BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
21 Counties in Central Ohio
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Resort One International?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Resort One International offers vacation travel and buying club memberships to corporations and other businesses. 

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Resort One International meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Resort One International include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Resort One International
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 18, 2009 Business started: 02/01/1985 in OH
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Jeffrey J Hall, President/CEO Ms. Jessica Hall, Customer Service Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeffrey J Hall, President/CEO
Business Category

Travel Clubs Vacation Rentals

Method(s) of Payment
payment methods vary by authorized sellers policies, All sales are made by third party Agents and marketing entities.
Refund and Exchange Policy
3 day right to cancel contract, after that said date all sales are final
Alternate Business Names
Resort One Travel & Vacation Club LLC
Industry Tips
Vacation & Travel - BBB Tips

Additional Locations

  • 200 E Campus View Blvd, Ste. 200

    Columbus, OH 43235 (866) 314-5995

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/8/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Please do not contact us by phone, we want all communication in writing One of the Reasons that we purchased the promotion product by Resort One International was because Ohio BBB did not display any issues with the company and that it carried it best rating.However, Resort One International failed to deliver on everything that we were promised and has proven to be a scam therefore we are requesting a full refund of the $8,995

Desired Settlement: Refund of the entire amount.

Consumer Response: I don't use email or the computer very much so I did not know how to use this thing and don't see where to send the documents, please provide an address and send it to the email address not this way.

Consumer Response: I'm sorry it took more than 10 days to reply but I had to figure out a way to rpint out legal paper size documents to letter size paper.  Some of this I have already attached to the original complaint.

Consumer Response: To whom it may concern,

Before we purchased the Resort One vacation package we checked the Dallas and the
Ohio BBB sites and could not identify any issues with this company. However, since we
purchased the vacation package which is one of the reasons we joined Resort One but
since then we have encountered deception and seen articles about Resort One.
Why then, does the BBB still indicates that Resort One as a favorable business
Enclosed is out complaint

To whom it may concern,
I'm writing to the Texas Consumer Protection department but I have reservation about it
because according to our and my colleagues experience and statements by the Governor
Texas is pro-business and hesitates to assist consumers but Resort One is committing a
major scam and Texas should do something about it.
Although this complaint is based on our experience and we would like to get out money
back, the primary purpose for this is to stop this company and local associates from
ripping off others, and to prosecute those responsible for doing it I have made several
efforts to resolving this problem with the local representatives without success and I lost
contact with them over a month ago.
In March, 2013 we were invited to a travel seminar which we took advantage of because
we are oversea frequently and wanted to know if we could find a way to save a few
dollars. We didn't care about the promotional gifts because we know theirs is a cost to all
of them. We just wanted a break on our travel which we were guaranteed by Resort One
agents but they renege on them when we try to purchase the deals we were promised.
To make a long story short, the seminar offered us discounts on condos, hotels, and other
establishments at a cost of $8,995, but everything they offered we can get on the open
market and communicated that to **** ****, the speaker. We informed his that our
primary interest was with tour companies such as General Tours and ****** and that it is
not difficult to get 10% off these tours.
Mr. **** said if we join Resort One that he has associates that specialize in what we were
looking for and could guarantee us a minimum 20% discount, including the airfare, and
that was on top of any discount we could get on our own from the company.
Therefore, we showed him the enclosed broacher for a trip across the Himalayas that has
a $415 dollar discount with Triple A. Our cost for the 10 day trip with the 3 day Beijing
explore, and the 4 day India extension is $5,582 each. With Mr. **** understanding that
we going to purchase the trip in August, 2013, he quoted me a cost of$4,218 each allinclusive
of taxes and fees. Now that we are ready to purchase the package we are told
the cost is $4,498 each without the India extension, which is not only more than what
they quoted us but also more that the broacher price. Email enclosed. We also inquired
about an open jaw ticket from DFW to Brussels's but returning from London. Our best all
inclusive airfare at the time was around $1,200 each. Mr. **** showed us all inclusive
airfares from $600 to $800 each but indicated that this was Sunday and the heeded to
verify the fares with his specialist. I met with Mr. **** and ******* *****, the specialist
on Monday but she didn't say much and Mr. **** did all the talking and pretty much
repeated everything he said the day before and Ms. ***** did not disagree with anything
Mr. **** was saying, but when I tried to book the airfare he kept stalling and after a
month I contacted Ms. ***** directly and booked with her but she could not come up
with same deal Mr. **** had quoted me and I was out of time so I had to take her deal
which included a hotel room but saved us $100 which is far less than what Mr. **** had
provided to us. After I paid for the entire package in full, airfare and hotel I received an
email indicating that I had not paid for the room and owed over $400. After several days
of communication with Ms. ***** she finally agreed to let me have the deal that I paid
for but I has lost my else seats and American Airline wanted to charge me almost $100
more. Apparently Ms. ***** would not fix the problem so I took up the issue with
American Airlines and they corrected the problem for me. I have enclosed documentation
for all of the above.
Ms. ***** also quoted an October 2014 trip to French Polynesian Islands with Windstar
Cruises for a Midship cabin at $2,045 all inclusive, which retails $3,199 plus taxes and
fees but after what I've seen I don't believe I will get it at that price.
I also did research on motel rooms that we frequent. The enclosed indicate the Resort
One is more expensive than what we can get on the open market.

Business Response: We have made every effort to satisfy this customer. We refute his allegations. We've made numerous calls, emails, and in person contacts to help him. We request BBB schedule legally binding arbitration to end this matter.


Consumer Response: I replied to the complaint indicating that I was out of town and could not reply until today because all my data was at home. I tried to send the reply but I the link to the site is not working. Note It took me two days write and to find the attached the supporting facts sheets so I could prove they are misrepresenting the facts and have several omission that would make them guilty of fraud       

Consumer Response: Since I don't have access to Resort One's reply I will work form what I can remember and in
chronological order.
To begin I was not interested in what Mr. **** had offered in his presentation and informed the
representative sitting with us (I believe his name was ******) we were not interested because we
were looking for pre planed trips and showed him and Mr. **** the England trip we had
purchased and our next trip to Himalaya's and I not only informed him that I usually get about a
10% discount on trips and business class airfare but was looking for 10% off on coach. He then
boasted something like that's chump change and insinuated that I did not know that he could get
us 20% to 30% off trips and easily 10% of on any coach airfare and later modified it to only
intercontinental and international. However, I'm well aware of the discounts and I was searching
for a way to get them or I would not have accepted the invitation to the meeting. He proceeded in
showing me airfares that were about half off the three flights that I had looked at and discounted
our England trip by another couple of hundred dollars. However, he did quantify his statement
that he could be off a bit on the airfare and had to contact his experts the next day to verify the
airfare but insisted tbat we had to join Resort One to speak with them.

I wasn't going to spend almost $9,000 without having a recovery time therefore I showed Mr.
**** several other future trips from ****** to get an approximate discount, that's when he stated
that they do tremendous amount of business ****** and "can almost guarantee us better than
20% discount" then I calculated it would take 4 to 5 years to recover the initial $9,000 fee.

As for my declining the phone call.  I told in was welcome phone call and when I indicated that I
don't appreciate welcome phone calls I was told in would only be short call. What they
conveniently omitted in my reply was that I prefer to have everything in writing because it
alleviates most of the misunderstandings, misrepresentation, and outright fabrication that are in
phone calls. Their reply also omitted that I had already set up to meet Mr. **** and his expert
then next day to go over everything I needed to know and purchase the airfare.

The next day I met with Mr. **** and he introduced me to Ms. ***** . Mr. **** pretty much
repeated the three airfare quotes that I provided. I got the impression that he was a novice and
that Ms. ***** was his supervisor because he kept looking at her confirmation but he did not
receive any that I could see. When we got to the trips Ms. *****  quoted the Windstar trip as I
indicated in my original complaint but we did not take advantage of it because of health issues.

Then Mr. **** quoted the Himalaya trip wbich was also in my original complaint but will
revised here because he trying to convince the BBB that I'm full of crap where I have substance
to support my allegations and he does not. He also tries to convince the BBB that it takes a while
to work on the discounts which is the behavior of a con artist. Any reputable business person will
jump at the chance to close the deal that was quoted where Mr. **** ran away from it every time
I tried to give him the sale. At the end of the meeting I asked him to purchase anyone of the
flights he has just quoted but he indicated that he did not have time because or prior
appointments. That is when I said I would email him the fights and he could book one when he
had time. As I indicated above, I prefer to do whatever I can in writing for this kind of reasons
where I can prove that Mr. **** is trying to deceive the BBB but indicating he has too much
business and that I inundated him with emails and is my way to prove that Mr. **** is acting like
a con artist. The initial email was to purchase the airfare which he kept postponing therefore I
kept sending him reminders which he kept postponing. I even had to change some of the flights
because the original ones that I wanted were sold out and as time passed the cost of the flights
keep increasing. As Mr. **** indicated, I have the entire ernail chain where the BBB can follow
my requests and his delay tactics. However, when I saw the email (copy enclosed) that he was
doing the same thing from our friends I tried calling him several times with no response. I even
went to where he was trying to get new clients and waited until the end of the meeting but
deliberately evaded me. Like the saying, he ducked out of the backdoor; therefore I went out of
my way and drove over twenty miles to Ms. ***** office because I assumed she was his
supervisor. Ms. ***** was out of the office and asked Mr. **** to contact me because when he
reached me he could not even remember my name and I informed him that I we need were out of
time and needed the air reservations which Ms. ***** completed in about 30 minutes. That's
when Ms. ***** indicated that Mr. **** did not understand the booking process and that she can
only provide a 10% discount on business class of better, which I have in writing. However, it is
still perplexing that after two months Mr. **** could not book the airfare other than he could not
deliver what he quoted and is another sign of a corn artist.

As for the bookings, Mr. **** indicated that he saved our friends $1,000 but omitted that was the
full retail price all the time knowing that it was only a couple of hundred form what we had paid.
He also omitted the differences in the London hotels. As I document in the original complaint
Mr. **** and Ms. ***** discounted the Himalaya trip to $4218 each including the pre and post
extension. When I contacted Ms ***** she wanted $4,498 without the India extension. A $100
increase by the tour company does not merit a $280 increase without the India extension which is
another $1,199 or $5,697 that's nowhere close to the original quote plus the increase. And Ms.
***** totally ignored my replay requesting why she had left off the India extension and
increased the price of the trip.

If I recall correctly, in another attempt by Resort One response to deceive the BBB they
indicated that I was full of crap and I could not achieve the substantial discounts that I indicated.
Like the other statements they made in the response it is without substance, while my statement
that I purchased the Himalaya trip for $4,947 that cost $6,297 I believe that discount is over 20%
and my substance is enclosed with this document.

As I indicated before, the Resort One response is full of errors by incorrect assumptions and
omissions and misrepresentations. If I recall correctly and a ridiculous as it is they have and issue
with my email account name, other than deceiving the BBB by superfluous distractions there no
reason to bring that up. However, the purpose of the email is to segregate the travel
communications for the other because achieving the discount requires communication to several
sites. In our case we are frequent flyers with five airlines; that's ten accounts, then we have
accounts with several hotels chains and about 20 travel companies and agencies. That's a lot of
emails.

If, Resort One believed it is a righteous company then it will form the minimum
discount percentage as indicated for the following three trips below ten we continue
with our agreement.

But, as I indicated in my initial complaint, remuneration is not as important as putting a
deceptive company out of business there I have attached the I have attached a
Dallas new article on this issue and there was another occurrence on the Local NBC TV station

The ****** trips dates are open but probably fall of Oct 2014 and Sept 2015.  Antarctica trip is
locked in for February 2015.

The 2015 price for this Antarctica trip was not available when I spoke with Mr. **** but he indicate
that he can get a minimum of 25% off on a higher price trip like this one.  We are anticipating
booking February 8th trip in July or August therefore Resort one can quote this trip for us now.

I showed Mr. **** what we planning to take and he indicated do 15% or better with ******
because they do a lot of business with them.  I don't need specific numbers yet for ****** but I
do need something in writing indicating the discount percentage and don't let them indicate it's  
too early because I have already been quoted 10 and 11 percent off on these two trips by two
other reputable firms which I have used before.  I also believe that I can do better when I show
them the money and this does not count ****** Previous customer discount if any.

Consumer Response:

Thank you for resubmitting the complaint, but i'm a bit perplexed on your response.
On the left side of the window it indicates that there's nothing for me to do while the message indicates that I can begin arbitration.
If arbitration is the next step please have Resort One look at my rebuttal, it has a solution at the end. All they have to do is commit to discounts that Mr. **** promised us. If they are not willing to do so then we look in to a lawsuit before we select arbitration.   
 

Consumer Response: Here's a suggestion that I made in my reply, at a minimum I would like to see what they want to do about my suggestions
Thank you

 

Business Response: Business provided documentation regarding ****** complaint.

Consumer Response: As I indicated in the last letter I'm a novice at this complaint stuff and you have not responded
to the two emails that I sent to you. But before I address the emails I believe that in my original
documentation I requested a hard copy of all documents that the BBB received from Resort One
otherwise I'm responding from memory and that is not fair to Resort One and me.

The first email that I sent to you was a simple inqury that I did not understand why part of the
response indicated that I did not have to do anything but the other indicated that I could initiate
arbitration which leads me to my second email because, working from memory, I don't recall if
Resort One ever address the fact of the trip discounts that Mr. **** indicated Resort One would
provide. All that I recall is a bunch of crap cutting me down and in all fairness to Resort One I
have to provide them the opportunity to either provide the discounts or reject them. If Resort One
indicates in writing that they will apply the discounts that Mr. **** promised then I will
withdraw my compliant othewise I will investigate designing a blog to initiate a class action law
suit. I already contacted a few others that have encountered similar situation with Resort One.

Would you please submit this document to Resort One, it is only fair to let them accept or reject
what Mr. **** promised.

Note that I will be in the Himalayas and India during the month of May and I would be able to
see or address any questions until the beginning of June


Consumer Response:

To whom it may concern,

As I stated in the primary communication with the BBB complaint about Resort One and/or
representatives, we entered into a contract in good faith but not only have they failed to meet the
savings that was promised they deliberately ignored us and employed other tactics to discourage
us from submitting requests for trips. As admitted by ******* ****** in her response to the BBB,
exhibit one, included in this response package. Apparently she also employed similar tactics with
others as indicated by exhibit two, also included in this package and supports my statement that
Ms ***** is executing deceptive business practices. In Mr. ****s July 14, 2014 response to this
complaint states that Resort One does not have misleading or deceptive sales practices but failed
to mention that Resort One employs unethical individuals as in Ms. *****, exhibits two A & two
B.

When I met with Mr. **** and Ms ***** I stated that I prefer to communicate in writing, mostly
by email, whenever possible because I believe that phone conversations lead to
misunderstanding and misleading statements that are difficult to prove afterwards. Both
indicated that emails are not a problem; however, now she is trying to use it as deception to evade
responsibilities. It will become evident in this document that we are planning to do everything
that I submitted to Ms. ***** and more but her lack of response and ethics has delayed a couple
of the trips.

An example of this deception is apparent in my first meeting Mr. ****, he baited me with three
low fare quotes from American Airlines but he refused to immediately book one while he had
them on the computer, he told me to send him an email, which I did, but he did not respond or
responded with delay tactics that he did not have time but will get back to me. He also did not
respond to my friends request for airfare. When they express concerns to me about Mr. ****'s
business tactics, exhibit three, I contacted Ms. ***** and informed her of the problems with Mr.
**** and that we were missing out on the low airfares. She indicated that Mr. **** did not have
full understanding of airfares and she would take care of the issues.

So far we have not received any of the deep discounts, if any discounts at all, that we were
promised. In exhibit one Ms. ***** states that my friends saved $1,000, which is another
deception attempt because she omitted that the discount was only a couple of hundred less and
just enough to beat what I paid and to with another agency, and she knows it. Also, the saving
were negated when she deliberately charged them the full fair instead of the internet discounted
airfare, and told me so, even when I reminded her that the discounts are supposed to be applied to
all my relatives and friends. She said it was too late to discuss or make changes. It appears that
either Mr. **** did not convey the fabricated benefits to Ms. *****, or she blatantly ignores
everything. Note: some statements above were in personal discussions therefore I can't prove it
and is the reason I prefer writing.

Ms. *****'s delay tactics also forced me to take a less attractive deal than originally discussed.
We ended with normal discounts that I could have gotten on the open internet. She also omitted
the fact that we had $431 additional payment due after she indicated we paid in full, exhibit four.
She screwed up so bad that I had to intervene and make the corrections as indicated in exhibit five
where she confirms that I made the corrections.

Although she knows better, in exhibit one Ms. ***** states that we would never take all the
vacations we requested, this is another deception to cover up her fabrications, exhibit six, is a
Dallas Morning News article of our travels.

I also sent her a referral, Mr. *******, he did all the work for her all she had to do was discount
the price a little to get the business. Although on 6/24/13 Ms. ***** sent a quick email indicating
she would save him a 10% minimum, but she never returned the quote. Therefore on 8/24 he had
no choice but to book through another agency, exhibit seven. The minimum that any ethical
business would do is send a courtesy reply that she wasn't able to complete her promise to Mr.
*******.

As for the trip to the Himalaya that we discussed in the initial interview and the impetus for this
complain Mr. **** indicating about 25% in saving (exhibit sent with the initial complaint) but
when it came time to book the trip Ms. ***** not only discounted the trip about 10% but also and
cut the trip by four days. A 10% discount is a common and minimum available at several
agencies, and I don't have to pay almost $9,000 for it. I have already sent the proof in a follow up
letter that we got a 22% discount on the trip.

The other trip discussed in initial interview is the Iberian Peninsula and Morocco which we plan
for this fall. Two quotes that I have indicate a minimum saving of 14% before bargaining, which
supports that my statements are not duplicitous, exhibit eight and nine.

Booking the Crossing the Antarctica Circle trip in February 2015 through Resort One other
agencies has diminished because of Ms. ***** unethical business tactics. It appears that we have
to delay the trip to February 2016 and we will also have to incur additional cost because of her.
Exhibit ten is an approximate cost for the 2015 trip.

As for Ms. *****'s complaint that I wasn't sincere about the Costa Rica trip I have enclosed
exhibit 11 which indicates that there are two other families looking for quotes. It is unfortunate
that multiple issues (one being Ms. *****'s failure) came up and we had to post pone this trip.
Also, exhibit one implies that Ms ***** presumes she will get every quote that she provides,
which is unrealistic and projects an irresponsible business attitude as indicated in exhibit two, and
may have contributed to the demise of her mediocre travel business.

As I indicatal from the beginning, we entered in this agreement in good faith but like everything I
do I try to establish all communicate in writing because I realize that although both parties may
have good intention there are times when verbal communication will lead to misunderstanding
and because it is difficult to rectify issues it is the unethical business preferred method of
communicating .

Although I tried to maintain a written communication with Mr. **** and Ms. ***** the lack of
response and delay tactics necessitated that I communicate verbally with them and verbal
statement made by them are a major part of the disagreement. I realize that it becomes difficult
when trying to resolve a dispute like this one with verbal statements. All that I can offer to prove
my honesty is that all the other statements I made are correct and validate in writing; therefore, if
the written statements are correct than the verbal statements should also be correct.

As for selecting the arbitrator candidates, I've read the qualifications and I can just pick them, but
to be honest this is my first time doing this and I don't know what I'm doing. Therefore, I believe
it would more prudent if we can have the candidates that do not have relationship with Resort
One and/so its affiliates read over my complaint and let the ones that believe they can make an
impartial judgment select them-selves.

Anticipated resolutions:
I believe that not only have I proven that we have been scammed by Resort One and its
representatives I have also supported my conclusion that the representatives are unethical with
exhibits two and two A and B.

First, terminate the contract of all past, current and future obligations by both parties, I believe is
also Resort One preferred resolution, and then return all of our money because we entered in this
agreement in good faith, otherwise why would I send them referrals, but Mr. **** and Ms. *****
deliberately low balled every trip I presented to acquire our money but had no intention of selling
us the tours at the low price presented to me.

If after terminating the contract the arbitration committee believes Resort One is entitle to some
money (although after reading the three exhibit two I don't see why), then in return I would
expect some benefits that were promised to us, like the 25% discount on the Crossing the
Antarctica Circle. This would provide us with a break and Resort One would make a little
commission, not what they anticipated in commission but it is what I was promised.

I believe that I have an excellent case to have the resolution in my favor. I do not have any
objections to any of the proposed dates; however, because I don't know what I'm doing I do not
plan to appear at the meeting. It may be naive of me but I have faith that the arbitration
committed will be just. If I'm made aware of the date and time I will be available by phone I can
be reached at ###-###-####


Consumer Response:

You should have the answers by now and I'm sorry I wasn't here to reply to your email and I believe that you need an explanation even though I’m not sure you want all of it. But I feel you need to know why I don’t always have an immediate response an explanation for the past and future delays. Although I’m retired I have a full and active life that consumes all of my time. However, as I indicated in August we had an unexpected family health problem which put a kink on all our plans. First my wife is an ex nun and her only relative is a brother who is a retired Catholic priest in Kennebunk Maine about 2,000 miles away they are very close and spoke with each other almost every days. Fortunately we celebrated his 50th anniversary as a priest just a few days before he had a stroke where he lost most of his mobility and speech etc. After almost two weeks in the hospital we moved him to a rehab center which delayed the return home trip by three weeks and we schedule to move him in fulltime nursing facility before we leave for Europe and Africa at the end of this month. Other than his health the only thing he is concern about is missing out a second audience with the Pope for our 50th anniversary. All this meant that I had to delay my cancer biopsy until we get back from our trip which is in mid-November because the recovery is three to five days and then my wife had to reschedule her colonoscopy to tomorrow. I can continue but I believe that you can see why it is sometimes difficult to reach us. As for not replying to this email until now we were on the road again to our future great grandson baby party; that was 500 miles.

Thank you

 


Consumer Response: I don't recall any resolution, did Mr. **** accept my proposal? If he did not than this is not resolved and I want to continue.   Don't use my schedule as an excuse.

Consumer Response: Response to Mr. ****'s questions most of which have already been addressed in my previous documentations but I will reiterate again starting with the unexpected phone call because I requested it be in writing. I received a phone called out of nowhere and she did not asked me if I had time to speak even after I informed her that I had a prior commitment and that I had received all my answers from Mr. **** and Ms. ***** therefore there was nothing to discus and not to waste my time. I'm and honest and truthful individual with direct answers and statements. This document will be written the same way therefore I apologies it is seems offensive because it's not intended to be. However, the phone call is not part of the contract and should not be used as a distraction. Also, if the CSR is offended by honest and direct statements and takes them as rude and/or disrespectful than she needs more training or another position. As to why I don't believe in phone calls I stand by my initial statement at the meeting which I reiterated in my responses but apparently ignored because it keeps coming up. "There is nothing that can be said over the phone that cannot be put in writing." The primary reason is just what the CSR wanted in the phone call, embellishing statements to make them nice only leads to more misunderstandings and misrepresentations. Since I have not received the letter I have to wonder what statements they don't want to admit to in writing. As for instructions on how to maneuver a web site it is always prudent to provide them in writing or if they are online then provide written instruction where to find them. Another reason that I did not want the phone call is as Mr. **** indicated; I had schedule a meeting with Mr. **** to meet the representative that will assist me with the trips and discounts. The next day when I met with Mr. **** and Ms. ***** and I asked her if she work for (employee) or with (contracted) Resort One and she indicated that she had just begun working for Resort One.

Mr. ****'s implied threat to my credit standing should have been used as a tool not a weapon. If he would have taken time to review my credit report that has a consist rating of 800 and above which indicates a strong honest individual that meets all commitments made orally, by hand shake, or in written. The fact that this is the only commitment that I've disputing should raise a red flag that something is wrong from another sources and if you compare my background to Mr. **** and Ms. ***** questionable backgrounds it should raise some serious questions as to who violated the contract. There's a lot of people looking for work and if Resort One is a righteous company why it employed them?

After meeting with Mr. **** and Ms. ***** I was entirely satisfied with the benefits and travel discounts that I was getting and Mr. **** and Ms. ***** also indicated that because I'm not interested in lodging they would be my personal representatives and that I should contact them for all trips and airfare. However, it appears that the benefits and discount were a scam of misrepresentations and fabrications of my contract benefits and discounts ad breach of the contract benefits I was promised and are grounds to void the contract and suspend my obligations. During the initial meeting and the next day with Mr. **** and Ms. Sarnei, I was promised a minimum of 20% to 30% off any published retail price on any trips that I wanted to take for as long as I'm in the program but I could cancel at any contract anniversary. They also asked why I would want to cancel after paying the upfront fee. I will discuss this and the four trips that I presented and hopefully an acceptable resolution at the end of this document. As for the $1,000 saving Mr. **** provided to my friends I now believe that it was bait to stop me from cancelling but I ' m a bit perplex why Mr. **** ignored my previous statements that the saving was only a few hundred fiom what I could have gotten at several other places. Also, my friend had different hotel which may have been how the cost of the trip was reduced. I as indicted from the beginning, I can get a minimum of 10% discount anytime I want and I have proven this in my previous documentation therefore unless I get the additional discount that I was promised this contract was sold under false pretense and is a scam.

As for violation of the contract, Mr. **** has it backwards, Ms. ***** breach the contract when she failed to honor the discounts that she and Mr. **** promised and then also deliberately ignored and failed to response to my other requests which she admitted to that in an email to Mr. ****. The increase in the cost of the Himalayas trip Mr. **** is referring to is the first of four trips that I presented to Mr. **** and Ms. ***** at the meeting. That's where Mr. **** reiterated his promised fron the initial meeting that I was getting a minimum of 20% and as much of 30% discount on any trip with a published fare. Also, they were not burden but elated when I mentioned that I would keep them busy with quotes for additional trips that I was planning. But Ms. ***** deliberately breached the contract when she failed to provide the information as she stated in an email to Mr. ****. A failure to perform in the contract is grounds to void the entire contract. Also, as you can see from this document, I had to purchase two of the trips from other firms at higher prices because Resort One failed to deliver on their promised discounts where the other firms did not and I'm in the progress of making arrangement for the other two trips with other firms. Mr. **** provided a dollar amount quote on the first trip to the Himalayas and we had a verbal contact that I would purchase the trip after we returned from the already booked European trip. This is why Mr. **** and Ms. ***** provided me with a sheet indicating the actual discounts in dollar amount instead of percentages like he did on the other three. Although I agree with Mr. **** that the published prices are subject to changes this one did not. Mr. **** researched the wrong year, if he would have looked a bit more he would have seen the $100 increase which is not a problem because I was willing to pay it. However, Ms. ***** renege and ignore the agreenment and on only discounted the trip by 10% and did not include the extension to India. Mr. **** keeps to referring to the $100 which is a minor issue he needs to stop trying to deceive us by getting us to focus on phone calls and the $100 instead of the thousands that Ms. ***** renege on as indicated on the sheet I sent with my initial complaint.

I would like to know why Resort One did not reply to my letter which was mailed at least a month prior filling a complaint. This complaint should not be a surprise because the letter indicated that I would file a formal complaint if I did not receive a written response from them. I surmised that I did not get a reply because I requested a written response and Resort One knows that it has a fiduciary responsibility to perform due diligent before contracting or employing any entity, especially when it comes to marketing products. Resort One failed to perform due diligent when it employed Mr. **** and Ms. *****. This is evident because Ms. *****'s several unethical violations are a matter of public records. Mr. **** even fabricated in his response to the Better Business Bureau on my initial complaint. He indicated Resort One doesn't employ unethical people but that's just another ploy to cover up Ms. ***** questionable history.

Mr. **** and Mr. **** boast on having over 5,000 clients in Resort One which indicates that Resort One knew about the additional fees and knowingly has set a precedence of accepting a net value of the fee required to join Resort One. The company that employed the agency or employee (Resort One) is responsible for the entire amount, regardless if the amount received by the company is net or gross.

Mr. **** and Ms. ***** breached the contract within a few days by ignoring not processing my purchase request. This is evident by the numerous emails that I and my friends had to send asking them to purchase the trip they quoted. It appears we were ignored because they could not deliver anything close to what they had quoted to me the day before. I physically drove to Mr. **** non existing office, and then to Ms. ***** office to get someone to purchase the tickets and I had to insist that she makes the reservations, even if I had to pay the higher prices because we were out of time.

This may not make any difference but I believe you should understand where I'm coming from. I was brought up in a Parochial School and maintain those teaching to this date. Although I'm not perfect I'm an honest individual that contracted with Resort One in good faith and I believe that I  kept my part of the contract provisions even after Resort One representatives breach the contract. I'm very disappointed but not surprise that Mr. ****s has employ tactics to shift the discussion on a phone call, which is not a contract obligation, and a $100 while ignoring the scam of thousands of dollars from me. There is a high probability that this could have been resolved before this complaint was submitted to the Better Business Bureau, all Resort One had to do is send me a letter indicating I would get the discounts that I was promised. Instead Mr. **** deliberately waited until after the renewal date so he could indicate that I was in contract violation. However, when Resort One representatives breached the contract as indicated above it relieved me of all future obligations or until we arrive at an amicable resolution.

Also, why would I cancel the contract within the three days period when I was pleased with the travel discounts that Mr. **** and Ms. ***** indicated I was getting? Mr. **** indicated that I can cancel after a few years when cancer is serious enough to abate my travel plans. If only it was not a scam and Resort One would have honored its part we would not be at this point today. However, I believe that I may have a two part resolution that will be amicable to both parties.

First, I read in the documentation that I received from Better Business Bureau that Mr. **** indicated that he is willing to void the contract as am I. Therefore, it is a given that the first step is to void all past and present verbal and written contract provisions.

Second, Mr. **** indicates that he is only got $599 but I'm out almost $9,000 only because of misrepresentations and fraudulent statements so here's the second part of my resolution which should provide additional funds to Resort One and I can recoup my money.

As I indicated above, during my initial meeting with Mr. **** and Ms. ***** I presented four trips and was promised deep discounts on all four that I did not receive which is the one of the reasons for this complaint. Although I have included all four trips the first two trips are just for reference because I have already purchase them elsewhere and therefor can be ignore for now. The first trip was a high priced one to Himalayas that I was promised a deep discount which amounted to almost 25% but I had settle for a 22% discount from another firm because Ms. *****'s renege.

The second trip was to Europe and Africa which I promised a 20% plus discount but I had to settle for a 14% plus discount from another firm.

The third trip is to Antarctica and Polar Circle on January 25th, 2016 including the Iguassu Falls extension. I'm in the process searching for a price and want to book the trip through ********* and *******.  I'm in 2016 because I could not resolve this complaint in time for 2015. The cost of this for a private bath berth on the boat is about $32,000 not including air. Mr. **** indicated he could get as much as 30% discount on a trip like this. The Himalayas trip was provided by the same vendor and I got a 22 and half % discount; therefore I believe that I can do about the same with this trip. In order to benefit from the Resort One contract I would like the 30% discount that Mr. **** indicated. Can Resort One provide this discount and still make a small profit? If it can then we have a deal

The last trip is to Turkish Delights by ****** in one of these months of, May, September, or October, 2015. If Resort One cannot provide the 30% on the Antarctica trip then we can use this one to make up a bit more otherwise we can ignore this one. I know I can get about 15% and maybe a little more, can Resort One get me 20% and still make a little money.

After the contract is voided and Resort One can book the Antarctica trip or trips as indicated above then we have an acceptable resolutions on my part. Booking the Turkey trip at a 20% discount would only be necessary if the Antarctica trip discount is not sufficient to offset a major portion of the money that we were swindle out of.

Also, as I indicated above, I believe that I contracted in good faith and with honesty by disclosing all the specifics to Mr. **** and Ms. ****** but they choose to misrepresent the product and scam me. The objective of this agreement was and still is to acquire deep discounts for pre-arranged trips that have published pricing.

As for the future, if Resort One is a righteous company it will shows good faith and find a way that I can retrieve the money that I paid for this scam and maybe make a few bucks at the same time. This may bring about the opportunity to discuss a new contract with new provisions.

Again I'm sorry if I have offended anyone with this document, as I indicated above, I'm not one to embellish to soften the results because it can lead to misunderstandings and misrepresentation. I believe that I have not only indicated what transpired but have proven it in this in my previous documentation to the Better Business Bureau. And In good faith I have provided what I believe is an acceptable resolution where Resort One can make a few bucks and I get my money back. Thank you again for the time and consideration that you have provided to me and to Resort One. I believe this complaint could have been abated if someone at Resort One would have responded to my letter. However, I hope we can still find an amicable resolution to this issue.


Consumer Response:

I’m a bit disappointed in the BBB Hypocrisy approach because I sent in a compliant to the Oklahoma BBB on ******* ******* Travel a company that resides in Oklahoma and one to the Dallas BBB on a Mr. **** and Ms. ***** but both of them shrug off their responsibility by diverting to another BBB without informing me on what ground that it does not believe to be the correct BBB to address the issues. It appears that the entities on this contract have knowledge of the BBB business practices and are deliberately complicating the issues by dividing the process in three different areas which is taking advantage of the BBB isolation from each other by what is called layering to evade prosecution.  

I submitted the complaints to the Oklahoma and the Dallas BBB because the complaint that I have in the Ohio BBB on Resort One International indicated that it does not think it is liable for more than $599 that it received. Although I believe that under agency/contract relations and will full blindness to the misrepresentations that Resort One is still responsible for the entire amount. The primary purpose of the complaint to Oklahoma and Texas is to identify and record the other parties that are responsible in the misrepresentations and to stop them from performing future scams. I would also like to see the local BBB report them to the respective states as con artistes which I have proven from the internet articles that I sent with the complaint.

Consumer Response:

Update on travel:

My wife’s brother move from the rehab to the nursing facility has been delayed a week but we will be leaving for Europe and Africa this week. However the Monsignor and the Bishop (if he’s back from Rome) will be doing the processing for us, and my sister is a nun of the order that owned it the nursing home so she will be checking in on him until we get back which isNovember 10 and since we don't have a response form Resort One has failed to reply by the date you set we address the issue when we get back.

Consumer Response:

I've reviewed some of the documents before leaving and I before leaving and I can't find a piece of information that I thought was in my original complaint therefore I'm providing it here. 

Filing this complaint means that I'm loosing something no matter what happens because my overseas travel average one trip in about every nine months and the 20 to 30% that I was promised over five years that I anticipating of using the program calculates to about 30 to $40,000 

If it's not to late please see that this to my complaint

Thank you for your assistance with this matter

 


Consumer Response:   However as I indicated if Resort One does not accept what I believe is a fair compromise then the contract should be cancelled on the grounds of misrepresentation and my money should be return to me.    

Business Response:

I am Sending you this letter to confirm our conversation that took place approximately 3 days ago, To be clear I have never ever spoken to Mr. ****** nor has any off my immediate staff members. His only communication has been thru **** **** and ******* *****. If you recall he refused the welcome and compliance call from ****** ******. Once again I have no idea what his terms are, I can tell you we will not be returning his $599.00 paid to us and I received a call from ******* ******* that they are working with the Tulsa, Oklahoma BBB and Attorney General in regards to a complaint he filed with the both of them claiming they were the ones that defrauded him and their salesman **** ****. So you see he is scrambling and tortiously accusing just about everyone and trying to destroy their reputations to get his own way. I for one am done, I am retracting my offers and turning him back over to our legal and collections department so we can bring this to a close in a courtroom in the agreed venue in Oklahoma and collect the over due balances, penalties and damages suffered by my Corporation. I sumbmitted to the BBB the information they requested. I personally provided the BBB copies of Mr. ******s contract and met with two of your agents to clarify and discuss the same. If you have some how lost everthing I will be happy to bring in the originals again and let you photo copy them. I do not believe for a minute anyone offered him twenty percent off airfare taking into consideration that he and his wife both initialed they knew there were no discounts on the same. Also if you recall Mr. ****** srtictly only goes by what is in writing. When a member signs a seperate aknowledgement that protects them from any such misrepresentation there can be no such claim and all sales are final at that point. I take a certain degree of offense to the tone  of the letter and its incorrectness. I would like to notify you on record that at NO time did I not answer any such  claims, inquiries  or directives from the BBB. At all times I have tried to deal in a fair and Christian manner to resolve this complaint. The story changes almost monthly then there is no response for weeks if not months. The BBB's job is to treat every case the same and not to be intimidated by worthless and un sustainable threats that have zero merit. Using a certain degree of common sense could only leed you to the conclusion we operate a very tight ship and have basicly very little complaints for the amount of prospective members that the marketing companies talk to on a monthly basis , (approx.2,600) not even considering on average that more than 25% join as new members. I think it is wrong that my good rating is being hijacked and not reported, it is almost impossible to make everyone happy when you have marketing and sales entities contacting this large amount of people every month. I truly feel that we do a great job when compared to everyone else in the vacation, membership and timeshare industry . Lets not forget that 20% of all sales deal with buyers remorse and wish the would not spent the money or something comes up and they want it back and will make up any story it takes to achive that goal. People buy stocks, vehicles, boats, jet skis, gym memberships, tanning memberships,multi level commitments and so on. Its part of everday life and the consumer needs to take full responsibility, this is a business just like any other and business decisions are made on those merits. If this goes to arbitration I will expect every document and correspondence that you recieved from the ******s and myself to be printed out and present at the hearing. I will be present and will have tons of supporting documents to plead my case including but not limited to any court filings that we or ******* ******* may have filed by that time. 

I hope this is the last letter I will have to write in regards to this case.

 


Business Response:

Good Day, **** ***;     I will have cleared my day for Monday December 8th at 10am< I will be present and arrive around 9;40am with my wittness's and all contracts that have been signed by both Mr. and Mrs ******, particulary the one that states there are no implied air fare discounts. See you 12/8/2014

Have a blessed Day, Truly, **** **** 

P.S; any questions please call me at your convenience on my cell, ###-###-####

8/30/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 9/11/13 we paid $4800.00 to Resort One Int. for concierge services, which we did not receive. Over $6,631.50 of unauthorized charges were put on our credit card without our consent. Between 9/11/13 and 12/1/13 Resort One quoted us prices for an Alaskan cruise and airfare from Houston - Seattle - Houston. On 12/10/13 Melissa S. send an email saying she would offer a 15% discount for payments received by 12/16/13. We sent our payments IN FULL for cruise and air. Additional charges of $2,201.50 were charged to my credit card and reported to Melissa. When contacted, Melissa said it was "an error to be reversed" and she would credit my card. As of this date 7/13/14, there is still no credit on my account. We arrived at the Houston Airport on 6/28/14, to be told by United Airlines that we only had one-way tickets to Seattle. While on the cruise I was contacted by the shipline service desk that my credit card was cut off because I was over my limit. I contacted Discover Card and was told Resort One had given United Airline my credit card number to charge airline tickets of $2,262.00 and $2,168.00 all of which were totally unauthorized and without my permission as we had already paid for these tickets in December, 2013.

Desired Settlement: We want the initial $4,800.00 we paid for "concierge service" not received. We want the $6,631.50 of fraudulent and unauthorized charges returned by money order to me. I have suffered embarrassment with my family and am horrified by the lies, fraud, and theft. I am seeking compensation for the stress this company has caused me.

Business Response: I have talked to Melissa from our concierge department and she explained to me that we have never received a dime directly for any such services. However she did receive travel information and requests from the said customer and had arranged the air travel through Faruke at Blue Vida Travel a third party provider. Blue Vida has informed me that there were many relatives traveling and payment was made by various separate relatives and or friends. This became confusing and Blue Vida is currently trying to sort out the situation. It is my understanding that the party has already traveled and has taken the trip. I have no knowledge and have received zero dollars for any said travel plans. I hereby request a copy of the credit card statement showing and proving that Resort One was actually paid these alleged amounts. I have spoken with Blue Vida and it appears that the same party has complained to the Dallas BBB about Blue Vida Travel and they claim they have answered the same complaint. I feel that the customer knows that they did not plan their flights with Resort One. It is disclosed in all of our contracts that we do not deal with or promote discounted air fare. We Deny any responsibility to any such claim at this time. 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:  Melissa S. CTC, Resort One Concierge, Dallas, Texas, 866-926-1777 and Greg C. Resort One Concierge, Blue Vida Travel, Dallas, Texas,, 866-926-1777, cell: 813-358-6096 both received numerous payments for the cruise and airfare on our behalf.  We have documentation to support all our payments.  After many emails requesting information on our airline tickets, on June 9, 2014 @ 12:18 we were told by Greg C, "Your tickets and flights are fine.  We got you good prices on your tickets but we do use UNCONVENTIONAL MEANS to do so".  By the end of December, 2013, we had the cruise and airfare paid for in full.  I did not authorize any additional charges on my credit card after the end of December, 2013  and therefore am rejecting your response.  

3/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I attended a sales presentation in January and paid $5,094 for a lifetime membership in Resort One Travel & Vacation Club. We were told that this would enable us to have 2 weeks a year in a Condo of our choice in destinations around the world and other travel offers at deeply discounted prices. So far, booking of anything we would like has been impossible. The site says 'sorry this is not available at this time', even 6-10 months out. The destinations I have seen that are available are not any cheaper than I could have found on my own. I have called them numerous times and have yet to receive a call-back. We are retired on a limited income and thought this would be a way to afford the travel we have never been able to take. We should have been smarter!

Desired Settlement: We would like a full refund. These kind of false offers need to be stopped. They are taking advantage of people.

Business Response: Dear BBB, After receiving your notice this morning in regards to **** ******* ******** I immediately called both Concierge services and Member services to find out more about the complaint referred to you the BBB. I asked Mr. *** ******** in our verification and legal department to call and respond to Mrs. ******** directly to get a more precise picture of what her concerns actually are. In short the sales team and more over Mr. ***** allegedly failed to instruct her on how to navigate our web site correctly so she can adequately purchase condo accommodations. In reviewing their condo search's performed it was blank. That clearly shows me that a request was never completely completed for the same. To my knowledge Mrs. ******** was walked through and directed to our Resort One Advantage Condo site and was pleasantly pleased with her findings. In closing this complaint is with the third party sales team and not with Resort One Member services. We are very committed to servicing are members and thank the BBB for bringing this misunderstanding to our attention. Yours Truly, 

9/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We received a post card in late June or early July from this Company offering a free 7 night cruise for 2 and a free 3 day/2night vacation hotel offer if we attended a sales presentation in our area 7/15/2012. I ignored the offer, then a few days later received a follow up phone call. The "Event Coordinator" made it seem like she was representing Carnival Cruise Lines, a reputable company, so I decided to accept the offer. When we went to the "Carnival Cruise Event" we learned that it was actually a Travel Club membership offered by Resort One International. Most of the information we were given later turned out to be false. At the end of the presentation we declined their offer and several subsequent offers, and were leaving. We were given a final offer to purchase a membership that they said was a repo. We ended up purchasing this membership for $2082.00. The next day after considerable research we discovered several discrepancies in what was represented by this company. A few:1. Presenting them as Resort One International, with a A+ BBB Rating and then switching the name in the Contract to be******* ******* ****** **** ** ****** *** which turns out to have a F rating with the BBB.2. The "Corporate Headquarters" we were told were located at**** ********* ******* *** ****** *H is actually a Pac Mail located in a strip mall.3. The offices we were told were located at *** ** ****** ****** **** *** ******** ** ***** *** ***** ****** ****** **** ***** ****** ** ****** with over 65 employees at each of the locations are actually "Virtual Offices" with no actual employees.The contract and all attachments to this agreement which we were induced to enter into are fraudulent & excessively one sided in favor of ******* ************** ***. We canceled this agreement within our 3 day cooling off period. Therefore we are seeking protection under KSA 50-626 & 627 which requires all payments be refunded. To date our credit card has been credited $1338.70$747.30 is still due

Desired Settlement: Resort One International to credit our ******** Card the balance of $747.30 which is still owed us.

Business Response: Please be advised I have been retained to represent Resort One Vacation Club
(hereinafter "RVC") and its associated entities in your claim against them. My client originally
intended to handle this dispute without the assistance of counsel, but your false claims and
assertions in public forums have made it necessary for my services to be retained. Therefore, let
this letter serve as a formal request to immediately cease any derogatory statements or comments
regarding Rye and/or its affiliates. agents, or principals.

My client fulfilled its obligations as required by law. When made aware of your intent to
cancel your membership within the allowable time period, my client refunded the appropriate
amount, or $1.334.70, 10 your credit. In my opinion, my client is not legally obligated to refund
any further funds to your account and payment has been satisfied. Additionally. I do not see how
Kan. Stat. Ann. §§ 50-640, -626, -627 are relevant whatsoever to your claim.

As stated above, this is our formal demand that you immediately cease and desist from
making any disparaging remarks regarding RVC. Please refer to the paragraph 20 in the contract
you signed with RVC entitled "Remedies & Arbitration." Said paragraph contains a clause
stating "[t]he Member may not slander or use any public domain or venue (including but not
limited to Internet postings) to attempt to extort monies or force any refund payment from the
SELLER or RYC." The same paragraph also states that violations of the above can be enforced
by a liquidated damages clause in the amount of $7.500.00. It is clear, and can be easily proven,
that you are in direct violation of this clause by making false accusations against RVC.
Accordingly, my client is prepared to pursue any and all legal remedies to protect its
reputation against your false and misleading claims. Should you have any questions, feel free to contact me.

Consumer Response:
I am rejecting this response because:  I stand behind all statements made in my origonal complaint.



Regards,

*** ******