BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
21 Counties in Central Ohio
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Recovery One?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Recovery One

Phone: (614) 336-4207 Fax: (614) 336-1150 View Additional Phone Numbers 3240 Henderson Rd, Columbus, OH 43220 http://www.recoveryonellc.com/

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Recovery One meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Recovery One include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 19 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

19 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 17
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 19

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Recovery One
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 30, 2000 Business started: 02/01/1995 Business started locally: 02/01/1995 Business incorporated: 04/10/2000 in OH
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Geoff Cameron, President Mr. Jerry Cameron, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Geoff Cameron, President
Business Category

Collection Agencies

Alternate Business Names
Recovery One Limited Liability Company Recovery One, LLC Recovery Plus
Industry Tips
Credit - BBB General Statement For All Debt, Credit TOBs

Additional Locations

  • 3240 Henderson Rd

    Columbus, OH 43220 (614) 336-4207 (877) 205-2846

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 205-2846(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 7/3/2014 I found out from my credit reporting agency that I had an account in collections. This account was with ****** ***** ** ******* in the amount of $303.00. I researched how to contact the company and sent them an e-mail and it is as follows....E-Mail Address: ****************** Comments : My name is **** *******. I received a notice from my credit reporting agency that I have a debt in collections with you in the amount of $303.00 with ****** ***** ** *******. I did do business with this company and had a final balance in that amount and also sent them a check in that amount that from what I can see they never cashed. I never had an issue with paying them. The main issue I have is that I was never notified in writing about this debt and never given the chance to settle this debt before it was placed in collection. I would also like to know why I was NEVER contacted by Recovery One before you reported this on my credit! This is against the law! I want this fixed and removed from my credit report or I will report your company. Please respond ASAP as to! how this will be rectified and removed from all 3 credit bureaus. I Need answers fast or I will be filing a complaint with the attorney generals office. I get a response to my e-mail as follows......****, Please call my office. We have called you over 12 times, and we also sent you a letter on 2-6-14. On 2-19-14 I spoke to you but you hung up in the middle of our conversation. I just called you a moment ago at 9:26pm Eastern Time. You can reach me at ###-###-####. Have a Great Day ! First off I never received phone calls and I never received any letters from Recovery One. After arguing with the person a little bit I stated that I was NEVER running from this debt and that I will pay today on the condition that it gets completely removed from my credit bureaus. Her supervisor was undoubtedly right next to her and stated that once it is paid in full that it will be removed from my credit! I asked her if I could have it in writing stating that it WOULD be removed and ****** continued to say that until I pay they can't give me anything. I trusted what they were saying and I did pay the full amount. She had trouble processing my payment at first and said that she tried to call me twice and I never responded. I saw once again in an e-mail message the following...... ****, That number you gave me is coming back invalid tried to call twice and left you a message. I told her that I never got a phone call from her and she proceeded to say that it must be blocked. None the less I paid in full and ****** sent me a confirmation of payment as follows........****, Your authorization code for the payment of 303.00 to window ************* is ########, this account will be updated to reflect paid in full. The issue that I have with them is the fact that they lied to me stating that it will be removed entirely from my credit report and not simply "this account will be updated to reflect paid in full"! This is unacceptable and they lied to me. The conversation between myself and ****** was most certainly recorded and ****** clearly stated, talking with her supervisor that it would be removed from my credit and that's what needs to be done. Another issue I have with this company is they state that they sent mail twice and I have no proof that they sent it. This should be registered mail with signature and then if I sign for something I have proof and so do they! This should never have been put in the hands of a collection agency to begin with as I had sent a check to Window World for the full balance of $303.00 (Maybe its because I had issues from the get-go with WW of Jackson and they put me in collections as well as all the other problems I had with installation etc....)

Desired Settlement: I want Recovery One to: DO WHAT THEY SAID THEY WOULD DO!...... and send me a letter stating that they will DELETE this collection from my credit bureaus and also live up to their promise by contacting the bureaus that they report to and delete and correct any variance in my score because of what they reported.

Business Response: We will be sending a delete notice to the credit bureaus for this account this month. 

7/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I provide consulting services for a client Recovery One has engaged with in an attempt to collect a debt. I have no association with the business other than that as a contractor, which Recovery One has known. Recovery one pulled my personal credit report, which it had no basis nor was authorized. In an attempt to bring this to their attention, I spoke with the collections manager who was very rude and made it a point to use a piece of personal information they had obtained in a disparaging and derogatory manner. Not only was this unprofessional, their approach was disingenuous and unethical.

Desired Settlement: A phone call to explain the legal basis for the action, an apology, and remedy of the hard inquiry on my credit report.

Business Response: We apologize if our conversation was taken in a disparaging or derogatory manner. Because the complainant was taking phone calls at the place of business, asking for copies of itemized statements in regards to this commercial debt, and listed as a registered agent for the company, our collector was led to believe complainant was taking responsibility for the outstanding balance due. We have sent a notice to Experian to remove/suppress the inquiry per the request below.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID #####, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,
******* *****

6/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a chip repaired this past winter by ******** ********** An auto repair shop was kind enough to let us use their heated garage so the technician could get his work done in a warm place. When my wife handed him a credit card, he said that the insurance would take care of it. That was 6 months ago. We never heard anything about it. Then my wife gets a call from Recovery One who asked for me, and they would not tell her what this was about-she thought I had possibly had an accident and the window was smashed. She contacted me and I told her I had no idea what this was about. She told them if they did not give her the information, she would not have me return the call. They did not identify themselves as collection, just that I should call Safelite. I told my wife not to worry about it since we never got a bill and it was probably telemarketing. Then my wife received another call several days later, and ********* ******** at phone number ###-###-#### was extremely rude, offensive, harassing, abusive, and accused us of being low lifes for not paying the bill. My wife tried to ask questions such as where were the bills sent and tried to advise them we never received any bills (they were sent to the auto repair shop, not our home-and the repair shop never let us know). ********* accused my wife of not caring about her credit score, which is excellent and in the high 700s. They would not listen to her and finally she hung up. My wife contacted ******* ********* and they were extremely apologetic for *********'s behvior, and the bill was immediately paid. My wife also contacted our auto insurance, and they NEVER recieved any billing from ********* but told us to submit our bill and it would be taken care of. What an awful company!!! They need to fire this person because she obviously has no professionalism, lack of couth, and does not know how to listen. We are now looking into filing harassment charges against the company.

Desired Settlement: I want a direct apology from ********* ******** to us for the harassment and abuse. Perferably I would like to see ********* reprimanded for her behavior, and even terminated because she does not belong in this business with the chip she has on her shoulder, her rude and offensvie behavior, and nasty attitude. She has to realize that not all people who have been sent to collections are bad and there may be misunderstanding or mistakes made on the company's part, in the case, ******** ********** Again, we will be filing harassment charges agains this company if there is no apology.

Business Response: We offer our sincere apologizes to *** ****** for feeling he was treated in an unprofessional manner. 

Consumer Response:

Obviously it is not from the person who was threatening, harassing, and rude. I want a direct apology from this Erin Anderson who made the call. The company did not even spell my last name correct, so they don't give a **** about what happened. . 

Regards,
***** *** *** ******* 

Business Response: We sent a follow up email after submitting the response to the BBB to correct the spelling, and even called them but they were closed at 4pm in the afternoon - apparently the correction was not made by the BBB. There is no way to change spelling after you hit submit, or even to edit a response. It was not intentional. Again, we sincerely apologize to Mr ********

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID #####, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. But you still did not address the issue of **** ******** and her threats, harassment, and rudeness, letting me know that someone spoke with her about this complaint.

Regards,
***** *** *** *******

6/10/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 1, 2011 Recovery One LLC of Dublin Ohio file a Experian Credit report on my credit. I contact Recovery One LLC immediately and proved these charges were a result of identity theft. I sent all documents to Recovery One LLC of Ohio. Recovery One agreed I was not responsible and "CLOSED" the account. Today, 6-1-14 ... three years later Recovery One submitted the same false overdue account to Experian damaging my otherwise excellent credit. The Experian report date today shows the account opened on 5-1-2011 and "CLOSED" ... yet Recovery One still submitted the false report to Experian. This conduct can be only one of two issues incompetence or malicious behavior. Please help me resolve this issue with Recovery One LLC of Ohio. Also, I have screen captures of my credit report I can upload and provide the BBB with to prove my case.

Desired Settlement: A written apology from Recovery One LLC of Ohio. Also Recovery One of Ohio must fully "RETRACT" the false credit report from 05-01-2011 resubmitted on 06-01-2014 and clear my excellent credit. Why does Recovery One LLC of Ohio insists I must correct their mistakes and errors!!!!

Business Response:

This customer contacted yesterday and did not give us an opportunity to resolve this account before filing a complaint.

He hung up on us when we asked him for more information. We strive to resolve all complaints and investigate all disputes.

The customer says he contacted us in May 2011 about this account, however he did not contact us, he contacted our client.

Our client subsequently sent this file to us for collection action. They have asked us to report the account to the complainant's credit.

Due to the complaint received yesterday, we have reviewed the clients notes in order to validate the debt and address the dispute. After reviewing the clients notes we do not feel that this account should remain open or active with our agency, therefore, we are sending a notice to the credit bureaus to delete the entry and we are closing the account in our system.

We were simply doing the job we were asked to do by our client, I can assure you there was no incompetence or malicious intent. I will add that we would have resolved this directly with complainant if he had given us the opportunity.

Consumer Response:

Until my credit is cleared, and proof given of this action, I’m certain Recovery One will do as little as possible and be as dishonest as possible about the mistakes they made regarding my credit.  Also, I’m disturbed at the level of dishonesty Recovery One & **** ***** are willing to go in replying to my original complaint.
I contact Recovery One on 6/02/2014. To date Recovery One has made NO attempt to contact me, in any manner … either before or after willfully damaging my credit. I spoke to **** ***** at 9:15am on 6/2/14 at (866)319-1275. When I asked why Recovery One damaged my credit … her reply in a loud angry voice was … “I have sixty people here, do you think I can keep track of everything going on?” I then asked her if she had any idea how much time and money she was costing innocent people with their mistakes. At this point **** ***** terminated the phone conversation I had initiated.  As proof,  I have my phone records from the call which will show I made the call and stayed online longer than **** *****. **** *****’s conduct alone is enough for the BBB to take action against Recovery One to protect the unwary public from such angry dishonest business behavior.  
Why didn’t Recovery One prior to willfully damaging my credit … make any attempt to contact me? Any attempt to try to recover the debt? The reason is obvious … there is no debt and Recovery One’s actions are a mistake at my expense. 
Why didn’t Recovery One after willfully damaging my credit … make any attempt to contact me?  Again the reason is obvious … they know they’ve made a costly mistake and are not mature or honorable enough to admit the truth.
I want to be clear about Recovery one’s response regarding the statement of … Recovery One is just responding to their clients request to file on my credit. The incident in question took place in early 2011, over three years ago. I quickly and responsibly resolved this issue with Recovery One and their client. Why then after three years would Recovery One’s client request Recovery One file on my Experian credit after three years? This is a dishonest attempt to distort the truth so Recovery One is NOT liable.  If Recovery One was simply doing what their client requested … produce the document showing the request, by the client, to file on my Experian credit. Recovery One will NOT and can NOT produce this document.  No client would request damaging a persons credit regarding an resolved issue over three years old. 
I’m certain Recovery One’s actions are unlawful …
Filling on my credit without making any attempt to contact person in question.  Still to date, Recovery One has made NO attempt in any manner to contact me.  Filling again after three years for a resolved matter.
My address, phone number, and other contact information is the same as the information Recovery One gave to Experian to unlawfully damage my credit. So why didn’t Recovery One try to contact me?
I've attached a screen capture of Recovery One's unlawful attempt to damage my credit using Experian credit service.  Also, this document will prove the dates I spoken of earlier. 
In conclusion, until I see my credit cleared by Recovery One, and all of Recovery One's actions corrected … I can NOT and will NOT close any complaint or allow Recovery One to willingly distort the truth.
Regards,
***** *****

4/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i was called by a woman named **** who told me she was from safelite and was needing payment for a bad check. i explained to her that that account was closed because of a theft and i was not liable for this amount. i explained also i would get a police report to her that would show the woman they caught using my checks. this incident happened 2years ago so i was very surprised to be contacted now.. my complaint lies in her verbal abuse to me over the phone, and the fact she said she was from safelite autoglass and it wasnt until i recieved a letter that i realized she was a employee of an collection agency and had misreprsented herself. she verbally was abusive and rude . i called the number on the letter to inform the manager of what had transpired and she got on the phone called me a liar for not getting her police report., and hung up on me. i feel threated and unsure what will happen to my credit if i can not resolve this matter.

Desired Settlement: please ask that no further contact from this collection agency be done...i am faxing police report and hope this will resolve this matter. i would also like this noted in your file that employee what rude and dishonest with customer.

Business Response: We received the police report via fax and then closed the account. 

2/15/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The consumer is calling in regards to an outstanding bill with ****** ****** that was turned over to Recovery One in Dublin Ohio. The consumer is trying to set up payments with the supplier. The supplier is calling harassing and threatening the consumer, stating that she will not stop calling. She will continue to call his family members and stock him on Facebook. The supplier is spoofing the consumer's family members phone numbers. The consumer just wants to set up a payment plan.

Desired Settlement: The consumer would like to set up a payment plan without the harassment and threats.

Business Response: **** *** is not a consumer. We're calling him about a debt his business (******** Homes, LLC) owes to our client. Our client sold $3,126.67 worth of materials to his business and **** didn't pay them for them. They asked for payment and he ignored their demands. We've asked for payment and he's now ignored our demands. When we finally were able to get **** on the phone he used profane language with our staff and told us that he'd pay by the end of the month.    Surprise, surprise, end of month and no payment, so we simply do the difficult job we are hired to do, and call **** again to prompt him to make good on his business debt. He tells us he's going to send the client $1.00. We are highly skeptical that **** is sincere about setting up a payment plan. If he wanted to set up a payment plan, why did he not do this with the original creditor, why did he not return our phone calls, or respond our letters, and say "Hey, I'd like to set up a payment plan?"    Why does **** feel that his business is entitled to an interest free loan? Was that part of the original arrangement? If **** is not a consumer, why did he file a complaint and pose as a consumer to the office of the Attorney General? It looks like an old fashioned stall tactic to me.   If **** is serious about taking care of this debt he needs to call our office immediately and set up an arrangement to pay. Our client only gives us so much time to resolve these matters before they take the account back and file suit against their non-paying customers, like ****, using their in-house attorney.    

2/1/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Where to start with these people. I have been receiving threatening phone calls from Recovery One and ***** ******** for almost 2 months now. When it first started it was a simple question of if I was going to resolve a debt with them instead of the main creditor. Knowing full well that collection agencies boost the total amount of the debt I informed them that I would contact the main creditor directly and settle the account. It was at this point that the agent started to get very rude and threatened to put a lien on my property and would contact all of my business and personal contacts to collect the amount. When I refused to pay them I was told that the main creditor would never talk to me to settle the debt and that I HAD to settle with Recovery One. I know that this is a standard threat so that the recovery agent can collect her portion of the debt. I informed them to not call again and that this would be the last communication that we would have about the matter (I hung up on her).Two weeks later the phone calls started again but this time it was far worse. When she couldn't get ahold of me directly she began calling my parents (normal procedure). However, her line of questioning was completely uncalled for during those calls. My parents told me she said things like "when was the last time you saw *******?" to which my fathers response was "Not recently." and her response was "So you're saying that you didn't see him at Christmas?" in all her rude glory. On top of that line of questioning she also started a new technique. She spoofed my mothers phone number into her phone system to make it look like phone calls from my mother. This is in direct violation of the FDCPA as it is Deceitful Practices. On top of the threats and now clear violations of several points of the FDCPA, Recovery One and ***** ******** have crossed the line. I have contacted the Attorney Generals office as well as my own personal attorney on this matter.Owing a debt is one thing. This is a personal attack now.

Desired Settlement: I want to talk to the owner of the company directly. I want written apologies from all employees who have been involved with this account. I also want my account removed from their system and never to be contacted again. If these are not met then I am prepared to move forward with legal actions.

Business Response: This complaint stems from a business to business transaction. **** ****** is not a consumer as it regards to this matter therefore and therefore we believe it is outside of the scope of the BBB.   It's troublesome that this individual has the audacity to not pay our client for the services he ordered, file a complaint against our business after being prompted to pay, all the while leaving complaints unresolved that have been filed against his business with the BBB.   http://www.bbb.org/centralohio/business-reviews/construction-and-remodeling-services/powell-restorations-in-columbus-oh-70088278/

12/24/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ************ The consumer is calling in regards to a supplier called Recovery One in ****** ****. The supplier is harassing the family members of the consumer by spoofing the business number of the consumer so the family members will pick up. The partner's phone rang with his mother's number and it was the supplier. The supplier is using foul and abusive language. The contact person at the supplier is ***** ******** at ###-###-#### who claims to be a law firm ********* ********* *** *****.

Desired Settlement: The consumer would like to see this supplier stop the harassing and spoofing of phone numbers to the consumer and family members.

Business Response: This account was forwarded to a law firm and is no longer active in our system. The business will not receive any further communication from our office.

12/5/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Recovery One LLC recently reported a derogatory information on my account for $375. I had an account with ******** ****** which I was billed erroneous for a property that was essential vacant. I attempted several times to resolves this issue with ******** and it appear they were more interested in being dishonest than resolving my issues. After several weeks of going back and forth with ******** representative, they agreed to remove ALL inaccurate charges which left my balance at $100 (I have email proof of this conversation).

When I called to pay $100, it appeared their system had not updated so their billing department still maintained I had to pay $375. Randomly, I got a letter from Recovery One stating I owed ******** $375. I clearly stated in my email to their representative that I'm willing to pay $100 I previous agreed with ********. Rather than accepting payment, they chose to report the debt on my credit.

Recently, Recovery one representative emailed me again trying to shake me down again. This time, he told me the amount has been discounted 50% to $187. I still maintained as a matter of principle that I would only pay the amount I agreed with ********. I was recently notified by my credit monitoring agency that a derogatory information had been reported on my account as such I believe its only best to report this to BBB.

Let me be clear, I'm formally requesting that you validate this debt in accordance with Fair Debt Collection Practices Act, 15 USC 1692g Sec. 809 (b) that your claim is disputed and validation is requested. As I have noticed that youve reported this item on my credit profile, I am giving you seven (7) days from the receipt of this letter to remove this item from all credit reporting agency. If you fail to comply with this request, I will consult with my legal counsel for suit. This includes any listing any information to a credit reporting repository that could be inaccurate or invalidated or verifying an account as accurate when in fact there is no provided proof

Desired Settlement: Please be aware, that I'm not asking for a copy of the invoice but rather request that with the immediate effect you delete this item from my credit report. Please be warned, I'm a CPA attorney myself so I dont have any extra cost to bring litigation against your company. I'm sure you are also aware that if for any reason, any of my current financial deals fall through as a result of such misinformation in my report, I will sue you to the tune of my loss and more as allowed under the law.

Business Response:

Thanks for bringing this complaint to our attention. ******** ****** has asked us to report this account has delinquent with the credit bureaus because despite their attempts to resolve the matter directly with the complainant, the account has gone unpaid. We have asked ******** ****** to review this complaint and advise us of their records of this matter and how they would like us to proceed. According to their records, there is a balance due of $374.52. ******** ****** agreed in an email conversation with the complainant to remove cancellation charges amounting to $225.00 contingent upon the complainant re-enrolling for service. This would bring the balance due to $149.52. According to our clients records the complainant did not re-enroll for service, despite attempts by the client to reach out to the complainant about re-enrollment and resolving this matter directly. 

After reviewing this matter our client has advised us that they are willing to accept the $149.52 as settlement at this point even though the complainant did not re-enroll as promised. 

We’ve updated the account as disputed with the credit bureau as requested by the complainant. 

We believe the explanation of the balance and the creditor’s information below is a satisfactory response to the request for verification of the debt as requested by the complainant.

******** ******

If you believe we can be of further assistance in this matter please do not hesitate to contact our office at ###-###-####.

Consumer Response:
First of all, I was very clear in my dispute below- do not report any information to my credit report as this matter is still open and yet to be validated. This include reporting a matter as "disputed" when in fact you have no basis for this. It's still a derogatory information and I will consult my attorney to initiate a law suit against both you and your client (********). You obviously do not have your records right and I will be more than happy to bring all the supporting evidence with me to court if need be. I will ensure you all are answerable to the law as you have violated a major part of the Fair Debt Collection Practice Act which states : If the consumer notifies the debt collector in writing within the thirty day period described in subsection (a) that the debt, or any portion thereof, is disputed, or that the consumer request the name and address of the original creditor, the debt collector shall cease collection of the debt, or any disputed portion thereof, until the debt collector obtains verification of the debt or any copy of a judgement, or the name and address of the original creditor, and a copy of such verification or judgement, or name and address of the original credit, is mailed to the consumer by the debt collector.

Notice, the law didnt say to report the information of my credit as "disputed" but rather seize all collection proceeding. Below you mentioned I had requested you report the matter as "disputed" on  my credit. This is a false statement based on my previous communication with you. As such, you guys continue to violate the law. Your office has also threaten me via email to report the matter to credit agencies after I clearly pointed this out to your office. The mere fact of threatening me is against the law. I will allow your office another five (5) business day to remove all derogatory information off my credit profile. Once this is done with evidence of deletion (for my record), you may contact me at 713-569-1340 to receive your payment of $100 which is what has been agreed to. I certainly hope you guys have ALL your records in order and no emails deleted as I clearly have evidence to proof my basis of $100 settlement. I would not be scary or false into a settlement that you clearly don't have a basis for.

Let me reiterate again, failure to delete ALL derogatory information off my record within the next five (5) business day will result in a formal lawsuit as your office has blatantly disregarded the law which governs collection practices. 
(b) If the consumer notifies the debt collector in writing within the thirty-day period described in subsection (a) that the debt, or any portion thereof, is disputed, or that the consumer requests the name and address of the original creditor, the debt collector shall cease collection of the debt, or any disputed portion thereof, until the debt collector obtains verification of the debt or any copy of a judgment, or the name and address of the original creditor, and a copy of such verification or judgment, or name and address of the original creditor, is mailed to the consumer by the debt collector.
Regards,
******* ********

Consumer Response: The evidence of proof remains on the business. Its clear that they are inconsistent and only resulted to a lower in a lower amount. First they were harrassing me for $345, then its $275, then its $187 now its $149.52. Your office should ask them to provide proof that I even owe the balance to start with or any email suggesting the fact that I agreed to pay $149.52. I'm happy to provide my proof but only after they have sufficient supported their claims. Again, the burden of proof remains with the business.

11/1/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I became aware of, Recovery One LLC, when I requested my credit report. Prior to this, I had no knowledge of this company. After further research, I found that the allegations where from ******** **** *****, for services on a car I never owned nor have any knowledge of, and the agent I spoke with, whose name I will not listed, stated that my check was written and left for the service provider. After, I explain that I was disputing this account, she advised me to go ** and file a police report. Did I mention, that I live in ****** How can a company take a check with obtaining proper ID., service a vehicle with no one at the site, and place a negative mark on anyone credit report that matches that name. In addition to this, I requested a Debt Validation from Recovery One, LLC by way of USPS on 09/27/2013. As of today, 10/31,2013, they have failed to respond. This is a direct Violation of FCRA, which states that upon the consumers request, it shall be provided or removed. I will not be BULLIED into paying for anything that is not rightfully mines even tho the alledged amount of fairly low. So, again, either validate not verify this debt or remove it from my credit files. Regards,******* *********

Desired Settlement: Removed from all credit files and a letter to my address reflecting such action has been taken

Business Response: We sent a notice to the credit bureaus to delete the entry two days ago. The account is closed in our office. Any further contact she receives about this matter will not be from our business.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,
******* *********

10/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On September 10, 2013 I was contacted by e-mail from ***** **** with Recovery One on behave of ********. from e-mail address of ***************************** His address in the e-mail is ******** ph # ###-###-####. acc # *********. attempting to collect $71.20

I reply to his email the same day asking if he will take 50 % off as full and final. On Sep 13, 2013 he reply to my email stating that they agree to settle claim as full and final if payment was received by Sep 30, 2013.

On Sep 30, 2013, I made the payment of $ 35.60 as consideration of his offer and acceptance of the full and final agreement. However. Recovery One even after the payment made. has reported a negative past due on credit reporting agencies and refuse to remove the inquire nor returned my phone call nor e-mail.

Desired Settlement: I demand Recovery One to remove/ erase any negative pass due on all credit report agencies as noted in this agreement for payment. Otherwise, I will obligated to seek a different remedy in accordance to state and federal law for fraud.

Business Response: We will send a notice to delete this information from the complainant's credit. 


Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.

Consumer Response: the collection and negative status on my credit report has not been removed.

Regards,

***** ******






























10/10/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have received repeated harassing phone calls, voice mail messages have been left recorded and I have kept these as evidence. Company continues to make numerous, multiple calls in the attempt to harass. If someone calls you every hour on the hour through course of the day, Company should know or should know that can be perceived as harassing. I have requested that they stop, along with disputing my bill. The bill was $3200.00 a month ago, and they have tacked on $1400.00 in fees which is outside the FDCPA requirements, that allow reasonable fees, not the 500%, this is a collection agency and is bound to know the FDCPA.Violations Repeated phone calls with the intent to harass me, and illegal outrageous fees that are not allowed.

Desired Settlement: Would like the phone calls to stop, fine the company, remove from my credit report and stop calling.

Business Response: Although we deny the veracity of the allegations in said complaint, we are closing the file in our office. 

Consumer Response:

This needs to be closed and removed from my credit report.

They have violated the FDCPA Numerous times, and I have recorded harassing phone calls that can support my position.  This balance is grossly overexaggerated and is another violation.  $1400 was added on in the course of a month, that is a gross violation of the FDCPA.

If the business closes my file and removes from my credit report, returns it to the client.  I will be satisfied at that point.

Regards,

***** *****






























Business Response: We have not reported this account to the credit bureau.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business  and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** *****




















8/25/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The consumer is receiving phone calls from Recovery One which is a collection agency out of OH that claims she owes a debt to ******* ******* which is one of her vendors. When the consumer received a statement in the mail, it displayed a zero balance owed to ******* *******. The collector is spoofing their phone number to make it appear as though the consumer is receiving a phone call from her parents and the consumer's own cell and business phone number. The consumer receives collection calls before 8am. The supplier does not always provide her name when calling to collect and has never provided the consumer with the name of the agency which she works for, the amount owed, or account numbers. Claims filed with each of the following agencies: FTC Case #: against Recovery One:************* against ******* *******:************* FCC: 13-********* **The consumer played recorded phone calls of the incidents to myself.** (AG operator)

Desired Settlement: The consumer would like for the collector to stop contacting her illegally. The consumer would like for the supplier to be fined, investigated and shut down for illegal collection practices.

Business Response:

We have closed the account in our office.

 

3/1/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was a victim of identity theft. I even had my driver's license stolen and apparenlty checks. I never realized that they were used to write a check to ** ***** until I discovered a charge on my credit report. This happened several years ago (almost 7 years ago). I disputed the information on my credit report(s), filed a security freeze, filed a report with the FTC, and a police report. Now almost 7 years later, I am getting this charge on my credit report again. I never wrote a check to ******* and I never spoke with this collection agency right after it happened. I moved from the address on my check and did not have the phone number on this check either. I have prove from my tax return where I filed my taxes in 2006. I never received notification of this transaction.

Desired Settlement: Remove this from my credit report and stop collection immediately. I will not pay for something I never did or received.

Business Response:

We'll close the file and sent a delete notice to the credit bureau.

Thanks

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 






















1/26/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: HARRASSMENTThis company is harrassing my neighbors. I am having a difficult time right now getting caught up with my bills and now Recovery One has found my neighbors phone number and CALLS THEM EVERY DAY. THIS MUST STOP!! My neighbors are retired military and are older and have nothing to do with my debt. If they do not stop calling them I will retain a lawyer immediately!

Desired Settlement: The harrassing calls to my neighbor must stop immediately!

Business Response:

We haven't harrassed anyone.

If ***** is having financial difficulties, we'll be happy to work with him to set up an arrangement that will help him resolve this matter.

Please contact us at your earliest convenience at ###-###-####.

12/28/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I HAVE RECEIVED HARASSING PHONE CALLS FROM THIS COMPANY SEVERAL TIMES A DAY. AN INDIVIDUAL CALLING HERSELF "***** ********" IS SUPPOSEDLY WORKING FOR "RECOVERY ONE LLC" A COLLECTIONS AGENCY LOCATED IN DUBLIN OHIO. SHE CALLED OTHER FAMILY MEMBERS ON THEIR CELL PHONES AS WELL. SHE WAS VERY RUDE NOT ONLY TO MYSELF BUT TO OTHER FAMILY MEMBERS, WHO HAD NO IDEA WHAT SHE WAS CALLING ABOUT. SHE WAS TOLD TO REFRAIN FROM CALLING BUT CONTINUED TO DO SO. (VERY UNPROFFESIONAL). THE PUBLIC MUST BE AWARE THAT THIS COMPANY HAS OBTAINED INFORMATION ABOUT MY FAMILY MEMBERS THAT IS VERY TROUBLING (INCLUDING HARASSING MY 83 YEAR OLD MOTHER). I CALLED THE COMPANY BACK AND SPOKE TO A MR. ***** WHO CLAIMED HE HAS NO IDEA WHO "***** ********" IS.

Desired Settlement: THIS COMPANY HAS TO BE STOPPED. HOW MANY OTHERS HAVE BEEN HARASSED BY THEM. THERE ARE MANY MANY SUCH COMPANIES AND THERE SHOULD BE A LAW THAT PROHIBITS ORGANIZATIONS AS THIS ONE TO STOP CALLING.

Business Response:

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We apologize to Mr. ********. We will no longer make any calls regarding this account.

Consumer Response:

BY NO MEANS HAS THIS COMPLAINT BEEN RESOLVED.  THERE WAS NO ACTION TAKEN AGAINST THIS COMPANY. WHY NOT. 
I THOUGHT IT WAS THE JOB OF B.B.B. TO SUBMIT A COMPLAINT TO THE GOVERNMENT WHEN DEBT COLLECTORS VIOLATE THE LAWS THAT ARE CLEARLY STATED IN THE "FAIR DEBT COLLECTION PRACTICES ACT"
 
I HAVE FILED A COMPLAINT TO THE FAIR DEBT COLLECTION PRACTICES ACT REGARDING THIS COMPANY.
 
I HAVE NOT HEARD FROM THE FDCPA.  
 
SECTION 805, 806, 807, WERE CLEARLY VIOLATED BY RECOVERY ONE.
 
 

 
 

 

Business Response:

We've apologized to Mr. ******** in regards to his complaint surrounding his BUSINESS related debt. We have no further comment to make regarding this matter.

 

10/6/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Collection rep ****** ****** contacted me via telephone, leaving an unprofessional opinion, and violation of the FDCPA, message on my phone (copy enclosed) telling me tat "I need to teach my son some manners!" ****** had been given my contact information from the Dr's office via skip tracing iwth which ever web site she obtained other parties with my married name. She contacted that party attempting to probe for information. When she was met with scepticism as to her validity she became rude and abusive toward that party also, she attempted to chastize and demand from that party other than the permitted location information pursuant to the FDCPA.* ******, demanded that the third party disclose employment and telephonic information in regard to myself. When that was not given to her, she further demanded that the third party take her name and telephone number to be conveyed to me. She then disclosed the name of her company "Recovery One", disclosing the "nature of the call", collection, again a violation of the FDCPA*, to a third party. I had contacted Recovery One, by telephone ((***) ***-**** ext. ***), as it was left on my voice mail. That line was answered by a ***** ******** who claimed to be a manager answering the phone for ******, who was away from her desk. ***** ******** admitted to me that ****** ******'s message was not professional. ***** ******** quickly switched to "bill collector mode" demanding balance in full of the $143.13. When I questioned the validity of her position as manager, aggitated, she asked if I was calling to pay my bill?!! When I continued my queery of her purported position of "manager" she proimptly hung up on me. I called back reaching a young woman named ******, I asked to speak to a manager, I was asked to hold, then a male named "*****" came on the line. I asked if I was speaking to a manager:, he then asked if I was "*****"? I repeated my question to him regarding if he was a manager? ***** found it necessary to speak over me, demandmg that I pay my bill. I asked for his full name, of which he refused, as I was wasting his time, and he proceeeded to hang up on me, NEVER confirming the identity of the caller, though addressing me by my first name only, he would have no idea who was on the line, and disclosing to a nameless party that "*****" owed a bill, violating FDCPA. My third call to this establishment was answered by a young woman named ******, who told me the manager's name was ****** at extension ***, and was propmptly transferred to that extension's voice mail. As the voice mail instructed, I... if I needed immediate attention to press 0'. I again spoke to ******, requested a manager, and was put on hold. "*****" again came on line, I asked once again, if I was reaching a manager? *****, once again, asked if this was "*****", I realized I was not going to be put through to anyone in management, asked for the company name, address, and the name of the manager. ***** proceeded to give me partial address omitting the suite number, and gave the name of "*****" as manager. When asked for the full name of the manager, ***** refused by stating, 'I'm not telling YOU that!' I then asked for the correct spelling of *****, *****, dripping with sarcasm, said, "REALLY?? it's *****!" I again requested the correct spelling of the manager's name as there are several variations. I was asked again, "Is ths *****?", I repeated my question, " How does ***** spell his name?" *****, very slowly, in an attempt to insult my intelligence, spelled out "* ..... * ..... * ..... * ..... * ....., did ya get that?!" I advised him I did, thanked him for hs time, and ended the call. Although, rude and unprofessional conduct does not direrectly violate FDCPA, by my count there were no less than three (3) direct violations, of which each violation should be assigned the allowed $1,000.00 penalty permitted by law.

Desired Settlement: A reasonable resolution to my complaint would deduct the balance of the account of $143.13 to be paid directly to the doctor's office without commission being paid to Recovery One, LLC, and the remainder of $2,856.87 to be remitted to me, the violated party.

Business Response:

We reject the debtor's attempts to confuse and obfuscate this simple matter.

An account for this individual has been placed for collection in our office by ******** ********** **** ******.

We do not violate the FDCPA. In fact, not only do we comply with the FDCPA, we go out of our way to work with individuals who may be experiencing financial difficulties. We attempt to make reasonable arrangements with individuals who want to meet their financial obligations.

If this individual would like to resolve this account, or make arrangements to pay, please contact the collection manager, *****, toll-free at ************ ext ***. If you reach his voicemail, leave him a message and he will promptly return your call.

 


 

10/1/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company is trying to collect money from my father's business. I have no ownership in this business at all. I have no control over payments or decisions regarding business. This company keeps calling my personal phone line and harassing me. My father and I share the same first name, but not the same middle name. Confusion in who they contact?

Desired Settlement: Money for harassment.

Business Response:

We apologize for the confusion. We've removed that phone number from our call list.

Thanks for bringing the matter to our attenetion.

 

8/5/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was called by Recovery One because they were trying to collect from a payment and the person was very rude. I tried to explain to the collector that we had paid it and sent in the receipt as proof. He started yelling at me and when I tried to ask his name and manager's name he refused and started asking why we couldn't pay our bills. When we called the company ******** **** ***** to ask why we were being contacted they had our payment. I am never going to use this auto glass company again because of the rude collections people they told to contact us.

Desired Settlement: I would like a letter of apology from Recovery One and someone to follow up on the person who yelled at me.

Business Response:

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.

 

Our apologies to Mrs. ***** that she feels she may have been treated rudely.

 

In following up with our representative we found that the account was forwarded to us because there was a balance due on the account. The information provided to us stated there was a credit card chargeback causing the balance to remain due. When our representative contacted Mrs. ***** to find out about the credit card chargeback, Mrs. ***** told our representative that it had been paid, of course our records didn't show that it had been paid. Our collector explained the balance still showed due and Mrs. ***** repeatedly told our representative that she paid "somebody".

 

We later were notified by the client that payment was received.

 

The account is now marked as paid and is closed in our office.

 

Again, we apologize to Mrs. *****, and we will not contact her in the future.