Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Blue Laser Design, Inc.

Phone: (614) 453-5702 Fax: (800) 618-8132 View Additional Phone Numbers 300 Marconi Blvd Ste 302, Columbus, OH 43215 http://www.bluelaserdesign.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Custom Website Design, Business Cards, Custom Programming Applications, Search Engine Optimization, Search Engine Marketing, Strategic Marketing, Social Media, Pay Per Click, E-Commerce.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Blue Laser Design, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Blue Laser Design, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

22 Customer Reviews on Blue Laser Design, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 22
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 22

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 13, 2008 Business started: 02/01/2000 in OH Business incorporated 10/23/2006 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. William Guthrie, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William Guthrie, President
Business Category

Web Design Internet - Web Hosting Consultants - Social Media Online Social Media/Networking Catalog Designers & Compilers Graphic Designers Search Engine Optimization Services Market Research & Analysis Marketing Consultants Marketing Programs & Services Brand Development Package Design & Development Internet Marketing Services

Method(s) of Payment
All types of payment accepted.
Refund and Exchange Policy
Our refund policy will be provided with all initial contracts to be reviewed by the client prior to signing.
Alternate Business Names
BLUE Laser Design, Inc.
Additional Information

Blue Laser Design offers web design, analytics and tracking.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Blue Laser Design, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 300 Marconi Blvd Ste 302

    Columbus, OH 43215 (800) 684-2270 (614) 453-5702

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We paid Blue Laser Design to promote our website through SEO work and improve our website through improved copy throughout the website. We were told to make certain changes to redirect our website address as that was hurting our Google Adwords ranking which supposedly wiped out their SEO work. After talking with another client of theirs, I don't believe the SEO work was ever really done, as they had a similar situation where the work was not done. We did not see any improvement in ranking of our website, nor did we ever see the SEO work that was done. After rewriting the copy throughout our website exactly as they directed us to do, they criticized the copy as redundant, even though that is what they told us to do. **** was rude and condescending to both of us at times.

Desired Settlement: After talking with another client of theirs that had a very similar result with Blue Laser, I would like to request a full refund of my original invoice. Approximately $500.

Business Response: Hello, we got the notice today. Please allow for a couple days to respond. We get many scam BBB emails per day so most just go to spam.   I will have my employees put together our dispute information.   This client actually already accepted a resolution and has now gone against that so we need to consult with our attorney and collections department to reinstate the invoices due to us for services performed. Since emails are legally binding in the state of Ohio and we have the client agreeing to our resolution we also need to consult with a few of our attorneys on how to proceed now that a BBB complaint has been issued. We have an email going over the details and providing a resolution along with clients acceptance on  10/2/2013 at 11:22am "   Thanks ****!   I appreciate it. I did receive your email and I will agree to that.

Consumer Response:

**** from Blue Laser Design claims that I accepted an offer to resolve the entire situation. I did accept an offer to eliminate the final additional invoice of roughly $200 (for SEO work and copywriting as well as for meetings and phone calls) because it was billed without a quote, which I requested by email on August 30th (see below). I also stated in that email that the SEO work was not going to be invoiced as we had already paid for that and they were redoing it and to let me know if I was incorrect on that assumption. I did not hear back from ******* on it, so I assumed I was not to be billed for that and Blue Laser would re-input the SEO information lost at no additional charge. Billing for meetings and phone calls were never discussed or agreed upon and cannot be billed without an understanding upfront.
 

"*******,

I am under the impression that you will be billing me for the copywriting, not the SEO work, correct? Can you give me an idea on the cost of the copywriting for the homepage and one product landing page? Let me know if I am incorrect on that.

Thanks,

*****

Here is a proposal I sent to Blue Laser Design to resolve the situation on September 30th, 2014:

"Here is what I propose to resolve this in a fair and equitable manner. This last invoice should be erased, and on our original invoice of $500+, I would request a 50% refund and I will walk away without any ill will toward your company. With this proposal, we both lose a little money, not just me losing the entire amount and not getting what we expected. "

I have dealt with probably over 100 vendors over the past 15 - 20 years and never felt a need to file a complaint on one of them until now. I do not believe I have any complaints filed against my company over this same time period. I feel it is my right and responsibility to make a complaint with the BBB as I don't feel I got what I was promised in numerous meetings in person and on the phone. I also feel that in our initial meeting, our website was going to work fine with what they were going to do to increase traffic to the website, but halfway through the process they claimed that our website needed much work and really didn't work right. At that time they offered to rebuild a new custom built website for approximately $7,000 - $12,000 (with mobile capability), and we declined.





























Business Response: Hello, here is our document to reply to the original dispute.  Thank you, **** Hello, I was not able to upload my actual response on behalf of my company so thought it best to get this information to you. Let us know if you have any questions. We did provide an abundant amount of information proving this to be a false distorted claim that needs removed so it may take some time to weed through it. What is your policy on claims that are just not valid?  We don’t want to even show that something was disputed or something like this particular situation.  Thanks, **** **** Guthrie President Phone: ###-###-####  Blue Laser Design  300 Marconi Blvd. Suite 302 | Columbus, OH  43215 Main: ###-###-#### | Fax: ###-###-#### Web: www.BLUELaserDesign.com

Consumer Response: The facts don't support ****'s claim that this complaint is distorted or false. We have a legitimate complaint and feel that we did not receive what we paid for or what was promised to us. Upon entering the initial agreement, we were told our website was fine and usable even after **** was to review it. Halfway through they discovered it had major problems with the search engine, which is what is needed to attract new customers to the website. At that point they offered to create a custom website for a large amount of money and we declined. Since we were misled we feel a refund is due. I would not make a false complaint against a business at all, let alone for $250 or $500. It is certainly not a lot of money to be fighting over. I would not dispute that Blue Laser has many hours of work into this project, but we were misled and should not have to pay for their time. **** has one point of view and we stand by ours. I am unable to see the information he has sent to the BBB as he could not upload it and it was not sent to me, so I can't comment on that until I see it. The second invoice which was invalid because there was no mutual understanding, and which he is trying to reinstate since I filed this claim, has no merit. Reinstating an invalid invoice because I filed this complaint does not sound like good business practice and is unethical. 

Consumer Response: I received a response on my complaint on Blue Laser Design and was finally able to see the attached response from Blue Laser, but the website says "there is nothing for you to do on this complaint right now." Am I supposed to be waiting for another response from the business or is this case closed? I am ready to respond to their attachments now that I can see them. Before when I responded, Blue Laser had not attached the documents or they were not showing up on the website. Thank you,

Business Response: **** ******* has not included our replies to the emails he cites below. Blue Laser is essentially being black-mailed by this client, who claims that “[$500] is certainly not a lot of money to be fighting over.” ****’s actions speak much louder than his words can, however, for if he truly believed that this amount was not worth disputing, then he wouldn’t be wasting his time with this back and forth. Clearly, however, he is trying to nickel and dime us after we already lost money by waving his final invoice.   This behavior is in line with our previous assertions that **** damaged his own SEO and site by trying to do the work we recommended he needed on his own. He is interested in saving money, not hiring professionals or doing the job right. We warned **** and his staff multiple times on the danger of trying this work on their own. If they acted without expertise and broke their own site, how can Blue Laser be held responsible?   We will not be pressured to lose more money simply because a client makes false claims against us. We are at particular disadvantage because this client does not have his own BBB account and therefore cannot accept reciprocal complaints. Later on in the project we did propose a replacement because the client had attempted so many changes and updates to the site themselves that it ruined the original work that was completed and he was making more requests that made it much easier just to get rid of the mess that the site had turned into ( without fault of our own because we did NOT do that work ).   Yes we did propose a custom project to get it all done correctly as it should have been done from the start.  The client continually turned down the options that would have a higher associated cost by having a professional company do the work. We have not only dealt with hundreds of clients but thousands of clients and website in our 14 years of business.  Clients that allow us to do our work properly and don't sabotage the website end up getting returns on that investment and continued success. We are sorry that we cant control clients that take what we say and as an inexperienced website designer or developer try to put in place and ruin various online aspects of there business. We are not in the business to be teachers but an actual service provider. With the nature of how the BBB site even works it will not matter what resolution we would even attempt to come to at this point.  The fact that it will show a complaint no matter what happens even if we would loose even more money by paying off the suggested amount does our company even more damage. We are more than happy to have a BBB rep personally come and view our full documentation proving our case.   Regardless, we wish ******* *** ******* the best of luck with their future endeavors.

Consumer Response:

The Blue Laser response has some fact and some fiction. I am not disputing that Blue Laser spent much time and effort on our website. Here are some of the things I believe were fiction in Blue Laser's response:
 
• That my complaint with Blue Laser is distorted or false. We were not satisfied with the end result of the work Blue Laser performed and we believe they made an error to contract with us to improve our website and eventually discovered that they could not work with the website.
 
• It was not a constant battle working with Blue Laser as you can clearly see from reading all of their submitted emails. In most cases, the dialog is that we were working together to try to fix the issues. It was not until the very end of the journey that there was any battle at all. At one point, I was not getting the answer I wanted as to why our wholesale page was moving up in Google searches but our retail site was not even seen, and upon asking **** for maybe the third time, she said "****, don't ask me that again!" I was just trying to get an answer and it was never answered to my satisfaction. i did not battle over that though, I battled when it was told to me toward the end that our website had major issues, even though they initially said everything is fine with it to proceed with the contract to do the SEO work. 
 
• We did not "take their ideas and run with them" as stated by Blue Laser. We contracted with Blue Laser to try to improve the website and many ideas were given to us to improve the website. We took their suggestions and did what they asked us to do to try to improve the website. How is that taking their ideas and running with them, as if we stole their ideas? We do not understand this comment at all. Of course we are going to implement the suggestions they asked us to do.
 
• We did not fail to implement the suggestions they made to improve the website as stated by *******, in fact we believe we did everything they asked us to do, including rewriting copy for both all products (adding additional copy) and all landing pages, removing the hyphens in our web address, deleting the homepage as it was a duplicate, we lowered prices, we reduced shipping costs and free shipping minimum, we changed the categories as suggested and reorganized the products within the categories. The only thing we did not do is we did NOT take their suggestion to rebuild the website totally customized from scratch for thousands of dollars. In our initial meeting, since we were writing the copy ourselves, we were told to be redundant in our body copy as the search engines would find us easier, near the end of the process we were then told that our copy was reduntant, and we were like "that's what they told us to do!"
 
• Blue Laser states that we were trying to get free advice. We did not try to get free advice... we paid for that advice, and whether it took one hour or 160 hours, there was never a set limit on advice, including phone calls and meetings, nor were we ever told we would be charged additional for the time for these things. An invoice showed up one day billing us for meetings and phone calls, without any agreement whatsoever on additional time.
 
• We were never warned not to attempt to do any of the work ourselves by anyone at Blue Laser, as they state. We were actually offered the opportunity to save money on some of the things by doing it ourselves, which we did. The original contract also had options allowing us to do part of the work ourselves.
 
• Blue Laser claims that we were the ones that wiped out all of their SEO work when we replaced our homepage. This is not certain, but even if it was fact, they were the ones that told us to fix the hyphens in our web address and also that the homepage was a duplication of another page on the website, both of which were hurting our ranking on Google organically. The only possible way for us to fix the duplication of the homepage was to delete it and create a new one. That is what we did. If this wiped out all of their SEO work, it was done on their suggestion to fix these things. If any SEo work was wiped out, I would think it would have only been on the homepage that was deleted, not on any other landing page or product page. I would have thought that re-entering any "wiped out" SEO work could have easily been re-entered on the homepage with little effort or time.
 
My main complaint is that Blue Laser was to review our website before working on it to make sure that the SEO work they would eventually perform would work with our website to move us up on Google rankings. They either did not do that, or they made an error in deciding to proceed with working with our website. ******* eventually admitted in one of her emails that there are still major issues and problems with our website. These major issues never came up at the beginning of the process when **** was supposed to check over our website to look for problems. Our ultimate goal was to move our website up with Google organically, and what they brought up to us later in the process (not in the beginning), was that we had major problems with the website that would not work well with Google organic rankings. Blue Laser did not do their job of fully reviewing the website before committing to try to improve our Google rankings. 
 
In my last response to this complaint, I believe I misstated one thing, I believe I made an error when I said that the hyphens were hurting our Google Adwords and what I meant to say is that it was hurting our Google ranking (organically).
 
I would request a refund of my initial payment of $500 to resolve this complaint.






























Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

22 Customer Reviews on Blue Laser Design, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart