BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In 21 Counties in Central Ohio
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Old Man's Cave Chalets?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers vacation homes and cabins for rent.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Old Man's Cave Chalets meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Old Man's Cave Chalets include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Old Man's Cave Chalets
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 04, 1989 Business started: 12/01/1988 Business started locally: 12/01/1988 Business incorporated: 12/01/1988 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mark Devol, President Ms. Darlene Fitzgerald, Customer Service Manager Ms. Sharon Michel, Bookkeeper
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Devol, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Darlene Fitzgerald, Customer Service Manager
Business Category

Vacation Rentals Resorts

Alternate Business Names
Old Man's Cave Chalets, Inc.
Industry Tips
Vacation & Travel - BBB Tips

Additional Locations

  • 18905 State Route 664 S

    Logan, OH 43138 (800) 762-9396

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (740) 385-6517(Phone)
  • (800) 762-9396(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - eQuote
  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Terrible customer service. I was sent a Contract on 10/16/2013, which states: "If you cancel earlier than [thirty (30) days] of your arrival date, you will receive a full refund of your rental fee, less our $50.00 cancellation fee." I contacted them yesterday 1/15/2014 to cancel our stay for the end of May 2014 and they stated that they sent the wrong contract and now they want $250 for the cancellation. This is really ridiculous, especially since they found a new rental already. The customer service representative was really disrespectful and implied that I could not read, even though they were the ones who sent the wrong contract. I would not recommend even dealing with this company.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of the $200 extra they are trying to charge me. I was given a contract with a cancellation fee of $50, not $250. I still have the e-mail saved and can forward it on as proof of the agreement for the rental we were interested in.

Business Response: This customer was refunded the full amount of their stay, $1,684.83 on 1/17/13.

Old Man's Cave Chalets
800-762-9396

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9889080, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.





















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1