Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

All American Moving & Storage

Phone: (614) 224-0077 View Additional Phone Numbers 3890 Twin Creeks Dr, Columbus, OH 43204 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.all-americanmoving.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers commercial and residential moving, storage, and packing material services.  They service both local moving needs, as well and interstate and international moving needs.  They also provide home delivery service for large commercial furniture sellers.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that All American Moving & Storage meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for All American Moving & Storage include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on All American Moving & Storage
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 07, 2003 Business started: 04/25/2003 in OH Business incorporated 04/28/2003 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Public Utilities Commission of Ohio
180 E Broad St, Columbus OH 43215
http://www.puco.ohio.gov/puco/
Phone Number: (800) 686-7826
Fax Number: (614) 752-8351

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Daniel Dragin, Managing Member Mr. Robb Burris, Operations Manager Mr. Robert Case, Member Mr. William Case, Member Ms. Dianne Shantery, Administrator
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Daniel Dragin, Managing Member
Business Category

Moving Assistance - Packing, Unpacking, Organizing Packing & Crating Service Piano & Organ Moving Storage Units - Household & Commercial Packaging Materials Seniors Moving & Delivery Services Delivery Service Movers

Products & Services

All American Moving & Storage sells the following brand(s): We are an agent for Arpin Van Lines for all of our interstate moving services.

All American Moving & Storage offers the following product(s): Boxes, Packing Material

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, check, Visa, Mastercard, Discover
Service Area
All of Ohio & USA
Alternate Business Names
American Moving & Storage, Ltd. Columbus Ohio Movers: All American Moving Prime Agent for Arpin Van Lines
Business Management

Dan Dragin previously operated All Star Moving and Storage, with a business start date of 1995 and a member of our BBB since January 2002. He started American Moving and Storage with new partners.

Industry Tips
Moving in Ohio, Movers, Q & A from the PUCO Renting a Self-Storage Unit - BBB Tips

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

All American Moving & Storage has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3890 Twin Creeks Dr

    Columbus, OH 43204 (614) 224-9156 (614) 224-0077 (614) 228-7860 (614) 224-9150

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/27/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired All American Moving to move us from one apartment to another on June 18. They sent 2 movers to help us. We've used them in the past and had no complaints (other than one guy who showed up high on marijuana). One of the movers on June 18 broke our coffee table which was $200 + a shipping fee of $100. My husband presented them with all of the documents necessary so they could provide us full reimbursement for the coffee table. Whenever my husband would call them they would transfer him to an outside vendor named Mario. The company NEVER spoke to us directly, never apologized for the damage just kept transferring to this outside vendor that didn't even work for the company. They only offered us a mere $60 for a $300 coffee table that was less than a year old. Unacceptable. So I finally called last Wednesday and talked to a woman who told me someone would reach out to me in the morning. They never called us. The only person to reach out was this Mario person who doesn't even work for the company. Then Mario sent us a check for $60 which we did NOT ask for, we asked for FULL reimbursement of the table THEY broke. These are incredibly shady and untrustworthy practices from a company that claims family values. I am extremely offended and upset but this and want this to be corrected.

Desired Settlement: All we want is for them to pay us the full reimbursement amount for the coffee table. It was very expensive and we cannot afford to buy a new one with the measly check they shadily sent to us. All we want is for them to do right by their customers and pay us back for the coffee table their movers broke.

Business Response:

******* I am sorry that you had a poor experience with All American on your recent move.  June through August are the busiest moving months of the year, and occasionally when we get overbooked we reach out to a contractor - Mario - who covers our overflow.

Mario was correct in his reimbursement for your table, as you had initialed on the Bill of Lading (work order) as releasing your goods at the minimum liability of $0.60 per lb per item.  There was an option to purchase additional coverage for your household items, but that option was not selected.

Do you still have this table?  Is there any possibility of repair?  We have a very skilled staff in-house that works for our Delivery division that repairs furniture for our delivery clients when furniture shipped to our warehouse arrives damaged.  I would like to consider repairing your table if that is indeed an option?

Thanks

Consumer Response: We were NEVER offered another insurance option when we booked and we were never told there was another option. Also no one ever told us you could repair the table so we had to throw it out. It was very heavy, 100 lbs. There was zero communication between us (the customers) and the company we hired. It's a shame that it takes a BBB complaint to actually get someone from the company to communicate with us. I want a full reimbursement for the coffee table.

Business Response:

Based on the contract presented to Mr. *****, which was accepted by Mr. ***** as per his initials and electronic signature, I would like you to point out exactly what the correct reimbursement should be based on the contract?  Please note that I provided that signed contract in my response on 7/18.

Whether or not you find it ridiculous that we would not reimburse you for the full amount of your coffee table is inconsequential.  You apparently are ignoring the fact that you willingly entered in to a contract with our company, and somehow believe that you can ignore the portion of the contract that you feel does not benefit you.  

Consumer Response: I did not sign the contract. The coffee table belonged to me. Mr. ***** did not realize there was another option for insurance because you guys did not disclose that to him. You guys need to answer for your poor communications. This is just an attempt to deflect bad business practices on your part. The coffee table was $300 and less than a year old. Do you really believe that $60 is sufficient amount of money to reimburse for $300 property that YOUR employees damaged? That's incredibly shady. 

7/5/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 4/29/2016 this company was supposed to move my furniture from one house to another. When you hire movers they are supposed to move your furniture inside your home. Well, to my surprise that is not what this company did at all. One this company shows up in an unmarked all black truck. They take my furniture from my old place and get it to my new house. They then put everything in my garage. The washer and dryer wasn't even put in my laundry room. So, what did I pay $300.00 for? I was on my way to the new house when the movers texted me and said that they couldn't get the furniture in my door. I told them I would be there in 20minutes. I showed up and the guy practically shoves the paper in my face to sign before I knew where the items were. At the same time the movers were there I had plumbers at my residence working on my kitchen faucet. The plumbers told me that the movers didn't even attempt to take the couches in the residence. Nor the washer and dryer. As I was moving items into the house I noticed that my sons toy bin (purchased for his birthday April 1st, 2016) was now missing a handle on the side due to the negligence and carelessness of the movers. The plumbers that were there offered to put my washer and dryer in the laundry room (With success). The plumbers then offered to take my couches inside to the basement. When they took the loveseat off of the couch they noticed that there were holes in the furniture. The plumber asked me to look at it, so that I knew it was there before the plumbers moved it. I saw the holes, they saw the holes, my husband saw the holes before the plumbers moved the couches inside. I was ******!!!! This is nice furniture that we received from my in-laws before they moved to Myrtle Beach. My husband didn't want to hire this company and I gave them the benefit of the doubt to do a good job. I have contacted the company myself and they are claiming that the plumbers are the ones that damaged the couches which is a load of crock. When the plumbers moved the couches they never touched the back of the couch because the furniture had to be turned a certain way to get downstairs. The couches were damaged by the movers and that is it. This company is not taking ownership of the damage to the couches. They agreed that they would give me $9 for the toy bin which was purchased brand new just weeks ago for $25. ***The point at hand is that my couches are ripped in the back which is unacceptable. The toy bin was damaged due to the negligence of the movers. The washer and dryer wasn't moved to the laundry room. They never even attempted to take the couches into my new house. Couches are made to fit into homes. The plumbers that I had out there moved the couches with ease and didn't damage anything. *** For them to blame the plumbers who were trying to help me out and put my furniture away because I

Desired Settlement: I want a FULL REFUND because the movers didn't do their job and damaged my property. I will never refer anyone to this company which is too bad because my mom is moving at the end of May.

Business Response:

Please see attachment denying liability for this damage.

With regard to charges, Ms. ******** was charged an hourly rate, so she was only charged for the work that was done.  She was not charged for moving the couches any further than the garage.

Consumer Response: They DAMAGED MY COUCHES. The couches WERE NOT damaged by the plumbers. I watched the plumbers move the furniture and they showed me the damage before THEY EVEN MOVED THE FURNITURE. This is ABSOLUTELY obsurd that the movers are not taking accountability for their negligence. How else was I supposed to get the furniture in my house if the movers just put it in the garage? I WASNT GOING TO LEAVE IT IN THE GARAGE. This is absolutely ridiculous. Since when does a moving company just move your furniture to the garage and not in the house? I have several witnesses that would be more than happy to provide statements that the furniture was damaged before the plumbers offered to move it to the basement. Its sad that I pay movers to move, but yet I have plumbers actual do the work the movers were supposed to perform.  

Consumer Response: I see that my complaint was closed, but I could of sworn I sent these in. Please see the attachments of the pictures for All American Moving and Storage company per their request, so they can be considered

Business Response: We will accept these photos and honor Ms. ********'s claim as valid.  Ms. ******** did, however, initiate a chargeback on her credit card, which we disputed.  We have to wait until the chargeback is settled before we either process a claim check and/or send out a furniture medic to her home. 

4/19/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired All American Movers for our move from Easton to Pataskala, Ohio. I used them in a prior move from Westerville to Easton (same distance of 12 miles). We were scheduled to move September 23, 2015. We pur*****d moving boxes approximately 6 weeks prior to the move. We used our ***** Debit Card. When I called, I told them that I was moving again and I was a repeat client. They told me to fill the form out on line. They decided not to do an in-home inspection since they moved me before. I placed the items on line and they quoted $428.00. On Monday, prior to the move, on September 21, 2016, I called as they said they were sending just two men. I told them it took more last time and they agreed to send three men. They started the job with three men on the job on the 23rd. They realized that they needed more men by late morning. I received a call from the corporate office requesting my permission to put more men on the job. They reviewed the cost and I agreed to put two additional men and a truck on the job. They arrived early afternoon and I had just pur*****d lunch for the men that were already there. All five men had lunch. The two additional men had started the job the day before and did not have any experience in moving at all. They didn't know what they were doing and they were on my balcony enjoying the view of Easton when I went upstairs to pack my clothes into the garment boxes. They then asked me how to carry things and needed to pull from the experienced workers to take down the bed. The two new gentlemen needed training and their lack of experience was evident. Fast forward to the end of the packing, the men finish packing up the truck and we head toward the destination. It was roughly 7 pm when we arrived. The trucks were not here and they said they had to get gas. I was paying for this time. When the trucks arrived, so did 4 additional men, a furniture repairman and the operations manager that was starting midnight. He came to support and review the job. No one asked for approval of the additional men and I knew they were running behind, so I thought the movers took it upon themselves since the two men in the afternoon didn't know what they were doing. By eleven o'clock, the men were done. I brought in pizza and snacks for the crew. All was good. They hadn't completed the job and said they would be back on Saturday, September 26th. Demtirius, one of the original movers asked me to sign a document that they were there so that they would be paid. I said there was no total and they said the office would call me to discuss the total in the morning as they didn't do that part. On Thursday, the day after the move, we did not receive a call, but we continued our move as we moved over 200 boxes. Unlike last time, we had the movers do everything. We were continuing to move through Saturday. On Friday night, a debit goes through for over $3900. The quote was $428.00. This was 10X the price and more than DOUBLE than it was the prior time! Same Furniture! Same Distance! Less Boxes! I called multiple times as they didn't even ask what card to use. They took a card we had from purchasing boxes 6 weeks prior! They used our card WITHOUT AUTHORIZATION!!! They never even called to review the cost breakdown!!!! We were shocked when the debit account went negative and all our money in our account was depleted. For two weeks, I tried to negotiate with the movers and they stood by their guns. They said they should of called and it was an oversight and they took it upon themselves to just go back to the file and pull and use the card we used to purchase the boxes. That is illegal!!! They finally credit us roughly $425., but that wasn't even close to what we were quoted. Now we are about $3500. I continue to try to negotiate and they refused. I then go to ***** and they put the money right back in the account while they investigate. I show ***** the document I had with no total!!! Mid-December, ***** determines they are taking the money back in and somehow didn't have my faxed document. On Christmas Eve, ***** pulls the money back out of our account. The account again goes negative and we are traveling to see the family with no money. I call ***** immediately and the woman apologizes profusely as she sees my documents and understands that we are in the right. Within a couple of hours, the money is back in the account. On February 17th, ***** re-takes the money back out and doesn't even tell us of this new determination. We went to the escalation department, we went to several local branches and the branch managers tried with all their heart to help us since they could see how we were wronged. All American Movers also held us hostage by indicating in an e-mail, that if we agreed to the price, they would complete the job. I asked ***** and All American Movers were paid. ***** lost their discussion with ****, but it appears they didn't include our paperwork. All American never came back to finish the move and repair all the damages to the walls while moving. All American Movers used a card without authorization and just charged us what they wanted. I am so disappointed. According to *****, when I spoke to the woman on Christmas Eve, All American Movers put an amount on the document I signed. I have the blank. They superimposed the amount and provided a fraudulent document. They committed fraud. They used our card without permission and submitted a non-agreed price.

Desired Settlement: Originally, I was targeting just a price adjustment. The price should have even been less than the $1700 from years ago as we did all the boxes this time. Now that they provided fraudulent documents and used our card without authorization, I believe All American Movers should not be paid at all. The time spent on trying to resolve this through the movers and ***** has been very consuming. (not to mention the stress and anxiety). We are seeing your help. No one should be allowed to use our card without authorization and put any amount on it. I can provide the documents and emails related to this case.

Business Response:

Due to the numerous allegations brought up in this complaint, I will utilize the complaint itself as a template and address them using a different color, as well as referencing attached exhibits...

We hired All American Movers for our move from Easton to Pataskala, Ohio. I used them in a prior move from Westerville to Easton (same distance of 12 miles). We were scheduled to move September 23, 2015. We pur*****d moving boxes approximately 6 weeks prior to the move. We used our ***** Debit Card. When I called, I told them that I was moving again and I was a repeat client. They told me to fill the form out on line. They decided not to do an in-home inspection since they moved me before. Ms ****** did not ask us to come out to do a survey, and the inventory she indicated she wanted us to handle (Exhibit A) would not have required a survey.  Ms. ****** spoke with Ashley on the phone who verified the accuracy of her inventory, as well as telling her that she would have help before the date of the move to have numerous boxes and other items relocated before we got there.  I placed the items on line and they quoted $428.00. This is accurate - see exhibit B page 1. On Monday, prior to the move, on September 21, 2016, I called as they said they were sending just two men. I told them it took more last time and they agreed to send three men. This is not accurate - when Ms. ****** called us she let us know that her boyfriend was injured and that he was unable to have as many items moved as she originally anticipated. Please see Exhibit C showing the email sent by Ashley to our Operations team stating that we needed a 3rd man for this job and why, based on her conversation with Ms. ******.  They started the job with three men on the job on the 23rd. They realized that they needed more men by late morning. I received a call from the corporate office requesting my permission to put more men on the job. They reviewed the cost and I agreed to put two additional men and a truck on the job. They arrived early afternoon and I had just pur*****d lunch for the men that were already there. All five men had lunch. The two additional men had started the job the day before and did not have any experience in moving at all. Although both men were recent hires with All American, one had come to us from another moving company and had plenty of experience, the other gentleman was indeed new to the industry.  If both men were not experienced movers then certainly there may have been basis for her complaint, but the experienced mover was well trained and able to keep the new hire moving just fine.  Nonetheless, in the spirit of trying to reconcile, we charged her half price for both men - essentially not charging her for the inexperienced crew member even though he was quite productive based on feedback from the entire crew that was out there.They didn't know what they were doing and they were on my balcony enjoying the view of Easton when I went upstairs to pack my clothes into the garment boxes. They then asked me how to carry things and needed to pull from the experienced workers to take down the bed. The two new gentlemen needed training and their lack of experience was evident. Fast forward to the end of the packing, the men finish packing up the truck and we head toward the destination. It was roughly 7 pm when we arrived. The trucks were not here and they said they had to get gas. I was paying for this time. When the trucks arrived, so did 4 additional men, a furniture repairman and the operations manager that was starting midnight. He came to support and review the job. No one asked for approval of the additional men and I knew they were running behind, so I thought the movers took it upon themselves since the two men in the afternoon didn't know what they were doing. By eleven o'clock, the men were done. I brought in pizza and snacks for the crew. All was good. They hadn't completed the job and said they would be back on Saturday, September 26th. Demtirius, one of the original movers asked me to sign a document that they were there so that they would be paid. I said there was no total and they said the office would call me to discuss the total in the morning as they didn't do that part. On Thursday, the day after the move, we did not receive a call, but we continued our move as we moved over 200 boxes. Unlike last time, we had the movers do everything. We were continuing to move through Saturday. On Friday night, a debit goes through for over $3900. The quote was $428.00. This was 10X the price and more than DOUBLE than it was the prior time! Same Furniture! Same Distance! Less Boxes!Please see exhibits D and E which covers a lot of this. I called multiple times as they didn't even ask what card to use. They took a card we had from purchasing boxes 6 weeks prior! They used our card WITHOUT AUTHORIZATION!!! This is absolutely false - please see Exhibit D, page 2, paragraph 4 They never even called to review the cost breakdown!!!! We were shocked when the debit account went negative and all our money in our account was depleted. For two weeks, I tried to negotiate with the movers and they stood by their guns. They said they should of called and it was an oversight and they took it upon themselves to just go back to the file and pull and use the card we used to pur***** the boxes. That is illegal!!! They finally credit us roughly $425., but that wasn't even close to what we were quoted. Now we are about $3500. I continue to try to negotiate and they refused. I then go to ***** and they put the money right back in the account while they investigate. I show ***** the document I had with no total!!! Mid-December, ***** determines they are taking the money back in and somehow didn't have my faxed document. On Christmas Eve, ***** pulls the money back out of our account. The account again goes negative and we are traveling to see the family with no money. I call ***** immediately and the woman apologizes profusely as she sees my documents and understands that we are in the right. Within a couple of hours, the money is back in the account. On February 17th, ***** re-takes the money back out and doesn't even tell us of this new determination. We went to the escalation department, we went to several local branches and the branch managers tried with all their heart to help us since they could see how we were wronged. All American Movers also held us hostage by indicating in an e-mail, that if we agreed to the price, they would complete the job. I asked ***** and All American Movers were paid. ***** lost their discussion with ****, but it appears they didn't include our paperwork. All American never came back to finish the move and repair all the damages to the walls while moving. All American Movers used a card without authorization and just charged us what they wanted. I am so disappointed. According to *****, when I spoke to the woman on Christmas Eve, All American Movers put an amount on the document I signed. I have the blank. They superimposed the amount and provided a fraudulent document. They committed fraud. We did not commit fraud at any time.  The document we sent in during the credit card dispute (the Bill of Lading - BOL - Exhibit F) did have a total on it in the bottom middle of the document - not in the Total section.  You will also see that it is referenced with an invoice number, our Admin's initials, and an authorization code.  This is internal procedure found on EVERY BOL that we process.  Also please note in our dispute letter to **** (Exhibit G) that we NEVER indicated that Ms. ****** signed off on any final dollar amount total - only the hours worked by our crew members and the rates that we charge for those hours.  NEVER ONCE did we reference or infer that any total dollar amount was printed on that BOL when she signed - only the hours worked. They used our card without permission and submitted a non-agreed price. Exhibit G clearly explains our position and the falsehood of this statement.

Our company stands firm with our position on this matter.  We have credited Ms. ****** for some of her perceived inefficiencies with her move, we have presented our case to **** and it was determined that we were justified in our charges, and have communicated with her to exhaustion and she still is not being completely forthright and honest in her effort to receive a discounted move.  We do acknowledge that we have a responsibility to complete some repairs at her home, but due to the contentious nature of this transaction it has not been feasible to schedule our furniture technicians out to take care of this responsibility.  Please advise as to whether you would like us to call her to schedule this, or if she would like to call us to schedule.

Respectfully,

Dan D*****

Managing Member

Consumer Response: Thank you for your voice message. I appreciate it. I tried to return our call and there was a message indicating a staff meeting was in progress. The one important factor is that they never called before they put the charge through and never asked what card to use. How does a vendor do that? The other factor is why did they call and request approval for the second and not the third. When they called to review the second team, they reviewed costs and details. The third team was sent without my approval or consent, yet I am obligated to pay them. My boyfriend's knees were shot because he moved two hundred boxes with friends. It is not as if he was injured for other reasons. Friends helped as well. Towards the end, since he knees were hurt, I asked for a third man which was approved Monday prior to our move. Please call me back when you have a moment. I so appreciate your help. I could go back point to point on all their responses. At the end of the day they didn't have approval for third team, they didn't ask what card to use and they didn't review the cost PRIOR to processing. Thank you again! I can't tell you how much I appreciate your attention to this matter. With Gratitude,Mary Beth Knight

Business Response: Please see attachment with screen shots invalidating Ms. ******'s allegations that we used an unauthorized card for her move charges, which we feel once again demonstrates her lack of forthrightness in presenting her case

1/16/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint is that the company promised me different things in the move from point A to point B. the price was to be 2875.44 instead it cost me 3480.75.the price had to be signed after the move and I refused to signed till they put back in the spot for me to sign then I signed it. then I received my credit card statement and was charged the full amount 3480.75 which is in dispute. I had a lot of property damaged and stolen things that can't be replaced. the company all-American was the company to move me instead they farmed me out do over booking moves. I then ended up with the crew from another moving company I didn't hire them I hired all-American moving and storage. My cousin used the original company and they did a good job. This is why I hired the company to start with. They should have rescheduled my move if they didn't have enough of the regular team to move me. they did shrink wrap stuff that should've been and pad the furniture and cabinets an such. I was told to label the totes to what room they would go to at point B. that didn't happen either they put stuff in wrong rooms and parts of everything scattered over the whole house totally a disaster of a move. I would not ever give them a recommend to anyone. they stole from me also almost caught my home on fire in the downstairs in the bedroom by pulling out the power strip out of the outlet and shorted it out. I've had plenty of conversation over all this matter but they didn't want to make it right with me. so they ended up sending a check for 495.00 to close the case I refused to cash this check, they sent 2 of the regular workers out to take pictures to look around and see if they could fix some of the problems and they told me this was a very bad move from the other company that all-American hired to move instead of them. If I wanted unprofessional movers I could have went on line and said anyone need some money meet at so an so and I will pay you to move all you have to do is bring a truck and show up!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Desired Settlement: I feel they need to credit my credit card back with the 3480.75 and let me keep the 495.00 check they sent to me. because I got treated like crap for a customer. their customer service is totally wrong .they stole items that can't be replaced and some of the stuff is priceless can not be replaced again. so if they would credit my credit card the 3480.75 back on my credit card let me keep the check that was sent out to me I will settle if not I won't. I will then call my attorney to file claim.

Business Response: It is All American's position that we have dealt with Ms. ********** in good faith throughout her pre-move, move, and post-move experience.  As we read this complaint we do not believe that Ms. ********** is now dealing with our company in good faith.  Case in point is her first complaint of cost.  Ms. ********** was given an initial estimate of $3,713.05 to move all of her contents, which was arrived at by Mike W during his on-site visit to her home.  She subsequently called Mike and told him that she would be taking care of all of the boxes and small items, so Mike sent her a revised estimate of $2,875.44 to reflect this statement.  Mike even included a statement in her estimate that we would move UP TO 50 boxes just in case she didn't accomplish everything she stated she would.  When our crew arrived it was pointed out and written on her Bill of Lading that she had 100 boxes.  Mike had a conversation with Ms. ********** prior to the move beginning that we would have to change the estimate to non-binding since she did not accomplish what she said she would, which was acknowledged and agreed to by Ms. ********** prior to the move commencing.  Ms. ********** was charged the same hourly rates as were documented in both estimates, although we had to remove the guarantee since the inventory to be moved had changed.  The fact that she is taking no responsibility for the deviation in inventory, nor acknowledging her conversation with Mike stating that the move had to be changed to a non-binding status seriously dampens any credibility she had with our company.As conveyed to Ms. **********, All American sent out an experienced crew to handle her move - a crew that we have used for multiple years.  Unfortunately Ms. ********** was not satisfied with the quality of her move, so we subsequently did everything we were contractually obligated to do, and then some, to try to arrive at some level of satisfaction.  Prior to leaving the job destination, our crew asked Ms. ********** if there was anything else she needed done, moved, etc. and she let them know they were finished and free to leave.  A day or so after her move she stated the opposite, so as a courtesy we sent 2 movers to her home to move and arrange things per her direction at no cost.  They also surveyed and took pictures of some items that were damaged in the move.  Based on this information we issued a claim letter, along with a check to compensate her for the damaged items per contract.  That claim letter is attached and provides further details with regards to our position.  We could not be further apart with regards to a settlement with Ms. **********.  We have complied with all of our contractual obligations and then some, and not inclined to deviate from our current position.Thank you,Dan D*****Managing Member

Consumer Response: I have pictures to send in for my complaints and other documentation I had surgery and haven't had the opportunity to get theses sent to you

3/6/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This moving company has delivered our parcel to (2) wrong addresses. I don't understand how this happens. We ordered a treadmill and it has been set up and taken down and used by two different households before we even get it. Now instead of a new treadmill, which we paid for, it's coming to us used. Totally unacceptable customer service.

Desired Settlement: No settlement requested

Business Response: This was delivered to the wrong address due to a miscommunication in our warehouse. Instead of delivering a used piece of equipment to our customer, we contacted NVC Logistics and had a new piece delivered in time to make her rescheduled delivery date. Customer received delivery of a new piece and seemed extremely happy.

Business Response: This was delivered to the wrong address due to a miscommunication in our warehouse. Instead of delivering a used piece of equipment to our customer, we contacted NVC Logistics and had a new piece delivered in time to make her rescheduled delivery date. Customer received delivery of a new piece and seemed extremely happy.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


1/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: All American Moving and Storage was scheduled to come to my house on Friday, January 2nd to move and assemble a ProForm treadmill. They did not come that day. I have worked hard to follow up with them. They still have not scheduled a date to complete this service.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to come to my house to move and assemble the ProForm treadmill, as contracted and promised.

Business Response: All American Moving was contracted by *** ********* to receive, deliver, and assemble in room of choice, a treadmill for Ms. ********  All American delivered said treadmill to Ms. ******* on 12/30/14, and was asked to assemble in basement.  Delivery team advised treadmill would not fit due to ceiling height in basement, Ms. ******* was insistent that it go down there, so delivery team took down and attempted assembly.  After realizing that the space would indeed not work for her, she requested that we instead put in her bedroom.  She needed time to clear out her room and asked that we come back on a different day.

Our company is contracted by *** ********** who is technically our customer, not Ms. ********  Our company is paid a flat fee to deliver and assemble these units, and a return visit due to circumstances beyond our control is not in our contract.  We are currently waiting on *** to approve additional compensation to return to Ms. *******'s home to move her treadmill up to the second floor and re-assemble.  We sent an email on 1/2/15 to NVC requesting approval on the additional compensation.  On 1/5/15 we were advised they were waiting on the shipper, who likely is who Ms. ******* purchased the treadmill from.  On 1/7/15 we sent a follow up email requesting an update, and received a response stating approval was denied and that they were re-submitting.
We recommend that Ms. ******* contact the company she purchased the treadmill from, or to contact NVC Logistics at 201-767-0911 who coordinates the deliveries for that company.  We have done everything we can in attempts to expedite this matter for Ms. *******, and are happy to schedule the move and reassembly as soon as additional funding has been approved.

Consumer Response: [

All American Moving and Storage never attempted assembly of the treadmill.  The movers told me they would come on Friday to assemble.
I was not "insistent" that the treadmill go in the basement.  I had cleared space in the basement believing the treadmill would fit.  When the movers arrived, I was surprised when they told me it wouldn't fit.  I wasn't sure what to do at first.  The mover said he wanted to show me that it wouldn't fit.  They brought the pieces in & left the pieces in the basement.  I realized I could make it fit in the bedroom but needed to move some furniture.  The mover said he called his manager & got approval to return on Friday to bring the pieces upstairs & assemble them in the bedroom.  I was told before the movers left that this had been approved & they would assemble on Friday.

Business Response: We have received approval from our customer to come back out and assemble the treadmill.  **** ***** will be calling Ms. ******* to schedule.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


10/26/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On or about May 6th, 2014 - we contracted with All American Moving to complete a short distance residential move of our home, including placing a bedroom suite in storage - **** from All American came out and gave a binding quote on the move itself and an estimated cost of storage. The Quote was $525 approximately for the move (binding, not to change) and the storage monthly was to be $45 with 50% credit for the first 6 months. All American completed the move on or about 5/14/2014 - and took well in excess of the estimated time due to the 2 movers sent being unprepared - but as reiterated at the time of the move - the quote was binding and was a flat rate, not an hourly job. - In June, 2014 - we received a MasterCard statement with charges in excess of one thousand dollars from All American - and called **** for an explanation. **** apologized, citing an employee whom he had recently fired in accounting for the mistake and promised a correction. 30 days later, still no correction and we called again - this time **** was far less helpful and stated it was because the job took longer and denied the binding estimate (which was clearly written as such) as well advising the new storage would be $225 monthly as we had added a couch and a chair to the storage (seems excessively high for 2 pieces adding $180 monthly) - we asked for the correction promised and would arrange to move items from his facility based on the new rates and he denied - forcing a charge back with the Mastercard merchant network. Mastercard upheld our dispute based on the submitted documentation - but **** with All America refuses to release our items or provide a final amount due to release these items from their custody.

Desired Settlement: Release of our items with a complete and full accounting of services provided and the application of payment - **** has refused to correspond via phone, stating only e-mails will be ack nowledged - and has ignored multiple request via e-mail and via USPS to his company.

Business Response: Sorry for the delay in responding to this complaint, as we have been rather busy.  We will provide a formal response tomorrow.

Business Response:

Attachment #1 is a copy of the full estimate provided to Mr. ******** that followed our in home survey of his residence. Please note the the following items that document several misstatements or ommissions by Mr. *********

  1. The estimate for the move was issued on a guaranteed not to exceed basis that provided him a maximum guaranteed amount for the cost of his move.  The move estimate was not binding.  The estimate was for $587.40, plus surcharge.
  2. The guaranteed estimated amount did not include the cost of our surcharge for fuel and protective material that changes weekly based on the governments report for the prior weeks cost of fuel.  This is disclosed in the estimate as running around 7.0%. 
  3. Mr. ******** was provided a separate estimate for his storage costs.  The estimate was to be approximately $45.00 per month for one crate.  This estimate was provided on a non-binding basis.  As such it was clearly stated in the estimate document, that the cost of the storage could have been more or less than the amount provided.
  4. The estimate did not include any terms that stipulated that he would receive 6 months of storage at a 50% discount. Nor did I indicate such terms in the cover message that was used to send the estimate to Mr. *********

Attachments #2 is a pdf of the email I sent Mr. ******** in response to his call for assistance by management.  Please note that the reason our person was "rude" was she had to terminate the call with him due to his verbal insults.

Attachment #3 to an email asserting that we were illegally retaining his items.  Attachment #4 is my last email to Mr. ******** letting him know that I need out accountant to validate in fact were had our credit card transaction reversed through his chargeback action.  Unfortunately our third party accountant  who reconciles our books once per month, was only able to confirm with me this week that the chargeback did occur.  Now that that has been validate we can provide Mr. ******** with the amount of money owed for his move and storage

I have  attached the primary invoice for his initial move into storage.  It explains the costs for which he was charged.  It also shows a $100.10 credit that was issued to his move costs that were the result of his guaranteed maximum move amount. Attached also is on of his monthly invoices that details his storage costs due for the month.  

At any point in time that Mr. ******** wanted to pay for his outstanding balance with us in cash, we would have permitted him the opportunity to move his items out of storage here at All American Moving & Storage.  This could have been done without penalty since his rent is on a month to month basis.  He could have used any other company to move his items as well.  Mr ******** current balance is $811.21.  This is supported by the last attachment that shows his Statement of Account.  At any time in the future that he wants to satisfy his balance outstanding he may move his furniture out as well.

Please let me know if you need further clarification on anything.  We appreciate your patience with preparing this response.  

 

Consumer Response:

As noted in the first email, the cost of this move was binding. This was agreed, and the terms not changed until 4 months later when All American failed to respond to numerous calls and emails,forcing me to notify the card issuer in an attempt to obtain a merchant response.
 
Further, all American has failed to account for those disputed charges which they were allowed by the merchant network. The card dispute was initiated for the excess moving and undisclosed storage; however the storage charges were allowed. Only the charge above the binding contract was disallowed. Yet again another attempt by all American to double bill and failure to provide full accounting of their charges.
 
What remains to be disclosed is a full itemized bill of all cost and payments. Upon receipt of this, we will gladly provide a letter form the credit card to reflect if the accounting is complete and honest, or if All American is back to their dishonest ways AGAIN.


Business Response:

I would like to apologize for the sloppy book keeping with regards to your experience with our company.  Attached is the statement of charges you are requesting, and I would like to explain each of the charges line by line, which should also answer some of the other issues in this last email from you...
 
Invoice ***** for your move in to your residence and in to our storage facility:  You received a written estimate with a guaranteed not to exceed price of $597.40 plus surcharge of 7.125%, totaling $639.96.  This price was for the items you pointed out during the on-site survey with **** W.  Since some of your items were unable to be moved in to your residence, the entire scope of your move changed, which technically made the "guaranteed price" null and void.  In an effort of reconciliation we honored the "guaranteed price" and adjusted our invoice down from $813.20 to $705.96, which included an additional $66 for warehouse handling of the additional household goods we had to bring in to our storage facility.  
 
Since we have had difficulty in reaching a mutual understanding, I am going to stick strictly to the terms on the estimate provided to you.  Since the additional $66 for warehouse handling was not a contingency written in your estimate, I will waive that charge.  You will see the corrected invoice on the revised statement.
 
Invoice ***** is the amount of your monthly storage fees for May ($106) divided in half since your items came in to storage mid-way through the month.  I understand that you dispute your storage charges, but your estimate clearly states that storage is non-binding, and since we are conceding on the moving portion of your charges, we must stick to the terms of our agreement and charge for storage accordingly.
 
Your payment of $813.20 reflects the original amount of your move invoice at the point when we were not honoring the "guaranteed" pricing.  As is noted on the original statement, we subsequently adjusted your move invoice down to $705.96, which resulted in a credit on your account with us in the amount of $107.24.  
 
You will then see storage billing in the amount of $131.15, which is the corrected amount after determining the that you had a "double skid" and not a "single skid" - a difference of $16.  Although our new Administrator did the correct thing by charging you accordingly, I will also concede this additional amount in an effort of reconciliation and to streamline the charges.  You will see this adjustment as well on the revised statement.
 
And finally you will see the chargeback you initiated for $525 which was recorded on 8/1.
 
Your final revised statement shows charges owing of $659.21, which we must receive in cash or certified check in order to release your household goods.  Please note that additional charges will be incurred if you would like our company to deliver your items, for which we can provide you with a binding estimate.  If you prefer to pick up your items from our warehouse, there will be a $33/man hour handling charge to engage in the transfer to another party, as all items will need to be removed from their storage crates, unwrapped, and inventory checked off to document that all items stored will have been properly received by you or your representative.
 
Again, you have my apologies on the bookkeeping with regards to your account.  It was confusing to say the least.
 
 

10/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired them for my move a couple of weeks ago. They showed up 6 1/2 hours late. They sent people from a temp agency that took 7 hours to move my two bedroom apartment. I had my wedding band stolen, as well as gift cards and a check book from my dresser. They ripped my new mattress. They have refused to do anything about the problem, and then they charged my credit card for $300 over the amount they were supposed to. They said they would not charge me anything until after they took care of the damages to my items and my stolen wedding ring.

Desired Settlement: I would like a settlement for my stolen wedding band, damage to the mattress, and lost time for dealing with this problem over two weeks. We also have scrapes in the wall of our new house, our mattress was ripped, we had two damaged bookshelves, two bedroom lamps were ripped, and the back of our washing machine was damaged.

Business Response: I am sorry that things did not go as planned with respect to your relocation.  There are numerous issues surrounding your complaint, so I will attempt to address each of them one by one, in some chronological manner…   ·         Yes we did show up 6.5 hours late.  There was a major gas leak in our multi-tenant warehouse, resulting in a complete evacuation of the building early in the morning.  Since all of our information regarding all of our jobs, keys to our trucks, etc. was inside, we had a late start.  There was a job scheduled before yours, with the itinerary of moving one college student from his fraternity house to his apartment.  That job turned in to moving 3 college students from a very difficult origin location.  Our supervisor should have alerted us early on, and we could have refused moving the other two, but we were not alerted in time.  We did end up locking all of their items in the truck for delivery the next day, and retrieving an empty truck so we could get to your job a little bit sooner.  Our second crew member was unable to work past 6pm, so we were down to one mover (all of our other staff were still working, or had left for the day).  Our only options at this point were to either cancel on you, or retrieve temporary worker(s).  We thought the better option was to not cancel on you and stick by our commitment.  We also opted to retrieve 2 temporary workers as opposed to 1 (since your job only called for 2 movers) due to the late start time. ·         You mention that we are charging you more than our estimate, but you seem to have forgotten that you called in and asked to add 30-40 boxes to your move that you did not include in your online inventory which generated your estimate.  This was documented on our Bill of Lading which was signed by you on the day of the move.  Also please keep in mind that we credited you in its entirety the charge for the third mover (temporary worker) we opted to add to the manpower that evening as a courtesy for the delay. With regards to the alleged theft you are claiming, we have been fully responsive to this issue.  The day after your move I sent an email out to you and our insurance agent informing him of the alleged theft, so that he could notify the bond company.  We also instructed you to file a police report, and that we would cooperate fully with respect to this alleged incident.  The police officer has contacted us and we have given him all of the requested information.  The email we received yesterday from our insurance agent is as follows…”I have forward the below email to **** Insurance regarding the Employee Dishonesty Third Party issue.  **** has advised  the following:  “In order for Mr. ******* to get paid for the loss of his wedding band and gift cards, he must file a criminal complaint and prove that these items were stolen by one of All American Moving & Storages’ employees (the person must be convicted).”  Please forward the police report when received.  Your help is appreciated.” We intend to be no less than fully cooperative with respect to this situation, so please let us know if there is anything else we can do moving forward. With regards to your attempts to get a hold of ***** for the last several days, your email was sent on Labor Day – a day we give off to all of our employees, and ***** did not work over the weekend.  Hopefully this explains the lack of responsiveness. I did receive your pictures of the damaged items, but some of them are hard to discern what they are. Would you please provide a description of each item and the damage incurred so we can address them. Lastly, I am sorry that you were given the impression that we would not be charging you until after the stolen items and your mattress were taken care of.  An allowance for your mattress was credited off of your invoice, so that was taken care of at the time of charge.  With regards to the theft issue, this is now out of our hands outside of cooperating with everyone involved.  As with any crime there is due process involved, and it has not been proven that our company had anything to do with the alleged theft.  This does not discount the fact that we did indeed complete your move.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on All American Moving & Storage
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart