BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In 21 Counties in Central Ohio
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of The Kenley Konnection?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

THE KENLEY KONNECTION is a full service travel agency and tour operator.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Kenley Konnection meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Kenley Konnection include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Kenley Konnection
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 18, 1991 Business started: 04/01/1987 in OH Business started locally: 04/01/1987 Business incorporated: 01/01/1995 in OH
Type of Entity

S-Corp

Business Management
Ms. Gloria B. Kenley, President / CEO Mr. Kevin Kenley, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Gloria B. Kenley, President / CEO
Business Category

Travel Agencies & Bureaus

Products & Services

The Kenley Konnection sells the following brand(s): all forms of travel

The Kenley Konnection offers the following product(s): TRAVEL

Hours of Operation
M: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
T: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
W: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Th: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
F: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
S: Closed
Su: Closed
H: Closed
Method(s) of Payment
cash, checks, money orders, credit cards
Refund and Exchange Policy
per suppliers
Alternate Business Names
Kenley Konnection, The Inc.

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Trip to dedication should have been cancelled and a full refund issed due to the cancellation by dedication committee based on severe weather. The Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial dedication scheduled for Sunday, August 28, 2011, was cancelled by (****)., President and CEO of the Washington, DC Martin Luther King, Jr. National Memorial Project Foundation,Inc. due to the inclement weather brought on by hurricane Irene. In view of the cancellation of the dedication and the report of severe weather conditions anticipated for the DC area and the warnings by the dedication committee not to travel into 'harm's way', we chose not to take the bus trip and felt because of the warnings by the committee President that the trip should have been cancelled and/or rescheduled once the dedication was rescheduled. All activities surrounding the dedication were curtailed and/or cancelled in order to allow those already in Washington, DC to gain safe travel to their respective homes before the arrival of hurricane Irene. We complied with the requirements of theKenley Konnection Travel Agency and made our payments as required in order to secure our seats on the bus and we feel that we are entitled to a full refund of $399.00 per person for a total of $798.00 because of the information supplied to us upon which we based our decision to cancel. We talked to Ms. ******'s Steubenville representative, Mr. (****), and shared with him our concern surrounding the inclement weather conditions and was told by him that Ms. ****** stated that the trip was still on schedule. We then talked directly to Ms. ****** and shared our concerns with her and the fact that the main focus of the trip was to attend the dedication and since it was cancelled due to the hurricane bearing down on DC, we wanted to know if it was possible to cancel and reschedule the trip once the dedication committee rescheduled the ceremony; to which she replied that her contact in DC stated that the weather was good and she was making the trip as scheduled. After seeking a refund through her Steubenville representative, who told us that he had nothing to do with a refund; we contacted Ms. ****** asking for a full refund because of the circumstances under which we cancelled the trip. She later sent a partial refund of $400.00 which we fill is not sufficient, therefore, the reason for our complaint. We know of one other bus that was scheduled to make a one day trip to DC for the dedication, but cancelled the trip because of the hurricane and they were offered the opportunity for a full refund or to make the trip to the memorial at a later date. Our decision to cancel at the last minite was based solely on information provided by the dedication committee which we felt was issed in response to the projected severe weather conditions in our nation's capital and not based on an arbitrary decision by us to cancel for no reason. We feel that the committee's advise should have been heeded by the Kenley Agency. We feel that the Dedication Committee's decision to cancel the dedication should allow for a full refund since the sole purpose of the trip was to be a part of the historical event which was the dedication of the Martin Luther King, Jr. Memomrial.

Desired Settlement: My wife and I are seeking a full refund in the amount of $798.00 ($399.00 paid in full by ****** ****** and $399.00 paid in full by ******)paid to Kenley Konnection, Inc. for the cost of a bus trip to Washington, DC scheduled for August 26 thru August 28, 2011 to attend the Martin Luther King, Jr, Memorial dedication that was scheduled to be held on Sunday, August 28, 2011. We feel that money was more important than life after the decision to make the trip even after warnings not to travel to DC because of the anticipated severe weather conditions.

Business Response: The trip I advertised promised not only attendance at the MLK dedication ceremony scheduled to take place for about 3-4 hours on our last day in DC, but also a very thorough 2-day guided tour of the top sites, with meals and hotel included (2 nights/3 days). When Mr. ****** canceled I reminded him there were other things included in the trip besides the dedication ceremony. He said he was only interested in the statue and the dedication because they have been to DC in the past. There were 56 travelers paid the full fee of $399 each. Mr. & Mrs. ****** were among the ten people who canceled on the evening the trip was scheduled to leave. They, along with the others were informed that the trip was still going and there would be no refunds for these late cancelations. THE KENLEY KONNECTION had paid 30 days in advance for everyone scheduled to attend and its supplier had a no-refund clause in the agreement. That is why ****** had a similar no-refund clause in its flyer. When we returned from the trip, I discussed refunds with my DC supplier/representative and we were able to refund $200 to each person for the hotel, food, etc. Accordingly, I received many notes saying ''thank you'' for refunds they didn't expect to receive. The ******'s returned their check because they expected a full refund. I responded to their concerns and advised that if we could not reach an agreement, I was referring the situation to the BBB for arbitration help. Obviously, we were not able to agree that I should give a full refund. I did not receive 100% refund for the bus and other components of the trip and I cannot refund 100% to anyone. My company delivered everything it promised, with the exception of the dedication service. We and hundreds of others visited, took photos and spent time at the MLK statue. Though the ceremony was canceled, the statue was open and available to the public. The ******'s have been very kind in our conversations and correspondence. I respect their feelings in this matter and apologize for the inconvenience this has caused. I hope they understand that I cannot refund money that has not been refunded to me. For instance, if you charter a 56 passenger bus, the bus company expects its money in full whether you sell all 56 seats or only one seat.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) It would seem to us that in view of the impending hurricane that was scheduled to hit the DC area during the time that the trip was scheduled we feel that the trip should have been cancelled and that the vendors, if asked, would surely have been convinced to issue a refund to the Kenley Konnection (or an opportunity to reschedule) if that option had been pursued in view of the severe weather reports. It just seems like good business sense to take the safety of your patrons into consideration and not continue with a trip that was going into a danger zone. There were one day trips scheduled from the Steubenvulle area for the dedication, but after the warnings from the committee not to travel into harm's way the trips were cancelled and those patrons were given the option for a full refund or a trip at a later date. We would have been satisfied with the trip being rescheduled once the dedication had been rescheduled as promised by the President of the Memorial Committee. We are sincerely happy that the trip turned out as well as it did, but we followed the advice of the Memorial Committee as well as family and friends who live in the area who were fearing for their safety with no option to leave, they were told to stay home and not to travel unless it was an emergency. We did not feel that it was in our best interest to board a bus and travel to an area that was under a hurricane watch. Therefore, we are still asking for a full refund and if not a full refund surely we are entitled to more than half the cost of the trip.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

8/1/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1