed every button on their automated system, and each and every time I get a hold of an actual person they tell me there's nothing they can do, they can't give me anybody's extension, or they give me a new number to call which takes me back to the direct automated service again, I have left messages on payrolls voicemails as well as the w2s voicemail and not one person has returned my phone calls. 3 weeks I have left messages..and you mean to tell me out of all the employees bob evans hires not one person can call me back? Especially when w2s were supposed to be postmarked by January 431st and its now February 4th.

Desired Settlement: I would like a return phone call and my w2s sent to my email or faxed to me.

Consumer Response: I just would like you to know that on 02/04/2014 at 6:30pm central standard time ******* ******* from Bob Evans Corp payroll department called me then emailed my W2s to me. Thank you for all your help

Business Response: This issue has been resolved and ****** ****** commented at the bottom of the complaint. On 2/4.2014, ******* from our payroll department reached out to ****** and reissued her W-2 to her the same day. Please let me know if you need anything else. Thanks,

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I sent you an email last week letting you know they had resolved the issue.





















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 12/21/13 I placed an online order for Curbside pickup at Bob Evans on West Broad St, Columbus, OH. After I returned home, we noticed part of the order was missing and part was incorrect. We had ordered two full family meals. We called the store and the new mgr of 2 days told us we could either come back and pick up a family meal at no charge or wait for a coupon in the mail from corporate. It was raining so we choice the coupon. It never arrived. I called the W Broad St store again 12/31/13 and this was a different manager and she said to give it 3 weeks. I said what is corporates number. She gave me a number that turned out to be a fax! I called back and she said that is the only number she had! She did not try to help me. I then looked up corporate online and called an 800 number, this lady took my info and seemed like she was listening, but still nothing arrived! So I then filled out a complaint form online under the Bob Evans corporate sight, finally I received an email response back stating the coupon was sent to the wrong address 1/2/14 and they were not going to do anything to correct their error!!!! ***** ***** accused me of giving the wrong address! I know my address as I have owned this house for a very long time. In addition it is present from ordering online several times, plus I gave it to the Broad St store and to the New Albany location. I think they may have made a typo with the zip code because it is 43204. They entered 820 but my address is 803! I am absolutely appalled that my full name was given to the wrong address and somebody else received my refund. If this is true...and she is not just telling me this because they do not want to correct this issue...that is a rental house of which the police recently visited and I do not appreciate that they sent my mail there! They could have verified this before hand. Or sent an email coupon!!! At this point I want a cash refund because my confidence in Bob Evans is now shot. Absolutely shamefull. Order total $34.98 (Please see EM)

Desired Settlement: This is a copy of the email sent to me "mocking me as you can see she says my name as "cheery" and my name is Cherie. Which is clearly written in my email address!) 820 was the address provided when you contacted us by phone. They were mailed on 01/02/2014. Confirmation number on online order is ********.

Consumer Response: Thank you, I would like to add an email attachment to the complaint. I explained it in my correspondence but thought it would best if I actually attached the order confirmation and the response email from corporate as it shows the dis-respect and mocking of my name. How can I add this now?

Consumer Response: Consumer submitted a copy of her order confirmation.

Business Response: We are happy to provide this guest with a refund in the form of check as requested.  Our representative ***** ***** has been in correspondence with this guest, and a refund will be processed. .    

Consumer Response: I thank the BBB for acting upon this as quickly as they did. But I can not answer at this time as I must wait to see if I really do receive a refund.  The even bigger issue now is why ***** or somebody corrected my name in the response email sent to the BBB! This is fraudulent and further reflects upon this corporate office!  I do not appreciate them changing my first name in the email and acting as though it never happened. Why did they not acknowledge this? Are they trying to make me look like the crazy? This is how it comes across...  I have the original email in my inbox as proof! And I will forward it to you next.  I am sure the corporate office has the original one in their sent file and an IT professional can tell whether or not it has been changed. This is wrong...why is this not addressed in my complaint?      

Consumer Response: I understand your message and truly appreciate your response. I thank you for your assistance and promptness as well! Plus professionalism and transparency. Which is why I have to respond again. It could have been a typo or a slip...however it is Bob Evans that should be acknowledging this by saying, "sorry that we mis-spelled your name-it was not our rep's attention to mock you"  I can not help but to still be angered by this because I believe it was intentional. Or else she would done the right thing to begin with! It is not the responsibility of the BBB to make excuses on their behalf and to apologize for them!  In addition, what a frustrating ordeal this has been for something that should have been simple. And this rep saying that I gave her a wrong address so my hard earned money would go to another address....seriously does this make any sense...? No apology for sending my "business" to another address...if of course, it was actually ever sent. Plus she should not have changed the email correspondence. How do you know this rep has not done this to other emails as well???  I want this acknowledged in addition to the refund. This needs to be brought to the attention of her management, or else it will not be corrected. Plus it doesn't state what the refund actually is...?  So how do we adjust this claim to acknowledge that the email was changed in the correspondence to be BBB? At this point, it is not just about the refund, it is about ethics. Had the email not been changed, and she replied, "sorry for the typo", we would not be having this additional correspondence and the case would now be closed!

Business Response: I apologize for the confusion with this complaint.  The goal of my department is to be the voice of Bob Evans guests and resolve their issue in a timely manner.   I want to apologize to Ms. ****** on behalf of myself and my team that we did not handle her concern appropriately.  I have updated her address to reflect the correct one.  I am sorry that we somehow inputted the wrong address into our system.  Secondly, a check for $35 has been mailed to Ms. ****** to her corrected address to cover the cost of her carryout order as she requested.  Finally, under no circumstances would I tolerate anyone from my team to mock a guest.  I have spoken with my team members to ensure they are inputting a guest’s name and address correctly.  I apologize that Ms. ******’s name was mis-spelled in our correspondence to her. If there is anything else needed, please do not hesitate to reach out to me. Thanks,

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.




















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/28/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received my last paycheck from Bob Evans on 4/12/2013. At this time I requested a final disbursement of my 401k benefits. I was told by corporate that in order to start the process my status with the company had to change from active to inactive, and that my store manager was the one to make the change. It is now July and my status is still currently active. I have called everyone I could get a number for and never received one return phone call. When I called the restaurant that I worked for I was told by ******* ****** ( store manager ) that he changed my status and took me out of his system. I then called corporate and was told I was still in his system and an active employee. Corporate instructed me to call the restaurant I worked for. And the restaurant instructed me to call corporate, several times. I don't know if its a matter of incompetency or a simple glitch in the system. Either way, I feel that it Is not my job to solve their issue about my money. Thank You.

Desired Settlement: I simply just want my money

Business Response: This concern has been forwarded to our Retirement Benefits Manager.  Corrections have been made in our system to reflect employees termination status.  Our 401K vendor should have her status updated by end of day Tuesday so that she can request distribution of her 401k plan. Distribution requests can be made by contacting our BEing My Best Resource Center at ###-###-####. Thank you, **** ****** Guest and Consumer Relations Manager

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have enclosed a copy of a letter that I sent, over a month ago, to ******* ** *****, President of Bob Evans Restaurants. I have yet to receive a reply. Would you mind looking into the situation for me? Thank you. Sincerely, ****** ** ******   May 21,2013 ******* ** ***** President of Bob Evans Restaurants **** ** **** ** ********* ** ***** Dear Mr. *****: Last night I attended the ******** ******** High School graduation at the ************* ****** at **** *****; my friend's son graduated. Afterwards, a group of us went to ** ******* on ********* Drive to have dinner and a celebration of the evening. It was raining and I knew it would be dark when we left (we arrived there about 9:1O), so I parked in the end space of the row of spaces in front of Bob Evans, since it was the closest available space to ** *******'s front door. At about 10:15 p.m., my friend, her son, her two other younger children and I walked out of ** ******* toward my car. We were met by a young man in a Bob Evans jacket, who asked, "Is this your car?" I replied that yes, it was, and he proceeded to berate me for parking in that space, and to announce that the tow truck was on the way. When I asked him why, he told me that I could not park there to go to ** *******. I told him that there was no signage anywhere to indicate that to be the case; he informed me that the sign was around "the back of the restaurant". Just at that moment, two ******** Towing trucks arrived, one from each driveway. Before I drove away, I asked the young man his name and he told me it was ******. I called your restaurant this morning and spoke to the manager on duty, **** ******. Mr. ****** was very pleasant, but told me that I would not have been the first car towed from the lot due to being a customer of ** *******. I told Mr. ****** that there are no signs indicating that parking there is exclusive to Bob Evans. He acknowledged this fact, but certainly didn't indicate any regrets about the towing incident. After giving this event more thought and inquiries, I would like you to consider the following: *My interaction with ****** (****) was confrontational and unprofessional. Mr. ****** said that yes, ****** can be abrupt. I pointed out to Mr. ****** that ****** was disrespectful to me and my friends, which was not a nice way to end an evening of celebration and recognition. Further, my car is all-wheel drive and had it been towed (in lieu of a flatbed), it would have been seriously damaged. And, taking it one step further, if we had walked out ten minutes later and my car was gone, my first instinct would have been to call the police and report it stolen. *I spoke at length to an officer in the ***** ********* Police Department this morning. While towing from private property is not typically a police matter, he said that there should be signage at all entry points to the lot indicating that Bob Evans considers that lot to be exclusively for Bob Evans' customers, under penalty of towing. And, since the two lots share a common drive between them, it is, in his words, a "raw deal" for Bob Evans to tow the ** ******* customers who park on one side vs. the other side. He also noted that in his thirteen years on the force, it's become quite apparent that Bob Evans "hates" the ** ******* customers.. .not a point in your favor in terms of public relations. *Coincidentally, at lunch today I saw ******** *******, one of the owner/managers of the ********* Drive ** *******. I relayed my story to Mr. *******, who was shocked and disappointed that Bob Evans would choose to tow his customers, especially, since on Sunday, when the Bob Evans side of the lot is full and Bob Evans' customers park in the ** ******* lot, he would never consider having their cars towed. He feels it is just an issue of being good neighbors. This may be a long letter, Mr. *****, but as a consumer, citizen, and supporter of local businesses, I believe that Bob Evans Restaurants should amend its parking policy. I've told this story at least five times this morning (not counting **** ****** or the **PD officer) and each time, the listener has expressed dismay and stated how angry that they would be if their car would be towed under these same circumstances. Truly, do you think it would be acceptable if you parked at ****'s, went shopping at *****, and then discovered that ****'s towed your car in your absence? I doubt it, and I also doubt if you'd return to ****'s and give them your business. Sincerely, ****** ** ******

Desired Settlement: I believe that Bob Evans Restaurants should amend its parking policy.

Business Response:

Good Afternoon,

We reviewed our procedures concerning the parking with the management team and the manager who was perceived as being unprofessional has been counselled. Currently we still have the towing signs in the locations that we have always had them but the decision was made to not confront any guests about where they parked or to have anyone towed.  Please do not hesitate to follow up with me directly with any further questions or concerns regarding this matter.

Thank you,

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/10/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My Complaint is they took money off my credit card after I was told I was not going to be charged and they also charged my sister the same amount. So they double charged us.

Desired Settlement: I want my $46.23 returned!!! They charged my sisters Visa card the same amount so we basically paid double for our meal. That is a ripe off. I never even signed so I did not approve it! I can show you print out from my bank. If that helps. They say they can not find where I was charged anything. I can show proof I was charged and the money has never been returned.

Business Response: Good Morning, I have researched this in our customer contact database and cannot find a record that this guest has attempted to contact the Guest and Consumer Relations department at the corporate office so that we can assist her with this concern.  This guest also did not provide which location they visited or the date and time that they visited in their complaint.  A Guest Relations representative will contact the guest today to gather this information and ensure resolution. Thank you

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bob Evans has neglected to contact me regarding compensation of broke tooth and pain and suffering. I purchased a 1 lb package of ***** sausage in Feb. 2012. After cooking and eating some, I bit down on a piece of steel ball. It broke my tooth and I bit my tounge & inside jaw. I contacted them Mar 2012. They claims rep asked questions and indicated she would turn information over to their insurance company. In the meantime, I faxed over my dental estimates for repair and the claims form. To date, no one has settled my issue.

Desired Settlement: I wish to get my tooth fixed and pain and suffering.

Business Response: We received a customer claim from ****** ****** on, or about, 3/27/12; advising he had damaged a tooth while eating one of Bob Evans' retail sausage products on 3/6/12; purchased sometime in late Jan./early Feb. 2012 at ******. Contact was made with Mr. ****** on 3/27/12 and additional information was obtained. Claim was called in to our insurance carrier (********) on 3/28/12; CL# XXXXXXXXXXX. Adj. ******* has been in contact with Mr. ****** since that date. *******'s direct dial phone number is XXX-XXX-XXXX. Mr. ****** has been provided with *******'s name and phone number for further contact if he has any questions or concerns.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/9/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We are being overcharged each time we order from Bobevans.com. This has happened many times this year. Tried to resolve it locally and online. We order food from www.bobevans.com a few times a month. We place the order, then pick it up. We noticed the last few times that the subtotal plus the tax is less than the actual amount total at the end of the order overcharging us more than $7. The order receipts are sent to (****).com and can be verified there. Our local manager is new and we explained what is happening. She offered to send us certificates to be used at there, but they never came. Over a week ago, I sent my problem to the contact location online at the www.bobevans.com site. Still no response. Love the restaurant, would like to keep going, but have not received any help in resolving this problem.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded the amount overcharged. I would also like to keep ordering online. We have children with dietary restrictions and our local Bob Evans gets the order correct more than any other restaurant. So, if you could fix why were are being overcharged, that would be great.

Business Response: We are very sorry; we did find their concern in our database and are responding now to the guest. We will also be compensating the guest for any inaccuracies and we will researching as to why they would not be charged correctly.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved