Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Blackburns Chimney Sweeps, Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Blackburns Chimney Sweeps, Inc.

Phone: (614) 297-3870 Fax: (614) 297-3874 4644 Kenny Rd, Columbus, OH 43220 http://www.blackburnschimney.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This firm offers chimney cleaning, repair, rebuilding, relining, dryer vent and air duct cleaning.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Blackburns Chimney Sweeps, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Blackburns Chimney Sweeps, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Blackburns Chimney Sweeps, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 04, 1988 Business started: 08/01/1986 in OH Business started locally: 08/01/1986
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Debbie Wiedwald, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Debbie Wiedwald, President
Business Category

Chimney Cleaning Duct Cleaning Dryer Vent Cleaning Chimney Builders & Repair Fireplace Equipment - Retail Stoves - Wood, Coal

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Check & Credit Card

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Blackburns Chimney Sweeps, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 4644 Kenny Rd

    Columbus, OH 43220 (614) 297-3870

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/30/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our residential phone number called is and has been listed on the FCC Do Not Call Registry. We have NO association nor have we done any business with this company. On two occasions - most recently Jan 02 2014 at 8:47 p.m. we received unsolicited live person telemarketing calls from them (calls are always BLOCKED as an "unknown caller") However they do identify themselves when we answer the phone and unlike any other telemarketer mispronounce our last name-the same as the misspelled junk mail we have received from them in the past-also trying to solicit our business. We told them on the previous and current call to remove our number from their calling list. Apparently it is to no avail.

Desired Settlement: Request the BBB list "Telemarketing Complaints filed with the FCC" on their profile.

Business Response:

In August 2013, an Information Technology employee worked on the database and the customer’s number was incorrectly returned to the general phone database.  On January 2, 2014, the phone representative did place the customer on the In House Do Not Call List.  Blackburn does update and utilize the In House Do Not Call List daily.  We regret the database mistake and have removed the customer’s phone number and address from the mailing list and phone list.  In addition, the Information Technology employee is confirming all customers that requested to be on the In House Do Not Call List are excluded from the general database.  Blackburns Chimney Sweeps strives to deliver services that exceed customer expectations.  In no way does Blackburns ever wish to displease our customers. 

Consumer Response: The company was clearly in violation of the FCC laws which state that telemarketers are NOT to block their phone numbers when soliciting business, which in fact Blackburn's did. Furthermore, this is the second occurrence involving an unsolicited call from them, but also the second time they again blocked their number through our caller ID. To paraphrase the law,  "telemarketers are required to transmit Caller ID information and may not block their numbers."

Their response addressed only one aspect of my complaint (which is fine, and it remains to be seen if it is resolved over time.) Because they did not even remotely mention their FCC violation, an additional complaint has been filed with the Federal Communications Commission.

To the BBB, you may close this complaint as you see fit because it probably fits your criteria for resolution.  

Thank you for your assistance with this matter.

** *****






























11/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Left the fireplace & hearth covered with grit, did not remove log grate, blew a fuse did not tell me. I called to explain their mess, but told them I would rather clean it up myself - didn't want them back. A Couple of nights later at 8:10 at night, I get a phone call from them asking if I wanted my chimney cleaned!

Desired Settlement: Print my complaint to the public. Take me off "call List".

Business Response: Dear Customer,Thank you for letting Blackburns know of your experience with our company so we can continue to improve our services.  Blackburns strives to provide exemplary service and exceed customers' expectations.  I am sorry we did not provide that level of service at your home.  As we discussed after your appointment, Blackburns would have returned to your home to make sure the fireplace and hearth were cleaned to your satisfaction. I understood your preference to clean up the area on your own and apologized for the blown fuse.  Blackburns does follow up with customers to make sure recommended repairs and services are scheduled at the customers' convenience.  When we spoke earlier in October, I did not know that you preferred no additional calls regarding follow up services.  I am making sure that you are on the do not call list so you receive no further phone calls.  Please let me know if we can be of any further service in the future.