Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

 Safeware is a fully licensed Insurance Agency as well as a Third Party Administrator for Extended Warranty and Service Plan Solutions.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Safeware Insurance Agency Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for The Safeware Insurance Agency Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 25 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

25 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 12 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 9
Problems with Product/Service 15
Total Closed Complaints 25

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

8 Customer Reviews on The Safeware Insurance Agency Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 8
Total Customer Reviews 8

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 11, 1984 Business started: 09/01/1982 in OH Business incorporated 09/28/1983 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Department of Insurance
50 W. Town St. Third Floor - Suite 300, Columbus OH 43215
http://www.insurance.ohio.gov
Phone Number: (614) 644-2658

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael Cole, Director of Marketing Ms. Anita Kimber, Vice President Underwriting & Compliance Mr. Matthew Wagner, Executive Vice President & General Counsel
Business Category

Extended Warranty Contract Service Companies Insurance Services

Alternate Business Names
Safeware Group Safeware, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

The Safeware Insurance Agency Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 5700 Perimeter Dr Ste E

    Dublin, OH 43017 (614) 781-1492

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/20/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
8/23/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 2/22/2013 I purchase two reclining sofa's from ******* ********* along with the 5 years Mega Product Protection Plan by Safeware .Which covers Frame Breakage/Separation and peeling . On July 12th 2016 I filed a claim on one sofa where the frame of the recliner broke and on the other one the leather is peeling off and their respond to me was that they were not covered under this plan . When I purchase the plan I was told that all that was cover. my claim # *******

Desired Settlement: Consumer did not specify resolution, but appears to want the merchandise replaced.

Business Response: Mr. **** currently has two claims open with us for his sofa. Claim # ******* for frame damage is covered under the warranty and the claim is being processed. Claim # ******* is for the material on the sofa beginning to peel. Unfortunately, "Wear and Tear" is not covered under the policy and this claim has been denied. We reached out to the customer on 7/19/16 through email to further explain and have had no response.

Consumer Response:
This is in response to your reply to me on 7/26/16 for Claim #******* and complaint ID #********  I am sending you’re a picture of what I was given when I purchase the plan. I don’t  agree with their decision . I WAS TOLD WHEN I PURCHASE THE PLAN THAT PEELING WAS COVER AS LONG AS I HAD THE PLAN.


Business Response: Safeware has decided we will cover the damage reported for this claim. We have reached out to the customer today by phone and email explaining to him the next steps in the process to have the unit serviced. Additionally, we have contacted a repair company in his area who will contact him to schedule service within 1-2 days.

7/29/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a recliner with warranty. Recliner quit working would no longer recline called and reported the issue in February 2016 it took a month to get a repair technician to come out and assess the problem was told parts would be ordered and he would be back to fix it. It has been almost 4 months now and after numerous phone calls to the company (we have called over 20 times) and promises of it being resolved it is still not fixed and I have still not heard from the repair man since he first came out months ago. The recliner was purchased for my disabled father who needs his legs elevated at all times and this information has been given to them in hopes of speeding the process but it has not mattered. I informed them a month ago I was going to contact BBB and they asked for two more weeks, I generously gave them another month and still no repairs or contact from them has been made. Any contact that has been made has been made from our behalf not them. I feel like I have gave them ample time and several opportunities to resolve the issue and have come to our wits end.

Desired Settlement: My dads recliner to be repaired ASAP. And a apology for how this matter has been handled by all involved.

Business Response: Spoke to "*****" who purchased the chair from **** "Our Customer" We informed ***** we are offering a cash settlement for $567.80 on the claim. We also informed ***** we would need letter from **** stating he is the owner of the chair before we can put it in his name. ***** informed us he would contact **** and call us back.

Business Response: We have received the necessary letter to complete the claim. A settlement for the remaining benefit of the contract has been offered and agreed upon for $512.80. Check # ******* was mailed 7/15/16.

7/26/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an extended warranty for my couch. When I purchased it, the furniture salesman said it covered everything. The back cushions to the couch have never worked properly, always losing feathers. The warranty company (Safeware) said they do not warranty the back cushions as they are not "seat cushions". Nowhere in the contract do they make this definition, nor do they specifically deny liability for back cushions. I've never had a seat that didn't have a back cushion. It's a cushion on a seat, my definition of a seat cushion.

Desired Settlement: Per the contract, their liability is limited to $50 per cushion, there are 7 back cushions. The repair person says it will cost $80 per to properly fix. I would like $350 (7X$50) per the contract, and I will get the cushions fixed myself. I want them to perform under the contract.

Business Response: As the customer stated in his their complaint they have had this issue since purchase of the sofa which automatically gives the coverage of the issue under the manufacturer warranty. The manufacturer warranty is one year from the date of purchase which after the one year the extended warranty will take affect, except for accidental damage (i.e. spills, pet damage, etc.) will be covered from day one. Additionally, the Safeware Policy only covers resiliency issues with seat cores not back cushions.

Consumer Response:

I disagree with the way the business is interpreting the contract.  I have attached an email thread and the contract.  I think it is ridiculous to assert back cushions are not seat cushions, especially given this is not expressly defined as such in the contract, nor expressly excluded.  A plain reading of the contract should include back cushions as seat cushions.

Regards, ****** ******

7/25/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Claim # ******** I would like to file a complaint concerning warranty service on faulty mechanisms on both couches I purchased less than 2 years ago. I filed a claim in January 2016 and I am still dealing with my furniture not being repaired. Safeware assigned the SAW company to repair my furniture. The SAW company has been professional, on time, and has done their best to help get my furniture repaired but the Safeware company continues to send the wrong parts for my furniture and I now have parts piling up in my home that cannot be used on my furniture. The SAW company who was assigned by Safeware to repair my furniture has sent detailed reports along with pictures of my couch and the parts broken and needed yet Safeware sends the incorrect parts or leaves out parts causing the SAW service people to continue to drive from Memphis TN to Arkansas and not be able to repair anything. Because of this continued issue with Safeware I have requested that Safeware give me check for replacement of my furniture along with a refund for the warranty contract I paid for. I have had to go out and purchase other furniture for my family to sit on because I am going on 7 months of waiting for repairs to my furniture. Meanwhile I have couches piled up in my living room that are disassembled waiting for the correct parts. I made it clear to Safeware in my complaint to their solutions center that I am by no means cancelling my warranty if they refuse to refund my furniture and warranty but if Safeware will pay furniture replacement costs and refund my warranty payment then I will not require this furniture to be fixed nor will I need their services.

Desired Settlement: Have my furniture repaired by 8-1-2016 or give me a check for full value furniture replacement (I had to go and buy additional furniture because of this) and refund all of the warranty payments.

Business Response: Customer has been notified we have authorized a credit through the dealer ****** **** *********** for the replacement cost of the furniture of $995.68, since the purchased furniture is no longer available due to being discontinued.

7/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint:

Safeware Insurance Agency is a company purporting to offer insurance for technical products like computers and smartphones. A substantive part of its marketing is directed at schools and students. I, however, am neither in school nor a student, but have had two to three policies with Safeware over the, roughly, last five years covering Apple computers of some value.

The policy at issue in this complaint is for $1,500 and covers a 2014 Macbook Pro. Several weeks ago I filed my first ever claim with Safeware, Claim #2149669, for scratches on the screen of my MacBook Pro. At the behest of Safeware adjuster Lyndsey W***** I obtained an estimate at an Apple store in the amount of $719.68, which was approved by Safeware. HOWEVER, the conditions of this approval entails me paying for the repair first and then submitting a bill to Safeware. It should also be noted, as an aside, that one can see online through various published complaints against Safeware, at least at times, has a less than stellar record with regard to the timeliness of paying these invoices.

But that is beside the point. We are not talking about a doctor's bill, whereupon the doctor's office might be willing to forestall payment, at least for a while, in anticipation of payment from an insurance company. I am aware of absolutely no technical repair shop, and certainly not Apple, where I could have the repair done but forgo immediate payment in return for a promise of a potential remittance from an insurance company for the repair work.

In the alternative, Safeware also offers insureds the option of having the work down at its own authorized repair facilities. However, there are questions regarding how this potentially affects already existing warranty issues if, for example, like myself, I also have an extended warranty with Apple and where, additionally, Apple has also extended a factory warranty on the very part at issue in this matter, the screen, for everyone, even beyond the terms of any separately purchased warranty coverage like I purchased.

Also, Safeware expects the insured to assume all of the risk for damage or loss of the computer in shipment to the authorized repair facility. Quite effectively, in many respects, and especially, for example, for a poor student, a demographic, as indicated above, that is a substantive base of Safeware's marketing, Safeware has set up a system of purported insurance coverage in which many will find it too costly, at least as it relates to initial out of pocket costs, or risky regarding shipping issues, to avail themselves of the purported insurance they thought they had.

In response to my raising these issues with Safeware, I received the following response from, apparently supervisory, adjuster Brittany Bolton: "If the estimate is under the policy limit and value and is approved then we have the customer pay for the repairs and be reimbursed. The reason for this being that once they start working on the unit the repairs could be more or less than the original quoted amount. If the repairs are less that is great and we will reimburse upon receiving the receipt. If the repairs are to exceed the original amount approved we may want to re-evaluate if the repairs are better or a replacement is better. The estimated amount also doesn't include any sales tax that may be applicable." Nothing Ms. Bolton says alters the contours of the matters at issue here.

Safeware has set up a system that, effectively, can very well become non-insurance for many. This is clearly by design.

Desired Settlement: Reimburse me immediately for the known repair costs. We are not talking about an involved repair that might involve further work. We are talking about a simple replacement of a screen. Additionally, even in situations in which it could turn out that more work is needed, Safeware should then approach that as any other company would and reassess things at that point.

Business Response:

CLAIM NOTES

On May 26, 2016 ******* ****** filed a claim on his Macbook Pro. He was advised, by the adjuster, of the two options available for his unit to be repaired.

The first option was for Mr. ****** to take his unit to the Apple Store, and send in the receipt for reimbursement. The second option was to send the unit to one of Safeware’s depot repair facilities to perform the repairs on the unit. The customer did not want either option and requested that we pay for the repairs prior to the repairs being performed. 

A second adjuster sent Mr. ****** an explanation on why we do not pay claims based on estimates for repair. Mr. ****** still chose to not comply with either option that was presented to him. He later filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau , the Office of the Insurance Commissioner – State of **********, and the Ohio Department of Insurance. 

INSURANCE POLICY INFORMATION

Policy # *** *********

Insurer – ********** Insurance Company, an ******* ********* *******

Forms and Endorsement - *****************************

Original Effective Date – 05/20/2014

Renewal Effective Date – 05/20/2015

Expiration Date – 05/20/2016

Claim Report Date – 05/26/2016

Loss Date – 04/06/2016 

Note that this policy was purchased by Mr. ****** in the State of **********, via the internet.  

RESOLUTION

We have verified with our repair vendors that the amounts provided in the estimate are within the cost for the repair of the product.  Safeware will offer to pre-pay Mr. ****** the cost provided in the estimate, to settle his repair claim. 

-------------------------------------------------

6/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sent in my laptop to get fixed after a fish tank broke next to it and broke my laptop. When I sent my laptop in it would turn on, let me type my password in, load incredibly slow and then turn off. I got my laptop back a week and a half after I sent it in so not slow service, but nothing had been fixed. The exact same problems that my laptop had when I sent it in still existed. The computer turns on, loads, and then turns off. I need my computer for work so going another week and a half without a computer is going to be a problem. I also never got any email or any contact letting me know they had received my computer, worked on it, or sent it back to me.

Desired Settlement: I need a computer this month as I'm taking pictures of multiple weddings and it's going to be hard to edit the pictures. I either need some type of super expedited service so I can get my laptop back and working as soon as possible, or the same service they provided (except actually fixing the laptop) and money provided for a rental computer of the same model for this month.

Business Response: Mr. ****** had liquid damage on his Apple MacBook which required a serious repair. Unfortunately the repair attempt by our repair facility was unsuccessful. Our resolution is that due to the extensive damage of the device and the failed repair attempt we will cash settle the warranty contract for the amount of $1000 which will be sent to Mr. ******* ****** by the end of the week 6/10/2016 via FEDEX. Mr. ****** has agreed to this resolution. 

5/16/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Filed claim approx. Jan 10, 2016. Sent pictures of damage to couch. Did not hear back. Emailed 1/29/16 and was told parts ordered and takes aprox. 4-6 weeks. Heard nothing. Called 4/6 and was told person handling claim no longer worked there. Someone would call me back in 2-3 days. No call. Called again 4/15 and said if I didn't hear from someone I was contacting BBB. Received voice mail 15 minutes later from Chrissy saying she was taking over claim and would check on it. I would hear back from her by end of day on 4/19. Still have not heard from anyone.

Desired Settlement: Store credit for full purchase amount of couch so I can purchase new one.

Business Response:

Upon receipt of the initial complaint, the claim was researched and it was determined a full replacement was authorized for the complainant on 4/27/16.  Both the dealer and the customer were notified of the same.  It is our understanding that this claim has been resolved to the complainant's satisfaction.  We apologize for any delays the complainant may have experienced throughout the claims process.  Please let me know if there is any further information needed regarding this complaint.  

Best Regards, 

Scott M****

12/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint:

I BEEN WITH THIS COMPANY FOR 3 TO 4 YEARS NOW ****** * ***** ******* ***** ***** *** ****** ** *** *** ******* ** ***** ****** ************1 I FILED TWO CLAIMS BECAUSE I WAS ROBBED BOTH CLAIM NUMBERS ARE ******* & ******* MY POLICE REPORT *********** REPORTING NUMBER ###-###-#### THESE CLAIMS OCCURRED BACK ON 09/19/2015 I RESENT MY DOCUMENTS ON 10/15/2015

SAFE WEAR ADVERTISED Unlike other plans there is no limit of occurrences, and coverage does not terminate in the event of total loss or theft. Safeware offers this policy to cover the expenses of replacing the insured PRODUCT .

BUT THERE NOT TRYING TO LEAVE UP TO WHAT THE COMPANY IS ADVERTISING THAT'S FALSE ADVERTISEMENT BECAUSE THE COMPANY TRYING TO TELL ME there is A limit of occurrences, and coverage does terminate INSTEAD OF NOT TERMINATE in the event of total loss or theft.

IT BEEN ALMOST TWO MONTHS SINCE I FILED THESE CLAIMS AND STILL HAVEN'T GOT AN UPDATE STATUS ON MY EITHER CLAIMS ******* & ******* * REPLACEMENT I PHONE 6 PLUS 128 GAG TOTALING $950 EACH PLEASE REPLACE BOTH OF MY VERIOZN I PHONE 6 PLUS 128 GAG OR SEND MY OR SEND MY REIMBURSEMENT CHECK FOR $950 EACH

PS I BEEN WAITING SO LONG FOR THIS COMPANY TO COMPLETE MY CLAIM MY COVERAGE POLICY ************* ENDS TOMORROW ON 11/18/2015

Desired Settlement: PLEASE COMPLETE BOTH OF MY CLAIMS ******* & ******* & SEND MY BOTH REPLACEMENT VERIZON I PHONE 6 PLUS 128 GAG OR SEND MY REIMBURSEMENT CHECK FOR $950 EACH

Business Response: Dear BBB,


These claims were received by Safeware and are currently under further investigation.  The information provided by the complainant in the complaint is inaccurate.  Safeware never informed the complainant that there is a limit to how many claims can be submitted under a policy period.  There is no limit and again that information was never told to the complainant.  I personally reached out to the complainant to discuss this issue further and have received no response.  I also wrote an email to the complainant advising the claims are still under coverage investigation and Safeware will reach out upon completion of the investigation.  It is necessary that we confirm the validity of all claims submitted.  Some claims take less time than others.  I believe this would be the 6th theft claim on this policy to date so it is very obvious that we have, and continue, to honor our contractual obligation to the complainant.  I encourage the complainant again to please reach out to me directly at ###-###-#### to discuss these claims further, if preferred.  Otherwise, Safeware will reach out to the customer upon conclusion of the investigation.  This complaint should be removed and closed since there is no validity or support for the allegations.  Please let me know if there is anything else i can provide the BBB at this time.  

Sincerely,

Scott M**** 
*********

12/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased furniture from ***** ********* ****** in ******** **** on 1/20/15. With this purchase I paid extra for product protection on my furniture for an extra 199.00. In the month of July I moved and during the move household cleaner leaked onto my ottoman that created a bleach mark. I called the number on the brochure as this was listed as a covered accident and would be fixed or replaced. About a month in a half after reporting the damage and sending safeware pictures of the damage they made an appointment for a service person to come out. This appointment was scheduled on a Saturday and I had to rearrange my work schedule to as this is the only day they are in my area as stated by the customer service rep. the Friday before my Saturday appointment I received a phone call around 4:30pm stating they had to cancel as they rerouted the service person to another area and could not get to me. I called them back to reschedule. They then sent a service man out to evaluate the ottoman and determined the cloth would have to be replaced. The order for the new fabric was then finally ordered and arrived to my home 3 months later (October 2015) I then scheduled a day to have someone come out to repair the ottoman. My appointment was scheduled for Novemeber 14th between 8am-12pm. I received a phone call that they were cancelling again due to overbooking. I explained that I had been waiting since my initial complaint in July to have this matter resolved and the customer service rep then repeated they had overbooked and needed to reschedule. I have had to miss work in order to be available for the service man to repair my ottoman for a second time.

Desired Settlement: My desired outcome would be that I be refunded my purchase price of the protection plan since they can not get it resolved in a timely manner and so I don't have to lose more income as I must be home for them to repair the ottoman.

Business Response:

I have received the above complaint on Safeware claim number *******.  in review of the file, it appears on 11/17/15, as well as 11/23/15, the Product Protection Specialist, ****** ********* reached out to the complainant regarding the request to have her own servicer do the repairs.  It doesn't appear the complainant has responded yet.  The desired resolution to Mrs. ****** is reimbursement of her $199.99 she paid for the Product Protection Plan.  We are more than happy to do this for her however the file notes indicated the customer is looking to use her own servicer to complete the repairs.  That note came after the filing of this complaint.  We can certainly cancel her contract and reimburse her, however I want to give her an opportunity to have the repairs completed and leave the contract active if she prefers.  Our service company has had some scheduling issues with their techs so we are sorry for these inconveniences.  We would like to move this towards an amicable resolution so please advise us if the customer would prefer the $199.99 back or if she prefers to use her own repair man to fix the ottoman.  I look forward to the Mrs. ******'s response.  

Sincerely,

Scott M**** 
*********
smusil@safeware.com

11/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Safeware insurance policy covering my son's MacBook he got for college. A claim was filed on 8/5/15 for theft of the MacBook covered under the policy. The claim was filed with Roger D****** and all information was submitted. Roger's email communications confirmed the filing and acceptance of the claim and that I should receive a check for $899 in 7 to 10 business days. I have since emailed Roger at least three times inquiring regarding the status of the check. Each time, Roger responded promptly with the promise that the claim was in process. The last excuse was that the power had gone out due to storms and that could be part of the delay. I called Safeware on 9/29/15 inquiring the status and a check still has not been issued, but the claim is approved. I spoke to the supervisor, Brittany, who promised to check with accounting and get back to me. She offered to send the check overnight to avoid further delays. After not hearing from Brittany, I called today and was told that a check was still not cut and no one could help me at the customer service number provided. The delay was in underwriting and there is not a number or person to speak to in underwriting.

Desired Settlement: I want the claim to be processed as promised on multiple occasions. My time spent and the interest charges I have incurred in replacement of the laptop without reimbursement should also be paid. In addition, I have purchased another Safeware plan for $219 that I did not have to purchase. I would like refund of the additional policy a reinstatement of the old policy on the newly purchased laptop.

Business Response:


Safeware received this complaint and has been able to review the claim in detail.  It appears the final check to the complainant was delivered on 10/8/15.  Attached is the copy of the settlement check as well as the delivery confirmation.  Safeware is confident they have satisfied this complaint to a desired resolution.  Please advise if there is anything further Safeware can provide.

Best regards,

Scott M********

Consumer Response:

I have also put in my original complaint that I was charged another $219 for an additional Safeware service plan.  I was told by Safeware employees Roger and Brittany that I could keep the original service contract purchased and receive full or partial credit on the second purchase.  I was promised that an Anita would contact me on how to do this and I have yet to hear from anyone.  This has been the M.O. for Safeware.  They promise contact and follow up, but I have had to hound them for every single response and my only resolution has come after I filed a complaint with Better Business Bureau.  I was not asked for additional info for the processing of my claim, yet 80 days to process and I heard the most creative excuses ever. 

I will not remove my complaint (or will simply continue to file complaints) until I have full resolution on the purchase of two service contracts.  Safeware needs to contact me directly.


Regards,**** ********

Business Response:


I received the complainant's rejection of my original response.  I tried emailing Mrs. ******** to discuss this further(attached) as well as called both her numbers listed on the policy(###-###-#### & ###-###-####).  I have not received a response from any of my attempts.  In regards to the rejection, Safeware never charged the customer any additional money for any more coverage.  If there was a charge, it was done by the reseller who replaced the unit.  All Mrs. ******** would need to do is reach out to Safeware and provide the new serial number for the replacement device and we would update her current plan.  There is no need for any additional charges.  If she was charged, the school selling her the card needs to reimburse her.  Safeware is more than happy to help facilitate this however we need Mrs. ******** to respond so I can get her in contact with the appropriate party.   The theft coverage Mrs. ******** was provided is a complimentary coverage included with the accidental damage portion she originally purchased.  This beneficial coverage was provided and Safeware has indemnified Mrs. ******** for what is owed.  She received a cash out of close to 3 times the cost of her plan and still has coverage on her replacement device.  It is my belief Safeware has done everything per our agreement with Mrs. ********.  Please contact me if there is anything else I can assist with at this time.  

Sincerely, 

Scott M****
******** 

10/6/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: have purchased there insurance plan for are furniture had made a claim two weeks for them to come out and look at it said they would order parts going on two months now and no one knows anything about the parts

Desired Settlement: want a new chair or full refund of furniture and warranty price

Business Response: To Whom it May Concern-

Please be advised this complaint has been reviewed and it appears we authorized a replacement in early September for Mr. ****.  On 8/20/15 we communicated with the retail store that sold Mr. **** his furniture (**** ***** ***********) and authorized a replacement.  On 8/28/15 Mr. **** called in and Safeware informed him the replacement was authorized.  On 9/9/15 Safeware received an email from **** ***** *********** advising they never received the approval for replacement so Safeware authorized yet again.  It is Safeware's understanding that this claim is concluded and the customer has been indemnified.  If this is not the case, please advise and we will review further.  
Best Regards,
Scott M**** 
*******************

8/31/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased my couch 3 years ago, along with Safeware Ins to cover any problems the couch may incurred. The material tore on the couch and a seamed came undone, Safeware sent a company out to fix the furniture, but when they did the gentleman that came out also took it on his-self to do an additional repair that was not needed. It in return has cause damage to the couch. The footrest material keeps wadding up. So they sent out another representative to do another repair, when they left I signed off on it, thinking it was fix. One week later it messed up again and now they are refusing to make this right. I don't feel like I should have to live with this.

Desired Settlement: I feel like they should stand behind there work and make this right.

Business Response:

I have had a chance to review the complaint presented.  After discussing this with the servicing dealer, as well as the complainant, I believe we have reached the desired resolution for Mrs. ******.   ******* ******** will be ordering parts and then installing them on the damaged furniture.  i spoke with Mrs. ****** and confirmed this is the resolution she was looking for.  Please let me know if there is anything else I can do for you at this time.  
Scott M**** 
**** ********* ** ******

8/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an extended warranty from this company at a "Going out of business sale" in February of this year. The warranty was to cover any damage outside the manufacturers warranty. The chair was damaged in June and I filed a claim. They responded that it was not covered because the business I bought the chair at was out of business. It was clearly labeled a "Goin Out Of Business" sale. The business, ****** *********, is actually only relocating to a brand new location, which is currently under construction. This was clearly fraudulaent.

Desired Settlement: I want the company to honor their contractual obligation. They can either repair or replace the chair.

Business Response:

After review of the file in question I would like to explain the details surrounding why Safeware was unable to repair the damages to the customer's furniture.  Safeware is a 3rd party administrator for the Product Protection Plan Mr. ****** purchased from ****** *********.  We have no control over the operations or the business revenue of the dealers selling the product.  
When a claim occurs we assign a servicer to inspect the damages and make a determination if the unit is repairable and if parts would be needed or not to compete the repairs.  Since we are not a re-seller of furniture we are unable to order replacement parts from manufacturer's.  We are held 100% dependent on the purchasing power of the reselling dealer when it comes to these parts.  

 

In Mr. ******'s situation, he reported pet damage to his recliner,  We requested photos of the damage.  Once received we sent them to our servicer for review and to give guidance on if parts would be needed for a repair or not.  We were told parts would need to be ordered to fix Mr. ******'s recliner.  We reached out to ******'s and since they were out of business they said they are unable to order any replacement parts for us.  When this becomes the case, we are then bound to the Terms and Conditions which read;
"Replacement parts or furniture will be order from the retailer from which You originally purchased Your furniture.  If the retailer is not able to replace the item originally purchased or provide a satisfactory substitute item, You will be given a refund of the purchase price of the Plan, less any claims payments made to You under this Plan, in lieu o replacement of Your furniture and Your Plan will terminate."  

Mr. ****** purchased the Product Protection Plan for $60.  We told him we were going to reimburse him the cost of the plan per our Terms and Conditions and this was not acceptable for Mr. ******.  there is most certainly nothing fraudulent with the way the claim was handled.  We apologize the we were unable to handle the damages, but we are willing to fully reimburse the price of the plan he paid for.  We feel this is a fair and equitable resolution and perfectly in line with the terms of the contract.  I hope the information provided helps explain the situation.  Mr. ****** is welcome to contact us at any time to discuss the reimbursement process.  Please let me know if you need anything further from us at this time.  

 

Scott M**** 
**** ********* ** ******
******************* 

7/17/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a laptop from my university and purchased the Safeware insurance that they offered. A couple months ago, there was an accident with my laptop and the screen cracked and the laptop stopped functioning properly. At this point, my laptop cannot even turn on. I filed a claim with Safeware, who covers accidental damages, and a claims agent emailed me a couple of days after to tell me to contact him in order to discuss how to proceed. Since then, I have called this employee over 15 times and left at least 7-6 voicemails. I have even left voicemails for his manager. I filed the claim back in April and have not heard anything since that initial response.

Desired Settlement: I would like Safeware to contact me so I can complete the claim on my laptop. I am not looking for anything other than them to fulfill their side of the contract.

Business Response:

I have researched this file and spoke with the appropriate team members regarding the status.  i would like to apologize on behalf of Safeware to Ms. ******* for the issues she has experienced throughout this claim.  The claim has been reassigned to the Team Lead, Brittany B*****, and she has taken the appropriate steps to move this claim towards resolution.  it is my understanding that Ms. ******* is now satisfied with the direction this claim is going and now has a solid point of contact.  If Ms. ******* does not feel this is the case, I encourage her to reach out to me directly for resolution.  However at this point i believe there is communication and action in place to move this claim towards Ms. *******'s desired resolution.  Please let me know if there is anything further you need from me at this time.  Thanks
***** ***** 
**** ********* ** ******
###-###-####
*******************  

Consumer Response: I reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find the resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,
******* *******

7/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Upon purchasing a dishwasher I elected to purchase the Safeware Extended Warranty service offered by the retailer. Shortly after a year of the dishwasher operating normally, I began to see corrosion on the dishwasher racks, both the top and bottom. 7 months ago I filed a claim on the Safeware website. I did not receive a confirmation or claim number. I received a call from a local appliance repair company and they told me their records showed that a repair person came to my house to assess the repair. No appliance repair person from this company has ever been to my house. They seemed perplexed, but maybe due to the simple nature of my issue the details where not properly entered into the system. They went on to say that the quote for the racks was sent to Safeware and they were waiting for a response from them. They told me to follow up with Safeware. I called Safeware sometime later. After some background and explaining the that no repair person had been to my house, the Safeware agent called the local repair company to worked out the issue. I was told that I'd receive a call soon with a plan on replacing the racks. I never received any communication from Safeware. Since then I've called at least four or five times, left a message and sent an email asking for some sort of information on my claim. When I spoke to agents they seemed confused why this hadn't been resolved yet. They reassured me I'd hear soon about how the repair will take place. It's been 7 months since I initiated this claim. Safeware has not provided any service to me as is outlined in the Extended Warranty agreement. Several truths are now evident. Safeware will do whatever is possible to avoid resolving claims in which they must make any payment. This is especially clear because my claim is so simple. Either the agents I spoke to are lying and have been trained to attempt to placate the customer and to say that there's nothing else they can do, or they've been simply left in the dark about Safeware's business model.

Desired Settlement: Replace both dishwasher racks with original equipment parts, or replace the dishwasher itself.

Business Response:

I have reviewed the complaint as well as the claim presented(********.  I must apologize to Mr. ******* for the lack of communication and the delays experienced on this particular claim.  The representative who was handling this file is no longer with the organization and we are going through the files trying to resolve all open issues.  Mr. *******'s claim has been reassigned to a new examiner who is currently researching the availability of the replacement racks.  If the representative is unable to locate the replacement racks, we will authorize a full replacement of the dishwasher.  We will be in contact with Mr. ******* immediately after the additional research is conducted.  
Again I apologize for the delays experienced by Mr. ******* and guarantee that Safeware is not trying to avoid paying a claim.  We value each and every customer and want to be sure to make things right in a situation like this.  I appreciate Mr. *******'s patience and understanding while we move to one of his desired settlement options.     
Sincerely,
***** ***** 
**** ********* ** ******
*******************

Consumer Response: As instructed by ********* ********** below, I am responding to Safeware's response to my complaint. It's been more than two weeks and I have not received any communications from Safeware. The business needs to act on their statement to resolve this issue. The issue has not been resolved.

Business Response: Dear BBB-

i reviewed this file further after receiving Mr. *******'s follow-up email to the BBB.  The new examiner on this case, **** *******, has been working with the dealer and local servicer to locate a replacement set of racks.  The cost of the racks with installation is much higher than anticipated so Kyle requested a replacement quote from the dealer, because it may be a better option to simply replace the entire unit.  The file notes indicate our servicer was supposed to contact the customer and discuss this, however this appears to have never happened.  **** ******* will be in contact with Mr. ******* and inform him of the next steps towards moving this claim to resolution.  Please let me know if there is anything further i can do at this time to assist.  
***** ***** 

Consumer Response: I reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********. It appears progress is being made on resolving the issue. I hope the next steps to resolution are swift and efficient.

Regards,
**** *******

6/23/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a new couch and two chairs on 8/20/2012 and purchased the advertised furniture insurance protection plan with the items. The cost of the furniture was $1827.00 and the cost of the insurance was $182 (10%). The insurance was for pet protection, for three years. The brochure says clearly -"JAWS and CLAWS - In an Industry first, ALL PET DAMAGE is covered." We made a claim on the couch (#********) and chairs (#*******). They asked us to send pictures of the furniture damage. We sent the images and got a confirmation from ***** ****** -Product Protection Specialist, on 5/26/2015. Then on June 1, 2015 we got a call that the claims were rejected. The reason for the rejection was that the damage was "multiple" - not a single damage point. We are extremely dissatisfied. This appears to be a SCAM. The advertising clearly states that the damage should be covered. We left a voice mail with Mr. ***** ***** that this appears to be a gross mistake.

Desired Settlement: We want the company to stand by the stated "ALL PET DAMAGE is covered" statement on the brochure. We will not be satisfied with the rejection of the claims.

Business Response: Dear BBB-

I received the filed complaint and have reviewed both claims indicated in the complaint (******** *******).  While in understand the frustration of the denial of coverage, our Terms & Conditions clearly lay out the parameters of covered losses.  As the brochure indicates, we do cover "All Pet Damage" however there are restrictions.  The contract covers accidental pet damage on a single incident basis.  Unfortunately the complainant reported this claim by saying the damage was a result of accumulated damage due to their cat scratching the furniture over a period of 2 years.  Please see the language in the Terms & Conditions outlined below;
"This Plan defines “Accidental” as a single, unexpected and unintentional event and does not include
accumulated damage from continual or multiple events.  The use of this Plan requires an explanation of where
and when the accident occurred as well as a detailed description of the actual event.
For fabric, leather and vinyl upholstery and rugs: 
 
All accidental stains including, but not limited to, those caused by:
? food and beverages.
? nail polish and nail polish remover stains or damage.
? human and pet body fluid stains.
? ink and marking pen stains.
? candle wax.
? jean dye transfer.
? paint.
? bleach. 
Accidental damage (single incident coverage): 
? all pet damage.
? punctures, rips, tears and burns.
? cracking and peeling of leather.
? Breakage of frames, springs, sleeper mechanisms, reclining mechanisms, heating and vibrating 
mechanisms.
? Up to $50 per seat cushion total coverage for the term of the Plan on any of the following: 
o seam stitching that comes loose on seat cushions;
o Damage to seat cushion zippers;
o loss of seat cushion foam resiliency in excess of 20%. "
Since it was reported as accumulation, there is no coverage for the claim presented.  If there is additional information the complainant has which may alter the coverage decision, they are more than welcome to submit it to me for further review.  At this time, the denial of coverage remains in force.  Please let me know if the BBB needs an additional information. 
Best Regards, 
***** *****
 
**** ********* ** ******

###-###-####
###-###-####

4/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased furniture thru ******* ********* of ******* **** and purchased damage insurance thru Safeware at the time of purchase. We now have a claim, claim #3023853. We have contacted a ***** there now three times, she either doesn't return calls but one time left a message that they have no one to service in our area. On 3-17 I left a message for her supervisor *****, he did not even bother to return our call at all. Not only do they have very poor customer service but have violated the contract we signed and paid for by not providing the services promised.

Desired Settlement: We would like them to provide the services they promised. If they will not do that then we would like not only a full refund of premiums paid but feel we should be compensated for time trying to get them to fulfill their promises and their violation of the contract

Business Response:

Dear BBB,

                We are in receipt of the above complaint.  After review of the claim, it appears there were communication issues between Safeware and *** *******.  Safeware did not do a good job at keeping the customer informed of the process and status of the claim.  I called *** ******* personally and apologized for the delays he has been experiencing.  I also spoke with the servicing dealer for his furniture and we have a plan in place for repairing the damaged equipment.  This plan has been communicated to *** *******.  The parts have already been ordered from the manufacturer and once received by the dealer, they will pick up the damaged furniture and bring it in for repairs.  Upon completion of the repairs, the furniture will be returned to *** ******* and I am confident Safeware will have met *** *******’s desired resolution at that time.    Please let me know if there is anything I can assist with at this point.  

***** *****

**** ********* ** ******

###-###-####

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

   I want to note that the BBB had to send a second request and am not convinced that we would have been contacted at all had it not been for filing a BBB complaint.

Regards,

**** *******

3/30/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint:

The original claim was filed on 2/2 with Safeware for my GE stackable unit. The warranty on my GE stackable unit was purchased by ***** **********, the seller of my condo unit at *** ******** ******* in ********* **. He put in the washer as part of my sales contract and purchased the extended warranty through Safeware since he bought a scratch and dent model from ********* ********* here in ******** in January 2013.

GE has been out to service the washer twice since the original claim was filed and rescheduled service twice due to illness and inclement weather. There was a miscommunication between GE and the tech they sent out, which resulted in another delay ordering a backordered part that was later shipped to my home. When I have called GE, I get pre-recorded information, automated systems, and re-routed to people who do not work with what I need and cannot help me.

Since receiving that part that was finally ordered, the washer motor, capacitator, and belt have all been replaced and repaired. The GE repairman told me my washer will require a new transmission and drive system, spin assembly, and drive train. He has to order these parts and it will take a second person to help him install it. More than $500 worth of repairs will have gone into the into the washer, according to the tech, and the original sales price for the unit was a little over $900.

I have been without a working washer in my home since January 22nd. I have spent more than $150 at a laundromat, and have done laundry at friends' and relatives homes more than 5 times. The way that my case has been handled is not only unacceptable, but unethical. Clearly, the unit is a piece of garbage and needs to be replaced. It is unethical to expect me to continue living without a working washer in my home and sending me to laundromats and other people's homes to wash my clothes when the service contract clearly indicates that a replacement is an option.

Desired Settlement: I want a brand new stackable washer and dryer that fits in my condo with a 5-year extended warranty on the new product.

Business Response: BBB-

After review of the complaint provided it has been determined **** *****'s claim was settled and paid on 3/25/15.  We cashed **** ***** out at the remaining balance on the contract for $752.  This was discussed with her and resolved.  I believe this case should be closed.  I provided a copy of the check for review and confirmation of payment.  Please let me know if there are any further questions or concerns.  
***** ***** 
###-###-####

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,
********* ******** *****

3/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint:

Short Story: I opened a claim for an incident I had with my cell phone on December 19th. Up until today after leaving daily voicemails and sending a couple of emails. I have not received a call back from Safeware or given a status on my claim. Claim # *******, claim for Online reference # **************** Detailed Story: I insured my cell phone with Safeware.com, as well as 2 tablets. Their sales department sells their product as a simple "insurance for the current price of the device at the time of the event", with a deductible that gets taken from what you are owed at the time of the event. "If we (Safeware) owe you $500.00, we take $50.00 for your deductible and mail you a check for $450.00". The way their sales people sell you the product, makes it a better alternative if you are someone who had to deal with cell phone carrier's insurance in the past. So here you are thinking that you are being smarter this time by paying for the insurance in advance instead of $10.00 added to your phone monthly bill, thinking you are better off not having to deal with repair centers, waiting days while your phone gets shipped, repaired and sent back to you. That is not the case with Safeware, and I regret dealing with them and every penny I spent on their insurance products.

On Friday December 19th, 2014, My cell phone suffered water damage and the screen got cracked. It was not usable, I called Safeware and they directed me to their page where I submitted a claim. Within a couple of days, I received a label to send my cell phone to Safeware. I was advised via email by ***** *******, the representative that they assigned to handle my claim to send the phone in "The prompt return of your equipment will aid in the timeliness of getting your unit repaired". That didn't sound right, after all, I had not purchased a repair plan. I still sent it, thinking this is just the email he sends to everyone. A week later, a whole week that I am supposed to be waiting without a phone, I received a call from some guy, who wasn't from Safeware, demanding I pay him a $50.00 deductible. I really didn't trust this person, who didn't even know how the issue with my phone was going to be resolved. I received this call close to the end of the day, and it was a Friday (12/26), so I had to wait until Monday to clear this issue out with Safeware. I called and was advised to speak to ***** *******, who I have left at least 7 voicemails for the next few days, and sent him at least 2 emails and have not gotten a response. The representative who answered the phone, advised this call was "probably a repair shop where my phone got sent for repairs". A week later, after leaving daily voicemails to my Representative and not getting a call back, (now 2 weeks after the claim had been submitted), I requested to speak to *****'s Manager. I left the answering machine a voicemail and have not heard back from Safeware since then. Days later, I was contacted by another guy claiming to be the repair guy saying the phone was repairable and "it should work" after I paid them the $50.00 deductible. I advised him I was still waiting to hear from Safeware, as this wasn't the product I purchased from them, I had no use for a severely damaged phone that they were trying to repair, and almost 3 weeks later, I had already purchased another phone as this is the phone where my family calls me, being that I have no home phone service Not once has Safeware attempted to contact me and follow up on the outcome of this claim. Today is January 25th 2015 and I have not heard from them and that shows their no intention to honor their end of the deal. Am I supposed to go without a cell phone for over a month or however many days their claim process lasts?

Desired Settlement: I expect to be paid for the full value of my cell phone. I have no use for a phone replacement because after a month and 6 days, I have already purchased a phone.

Business Response:

                We are in receipt of the complaint filed by *** *****  In review of the claim, it appears *** **** reported this claim to Safeware on 12/15/14 with a date of loss of 12/12/14.  The Claims Examiner, Roger Deborde, set up the claim and assigned the phone to be repaired through one of our certified vendors.  A box and label were provided to *** **** and the unit was sent in to be repaired.  *** ****'s policy is not a replacement policy and I would like to know where the statements he quoted in his complaint came from.  His policy clearly states under the Settlement Options section,  

"Our payment for damaged electronic data processing equipment, personal digital assistants, personal digital assistants with phone, [digital cameras,] digital audio players or peripherals will be the lesser of the following: 

1. The amount of insurance on the Policy Schedule Page for that unit; or 

2.  The cost at the time of the loss to repair or replace the damaged property with property of the same or like kind and quality; or 

3.  Scheduled items 3 years of age or older may be valued by using ACV as determined by us.    

We will not pay for any extra cost if you decide to repair or replace the damaged property with property of a better kind or quality or of a larger capacity at your own discretion.   

We further reserve the right to consult the manufacturer or other sources to determine replacement value of that of like kind and quality on the current market at the time of the loss.  Factory authorized or refurbished parts or replacements may be used in the course of repair or replacement by an authorized facility." 

                 For this particular claim the decision was made to repair the damaged device.  In order to release the repaired unit, *** **** is required to pay his $50 deductible.  In my review of the claim I see no issues with the service *** **** received.  We did not authorize *** **** to replace his phone so we hold no responsibility for the decision he made to purchase a new phone.  At this point, *** ****’s phone is repaired and has been for quite some time (12/26/14).  When the servicer contacted *** **** to collect the deductible prior to returning the phone, he refused to pay.  We will not be issuing him a check for the policy limit minus the deductible.  It is not our obligation per the insurance policy.  We now have a bill for the repairs of the phone which needs to be paid.  Once the deductible is received, *** **** will receive his repaired phone and if prefers to sell it to a third party at that time, that is up to him.  If *** **** has additional information he would like us to review, I am more than happy to take a look.  I hope this addresses the complaint filed.  Please let me know if there is anything further I can do to assist.  

Sincerely, 

***** *****

Safeware**** ********* ** ******    

Consumer Response: I will not send an invoice for repairs. I have bought a phone already, even changed carriers. I have no use for a phone I claimed for almost 90 days ago. 

12/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Lazy Boy Recliner in July 2013 for my husband got the extended warrenty, at a cost of $45.37. In September of 2014 the foot rest part of chair broke. When I called to get it fixed the store was going out of business an didn't have anyone to repair. Gave me this company an they couldn't find anyone either. I requested my money back, they said I could get it. After a month no money I called an was told they sent it out Oct. 17. Person in charge of my request was to check it out an call. Haven't received either.

Desired Settlement: The cost of the warrenty for chair was $45.37. This is what I'm seeking back.

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern

The recent complaint has been received and reviewed.  It appears we cancelled the complainant's contract 10/17/14.  That same day a draft in the amount of $45.90 was issued to **** *****.  Attached you will find a copy of the check from 10/17/14.  It was confirmed with the accounting department that this initial check is still outstanding so we issued a "Stop Pay" on that check and reissued another draft in the amount of $45.90 on 12/5/14.  This check was sent via Fed Ex on 12/8/14.  Attached you will find, a copy of the initial check, the confirmation of "Stop Payment", a copy of the 12/5/14 settlement check in the amount of $45.90 and the FedEx tracking information.  At this time we believe the request of **** ***** has been satisfied and there is nothing further we can do at this time.  We apologize that the initial check did not get to the complainant and hope the steps we have taken on the second check will guarantee delivery.  Please advise if there is anything else we can do at this time.  
Best Regards,
***** ***** 
**** ********* ** ******
Safeware

10/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On September 1, 2011 we purchased a laptop computer ($1,750.72 + tax) from the *** ******* ***** in ****** **** ** along with the SAFEWARE PROTECTION PLAN ($111.00). On May 7, 2014 the computer was reported stolen to the ****** **** Police Department and an INCIDENT/INVESTIGATION REPORT was filed listing the laptop as stolen. At first the Police Department had listed the item as lost but revised the report to read stolen (You don't call the police when you've lost property). SAFEWARE was notified of the stolen laptop and has ultimately through months of delay denied the claim. The fact is that the computer was stolen and SAFEWARE should pay the claim based on the policy written and sold to us. Our claim against SAFEWARE is for the replacement cost of the laptop computer stolen. We plan to also file a complaint with the ***** ******** Department of Insurance and to the *** ******* *****.

Desired Settlement: To pay for the stolen laptop computer as the insurance policy is written.

Business Response:

This is Safeware's response to the complaint filed above.  We received a new claim submitted by *** ******** ******** on 5/9/14.  It was reported that someone had stolen his laptop from his apartment.  The insured provided a copy of the police report filed(Attached) which listed the incident as "Lost Property" and did not give a narrative to explain the circumstances.   The police report also says there was no indication of forced entry into the property.  The claim was denied for lost property on 5/9/14.  On 5/14/14 we received an email from the insured saying that the police report was wrong and that only his wallet was lost and the backpack was stolen.  He provided an updated police report(attached) which lists all property as lost aside from the laptop which was now listed as stolen.  Also on the 1st report the value of the laptop was listed as $2,000 and the 2nd report it was listed as $1,000.  The insured informed us that the laptop was in the backpack at the time of the loss, which is inconsistent with the information on the 2nd police report which states the laptop was stolen but the backpack lost.  We then asked *** ******** to fill out a Statement of Events(attached).  It was returned by the insured saying that he left the backpack next to his bed and when he returned to his room the next day it was missing.  The insured then stated that some items could not be reported as stolen on the police report because the backpack and wallet may be unrelated.  All facts received from the inception of the claim have been extremely inconsistent.  After we upheld the denial, we were contacted by the insured's father, ***** ********, who is not scheduled on the policy.  He advised us that his son was confused when reporting the claim.  Unfortunately that does not change the received facts and supporting documentation received to date.  At this point we will be standing behind our denial.  If there is additional information presented which may alter this coverage decision, we would be more than happy to review for further consideration.  We did ask that the insured provide the narrative which would supplement the police report, but to date we have not received anything further.  Please let me know if there is anything further we can provide in response to this complaint. 

Best Regards,
**************
###########

Consumer Response: After reviewing the response given by *** *****, it confirms SAFEWARE is selling college students and others insurance that is worthless. The long response is assumption based and does not hold-up to the FACTS. FACT 1: After we received a copy of the ****** **** Police Report and realized items were marked as lost not stolen, we immediately contacted the police department to have them make the corrections to the report (see attached). FACT 2: The police report list several items as stolen including the laptop. However, *** ****** of SAFEWARE (works under *** *****) requested that we provide the narrative to the police report. FACT 3: On July the 28th, I spoke with **** ******* of the ****** **** Police Department and requested a copy of the police narrative; **** ******* informed me the narrative could not be obtained without a court subpoena. I informed *** ****** of SAFEWARE of our findings regarding the narrative (see attached emails with SAFEWARE). In *** ***** response, he makes it sound as if no effort was made to obtain the narrative, which reiterates *** *****'s response to this claim is not based on the facts. To provide clarity to this claim, we've tried in several emails to explain the fraternity house (location where property was stolen) could have 50 or more students and friends at any time and ******** ******** (*** student and owner of the laptop) didn't know at first if someone was simply playing a prank on him by hiding his property or if the property was indeed stolen. This was the first time ******** has had to call the police to make a report and he was shocked and confused through the whole process. If someone was playing a prank on him, he didn't want them to get in trouble by listing the property as stolen and then it turn-up latter. Bottom-line, you don't call the police to make a report of lost property and this laptop housed in a backpack was not lost, it was stolen and the police report list it as stolen along with other items.


Regards,
***** ********

Business Response:

 

After review of *** ********'s rejection to our original response, there was no additional information presented which would cause us to change our original coverage decision.  The coverage for this claim remains denied.  The information presented fully supports our coverage determination.  Please let us know if there is any additional information we can provide. 

  ***** *****

Consumer Response:

Here is my “reject business response” and documents requested by the BBB to complaint number #####:

Facts are hard things to argue with, and the fact remains the police report states the laptop was stolen. We can't help that the request by Safeware of a narrative was denied without a court order. **** ******* with the ****** **** Police Department can confirm the contents of this police report and the fact a court order is required for a copy of the narrative.

    **** ******** ******************** ***************************

Business Response: Safeware's position remains the same.  No information was presented which would make us reverse our coverage decision.

Consumer Response: It's of poor business practice and lack of ethics for these employees of Safeware to assume they know what happened to this laptop, and not follow the facts of a Police Report when a claim should be paid. We have already and will continue to make as many people aware of this fraudulent insurance company. We have spoke with the *** ****** ***l Student Store and have filed a complaint with the school administrator about this case. We have also filed a complaint with the ***** ******** Department of Insurance. Typically, when a business is run as Safeware is being run, they will eventually have enough poor recommendation and bad word of mouth to be forced out of business.   

Regards,
***** ********

6/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 11/20/2013, I purchased an insurance policy for a used computer I bought. I paid $69 for the policy (reference ####. After needing repairs to the computer, Safeware informed me my policy would not cover my computer because it was used, and verbally agreed (it was either ****** ******, or ******* *****) to refund me the $69 I paid and cancel my policy. I never received my refund, and I've since spoken to customer service 5-6 times over the last 7 months regarding the matter with no help whatsoever.

Desired Settlement: I would like Safeware to stand by their verbal agreement and to refund me the $69.00 I paid for the insurance policy.

Business Response:

Please accept my apology for the delay in responding to this complaint.  Be advised, as of June 6th, 2014, Safeware refunded the customer $69.00 and cancelled his contract.  I have attached the confirmation of the credit transaction to this response.    Also be advised I reached out to *** ******* on Friday June 13th, 2014 at ###-###-#### to inform him of the transaction and confirm his receipt of the funds.  I left a voicemail and have not received a response to date.  At this point I feel Safeware has achieved *** *******'s desired settlement.  Please let me know if there is anything else I can assist with. 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ########, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,
**** *******

6/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dear *******, i took a policy from safeware and paid premium for whole 01 year and paid extra for taking 01 year international insurance on the policy. In the middle of the policy i changed my belongings and they removed my international coverage without even informing me and taking my consent. when i file a claim they said you dont have an International Coverage. when i showed them the original policy that international coverage was bought for 01 year and fully paid, after this they are not replying to any of my mails and ignored my mails clearly stating that you didnt has an international coverage. i am sending you the copy of policy which states that i bought international coverage. when i bought the policy i was residing in Texas and now recently moved to Illinois they are making stories just not to pay for my claim Insurance company is SAFEWARE **** ********* *** *** ** ****** ** ***** *** **** *** ***2 regards ***** *****

Desired Settlement: they pay for my claim

Business Response:

We have reviewed the complaint provided and our response is outlined below.  ***** ***** has insurance on 3 pieces of electronic equipment totaling $4979.00 in value.  In October of 2013 *** ***** submitted a claim for the loss of all 3 of his units in a mall in *******.  On 2/14/14 *** ***** contacted Safeware via the internet to remove the three items from his policy and replace them with 3 different units.  On the same day the changes were processed.  At that time the International Endorsement was removed from the policy at 1:59 pm EST due to the prior overseas lost property claim.  Confirmations of all changes were emailed to *** ***** at ----------- on 2/14/14.  On 2/17/14 a $68.95 refund was issued back onto *** *****’s Visa Credit Card ending in #### for the prorated amount left on the International Endorsement.  On 4/18/14 *** ***** reported a new claim for theft of all his items again from a Taxi Cab in ********.  The claim was denied because there was no International Endorsement on his policy.  There was a 2 month gap between when *** ***** reported his new claim and we sent over the policy changes and issued a refund.  *** ***** did not contact us at any time during that gap and never questioned the reason for the $68.95 refund on his credit card.  Because there was no International Endorsement on the policy at the time of the claim, we are standing behind our coverage denial.  Please let us know if there is any other information or clarification you need from us and we will be more than happy to provide it.    

Consumer Response: first time when i bought the policy i paid for complete one year including the international coverage. and how come they can remove my International coverage without even informing me or communicating me. 

 
It means that they can do anything with the system and policy without even informing the customer which is not legal and professional. As a customer i have every right to know whatever changes happened to my policy. 
 
They are accepting that they never informed me when they removed international coverage as i was not even aware of the refund. 
 
in my first claim also they didn't paid me for the loss and they are stating that " the old things were replaced by new ones the same day" which is not true. 
 
I emailed them more than 15 times to all the people but they never replied so i went online on the website to do it. They were just ignoring my mails and this shows their unprofessional attitude.
 
they are even stating that " *** ***** did not contact us at any time during that gap and never questioned the reason for the $68.95 refund on his credit card" 

i am not even aware about the refund and 2ndly its the responsibiltiy of the Insurance company to infirm the custtomer of any changes happenign on the account. 

they should pay for loss and should accept their mistakes.

Thet are just trying to be fishy and smart as they dont have any intentions to pay for my stolen belongings.
Regards,
***** *****

Business Response:

BBB-

I appreciate the response from *** *****, however Safeware is still standing behind the decision to deny this claim since the insured did not have the International Endorsement on his policy at the time of the loss.  I will reiterate our email corespondence to *** ***** when the changes were made to his policy and the International Endorsement removed from his policy.  There was that correspondence as well as a refund credited to ** *****'s account.  At no time after the correspondence or reimbursement did *** ***** reach out to us to add the Endorsement or question the refund processed.  It would be up to *** ***** to review his policy as well as his written correspondence from us.  At that point he could reach out to us to request any additional coverages or ask any questions he may have.  That was not done until after this claim was denied.  It is still Safeware's position that this claim remained denied.  Let me know if there is any other additional information the BBB would require from Safeware.  Thank you for your time and consideration.

***** *****

Consumer Response:

no mail corresponsndece was done from safware side informing me that my Intenrnational covergae has been removed, please ask him to show me the proof of correspondence stating that they informed me abt the removal of international coverage 
Regards,
***** ***** 

Business Response:

After review of the information provided, it is still Safeware's position to deny coverage on this claim.  Safeware informed *** ****** of the policy changes and then advised him of the credit going back onto his card.  The refund had nothing to do with the units on the policy, it had to do with the policy changes and removal of the International Endorsement.  Again, Safeware stands behind the original coverage denial.  Please advise if you have any further questions or concerns.  Thanks

***** ***** **** ********* ** ******

Consumer Response:  they have not given any written confirmation to me of removing international coverage 

 
Regards,
***** *****






























Business Response: Full written correspondence was provided by way of email as well as the new policy issued to *** ***** without the International Endorsement.  Also, the premium refund check is more of a reason for *** ***** to reach out to the organization with any further questions or concerns.  If *** ***** failed to read his policy or question the refund until the time of claim, it is not the fault of Safeware.  *** ***** owes a duty to review his coverages and policy and bring any questions or concerns to our attention. 

Consumer Response:  its the duty of the company to inform any changes happening on the policy in writing , not assuming that cusotmer knows everything . its in the Duty of disclosure to make customer aware about any changes happening in policy 

Regards,
***** *****

Business Response: The information presented is nothing new and nothing we have not already reviewed.  *** *****'s claim remains denied. 

12/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Safeware refuses to reimburse me for my iPhone5 that was stolen. My iphone was stolen when I went to the Food Court at a Shopping Mall. I've talked with my wife before entering the Food Court and I've placed it safely in my back pocket. I was waiting in the line for my turn wherein I felt regular sensation of people moving behind me and felt sensation around my pockets. But I didn't realize this was a pick pocketing until a few minutes later when I walked towards my car and checked my pockets for my phone. My jeans pockets were too deep for the phone to have simply fallen out on its own. Immediately after my phone was stolen, Ive tried to track it by making multiple calls to it, then tried to track the phone using findmyiphone app, but of no avail. Then I've filed for a Police Report. All of the above details were mentioned on the report. As I didn't have any suspects information, its mentioned that "Its still remains unknown as to how the phone was stolen". Which later I confirmed with the Police department that its quite common for them to have it on many of the reports. But this became a point for excuse for Safeware for denying my claim. Safeware comes back to me saying that as its unknown how and who stole it and there is no proof that it was indeed stolen, they've categorized it as "Mysterious Disappearance. Safeware team was asking me to list the suspect details and how and who picked the phone. Had I known it, I would have handled the situation myself, by raising alarm etc.I've then discussed the same with the police department Sergeant about the details on the report. Seargeant was surprised as there is nothing strange on the report, as they keep giving such report regularly for various claims and its strange for this company to deny claim on the basis of that statment. Sergeant was courteous enough to help me by taking any further questions from the Insurance company. I've sent emails and VM to the claim processor and his supervisor but I never got any response back.

Desired Settlement: Provide a replacement iPhone5 or equivalent value

Business Response: This response it to let the BBB know we have resolved the complaint with the customer.  We honored his settlement request and cashed him out for the value of a like kind and quality unit.  Please let me know if there is anything further we can do. 

Consumer Response:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ########. I've heard back from Safeware that they are going to settle my claim in 10 days. So I would like to confirm the same once the claim processing is complete.

I would like to sincerely appreciate the efforts of BBB in helping to solve the customer's problems in a timely manner. Thank you very much !

Regards,
********* ***********





















Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

8 Customer Reviews on The Safeware Insurance Agency Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart