Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Law Offices of Robert A. Schuerger, Co., LPA

Phone: (614) 824-5731 Fax: (614) 824-1120 81 S 5th St Ste 400, Columbus, OH 43215 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.schuergerlaw.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Law Offices of Robert A. Schuerger, Co., LPA meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Law Offices of Robert A. Schuerger, Co., LPA include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 11
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 13

Additional Complaint Information

BBB can report and pursue general customer service and billing disputes for legal services not involving underlying competency issues. This includes an attorney, lawyer or law firm acting as a collection agent or a debt collector. It has long been our BBB policy to refer inquiries and complaints about the competency of legal services providers to the Bar Association or the Court. If you would like a a background report on an attorney, lawyer or law firm, you may contact the Bar Association in the community or state in where he or she is located. For attorneys located in Columbus, OH, you may call the Columbus Bar Association at 614-221-4112 or www.cbalaw.org. If the attorney is located in Ohio, you may wish to check with the Ohio State Bar Association at 614-487-2050 or www.ohiobar.org. Or the Attorney Registration Desk of the Supreme Court of Ohio at (614) 387-9320 or www.sconet.state.oh.us. As for complaints concerning the competency of legal services, you may contact either the Disciplinary Council of the Ohio Supreme Court at (614) 461-0256 or: Clients' Security Fund Supreme Court of Ohio 65 South Front Street, 5th Floor Columbus, Ohio 43215-3431 Phone: 614.387.9390 or 800.231.1680 Fax: 614.387.9399 E-mail: csfo@sc.ohio.gov

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Law Offices of Robert A. Schuerger, Co., LPA
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 09, 2012 Business started: 01/09/2009 in OH Business started locally: 10/01/2010 Business incorporated 01/09/2009 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Supreme Court of Ohio
65 S Front St, Columbus OH 43215
http://www.sconet.state.oh.us
Phone Number: (614) 387-9000

Type of Entity

S-Corp

Business Management
Mr. Robert A. Schuerger, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert A. Schuerger, Owner
Business Category

Attorneys & Lawyers - Collections Law Collection Agencies Attorneys & Lawyers

Industry Tips
Attorneys Lawyers Legal Services Complaints Credit - BBB General Statement For All Debt, Credit TOBs

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Law Offices of Robert A. Schuerger, Co., LPA has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 81 S 5th St Ste 400

    Columbus, OH 43215

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/24/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a voicemail from this company. ****** said she was a special counsel to the Attorney General. I don't know if that is true or legal to state in a voicemail. I do not know what this call is regarding. I have saved the voicemail from today.

Desired Settlement: Do not contact me or anyone who might know me in any way using any form of communication. Provide a detailed account of the nature of your call and any documentation only through the BBB website

Business Response: *** ****** has a matter with one of our clients that requires her response. Phone and postal communications have occurred. *** ****** has not responded pursuant to the guidelines of her contract. She may contact me directly at ###-###-####. thank you- ***** ******** **** *************

Consumer Response: ****** called me again from this office on 3/5/15 at 4:46 pm. I have previously requested in my last complaint not to contact me unless through the BBB. I am requesting documentation to validate the nature of the call. I am again requesting them not to contact me or anyone who may know me in any way using any form of communication. Please provide a copy of the documentation in the response.

Regards,
******* ******

Business Response: Any future communications with complainant will be through legal channels

3/9/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ******* ** ***** *** ** ********* *** ***** **** ***** ###-###-#### (home phone)   Re: Cease and desist letter   I am getting continued harassing phone calls from this law office. This firm calls twice a month looking for ******* *****. This is a bill collection. He has not been with this number since our divorce in 2001. I always give them a courtesy call telling them they have the wrong number.   Below are recent documented calls that I received and returned. March 5, 2015 Feb. 23, 2015 Feb. 9, 2015 Jan. 28, 2015 Dec. 17, 2014 Nov 13, 2014   ****** ** ********* *** **** ** ***** *** ****** ***** *** ********* **** ***** Phone ###-###-#### Fax ###-###-#### *********   What do I need to do have them quit calling me every other week?   Thank you, ******* ** *****

Desired Settlement: What do I need to do have them quit calling me every other week?

Business Response: The phone number mentioned "###-###-####" has been removed from our records and placed in a "DO NOT CALL" status.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  


However, that being stated, this is the same answer the business has given me every time I have given them a courtesy phone call stating they had the wrong number.  I will hope that they will truly no longer call my number in the future.

Thank you.
******* **  *****

1/14/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The first communication I received from this business was at my place of employment, there was no attempt by this business to contact me on my personal phone or by mail to my residence. I explained that I can not take personal calls at work and would have to call them back the next morning before work. I called them back the next morning at 8:30am and they proceeded to tell me that they were representing the **** Attorney Generals Office in regard to unpaid **** state taxes. This business demanded that I give them my bank account number and bank routing number so that they can withdraw payments and that if I did not agree to this and call them back with the information by 10:00am that same day they would contact my employer and start a wage garnishment process. I asked that they provide me with proof of the tax debt and time to review and verify that their claim was legitimate and if so I would be more than willing to discuss arrangements with them to settle the debt. They refused to give me time and demanded again for my bank information or they would contact my employer directly and then they hung up on me.

Desired Settlement: I expect them to cease any communications with my employer and only communicate with me directly during non-working hours. I expect them to provide me with documents showing detailed proof of the debt I owe and allow me time to review and research the documentation to determine if this is a legitimate request, and if so then I expect them to work with me to negotiate a fair resolution plan.

Business Response: Investigating complaint. Will formally respond by 01/05/2015.

8/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A rep from this company calls the consumer's place of business everyday leaving messages. The consumer is not allowed to have personal business calls while at work.

Desired Settlement: Would like business to not call consumers place of employment as it has caused a problem at work. Please allow consumer to contact business at their convenience or contact by personal phone.

Business Response: We have noted her account and this office will make no further contact with her at work.  All future contact will be made via Home phone number provided.Thank you.

1/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint:  The consumer is receiving unsolicited phone calls from ****** ********* regarding debt collection. The consumer has been on the DNC registry for over 31 days. The supplier calls from ###-###-#### to the consumer's home number of ###-###-####.

Desired Settlement:  The consumer would like for the unsolicited phone calls to end.

Business Response:

These were not sales calls. So the DNC registry doesn't come into effect.  However at the consumers request we ARE removing their phone number from our data base.  They should receive no further calls....

 

***** ** ******
******** ** **********

Law Offices of Robert A. Schuerger Co., LPA

11/11/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: my wife and i are being charged fees and interest for medical bills.I told this company we would pay the bill when interest and fees are removed. I will send in another payment after I get bill in writing.

Desired Settlement: all interest and fees be taken off the account.

Business Response:

We have contacted our client (the medical provider) to see if they would be willing to waive any interest or fees.  As soon as they respond we will advise.

Thank you.

***** ******
Law Offices of Robert A. Schuerger

10/11/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife was sent medical bills from Robert Schuerger Co.,Lpa. I agreed to pay medical fees but not added interest and fees!I request these fees and interest be taken off our account or i will file more complaints!

Desired Settlement: Added fees and interest be taken off our account.

Business Response: Interest and statutory collection fees have been added to the account by the Ohio Attorney General's Office, per State of Ohio Statute.  We have spoken with the States Client, The ********** ** ****** Medical Center, and they are not going to waive the interest or fees. According to the Hospital, they attempted to get financial assistance for the patient, but they didn't return the required paperwork to their office with their down payment on the bill.  They Hospital made several attempts to contact the patient by phone without any return calls from the patient. If I can be of any further assistance in this matter, please don't hesitate to contact me.  

Consumer Response: we were not properly notified of this enormous medical bill. I would suggest the fees and interest be removed or I will file further complaints until this matter is resolved.
































Business Response: Any interest or fee adjustments MUST be made by our client.  This office has no authority to make those adjustments.  As previously stated in our response to your complaint, we DID check with our client and they rejected your request to waive the interest and penalties. I understand your frustration, however any adjustments to the amount due, is totally out of our control.  

2/17/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Law Offices of Robert A. Schuerger have sent me a few letters stating that I owe the State of Ohio, UNIVERSITY OF ******, $389.88. The letter states that I need to pay this balance in full by money order or certified check. I HAVE NEVER ATTENDED THE UNIVERSITY OF ******. I contacted the University of ****** and they affirmed that I have no record of being a student at their institution. Robert A. Shuerger claims to be Special Counsel to the Attorney General for the State of Ohio. I have not resided in the state of Ohio for over 10 years until about 6 months ago. This collection has now been taken out of my state of Ohio tax refund. I need this situation resolved as soon as possible. I have tried to contact this office for the past two years with no response or help regarding this matter. Again, I have never attended the University of ****** and Robert A. Schuerger continues to threaten me for payment and turned me over for collection to the Attorney General, State of Ohio.

Desired Settlement: I want this removed from my credit history and I want my State of Ohio taxes refunded. I want all correspondence to stop and this entire situation to be resolved by means of clearing any monies that Robert A. Schuerger/Ohio Attorney General believes that I owe to an institution that I have never attended. My State of Ohio tax refund has already been offset because of this ongoing matter. This matter needs to be settled immediately before he attempts to offset my Federal Tax return as well.

Business Response: We are currently working with Ms. ***** to figure out what is going on this account.  The social security number and birthdates provided by University of ****** do indeed match hers.  We have requested documentation from the University to determine what exactly the charges requested are for.    I will follow up with the BBB upon receipt of the documents, to let you know how this matter is resolved.   Thank you in advance.  

2/12/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called this office pertaining to a debt I have and when I called the first time my call dropped. Well I was busy at the moment so I didn't call right back and was waiting until I got to a spot with better service. Well I got a call back like 30 seconds later from this office. Since I was busy I let the call go to voicemail. A few minutes later I checked the voicemail and it said "This is attorney Robert Schuerger's office special counsel for the Ohio Attorney General's office. So when you call in and hang up on us, we know who you are. You may want to make that call back." I find this as threatening and very unprofessional. I then called back to find out it was the account manager. He had the same tone until he found out I was looking to pay a debt in full. I tried to send a message on the company's website and was not able to. Everytime I have called attempting to talk directly to Mr. Shuerger I am told he is away. I just wanted to let someone know.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be contacted by Mr. Robert Schuerger himself, by e-mail, in an attempt to pay my debt. Also, an apology for the threatening tones would be nice since it is illegal to threaten.

Business Response: After investigation, this account does indeed belong to the complaining party.  We are sending her copies of the documents.  She has told us that the school has made a mistake and is currently working with them to resolve it.We have suspended collection action on this account until she gets things worked out with the school. If you have any further questions regarding this complaint, please do not hesitate to contact me. 

Consumer Response:

I never said that there was a mistake and I have called the school and they said they know nothing about the debt

and that I have to call the attorney's office.  































Business Response:

I have sent an e-mail directly to the consumer with my personal office number to discuess her concerns.  Awaiting response.


Consumer Response:

I have contacted the Ohio Attorney General office directly.

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******9, and find that this resolution is not satisfactory to me but the matter has been taken care of.






















12/23/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I authorized a one time payment of $50.00 in September, 2012 and they decided to cash the check 2 months later in November. I checked my account today and they auto-drafted $50 out of my account again which I did not authorize. This company was not given permission to debit my account every month. I stated to the representative that I would call in my payment every month. Also, why would anyone wait 2 months to cash the original complaint in the first place.

Desired Settlement: I want this company to take my payment information out of their system and refund me my overdraft fees caused by their careless bookkeeping. If the money was taken out when I first told them to take it the money would have been in my account.

Business Response:

 On 9-13-12  debtor did set up post dated check plan with this office for 5 consecutive monthly payments.

This office has already stopped auto payments per debtors request. This was done on 12-21-12.

No further checking withdrawls will be done without express consent of the debtor.


 

 

Consumer Response: The post dated auto draft was not agreed upon and I have my bank investigate it and they sided with me so I consider this resolved.  The next time someone calls the person handling the debt should be more professional and not threaten to sue anyone because he doesn't like someone's response. 
































11/26/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ****** ****** has repeatedly called *********** ********** ******** looking for one of our employees. We have repeatedly asked her not to call, as this is a place of employment and not a personal number. When I told her not to call here anymore she threatened me stating "do you know who I work for". She condescendingly asked if I knew what an attorney was. I advised that I do, in fact, know what an attorney is, as my family owns several law firms and my mother previously worked for the US Attorney's office. She continued to attempt to bully me into giving her our business address. I advised that I will not be providing her with that information, as this is a place of business. She then asked for the employees HR supervisor. I repeated that I would not give her any information and that her tactics were not legal. I asked for her title and her contact information and she refused to give them to me and ended the call.

Desired Settlement: I would like this company to refrain from calling us again looking for this employee or any other person employed at our company. If they use these illegal tactics while calling businesses I can't imagine what else they are doing illegally.

Business Response:
I have spoken with the account representative that handled the account in question and she states that she did not make the statements in the complaint. That being said, I did inform her that anything close still would not be acceptable. No further calls will be made to that business in regards to this matter.

9/4/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Robert Schuerger's law offices sent me a debt collection notice on August 18 of 2012. I have not lived in Ohio for over four years, and when I did, I paid all taxes. I called the law office to inquire and Jeff threatened a lean if I did not take care of it right away. The nature of the law office tactics are highly suspicious, and they would not provide me with any specifics of the nature of charges. They became threatening and aggressive over the phone when I pushed for specifics. I did have my identity stolen around this time period. I don't know if this could have anything to do with it, but my ID theft was handled by the ******** County Court ID theft case# **********.

Desired Settlement: I would like a cease and desist letter sent to the law offices on my behalf.

Business Response:

This is a legimate tax debt owed to the State of Ohio.   We are special counsel to the Attorney General's office.  Debtor refused to pay claiming that "we purchased the debt and he does not have to pay."  In according with the taxpayers request, we will no longer contact him regarding the debt, and notify the Atorney General's office of his position.

 

Thank You.

 

***** ******
Director of Operations
Law Offices of Robert A. Schuerger
Special Counsel to the Attorney General, State of Ohio
243 N. 5th St. Suite 300
Columbus, OH 43215
************