Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of E.E. Ward Moving & Storage?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

E.E. Ward Moving & Storage

Phone: (614) 298-8414 Fax: (614) 298-8346 1975 Galaxie St, Columbus, OH 43207 http://www.eeward.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides a range of relocation and logistics solutions for corporations,
governmental agencies, educational institutions and private individuals. 

 

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that E.E. Ward Moving & Storage meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for E.E. Ward Moving & Storage include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

7 Customer Reviews on E.E. Ward Moving & Storage
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 6
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 7

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 15, 1952 Business started: 04/01/1881 in OH Business started locally: 04/01/1881 Business incorporated: 02/28/2001 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Public Utilities Commission of Ohio
180 E Broad St, Columbus OH 43215
www.puco.ohio.gov
Phone Number: (800) 686-7826
Lisa.Colosimo@puc.state.oh.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Brian Brooks, Owner Mr. Thomas M Kelley, Chief Financial Officer Ms. Judith C Truman, Marketing Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brian Brooks, Owner
Customer Contact: Ms. Judith C Truman, Marketing Director
Business Category

Moving & Storage Company Movers Movers - Office Moving Services - Labor & Materials Moving Assistance - Packing, Unpacking, Organizing Storage Units - Household & Commercial Storage Units - Portable Seniors Moving & Delivery Services Relocation Service

Products & Services

E.E. Ward Moving & Storage sells the following brand(s): 1-800-PACK-RAT, CRST Specialized Transportaion, E.E. Ward Moving & Storage Co., North American Van Lines

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Check, Debit Card, Visa, Master Card, American Express, Discover
Refund and Exchange Policy
Please refer to the moving or storage packet you receive upon contracting with us to view our insurance policy.
Service Area
Central Ohio
Additional Information

Moving and Storage Company affiliated with the nationwide North American Van Lines Corporation. Involved in both commercial and residential relocation as well as storage services for any goods you need stored in our climate controlled warehouse

Industry Tips
Moving in Ohio, Movers, Q & A from the PUCO Renting a Self-Storage Unit - BBB Tips

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

E.E. Ward Moving & Storage has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1975 Galaxie St

    Columbus, OH 43207 (614) 298-8414

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This move was a the worst we have ever encountered. Numerous pieces of furniture were irrevocably broken, scratched, lost or otherwise damaged. At the conclusion of the move, the foreman of the moving crew did not want to review the bill and did not offer to adjust it for inaccurate time reporting and for the many items that had been damaged or lost. EE Ward management, which was supportive and timely in answering questions before the move, became instantly unresponsive to our concerns about seriously damaged items after the move and took an inordinate time to review our concerns. Ultimately they reimbursed us $96 for one damaged and one lost item and made no adjustment to the inflated cost of services. During the move we observed the movers damage furniture by improperly lifting an antique barrister case, separating the sides and making it unstable and pulling a designer bench across the floor of the truck by the legs of the bench. Both times the movers said the furniture was junk or previously damaged. The movers never used shrink wrap nor even had a "parts box." When concern over damaged and/or missing items were raised with the movers who did the moving, we were told any damage was our fault. After the move, EE Ward management never came to see the damaged items first-hand so the quality and extent of the damage could be appraised. Management also minimized the crew's lack of training and lack of care that resulted in a series of damaged items. Based on our pre-move interaction with EE Ward and with their reassurances, we purchased the minimum insurance. What a mistake!. In addition to the furniture being moved, carelessness by the movers resulted in damage on the move-in to the 130-year -old spiral staircase in our new home. The actual hours recorded and charged by the movers were inflated. The workers' truck broke down on the first day, resulting in an hour of lost time. We expected to be credited $170 for this loss of time and were promised a credit of $170 but that has not been forwarded to us after almost three months post move. The company made no effort to work with the customer and, after promising repairs and adjustments to the bill, has not taken steps to provide adjustments. The company has deprived us of repairs and compensation for the moving company's poor performance. . We would like EE Ward to make us whole on this transaction.

Desired Settlement: E.E. Ward should have dealt with this customer complaint in a prompt manner shortly after the move in August, 2014. At that time, promises were made verbally by E.E. Ward about a credit to the moving hourly charges and repair or replacement of missing and damaged items At about a month after the move, all discussions ended from E.E. Ward and customer phone calls and emails were not returned. Although the time has past for the company to provide timely, courteous customer service, compensation for the items damaged or lost and adjustment to the hourly moving bill would be appropriate. .

Business Response:

The team at E.E. Ward Moving & Storage approaches each move as an opportunity to provide a positive customer experience. Our customer did not have a positive move experience and what was experienced is not typical for our company. We have spoken with the customer and are currently addressing the service failures that occurred. To date, we have issued the requested credit and are addressing the other items listed.
 
We have apologized for her inconvenience and for the experience she encountered on her move. We take pride in satisfying our customers and strive to deliver services as promised. We consider this an opportunity to gain this customer's trust back and correct the aspects that prohibited this move from being a positive customer experience.  

Consumer Response:

I never received the business reply. Please re-open the case and send the reply.  



BBB Response:

This message concerns complaint ID ******** submitted on 11/13/2014 12:04:01 PM against E.E. Ward Moving & Storage.  

It is my understanding that  you did not get my November 18th letter sent to you by email.  

Enclosed is a copy being sent to you by regular mail. 

At this time we have not reopened this file.  

If you wish to reject the company's response....please submit your supporting documentation and detailed explanation and we will certainly review this file to determine how we might best serve both you and the company in bringing this dispute to a mutually agreeable resolution.  

Wishing you and yours a wonderful holiday season.  

2/11/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We moved on August 27, 2013 from Columbus, Upper Arlington, OH to Mt. Pleasant, SC. We used EE Ward for packing, storage and the move out of state. During the packing process I complained to my move coordinator *** ******* about one of the packers who was not packing properly and missing items on the 1st day, on the 2nd day, the moving manager said that they are going to fire the respective person after this move. We had our items moved to storage for a month in Columbus, OH upon our move to Mt. Pleasant on September 23rd, the items were delivered however multiple items were missing. We signed off the boxes/itemized receipt as the movers would not leave without a signature. I notified the move coordinator that 2 bar stools are missing upon unpacking we realized that other items were missing as well. We received the stand for electric grill but not our grill, we have two lamp shades that do not have a stand. In addition, we are missing a grill brush, a bike pump, a step stool and tools.A claim adjuster came out and we filed claims with the company which is quiet a hideous process. I also contacted 3 claims representative via email. We contacted the company and requested compensation for the loss of the items. We also realized that all of these items were packed were the person who was supposedly was fired the next day. As we acknowledged complete delivery we are not compensated for these items even though we obviously did not receive the items. My question is how can I track 3 people packing to make sure, they are labeling everything accordingly and how can I verify if there is not itemization of the items packed. Where is the responsibility for the service? I am referred to arbitration and received 2 letters stating that they are not responsible for my items. There seems to be no liability to the company and we equate this to stealing as we had these items before we moved and now someone must have taken it and the company that charged more than $10,000 is not held accountable.

Desired Settlement: Refund for missing/undelivered items: 2 Bar stools (items 280/281), ****** ****** electric grill and 2 floor lamps and the remaining items listed above.

Business Response: The E.E. Ward team has reached out to the customer to identify and resolve any claims and related issues.  We strive to provide excellent service and will continue to facilitate a satisfactory resolution for the customer. 


Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. The company has reached out to me and we found a resolution for the service issue, I am very satisfied with the outcome.



















11/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: EE Ward was on the University's list of recommended movers. The driver was to arrive between 9 & 10 AM but he arrived after 12. I made 3 calls to the agent, ****** *********, to verify his whereabouts; she did not call me once. The driver brought TWO men and a 14 yr old boy to move furniture & antiques from what was originally a 4-BR, 2500 sq ft home. Did no one communicate to them? It took them till 12:50 A.M. to load! By then, the last of my stuff, including my $3500 sleep number bed, was just thrown on top of a heap of furniture, unwrapped. Is it even legal to have a 14 yr old on the job until that hour? Meanwhile, not a single call from ****** *. to apologize. I tried to call but only got voicemail. In Cincinnati, some items were dropped off at a storage unit. A scratch on the surface of my dining table was pointed out to the driver. He said he would report it to ****** *. ****** CALLED TO SAY THAT THE DRIVER HAD REPORTED DAMAGE AND THAT I WAS TO FILL OUT A CLAIM FORM. On the form I included a chest of drawers that was loose and my bed that had a leak. The claims were accepted. The bed took 6 wks to repair. Soon after the bed was fixed, I got a letter from ***** ****** in claims, informing me that my claim was closed. She invoked the fine print about climatic conditions that ruined my drawers and stated that a written report should have been made re the dining table (remember ****** is the one that initiated the claims report following the call from the driver who reported the damage at the storage unit. I didn't even know at this point that my bed and drawers were damaged). Since receiving the letter, I have tried twice to contact ****** *. but she ignores my emails. I would not recommend this company unless you have plenty of time to waste and dont mind very poor customer follow up. They did not keep their word on the repairs that they promised to make. I will be talking to HR at the university and recommending that they NOT recommend this agent to future faculty at the Univ.

Desired Settlement: Perform repairs as promised.

Business Response: E.E. Ward strives for excellence in providing moving services to our customers. We have promptly responded to the concerns raised by the customer, and have arranged for the repairs to be completed. We will track the progress of this request until the customer is satisfied with the remedy.

Consumer Response: The business did contact me and has agreed to make repairs.  However specifics and timelines have not been discussed yet.  I trust that they will get back to me but in the interest of responding to you by the October 30th deadline I have  had to select the 'I do not accept the response'  option. 































Business Response: One of the customer's repairs is being completed now, with the second piece to be picked up and repaired in December, as requested by the customer. The E.E. Ward mission is to provide our customers with an unmatched sense of comfort and security in relocating and storing their possessions. We take this pledge seriously, and will continue to follow-up with the parties to ensure that our customer is satisfied.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.