Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Preferred Transmission & Auto Care Center

Phone: (740) 773-4444 Fax: (740) 747-2109 81 Executive Center Dr, Chillicothe, OH 45601


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Preferred Transmission & Auto Care Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Preferred Transmission & Auto Care Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Preferred Transmission & Auto Care Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 27, 2012 Business started: 01/01/2009 Business started locally: 01/01/2009
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Thomas V. Tait, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Thomas V. Tait, Owner
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile Auto Services - Oil & Lube Auto Air Conditioning Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service Auto Repair & Service Auto Repairing - Foreign Brake Service Engines - Rebuild & Exchange


Additional Locations

  • 81 Executive Center Dr

    Chillicothe, OH 45601 (740) 773-4444

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/4/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Consumer has an attorney and they have sent letters but has not been able to get a hold of him so his attorney told him to call us. ***** ****** is atty.---- He has a problem with a company. He had his car there and they replaced a transmission and is not standing behind the Warranty. It was replaced in January 2013 and then he worked on it in June 2013.

Desired Settlement: He wants his car released ---- he wants his money back.

Business Response: We  have spoke to the customer probably 7 or 8 weeks ago and explained to them why we could not warranty it was not error on our part it was error on operation of the vehicle and showed them in their manuel we told them we could try to help them out with labor but could not buy the parts.  We did receive letter from attorney and spoke to him probably over 2 weeks ago told him we were not holding vehicle and that we had explained everything to the customer.  We have not spoken to or heard from customer since they first brought vehicle back and we have not heard from attorney since we spoke. 

Consumer Response: I received a letter today stating that my complaint with Preferred Transmission & Auto Care has been resolved due to the fact that you haven't heard back from me. I am totally confused about this because I have only received two letters from you. One (dated 8/13) which stated that someone would contact me and the other (dated 8/26) stating that the issue has been resolved.   This entire process has gone on way to long!! This business rebuilt the transmission in our car in January. It had a 2-year warranty. The transmission went out again while on a trip to North Carolina. We took it back to this business to have it fixed. The owner stated that he would not honor the warranty due to our misuse of the vehicle. He stated that we were supposed to take the vehicle out of overdrive when driving through the mountains.  First of all, we were not driving through the mountains when it started having issues. Secondly, the vehicle manual states that you only take it out of overdrive if you are hauling something. We also spoke to many other mechanics who stated that he was not telling us the truth.  Our vehicle has been sitting in his parking lot with the transmission out of it for 3 months now. The car is sitting up on wood blocks to support the engine because the transmission is not in the vehicle so we are unable to have it towed. We do not want him to repair the vehicle at this point since he won't honor the warranty. We want our $2200 back from where he rebuilt the transmission in January so we can take it to someone else to repair it.  My son drives this car for work and college. This puts us in a bind because we have to keep switching cars so everyone can get to where they need to be. I first called the Attorney General. They stated that this issue will be turned over to the BBB.  We have enlisted the help of an attorney. My attorney has informed me that the owner of this garage has broken several laws under the Consumer Protection Act. He has tried to contact him via visits, letters, certified letter and the owner has not accepted or responded to any of them. We need our vehicle back, but he still has it, along with my money and my transmission and I need help. I spoke with your assistant today. She explained to me that you haven't heard back from me and the case was marked as resolved. Obviously it is not resolved. We were not aware that we had to do anything else after the first letter we received. If so, your letter was very unclear. Please advise as to where we go from here.  

Consumer Response: In response to the reply from the business (Preferred Transmission & Auto Care Center), for which we have issued a complaint: The business owner stated they could not honor the 2 year warranty because it was an error on operation of the vehicle and that we should have taken the vehicle out of overdrive when driving through mountains. Assuming that my son was driving since it was his car, he insinuated that he mishandled the vehicle until I told him that I was the one driving. First of all, what he neglected to show us and to tell you was that pages 146 and 147 of the manual referring to an automatic transmission, which is what we have, states the following: "Your automatic transaxle electronically controls the shift feel by using an adaptive learning strategy. Your automatic overdrive transaxle provides fully automatic operation in either D (Overdrive) or with the O/D OFF switch depressed." Secondly, when the transmission first started slipping we had not even been in the mountains yet. My wife and son were returning to Ohio from North Carolina and we had not made it to the mountains yet. They stopped at an ******** and their computer read that the transmission was slipping. They called AAA and they couldn't do anything until they broke down. It was 5pm on a Saturday night when they first experienced issues. AAA checked for mechanics in the area and no one was open. They did not have the luxury of staying the next 2-3 evenings in a hotel and waiting for a mechanic. They continued on hoping we would make it. The overdrive light was flashing and it would not turn off by pushing the button. They stopped and turned off the car and restarted. They went about a mile and the overdrive light flashed again. There was nothing they could do, but see if they could make it home or at least get as close as possible. They made it another 2 hours when the car totally stopped. And thirdly, the day after we towed the car back and took it too the business, my wife and son went to talk to him about what had happened. A mechanic came out and put the computer on it. He tried to hide the findings from them, but when the owner came out and he saw the reading he had a fit. He started yelling and threw the transmission dipstick to the ground, saying that this was the 3rd issue they had had in 6 months with the cellanoid going out and then causing the transmission to go out. He stated that the guy he bought it from was going to pay for everything. Then he looked at my wife and said that if they find out it was something that wasn't their fault, they won't pay for it. Just seemed to me that we were being set up from the "get go". Also, you said that the owner stated they were not holding the vehicle. Well then why is it sitting there with the engine on blocks. We can not pick it up until he has put everything back. He wants to charge us for holding it for the past 3 months as well as taking it apart and putting it back together. There is no way we will pay that. We desperately need to get this car back. It has been sitting there for 3 months with no way to pick it up. We have had to borrow a car on and off all of this time.

Business Response: In response again to complaint #*******.  When the customer first came in it was mother and son and our tech went out and put thescanner on the vehicle and he in no way tried to hide the findings he told the customer it was a transmssion fluid temperature over heat code first then there was also a torque converter clutch stuck off performance code that would have been caused by the first code. The owner did say if it was a solenoid that the vender would cover it but we had to tear the transmission down first to know for sure and we would call them when we tore it down.  After our tech tore it down he informed the owner it was burnt up which meant they got it hot and continued driving it which it states in the owners manuel you have to turn overdrive off when you are pulling or in the mountains.  It was our techs opinion that it was abuse and improper operation.  We do not know whether people read their manuels or not.  So we called them to come back in to look at the parts and the owner, the tech , and owner's wife were all present and again it was son and mother who came in to meet with us.  We explained to them what happened and showed them their owner's manuel pages 147 and 148, and yes we assumed the son was driving until the mother admitted to all of us she was driving and light was flashing and she kept driving it, which we thought she realized her error because she almost started crying.  So the owner told her we could not warranty but we would try to work with them.  They would have to buy parts and we could give them a break on labor.  No one ever mentioned they had been to ******** or that they called AAA but it is hard to believe AAA would not do anything until it completely quit running.  We have had AAA before.  We have in no way been holding their vehicle which the owner told the lawyer that when he spoke to him months ago and we have not heard from anyone since except from you at BBB.  Our reputation means everything if it was our fault we would warranty itbut it states in the warranty we can not warranty abuse or misuse, if we warrantied every vehicle where people did not operate it correcty we would have been out of business a long time ago we are warrantying our work, and we have to stand behind and trust our transmission builder tech.  We have built hundreds of transmissions and never had a problem like this.  We are willing to try to resolve this problem by working with them to help them out but we are not paying for everthing when it was improper operation and we have taken pictures and documented everything to protect our interest. Our tech wanted us to also say the son did not seem to know how to operate overdrive. He stated he just gets in the vehicle and starts it and puts it in drive not realizing you have to push the button to turn over drive off.  Plus our tech said when he first checked it out the boy did say he was driving in the mountains and it was acting up and had no where to pull over and mom was in passanger seat praying for a place to pull over but mom later admitted to all of us she was the one driving. Thank you for your time.