Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Magic Cruises, Inc.

Phone: (614) 847-5551 Fax: (614) 847-5547 View Additional Phone Numbers 656 High St, Worthington, OH 43085 http://www.magiccruises.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Coordinates, books and facilitates all the arrangements for vacation travel for customers---individuals, groups, corporate incentives.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Magic Cruises, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Magic Cruises, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Magic Cruises, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 24, 1989 Business started: 06/01/1988 in OH Business started locally: 06/01/1988 Business incorporated 01/01/1988 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Patricia Cash, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Patricia Cash, Owner
Business Category

Travel Agencies & Bureaus Cruises

Method(s) of Payment
As designated by the travel vendor policies.
Refund and Exchange Policy
As designated by the travel vendor policies.
Alternate Business Names
Magic Cruises & Tours

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Magic Cruises, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 656 High St

    Worthington, OH 43085 (614) 847-5551 (800) 783-7245

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/17/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is a letter that I delivered to Magical Cruises and Tours Monday July 18, 2016. It explains the issue. Viking Cruises July 18, 2016 Customer Relations Attn: ****** ****** **** ****** ***** ***** *** ******** ****** ********** ***** ******* ******* *** ***** ***** ***** **** *** **** *** ************ **** ***** *** ******* ******* ******* **** ******** I don’t want this request to take away from the wonderful trip we had with Viking but it is very, very disappointing and discouraging with the inflated price we paid compared to other travelers on the same boat same floor, for the Viking Ingvi during our 2015 advertised Grand European Tour. There were 4 couples total that shared with us what they paid for their cruise vs what we were charged. All were under $8,000 including air fare. I have attached booking number ********* as evidence of your reduced pricing. The other 2 of 3 have agreed to provide us with their booking numbers also if needed. We both took early retirement at 62 and are on a fixed income. This trip was way out of our financial comfort zone. We had planned on taking future cruises every 3-5 years maximum. It is very discouraging to “book our cruise to lock in the lowest pricing” during a scheduled marketing promotion for a “2 for 1 special” October of 2015 for the May 21, 2016 cruise date. This was our first cruise ever as my wife gets deathly ill from motion sickness which will not allow us to take ocean cruises. We entrusted Magical Cruises and Tours for the expertise to provide us with competitive pricing and a stress free planning experience. Their motto of “We bring value to your vacation, at no cost to you!” was not realized on the no cost side. Little did we know until arriving on our cruise that we overpaid by $7,000 plus. We paid approximately $16,117.84 (a “2 for 1 special Viking Cruise 2015 special”: what a joke) vs $8,836 (booking number ********* attached). This difference is $7,281.84. You have offered cruise vouchers in the amount of $3,000. This is not acceptable and we will do everything within reason to get reimbursed for the pricing scam we experienced. This leaves a very bad taste in our mouths. 2 things: 1. We do not feel this adequately reimburses us for the predatory pricing model that was used to lure us to book early to get the best price on the 2 for 1 2015 Grand European Tour special which was a total deceptive marketing scam. We are asking for $7,281.84 in “no end date” vouchers from Viking. 2. The vouchers expire July of 2017. We are requesting vouchers with no end date as it is unclear when and if we will take a future cruise with Viking. Our next cruise will definitely not be before 2019. It should be noted that you offered $400 vouchers for $200 on the cruise with “no expiration date”. We sincerely hope that between Viking and Magical Cruises and Tours that we will be made whole for the full $7,281.84. Sincerely, **** ****** ****************** CC: Central Ohio Better Business Bureau Ohio Attorney General ******* ******** ****

Desired Settlement: Desire a refund in the amount of $7,281.84

Business Response:

These clients contacted me, as the owner of our company, upon return from their trip and requested an appointment at the end of June to review their experience.  He shared his satisfaction with the cruise, but was unhappy to learn that several other passengers, who booked in the last couple of months, paid substantially less. I asked for his patience while I contacted Viking River Cruises to investigate this situation and forwarded a formal complaint through our Director of Sales.  

July 8, 2016 I received notification from Viking that they had sent our customer future travel vouchers in the amount of $1500 each.  I notified our customer that this was taking place and sent him our letter (attached) offering some additional goodwill travel credit from Magic.  He said he would think it over and let me know his thoughts.

July 18, 2016 our customer requested another appointment to review this situation.  He provided me with his letter and stated that he was not satisfied with the way Viking offered to resolve his complaint.  I immediately forwarded his second request to Viking and on July 21, we received notification that Viking resolved the pricing disputed by issuing the full amount of credit that our customer requested. On this date, I also asked our customer if we can consider that his issue has now be resolved to his acceptance and was told that it was.

I appreciate the opportunity to take a stand for any of our customers who feel they have been treated unfairly. Thank you!

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Magic Cruises, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart