Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Murray's Tool Rental, Inc.

Phone: (614) 231-3657 Fax: (614) 231-4114 3131 E Main St, Columbus, OH 43213 http://www.murraystool.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Murray's Tool Rental, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Murray's Tool Rental, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 31, 1973 Business started: 06/01/1950 Business started locally: 06/01/1950 Business incorporated 05/27/1969 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Wendy Babcock, CFO
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Wendy Babcock, CFO
Business Category

Tools - Rent Compressors - Rent Floor Machines - Rent Ladders - Renting


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3131 E Main St

    Columbus, OH 43213 (614) 231-3657

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/20/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Murrays Tool Rental to get a price on the rental of a "dingo" and auger attachment. I was told that the price would be for $95.11 I called at 11:10 am on Saturday and the auger and dingo were picked up by my contractor at 2:45 pm shortly before they closed at 3pm. We wanted to rent if for 1/2 day, but the gentleman that wrote the order told my contractor he would have to bring it back Monday morning at 9am, which he did. We did not use it for more than 3 hours, cleaned it, replaced the gas as required and returned the items in good shape. We were charged for an entire day, which was $100.00 more than I was quoted. When I called to talk to the people that worked there, the first man put the manager on the phone, who immediately started with an attitude saying "I don't know what else you want" ... when I addressed her about the way that she was talking, she just kept saying the price is the price.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of 1/2 day, as I paid entirely too much for the amount that the auger was used. (1/2 day is approximately $146.00) I would like the owners of Murrays' Tool rentals to talk to the manager about how to handle escalated situations. She was rude and inflexible. Her name is *****.

Business Response:

In response to Ms. *******'s complaint, we did speak with Ms. ******* on October 13, 2014. If Ms. ******* found my tone rude, then I apologize.

Regarding the refund, a contract was signed by Mr. *****, her contractor, on October 11, 2014 which clearly states that the Dingo with auger attachment and 9" auger would be returned on October 13, 2014 and the amount due is $195.11. Ms. ******* did call on Saturday according to my employee and asked the price. He told her it was $195.11 - she said $95.11 and he corrected her by saying that the price is $195.11 not $95.11.

Our website clearly states our prices of the Dingo machine and is attached. This is the price WITHOUT an auger attachment. The auger attachment price as listed on our website is attached as well.  I have also attached a picture of the sign that has been hanging in our lobby (where the customer's contract is written) that states that our weekend special is anything picked up Saturday between noon and 3pm and returned Monday morning by 9am is a one day rate.

Mr. ***** was given a copy of the contract he signed before he left with the Dingo, Auger attachment and bit. We agreed to rent Mr. ***** this $20,000 piece of equipment with the understanding that he would pay $195.11 and return the equipment in same order he received it by 9am on Monday morning. Mr. ***** returned the machine at 9:20am on Monday morning and we charged him $195.11.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is not satisfactory to me, but I will accept it because Murrays  Tool Rental contacted Mr ***** and told him that any settlement they make with me will be held against him and he would be liable for it.  Mr ***** picked the auger up as a favor to me, and it was not rented through his company.  Your employee did NOT correct me on the price, and I clearly thought that the price was $95.11.  I will not rent again from Murrays, their employees and manager are rude. 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Murray's Tool Rental, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)