Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

Click for BBB Rating on Suburban Propane

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers Retail propane sales to residential, commercial, and agricultrial customers.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Suburban Propane meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

BBB Complaint Information

Find aggregate BBB complaint information for Suburban Propane. BBB Serving New Jersey has the full report as that BBB handles all complaints for Suburban Propane.

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 23, 1964 Business started: 01/01/1946 in OH
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Robert Hays, Market Manager, Dayton/Co Mr. Jeff Shively, Branch Manager Mr. Kevin Miller, Branch Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Hays, Market Manager, Dayton/Co
Principal: Mr. Jeff Shively, Branch Manager
Business Category

Gas - Propane Gas - Propane - Equipment & Supplies Water Softening & Conditioning Equipment Service & Supplies Natural Gas Companies Fireplace Equipment - Retail

Alternate Business Names
Inergy Propane LLC Inergy Propane Ohio Division

Additional Locations

  • 1889 Logan Lancaster Rd SE

    Lancaster, OH 43130

  • 2759 McKinley Ave

    Columbus, OH 43204 (614) 485-0460 (800) 247-0263 (614) 487-6400

  • 4371 Broadway

    Grove City, OH 43123

  • 8040 Newark Rd

    Mount Vernon, OH 43050


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/16/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The consumer purchased propane from Suburban Propane in the fall for $3.13/gallon. The consumer purchased propane on January 29, 2014, and she paid $5.20/gallon.

Desired Settlement: The consumer would like the supplier to lower the price or provide a partial refund.

Business Response: I first would like to thank you for choosing Suburban Propane as your choice of suppliers for all your propane needs. Customers, today have many choices when choosing a supplier and want peace of mind knowing they have chosen a safe and reliable company to keep their family warm while protecting assets. At Suburban Propane we know relationships are built on trust - and following through on commitments instills integrity, helping to solidify long term relationships. Propane costs nationwide have increased sharply over the past several months due to historically high demand, low inventories and supply system constraints. And while Suburban Propane’s primary goal is to have product to keep customers warm, when forced to find and transport product other than locally, expenses rise excessively, and cost passed on to consumers. The alternative is not to have product to deliver, leaving customers in the cold. A review of the delivery made to the property at 3946 ****** Street, Granville, Ohio on January 29, 2014, was conducted to verify that the correct “rate per gallon” was assessed. Based on rates for January 29, 2014, customer annual consumption and margin, pricing perimeters were correct and not inflated for any other reason other than Suburban’s replacement cost. The good news is that prices have been on the decline and are expected to continue helping to ease the hardships this winter has had on consumers. Again, thank you, for allowing Suburban Propane to service your propane needs. While prices still are high, it is comforting to know, that while some Suppliers did not have product, Suburban had the foresight to be in front of the supply situation and secured adequate supplies of propane to meet all of our customers’ needs.   Thank you  

2/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We feel that Mt Vernon gas over charged us for our propane. We paid 3.96 a gallon and for $997.82 only received 45% propane. We are going to have to purchase again in a few weeks and we should have gotten a full take of propane at that price

Desired Settlement: Make this price gouging stop

Business Response: Recently, propane supply and pricing have been in the news due to low supply and higher market rates nationwide, Nationwide, propane market rates are increasing rapidly. One reason is due to the increased winter demand. Another reason is the extra cost of transporting propane to regions of the country that need it most, due to periodic shutdowns of several key pipelines. This has required retailers to use alternate, more costly ways to transport fuels to their facilities. As a national supplier wlth operations in 41 states, Suburban Propane has many resources at our disposal. We are transporting propane from long-distance sources, and will continue to employ innovative methods to help keep our customers safe and warm. And, while wholesale propane prices are not within our control, we wlll do everything we can to help minimize the impact on customers. I will personally, contact ***** *****, who filed the complalnt and attempt to come to a resolution that will be acceptable to both customer and Suburban Propane. Customers, today have many cholces when choosing a supplier and want peace of mind knowing they have chosen a safe and reliable company to keep their family warm while protecting assets. At Suburban Propane in Mt Vernon, we know relationships are built on trust - and following through on commitments instills Integrity, helping to solidify long term relationships. Thank you