Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Blackburns Chimney Sweeps, Inc.

Phone: (614) 297-3870 Fax: (614) 297-3874 4644 Kenny Rd, Columbus, OH 43220 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.blackburnschimney.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This firm offers chimney cleaning, caps, gas logs, repair, rebuilding, relining, dryer vent and air duct cleaning.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Blackburns Chimney Sweeps, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Blackburns Chimney Sweeps, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Blackburns Chimney Sweeps, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 04, 1988 Business started: 08/01/1986 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Debbie Wiedwald, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Debbie Wiedwald, President
Business Category

Chimney Cleaning Duct Cleaning Dryer Vent Cleaning Chimney Builders & Repair Fireplace Equipment - Retail Stoves - Wood, Coal

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Check & Credit Card
Alternate Business Names
Blackburns Chimney Sweeps And Air Duct Cleaning Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Blackburns Chimney Sweeps, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 4644 Kenny Rd

    Columbus, OH 43220 (614) 297-3870

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On September 12, 2015 Blackburn Chimney sent out an employee to look at my chimney. He immediately stated I needed a new chimney chase cover and was quick to whip out an iPad with scanner attached to collect $475.00. The technician was up on the roof taking pictures and measuring; then stated it would take a few weeks to custom make a new one. October 29, 2015 I contact the company by email after no replies by phone. November 10 2015 I contact them again stating concern that it had already been 9 weeks with no contact from Blackburns whatsoever. Someone called back and said it would be a few more weeks. November 30, 2015 I contacted them and stated I was greatly displeased. They had my money for 12 weeks and had not made any attempt to complete the work. December 2, 2015 a technician went to my home and stated the custom made cover did not fit. He had begun to remove the old chase cover and said he had to go get it custom cut. He returned that same day and installed a cover. He did not secure the chase cover to the chimney and nails were found by my dogs in the grass. When I called the owner to inquire about some compensation for all this lost time, perhaps a chimney clean she refused. This morning when letting my dogs out in the fenced yard, they found nails left in the grass. I could see the corners are not secured like my adjacent neighbor who had his chase cover replaced.

Desired Settlement: Given the poor services, months of withholding my money and the product, and ultimate poor incomplete installation of the product. I will need to have another company come out and re-evaluate the safety and installation. I already had another company come and look at the old chase cover. They stated it did not need to be replaced at all; there was nothing wrong with it. The company misrepresented the needs, kept my money for months and did a poor job. I'll never recommend them or use them again.

Business Response:

On August 14, 2015, Blackburns Chimney Services was contacted to provide an estimate to replace the existing chase cover. Blackburns Chimney Services’ technician completed the quote on September 12 and the customer chose to order the chase cover at that time. Blackburns Chimney Services’ focus is to educate the customer about recommended chimney repairs and maintenance and allow the customer to decide when and if they are going to have the repair completed. The existing chase cover was rusted and deteriorating. The existing chase cover was missing a raised lip surrounding the pipe. Roofing tar and other sealants had been applied between the pipe and the chase to help prevent water entry. In the complaint, the customer notes that another professional noted that the chase cover did not need replaced. I am not understanding why the customer did not cancel the chase cover order and request a refund. This complaint is the first time the customer mentioned that she felt that the chase cover replacement was un-needed.

The Fall and early Winter is the busy season for chimney sweeps. Unfortunately, there were delays in manufacturing and scheduling the installs. I am sorry for the delays, and some delays are beyond my control. We tried to keep the customer updated. The chase cover is a custom made item and payment is required in order to have it manufactured. If the customer had expressed concerns about the need for the chase cover, we would have asked the manufacturer to cancel the order and refund the customer’s money.

The replacement chase cover is made of galvanized metal. Powder coated metal and stainless chase covers cost additional. The top metal has slopes included to prevent water from pooling on the chase. A raised lip is included in the replacement chase cover to help protect the pipes from getting water entry. A storm collar is installed to help prevent water entry down the pipes. The technician included a slight overhang on the sides of the chase cover to go around the wood chimney framing to help prevent water from going down the wood framing. Liquid nail adhesion is applied under the chase cover to provide a seal between the wood and chase cover. Nails are avoided to prevent water from seeping in through the any nail holes. The corners are bent to finish the chase sides.

The technician and the sweep’s helper picked up nails from the deck and grass. All effort is made to provide a complete clean up of the work site. I am sorry if any nails were missed.

The customer notes in the complaint that she is having another company come out and evaluate the safety and installation. Blackburns Chimney Services has served Central Ohio customers since 1986 and stands behind our work. Our goal is to exceed customer expectations. I am sorry for the delays in getting the chase cover installed. Please let me know if the other company identifies problems with the chase cover construction and installation so that we can install a chase cover to the customer’s satisfaction. I am sorry the customer had a negative experience with Blackburns Chimney Sweeps and we will take steps to repair/replace any defects of workmanship as identified by the other company as long as workmanship quality is not compromised. 

Attached are pictures of the existing chase cover, the mid installation process and the replacement chase cover. Note- 13 pictures should be included. I am only able to attach 5 pictures. I will contact BBB in order to attach the missing 8 pictures. The missing 8 pictures of the replacement chase cover installation and view are shown in a smaller format on the 12-2-15 work order. Email correspondence is also attached. In addition, the emailed work orders are also included.

Please let me know if you need additional information.


Timeline-

August 14, 2015 – Blackburns Chimney Services was contacted by the customer and the phone represented noted on the service request that the customer would like an estimate as she is in need of a replacement chase cover.

September 12, 2015 – Blackburns Chimney Services’ technician completed a quote for the a replacement chase cover. The customer chose to order the new chase cover at the time of the appointment while meeting with the technician. The exterior pictures, work order and payment confirmation was emailed to the customer by the service technician

September 24, 2015 – I replied to the customer’s September 23 7:49pm email and re-sent the exterior pictures, work order and payment confirmation to the customer. The customer stated that an insurance agent was coming out to the home.

November 2, 2015 – I replied to the customer’s email from Friday, October 30 8:41pm stating that the replacement chase cover is scheduled to be installed on November 10, 2015.

November 10, 2015 –The Blackburns Chimney Service technician was scheduled to install the replacement chase cover. He had measured the replacement chase cover to match the existing chase cover; however, once he removed the cap, he found that the center hole needed to be decreased due to the size of the pipe. The technician re-measured the chase cover and hole size, and a second replacement chase cover was ordered. The customer was emailed a status report by the technician to notify her that a second chase cover was being ordered and would be installed as soon as possible.

November 17, 2015 – I replied to the customer’s email from November 16 9:11pm further explaining that the original chase cover and pipe was unusual and that we had asked our manufacturer to fabricate the second chase cover as soon as possible. I also told the customer that we would install the second chase cover on November 28, 2015.

November 28, 2015 - The second replacement chase cover was to be installed but was rescheduled due to rain.

December 2, 2015 – The second replacement chase cover was installed. When the technician removed the roofing tar and sealant that covered the chase cover and pipes, the technician found that the hold size further needed adjusted. The service technician left a voice message for the customer asking her to call him in order to update the customer. The second replacement chase cover was taken to the sheet metal manufacturer who made the hole size adjustment. The service technician and I both spoke to the customer about the chase cover being re-adjusted and that the installation would occur as scheduled later in the afternoon. The second chase cover was installed December 2, 2015 and the customer was emailed the work order and pictures. The original chase cover was left at the customer’s property as per her request.

2/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/30/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our residential phone number called is and has been listed on the FCC Do Not Call Registry. We have NO association nor have we done any business with this company. On two occasions - most recently Jan 02 2014 at 8:47 p.m. we received unsolicited live person telemarketing calls from them (calls are always BLOCKED as an "unknown caller") However they do identify themselves when we answer the phone and unlike any other telemarketer mispronounce our last name-the same as the misspelled junk mail we have received from them in the past-also trying to solicit our business. We told them on the previous and current call to remove our number from their calling list. Apparently it is to no avail.

Desired Settlement: Request the BBB list "Telemarketing Complaints filed with the FCC" on their profile.

Business Response:

In August 2013, an Information Technology employee worked on the database and the customer’s number was incorrectly returned to the general phone database.  On January 2, 2014, the phone representative did place the customer on the In House Do Not Call List.  Blackburn does update and utilize the In House Do Not Call List daily.  We regret the database mistake and have removed the customer’s phone number and address from the mailing list and phone list.  In addition, the Information Technology employee is confirming all customers that requested to be on the In House Do Not Call List are excluded from the general database.  Blackburns Chimney Sweeps strives to deliver services that exceed customer expectations.  In no way does Blackburns ever wish to displease our customers. 

Consumer Response: The company was clearly in violation of the FCC laws which state that telemarketers are NOT to block their phone numbers when soliciting business, which in fact Blackburn's did. Furthermore, this is the second occurrence involving an unsolicited call from them, but also the second time they again blocked their number through our caller ID. To paraphrase the law,  "telemarketers are required to transmit Caller ID information and may not block their numbers."

Their response addressed only one aspect of my complaint (which is fine, and it remains to be seen if it is resolved over time.) Because they did not even remotely mention their FCC violation, an additional complaint has been filed with the Federal Communications Commission.

To the BBB, you may close this complaint as you see fit because it probably fits your criteria for resolution.  

Thank you for your assistance with this matter.

** *****






























11/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Left the fireplace & hearth covered with grit, did not remove log grate, blew a fuse did not tell me. I called to explain their mess, but told them I would rather clean it up myself - didn't want them back. A Couple of nights later at 8:10 at night, I get a phone call from them asking if I wanted my chimney cleaned!

Desired Settlement: Print my complaint to the public. Take me off "call List".

Business Response: Dear Customer,Thank you for letting Blackburns know of your experience with our company so we can continue to improve our services.  Blackburns strives to provide exemplary service and exceed customers' expectations.  I am sorry we did not provide that level of service at your home.  As we discussed after your appointment, Blackburns would have returned to your home to make sure the fireplace and hearth were cleaned to your satisfaction. I understood your preference to clean up the area on your own and apologized for the blown fuse.  Blackburns does follow up with customers to make sure recommended repairs and services are scheduled at the customers' convenience.  When we spoke earlier in October, I did not know that you preferred no additional calls regarding follow up services.  I am making sure that you are on the do not call list so you receive no further phone calls.  Please let me know if we can be of any further service in the future.