Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers vacation homes and cabins for rent.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Old Man's Cave Chalets meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Old Man's Cave Chalets include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Old Man's Cave Chalets
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 04, 1989 Business started: 12/01/1988 Business started locally: 12/01/1988 Business incorporated 12/01/1988 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mark Devol, President Ms. Darlene Fitzgerald, Customer Service Manager Ms. Sharon Michel, Bookkeeper
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Devol, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Darlene Fitzgerald, Customer Service Manager
Business Category

Vacation Rentals Resorts

Alternate Business Names
Old Man's Cave Chalets, Inc.
Industry Tips
Vacation & Travel - BBB Tips

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Old Man's Cave Chalets has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 18905 State Route 664 S

    Logan, OH 43138 (800) 762-9396

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Terrible customer service. I was sent a Contract on 10/16/2013, which states: "If you cancel earlier than [thirty (30) days] of your arrival date, you will receive a full refund of your rental fee, less our $50.00 cancellation fee." I contacted them yesterday 1/15/2014 to cancel our stay for the end of May 2014 and they stated that they sent the wrong contract and now they want $250 for the cancellation. This is really ridiculous, especially since they found a new rental already. The customer service representative was really disrespectful and implied that I could not read, even though they were the ones who sent the wrong contract. I would not recommend even dealing with this company.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of the $200 extra they are trying to charge me. I was given a contract with a cancellation fee of $50, not $250. I still have the e-mail saved and can forward it on as proof of the agreement for the rental we were interested in.

Business Response: This customer was refunded the full amount of their stay, $1,684.83 on 1/17/13.

Old Man's Cave Chalets
800-762-9396

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9889080, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.