Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Dealers Alliance Corporation

Additional Locations

Phone: (614) 459-0364 Fax: (614) 459-2665 View Additional Phone Numbers 240 N 5th St Ste 350, Columbus, OH 43215 http://www.dealersassurance.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Dealers Alliance Corporation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Dealers Alliance Corporation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 5
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Dealers Alliance Corporation
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1977 Business started: 05/02/1977 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Department of Insurance
50 W. Town St. Third Floor - Suite 300, Columbus OH 43215
http://www.insurance.ohio.gov
Phone Number: (614) 644-2658

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David Brunty, Claims/ Office Manager Ms. Kristen Gruber, President Ms. Sharon M Spohn, Treasurer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Brunty, Claims/ Office Manager
Principal: Ms. Kristen Gruber, President
Business Category

Auto Warranty Processing Service Insurance Companies Insurance Services

Hours of Operation
M: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM
T: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM
W: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Th: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM
F: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM
S: Closed
Su: Closed
Alternate Business Names
DAC Dealers Assurance Company

Additional Locations

  • 240 N 5th St Ste 350

    Columbus, OH 43215 (800) 282-8913 (614) 459-0364

  • PO Box 21185

    Columbus, OH 43221

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/30/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband purchased a car from *** **** ***** used car dealership Williamsville, NY on August 13, 2013. He was given a loan that had the option to purchase and extra warranty called Superior Protection Plan. The car purchased had 99,881 and the warranty cost $1,380.00 for this extra warranty. The engine went on the car and we had to have it towed into the only Mitsubishi dealership in the area. We thought we were ok with this until the engine went on the car. My husband has only owed the car for a total of 19 months and has only put on a about 24,000 miles in that time frame. The dealer went and took the engine out of the car and dismantled the engine for your company's adjuster to come and look at the engine to determine if they will fix it and cover the repairs. The adjust came to the dealership and told the mechanic there that there is way to much sludge in the engine for them to proceed with the repairs and to cover the cost because we did not have oil receipts from oil changes. The mechanic told the guy that there is no way possible that the short time that we had the car that all of that sludge was caused from us and was done by the previous owner of the vehicle. We do oil changes regularly and have friends that work at garages that would do them for us at no charge so we do not have receipts. I feel that we were scammed by this company to purchase this warranty so that you can make money on something that you feel that you are already not going to cover regardless of any proof provided and we are not out a car and cannot get it fixed due to the ignorant adjuster that gave the mechanic a hard time when the mechanic told him that there is no way 24,000 miles would cause all that sludge.

Desired Settlement: I want a complete refund of the warranty $1,380 plus $258.28 for the charges of tearing down the engine since we were lied to and forced to get a warranty that your company new we would never be able to use. If we do not get a refund or resolution to fix the car engine that should have been covered by this warranty, then I will be forced to contact a lawyer and pursue this matter legally so that no one else falls into the same situation of deceptive sales practices.

Business Response: Ms. ******* states in her complaint that her mechanic said “… there is no way possible that the short time that we had the car that all that sludge was caused from us and was done by the previous owner of the vehicle.” The contract administrator had sent an independent inspector to view and report on the damage. The inspector stated “Failure of lower end (engine) is concurrent with lack of lube and continued operation causing spun bearings. Also heavy sludge in pan was restricting oil flow into oil pick up screen as screen was partly plugged.” Ms. *******’s mechanic and the administrator’s inspector are in agreement as to the cause of failure. The administrator subsequently declined the claim due to lack of lubrication as a result of the sludge buildup in the engine. Ms. *******’s contract, under “EXCLUSIONS”: “A. This Contract provides no benefits or coverage and We have no obligation under this contract for: 2. A Breakdown caused by contamination of or lack of proper fuels, fluids coolants or lubricants… “ and “5. Pre-existing damage, or a Breakdown that occurred before Your purchase of this Contract, …” The component failure of the engine was due to lack of lubrication as a result of the sludge in the engine preventing proper and adequate lubrication and since the sludge existed in the engine at the time of failure, the administrator, did justly and properly decline Ms. *******’s claim.

Consumer Response: This is unacceptable. There were frequent oil changes done to the care due to the age and mileage when we purchased it and that was the whole reason for purchasing the extra warranty coverage with the loan. Because we could not furnish receipts of oil changes which were done as a courtesy from people that we knew who worked at various garages and did not charge us for the oil changes which did not result in having receipts. Also, my brother is a certified mechanic and has performed many oil and my husband who also changes the oil in the car and did no provide me with receipts. The oil changes were done as favors. We do not neglect our cars or oil changes and because we can't provide receipts is unacceptable. If you are not going to cover the engine repair, then I want full reimbursement for the warranty that we were falsely sold when your company had no plans of honoring it. The oil sludge that was in the engine was not caused from us and if the previous owner was careless to not take care of the car and without us knowing then the warranty should have not been offered. We only drove the car over 22,000 miles just over a year of driving which does not cause that amount of sludge.

Business Response:

Mr. *******’s Superior Protection Plan Vehicle Service Contract states under “YOUR OBLIGATIONS”: In order for this contract to remain in force, You must: · Change the oil and oil filter in the Vehicle at least every six (6) months or 5,000 miles whichever comes first, or at the intervals specified by the Vehicle Manufacturer, whichever is less. · Keep, and make available to the Administrator upon request, verifiable signed receipts that show that the above required maintenance and services were timely performed. Mrs. *******, admits in the body of the complaint, they were unable to furnish the required receipts due to oil changes “which were done as a courtesy from people that we knew who worked at various garages and did not charge us for the oil changes…” Although Mr. ******* did fail to meet his required obligation under the terms of the contract to present receipts for the oil changes, this fact is not the reason his claim was declined.

Once again, the claim was declined due “lack of lubrication” as a result of the sludge in the engine. As previously stated, the contract excludes a breakdown caused by “lack of proper fuels, fluids, coolants or lubricants”. Due to the amount of sludge present in the engine, the engine was unable to receive proper lubrication. Along with the inspector, Mrs.’s *******’s mechanic agreed that sludge in the engine resulted in the ultimate failure of the engine. In further agreement, the amount of sludge present in the engine would not have been able to accumulate in the time the *******’s owned the vehicle. However, the service contract does exclude from coverage, “Pre-existing damage”. Because the sludge was present in the engine, at the time the vehicle was purchased, it was “pre-existing” and coverage under the contract was rightfully declined. Mrs. ******* is asking for “full reimbursement for the warranty that we were falsely sold when your company had no plans of honoring it.” Nothing was “falsely sold” to Mr. *******: both the administrator’s and the contract holders’ obligations are clearly specified under the contract. The administrator fully intended to, and will continue to meet its obligations under the terms of the vehicle service contract, until the contract is cancelled by the owner or until the natural expiration of the contract. Mr. ******* does have the right, under the terms of the contract, by contacting his selling dealer, to cancel the contract at any time. Specific details of the cancellation refund calculation are described under the “CANCELLATION OF THIS CONTRACT” provision.

Consumer Response: The oil drained out of the engine due to the engine braking down and as a result the oil drained out from that as well as from the time it took before the car was picked up and taken to Mitsubishi Dealership. The mechanic at Mitsubishi even said that the result of what happened to the engine was not caused by us and impossible for the short time that we owned the car. If this is the case that the warranty company is failing the consumer as usual and a result of previous ownerships failure to take care of the car, then the warranty should have not been made available to us at the time of purchase which the loan company. As in your comment that due to previous ownership negligence that the warranty was void from the start, then why were we sold a warranty that was in no way going to be honored. So basically we were scammed and sold a warranty that you were never intending to honor and was void due to previous ownership which was not my fault. I want a full refund for being scammed by your company and the loan company Credit Acceptance and the dealership *** ****. What a scam and will be sure to let everyone we know not to purchase a car with any of the above as part of the sale. Buyer Beware.

2/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my vehicle dropped of for the 6th time after purchasing it with more issues. It was dropped off on Tuesday January 20th 2015 and just today Thursday January 29th 2015, the warranty approved the repairs and labor cost. It did take me to hire an attorney to get this done as the warranty kept pushing around the dealership in regards to the cost of repairs. At first they were letting the dealership know that I would have to cover the remaining balances on the repairs as they are only going to approve so much. It clearly states in my warranty that they cover all costs of repairs on covered items. My repair needed is a covered item. So after my attorney called them this morning they had a conference call with the dealership and warranty to where they met an agreement to cover cost and get repairs made. The issue I am having now is that the warranty company is only covering one day of rental car costs. It is not my fault that the warranty company pro longed this repair because of a dispute with the dealership. In my warranty it states that if the warranty has a dispute with costs that they have the option to relocate my vehicle to another repair shop that suits there needs. That was never done. I feel it is their responsibility to cover all rental costs as it is their fault to why my vehicle has not already been repaired. When I speak to them on the phone, I get no where. All they say is it it what it is and they will not be changing their decision. I need your help to go after this company to make sure this gets resolved as well as make sure they can't treat any more customers this way. I paid good money for my vehicle and warranty. I should not be treated unfairly. If they are going to treat me this way I want a full refund of the warranty I paid for.

Desired Settlement: I want to have all days of my rental car covered since I had nothing to do with the damages done to my vehicle and that I had nothing to do with the pro longing of my repairs needed to my vehicle.

Business Response: Dealers Assurance Company insures the administrator for Mr. *****’s service contract and although we have no involvement in claim decisions regarding Mr. *****’s contract, we do investigate all complaints against insured administrators. After receiving and reviewing the claim file and Mr. *****’s contract coverage, we determined the administrator did act properly in accordance with the terms and conditions of the contract by allowing only one day of rental at $30.00. Mr. *****’s issue is that the administrator allowed only one day of rental coverage while there were delays in having his vehicle repaired. His service contract is very specific as to how rental coverage is provided. Mr. *****’s service contract allows 1 day of rental coverage for each portion of each 8.0 hours of labor time authorized to complete the repairs. The maximum dollar amount allowed per day is $30.00 up to a maximum of 5 days or a total benefit of $150.00. Based upon the labor required and authorized to complete the repair, Mr. ***** is entitled to 1 day of rental coverage. No additional rental coverage under the contract is allowed for downtime while waiting on parts or for any other reason

2/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Would not cover a part under the agreement. I believe that the part is covered under policy.

Desired Settlement: For the part to be covered under the protection plan that we purchased

Business Response: We apologize for the delay, unfortunately the pulley is not a covered component. If the pulley is a separate component, it has to be replaced at the customer's expense. 

11/23/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid for a 2 year ext warranty on a printer we have its been broke for 2 weeks Ive called Bankers warranty group and they tell me it will take 24h hour to get a service center in area 1 week later still not one contacted us to come look at machine I called again and was told that the service center was contacted and we will get a call in 24h hours to have a person come look at it another week later still no call. I call again and was put on hold again for a very long time and was told this time they left a message with facility and they will call us.Finally a girl called who knew nothing about our situation apologized up and down put me through to her manager who knew nothing and there were no documented calls from the bankers warranty asking for them to go look at our machine.It has now been over 2 weeks and still machine not fixed we payed for a warranty I feel this should not be the case when getting something repaired 2 weeks and still no one has looked at machine and still getting the run around .I feel bankers warranty should be more on top of this and if they got their money for a ext warranty why are we still waiting for repairs we are a Dr office we can not have a machine down for this long

Desired Settlement: refund on warranty purchased

Business Response: Dealers Assurance Company has received the following (delayed) response from Bankers Warranty Group, the Administrator of Ms. ******'s service contract on her printer: __________________________________________________

Hello ****- I do apologize for the delay in response. The repair was completed and we never heard back from the customer at any point. We were not aware there was an additional issue. Based on the BBB complaint is the customer stating they need further assistance? Here is the breakdown of what occurred on their file: On 08/18/2014- *** an employee called into BWG’s Customer Service Department informing that the paper is jamming when feeding it in for copying or fax. The customer went thru our normal troubleshooting over the phone and when it did not resolve the issue we dispatched for repair service. The dispatch request went to BWG’s Service team to locate a repair center that specialized in that brand and product in the customer’s local area. On 08/22/2014- BWG’s Service Team located a service center ****** who specialized in this brand and serviced the customer’s area. We authorized them to diagnose the unit and also provided the customer with an update with the service center’s information. There were some delays in obtaining the estimate for the repair on the service center end. BWG worked diligently with ithe service center to obtain this information for our Claims department to review and get this resolved for the customer. On 09/13/2014- **** ****** our VP of Operations did receive a BBB complaint from the customer and also provided a response. On 09/16/2014- We obtained the needed estimate from the service center ****** to determine if the unit was repairable and the cost of the repair. Confirmed the document feeder would need to be replaced. 09/16/2014- BWG Claims Supervisor approved the repair thru the service center ******. Confirmed with service center ****** that the repair was completed that same day 09/16 due to tech having part on the truck. We did not hear back from the customer. __________________________________________________

I apologize for the delay in getting a response to you. I appears that Banker's Warranty Group did get the problem resolved and since they have heard nothing further from the consumer, I assume the issue has been resolved. If you Ms. ******* has further contact with you and indicates the problem has not been resolved, please contact me via email at: **************************** Once again, I apologize for the delayed response.

***** ****** Claims Manager Dealers Assurance Company 240 N Fifth St Columbus, OH 43215 614-459-0364

8/18/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased this warranty from them less than 1 year ago(08/07/2012). My car broke down . I took my car to a local repair shop was told it was the transmission. I paid the repair bill I called the warranty shop they told me no contract in system went back to the car dealer(**** *****) they then put my contract # in system 06/24/2013 1 YEAR LATER told me they would take care of this.NO refund from dealership or warranty people now everyone points there finger at me and all I hear that I should have called this 800#. Warranty people said talk with dealer . Dealer said talk with warranty people.

Desired Settlement: Would like repair bill to be refunded

Consumer Response: I PURCHASED A WARRANTY ON 8-2012 FOR MY CAR  MY CAR HAD TO HAVE A NEW TRANSMISSION   ON 7-24-2013.  NOT EVEN A YEAR.  I TOOK MY CAR TO A TRANSMISSION SHOP  . AND THEY DONE THE REPAIR., WHEN I CALLED THE WARRANTY SHOP THEY TOLD ME THEY HAD NO RECORD OF MY CONTRACT ON FILE PER ******* TO CALL THE DEALERSHIP I DID COME TO FIND OUT THEY NEVER ENTERED MY CONTRACT INTO THE SYSTEM ITS BEEN A YEAR WHY WAS IT NOT DONE? BY THIS POINT I HAD ALREADY PAID FOR THE WORK TO BE DONE.  BECAUSE THE GARAGE HAD ALREADY DONE THE REPAIR AND THE MONEY HAD TO BE PAID.SO **** ***** ENTERED MY CONTRACT ON  7/25/2013 1 YAR LATER NOW THE WARRANTY PLACE THEY WILL NOT PAY BECAUSE I DIDNT CALL THEM  I DID BUT NO CONTRACT WAS IN SYSTEM SO **** ***** WILL NOT REFUND MONEY NOR WILL WARRANTY PLACE. . I TRIED FROM 1100 TO 300 TO CALL WARRANTY PLACE FINALLY AFTER 4 HOURS I GOT SOMEONE TO ANSWER CALL ***** HE SAID THEY WILL NOT PAY I ASKED TO SPEAK TO SOMEONE ELESE THEY GAVE ME ***** I TOLD HIM THAT I HAVE TRIED MANY TIMES THE LAST FEW WEEKS TO CONTACT THEM  AND COULD NOT GET ANYONE HE TOLD ME THAT WAS NOT TURE I EVEN LEFT A CALL BACK # TO KEEP MY PLACE IN LINE NO ONE EVER RETURNED MY CALL.  HIS ANSWER WAS TAKE IT UP WITH **** ***** THEY WILL NOT PAY AND THEY WERE THE ONES WHO GOT THE MONEY FOR THE WARRANTY NOT THEM. NONE OF THIS I FEEL IS IMPORTANT WHO DIDNT DO WHAT THE POINT IS I HAVE A WARRANTY AND THE MONEY SHOULD BE REFUNDED 

Consumer Response: Please find attached a copy of an email with the correct ID number of my complaint.  Also attached is the requested documentation needed for my complaint.  The warranty is not highlighted in the area however it has been checked off in the POWERTRAIN area as stated which is covered under warranty.
 
 

Consumer Response: I would like it to be on record that I called the warranty company in regards to getting my car repaired and when I spoke to the representative (*******), I was told that my warranty was not registered into the computer system so they had no record of my warranty needless to say even who I was all while the purchase of the warranty was 08/07/2012 and not entered into their system until 06/24/2013.  This is when I found out **** ***** in Salisbury NC did not process my warranty in a timely manner and I had to get my car repaired as soon as possible.  The work was finished and with an A+ rated BBB business at **** *****'s Transmission service located in Salisbury NC.  I will be more than happy to have a written affidavit from the owner of the company in regards to the condition of my transmission.

Business Response: I requested information about Ms. *****’s vehicle service contract from the administrator and after reviewing her complaint and documentation received from the contract administrator, I have attached Dealers Assurance Company’s reply.

As mentioned in the past, I have had difficulty receiving complaint emails from the BBB.  Reference was made to the original complaint being sent July 31st but the first notification I received was your email dated yesterday.  No other emails in my inbox, junk mail or spam folder.  We have tried to adjust permissions to accept all addresses from the BBB.  Email coming from your address always seems to come through without a problem though.

Thank you,

Consumer Response: this matter was never resolved  I feel like someone owes me the 1700.00 I bought this warranty and no one honors it  . for whatever the reason I had to get my car repaired **** ***** are nothing short of liars

5/17/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a used motorhome in August, 2010. At the time of purchase we took out an extended warranty plan which was to cover any mechanical,electrical issues that might arise for a four-year period. This week we took the motorhome to a shop to take care of a recall issue on the refrigerator in the motorhome. While it was there, we told the mechanic that the oil pressure guage had quit working, and told him to just check everything out before we took it out for this season. He called yesterday and told me there was a problem with the dash A/C compressor, and he had called the warranty people and they refused to approve it for repairs. Apparently a bolt had gotten in the pulley causing the compressor to leak and spark. I called the company this morning and was told: "while the compressors and hoses involved with A/C units ARE covered on your policy, bolts ARE NOT." I could not believe what I was told so asked him to repeat it, which he did. I argued that the bolts were al part of the compressor--he maintained that "bolts are not covered." We paid dearly for the extended coverage and have not used it until now. My thoughts as I listened to the explanation for denial were it sounds like something a crook would say!!

Desired Settlement: Just want the compressor replaced at no cost to us.

Business Response:

I am responding to the above-captioned complaint received in our office filed by ******* ******** Dealers Assurance Company insures *** *******'s motorhome service contract:
we are not the administrator responsible for making claims decisions on her vehicle. I
did contact the service contract administrator, ***** ********** ******* ***********, for
the claim file and a specimen copy of *** *******'s service contract for review and I
have included a copy of each with this letter.
On 4/24/13, the administrator received a call from ******* **** ** ******** reporting
the air conditioning was not cold. The service facility reported the bolts in the
compressor had backed out of the compressor and damaged the drive pulley. The repair
facility was requesting replacement of the air conditioning compressor and the pulley.
The administrator denied the claim because the cause of failure was due to the loosening
of the compressor bolts, causing the damage and subsequent failure of the compressor.
The claim was denied because the bolts are non-covered components.

*** *******'s contract states: "THE PLAN WILLL NOT COVER OR APPLY TO LOSS
OR EXPENSE RESULTING FROM:"
8. Damage to a non-covered part by a covered part(s) failure or
damage to a covered part by a non-covered part(s) failure.
and
20. Any of the following parts: ... loose fasteners or connections.

Because the bolts loosened from the compressor and interfered with the operation of the
compressor and pulley, causing subsequent damage, the administrator did rightfully
decline coverage for the repair.
If you require additional information or assistance, please feel free to contact me directly
at ###-###-####.

Sincerely,

***** ******
Claims Manager




2/12/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased the 5 year /100,000 mile "POWER TRAIN' extended vehicle warranty last year on a 2005 Nissan Maxima. Now a little over a year later my transmission has become defective in need of repair. On the contract it states under the limit of liability that they cover up to ($2000) in transmission repairs which in my eyes don't cover much, ($3000) in engine repairs and cost ($1500) for transfer case which puts my total policy worth at ($6500) in total and "shall not exceed the price paid for the VEHICLE by the purchaser of this Service Contract" car Was originally priced at $12,000 (before financing) and the Kelly blue book value is somewhere around the neighborhood of $9000- $10,000. Now stated in the pamphlet as well as the actual contract it states i have "ADDITIONAL" benefits of rental car reimbursement of $20 per day , no more than 5 days totaling $100 per occurrence and towing reimbursement of $75 per occurrence. Now im being told by the claims department representatives as well as the supervisor on shift( on 12/31/12 @ 3pm EST ) that my rental reimbursement is included in my repair allowance of $2000,and basically if the repair cost $2000 that i used my funds.so not only do i have a limit on my warranty on how much the company is whiling to put out , but i also have to wait on the company's inspector to inspect the car and approve it before the mechanic can work on the car. so not only will i be out of a car, ill also be immobilized until the inspector comes (how ever long that will take1) and hopefully approves the defect so im not stuck with the bill and then wait for the repair. which basically means im out of a vehicle for 1-2 weeks!! I must say , the wording on the contract contradicts it self . This in unfair and demoralizing . other warranty companies like *** don't give you a tenth of the issues DAC does. I wouldn't purchase another warranty or refer anyone. this is Outrageous.

Desired Settlement: i would like my Car fixed, and a rental supplied in the meantime. as well as the claims supervisor taught how to address issues of this nature more professionally.

Business Response: Dealers Assurance Company received a letter this morning in regards to the complaint filed by 
****** *************: ID # *******.  The letter was dated January 30, 2012.  As
noted in the email below sent to *****************@columbus-ohbbb.org on January 24, 2012, I
responded to the complaint but was unable to respond to the website www.bbb.org/centralohio/complaintreply/b.  I have tried once again using both Internet Explorer and Firefox to access the reply website and am still getting a “404 error”.  My reply to the complaint is in the body of the email below.
 
The letter received this morning does not mention that Mr. ************* has submitted a rebuttal to which I would need to respond and being unable to access the website, I am unable to determine if a rebuttal has actually been submitted to the BBB.  I trust the reply below was sufficient to address his concerns.
 
Please acknowledge receipt of this email so can be certain my reply has been received.
 
Thank you,
 
Ms. *******,
 
I attempted to access your complaint response website; https://www.bbb.org/centralohio/complaintreply/b to respond to
complaint ******* filed by ******* ************* but received a “404” error.  I
don’t know if it has been taken down because of the phising problems the BBB has
been having or not (we have received more than our share of phising emails
purported to be from the BBB), but I finally have a response for Mr.
*************.  Mr. ****** *************, in his complaint, presents his
argument for what he feels should be covered but presented no information about
the service contract itself.  Dealers Assurance Company insures vehicle service
contracts for many different contract administrators and we do not have access
to the computer systems for the insured administrators.  I had to contact
several administrators before finding the proper one.  Without a contract number
or the name of the contract administrator, it was time consuming to locate his
contract and claim information. The text of our response is as follows:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The contract being referred to in Mr. *************’s complaint is actually in his wife’s name: ******** ********.  The contract number is: **********. 
 
After obtaining and reviewing a copy the contract and claim notes, I found that Mr. ************* made a very good case as to why he should receive up to the maximum rental benefits allowed by the rental car reimbursement portion of his contract.  Both the rental and towing benefits offered by the contract are exclusive of the limit of liability affixed to the transmission repair.  The administrator has approved and paid the maximum ($2,000) of their contractual liability for the transmission, Consulting with the Claims Manger at the administrator’s office, he agreed an error was made on the claim adjudicator’s behalf as to how he interpreted the maximum liability for the transmission repair.
 
Because a $2,000.00 payment towards the repair cost for the transmission has already been made ( 01/09/2013), I sincerely hope Mr. Buchanan’s vehicle is now back in his possession.
 
Please instruct Mr. ************* to forward his rental car bill (with his signature) for reimbursement to the attention of:
 
****** ******
First Automotive Service Corp.
15920 Addison Rd.
P.O. Box 2748
Addison, TX 75001

If any additional assistance is required, please inform Mr. ************* that he may contact me directly and I will aid him in any way possible.
 
Thank you,
 

1/4/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am by this letter requesting cancellation of the above policy and my money back from the
purchase price of $2,195.00. I was solicited by telephone to buy a vehicle service contract. I was
on the phone with two sales people at the Same time. I am over 70 years old and had been sick
for over a month and a half and had lost my husband. I was harassed and will power to say
no was broken down. I finally accepted just to get off the phone.
I requested a update from Discover and reviewed my Discover bill with mY son. The
charge was already on the bill. My son attempted to call and cancel on mY behalf because I was
so sick. He was rudely treated and was told they would not cancel the policy.
I cannot associate with a company that solicits and preys on the elderly and is so rude.


*Please see scanned documents. 

Desired Settlement: Please cancel my policy imediatcly and return the money to me.

Consumer Response: Dear *** ********

Thank you so much for all the help from BBB. It has all been taken care of, and the situation has been taken care of and is close.
 
Thank you again,
 
**** ****  ID *******