Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Security Self Storage meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Security Self Storage include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Security Self Storage
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 08, 1993 Business started: 01/15/1993 in OH Business started locally: 01/15/1993
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Public Utilities Commission of Ohio
180 E Broad St, Columbus OH 43215
www.puco.ohio.gov
Phone Number: (800) 686-7826
Lisa.Colosimo@puc.state.oh.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michel Smith, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michel Smith, General Manager
Business Category

Storage Units - Household & Commercial Boxes - Paper Office Records Stored Truck Rent & Lease Boat Storage Movers Moving Supplies Recreational Vehicles - Storage

Products & Services

Security Self Storage sells the following brand(s): UHAUL

Security Self Storage offers the following product(s): Boxes, Furniture Covers, Mattress Covers, Packing Supplies, UHAUL Truck Rental

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Checks, Money Order, Visa, Mastercard, Discover, American Express
Industry Tips
Moving in Ohio, Movers, Q & A from the PUCO Renting a Self-Storage Unit - BBB Tips

Additional Locations

  • 4600 Fisher Rd

    Columbus, OH 43228 (614) 851-1000

  • 7533 Woodcutter Dr

    Powell, OH 43065 (740) 881-8800

  • 841 Taylor Station RD

    Columbus, OH 43230 (614) 751-1100

  • PO Box 669

    New Albany, OH 43054

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service
6/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We rented a storage unit from Security Self Storage from June 2014 to May 2015 to store the majority of our possessions while we were having a home built. Upon moving out, we noticed that most of our items had been destroyed by rodents. The damage to our possessions is extreme and most items are not salvageable. We were offered no assistance from this business because their contract states they are not liable for any items. Renters insurance also does not cover rodent damage. We were told by management at Security Self Storage that they are not responsible for any damages and that they do their part for pest control by placing traps on the property. We were never instructed upon move in to place additional traps in our unit or that there was a concern with rodents.

Business Response:

We appreciate the opportunity to be able to respond to the complaint from our previous customer.  Security Self Storage does everything within our power to make a customer’s storage experience the best that it possibly can be and have been awarded for those efforts by being voted as “Best storage in Central Ohio”.   Every unit is alarmed and monitored, cameras record 24 hours a day, we have a manager that lives on site, also have a seamless stainless steel roofs system to eliminate leaks  as well as our doors close 1 ½” below floor level to prevent water from running under the door and dampening customer items.  Each unit is individually lighted our facility is completely fenced in and paved up to each unit door.  We pride ourselves for being in business for over 15 years and having a very minimal number of complaints.  It is our opinion that there are some situations that are out of our control and no matter what you do to deter the possibility of an issue, there will be those that we can’t make happy under any circumstances. So, we expect there will be those times when something goes wrong and while we can expect this, we are never happy when a customer walks away unhappy.

We do take every precaution to guard our facilities against rodents and go the extra mile by placing rodent bait stations along our fence lines to deter mice from entering our buildings.  Bait is placed in bait stations to draw them to eat from the bait block.  Once they have ingested the bait from the bait block, it causes thirst and it causes them to run away from our buildings in search for a water source.  While the customer stated that ‘we failed to tell them to place bait in their unit…..”  We DO NOT suggest that customers put bait, traps or poison inside of their unit as it actually becomes a draw for the rodents INTO the building.  We also suggest NOT storing any kind of food/water in the unit as that will also serve as a means to satisfy their search for food.  As you may or may not be aware, mice can enter thru any hole as small as a 1/2” opening, and it is virtually impossible to keep them out of a building with multiple doors, especially if you have a neighboring unit that’s tenant opens / closes their door often. Self -Storage building manufacturers do not provide the ability to construct air-tight units; even your home is susceptible to rodent entry. Of course, if we would get them in our home or garage, we would know about them and take care of it. Unfortunately, in our business we have over 600 units that we do NOT have access into, so its difficult to determine if there is a problem, especially with outside access units.

Over the years any problem that has arisen where mice were involved was caused from a food source in a unit.  Although you may not have a recognizable food source or a traditional box of food, sources can come from couch crevices full of food crumbs, kid’s toys or even a highchair with food residue that was not properly cleaned prior to storing.  Drive-up outside storage units, like this tenant chose to rent, are naturally more susceptible as you can drive up right to the door.  These units are not air-tight and are more prone to dust as well.  This is why we suggest covering your furniture before storing, especially when storing items for a long amount of time.  We offer a full line of mattress, sofa & furniture covers in our office and offer a discount upon move in on all of these items to help assist those interested in choosing this extra precaution.  Unfortunately, the customer chose not to cover their items to take this extra protection and precaution.  The customer also chose not to utilize one of the climate- controlled storage units as this type of unit offers an extra layer of protection from the outside elements as they are located inside of a building behind a hallway entry door and yet another pull-up door to the individual unit.

Security Self Storage strives to do everything possible to help protect our customer and their belongings.  However, we cannot guard against customers not following suggested guidelines or taking those extra precautions if storing something of great value. The first line of paragraph 5 of our rental agreement clearly states our position on improperly packaged food and perishable goods. (See below.)


5. Use of Premises and Compliance with Law. Occupant shall not store any improperly packaged food or any perishable goods, goods with noxious odors, combustible materials, explosives or other inherently dangerous material, nor perform any welding on the Premises or in the Project. Occupant shall not store any personal property on the Premises which would result in the violation of any law or regulation of any governmental authority and Occupant shall comply with all laws, rules, regulations and ordinances of any and all governmental authorities concerning the Premises or the use thereof. Occupant shall not use the Premises in any manner that will constitute waste, nuisance, or unreasonable annoyance to other occupants in the Project or for human or animal habitation. The Premises may be used for storage only. Occupant agrees not to store property with a total value in excess of $5000.00 without the written permission of the Owner.  If such written permission is not obtained, the value of Occupant’s property shall be deemed not to exceed $5000.00. By this agreement, Owner is generally not liable for the loss of Occupant’s property. In the event any competent court of law adjudicates Owner liable for any loss, for any reason, Owner’s liability shall not exceed $5000.00.  This provision shall not constitute an admission that Occupant’s property has any value whatsoever. The premises is not appropriate for storage of irreplaceable property such as books, writings, objects which have a special or emotional value to the Occupant and Occupant agrees not to store such types of property in the leased premises. Occupant agrees, at his /her sole expense, to maintain insurance on all property stored in the space with actual cash value coverage against all perils, without exception.  Occupant’s failure to maintain such insurance shall be a Default under this agreement and Occupant shall assume risk of loss or damage that would have been covered by such insurance. Owner may (but shall be under no obligation) to provide an electronic entry device for access to the project. Notwithstanding installation of such a device, Owner in no event shall be liable for any damages or injury caused be Occupant’s inability to gain access to, or exit from, the project, whether because of mechanical or electrical failure of the electronic device, or for any other reason.

8/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 7, 2014 upon return to the storage facility to place our travel trailed on its assigned parking spot (P012), a vehicle was found parked in that spot blocking our ability to use the contracted and paid parking space. The manager, ***** was contacted and advised of the situation. ***** came out to the site and did not know who's vehicle was blocking the space. After some time, he allegedly contacted a tow company to remove the vehicle, however, came back later and stated that he was not going to tow the vehicle. He advised that the travel trailer be parked off to the side and that I return the next day or later in the week to place the trailer on its assigned parking space. Upon return to the storage lot the following evening, the same vehicle was found to be parked in the space assigned to my travel trailer. ***** was contacted again and after expressing some frustration, advised that I return later in the week to move the travel trailer and that he would provide one month of storage charges as a credit. Upon returning on July 10, the space was cleared and the travel trailer placed on its appropriate spot. A second trip in July was taken the weekend of July 26 and upon return to the storage facility on July 28 a second vehicle belonging to the same individual that owned the prior vehicle was found to be parked on the assigned space for the travel trailer. While reporting the incident to *****, he became frustrated and asked what he was expected to do about the vehicle and stated that he obviously could not meet my needs and advised that I should seek a new location to park my travel trailer, versus addressing the problem at hand. On Thursday July 31, 2014, I took ***** up on his request and submitted a statement in writing that I was honoring his request, however, required a refund for the months of August and September as well as the one month credit that he had offered to remedy the first occurrence. I still have not received any refund or so much as a return phone call.

Desired Settlement: I spoke to one of the owners, *** ********* ***** ********* who advised he would ensure that I get a refund for the three months and apologized for no return call and the situation altogether and advised his check with some of his other managers revealed that they would have had the vehicle towed.I simply want a refund check for the three months.Thank you for any assistance you can provide.

Business Response: In response to the complaint we received about *** ****** issue as it relates to the accessibility of an assigned parking space, we would like to provide some history of the situation. 
To start, we contract with customers to provide assigned spaces in exchange for monthly rent.  *** ****** had an assigned space at our facility along with close to a hundred other tenants with assigned spaces. When *** ****** came in to our office on July 7, 2014 he had informed us that someone had parked in his space.  At that time, we went out to the contracted parking space to investigate.  Due to the vast number of tenants and the nature of those that come / go, it was unclear who was parked in his space.  Upon return to my office, I contacted the tow company that we generally use and was told that it would take them approximately 1 hour to arrive.  As a result of this delay, we offered *** ****** another option to move to a different permanent assigned space to park his trailer, however, he declined the new space. So, in effort to save *** ****** time of waiting on the tow company to arrive, we offered him a “temporary” place to park his travel trailer at which point he accepted.  When I had spoken to *** ****** about his temporary space, I assured him that there was not a rush for him to move his vehicle and that it could be done at his convenience.

After *** ****** was settled into this temporary space, I then started to call customers with adjacent spaces and found the suspect vehicle in question to be one that belonged to an employee of a company who
rents the space beside *** ******’ space. They apologized for the inconvenience and stated they would have it moved ASAP.  After the discovery of the suspect vehicle, I didn’t believe it prudent to tow the vehicle, so we cancelled the tow order.  Unfortunately when *** ****** returned the following day and the vehicle had still not been removed.  We understood *** ******’ frustration as he was clearly very agitated and upon trying to try to ease the situation and try to make it right, I credited his account for one full month of rent.  I contacted the company again about the mis-parked vehicle and asked that they move it immediately or it would be towed.  They arrived to move it within the hour.  *** ****** was then able to return his vehicle to his contracted space.

Three weeks later on July 28, 2014 at approximately 1:00 p.m., *** ****** returned from a trip to find a different vehicle parked in his space.  The vehicle in question was also found to belong to an employee of the same company.    Before we could offer *** ****** a new space or a temporary space, he stated to me that he would not be interested in moving to a new space or parking in a temporary space at this time. I had explained to *** ****** that I did not have the option of moving the vehicle at that point, and the temporary space and /or different space was all that I could offer as an immediate solution. *** ****** was not satisfied with those options and was very angry demanding that I have the vehicle towed.  I explained to him that it was likely just like the prior situation of which someone probably parked in the incorrect space, and it was also likely that a tow truck would take some time to arrive.  I understood *** ****** frustration and he was not happy as he wanted immediate action. Not pleased with any of the options I presented, I apologized to Mr. Valois for the inconvenience.  There is simply not the means to control where tenants park other than assigning them to a space and expecting that they park in their respective space.  We are able to control who has access to the property through assigned key-code access, however, we can only do so much to monitor who parks in which space.  We expressed to *** ****** that as much as we do not like to lose customers, and since the options we had at that time did not satisfy his needs, then perhaps it would be best for him to find another option for his trailer.  *** ******, still upset, relented and decided to park in the temporary space where his trailer stayed for the following four days.  Once again, we called the adjacent company and told them they were parking in the wrong space and that they would have to move ASAP.  As a matter of record, we informed them that this would be the final time we could notify him of this problem as his employees were causing problems with adjacent customers. ********** space was available for him to access approximately 2 hours after the said incident.  *** ****** returned four days later on July 31st to move his trailer elsewhere. 

Even though *** ****** was eleven days into his next rental cycle, his rent was credited in full, his pre-payment was credited to his credit card and he was given a free month as a result (as previously mentioned).  We were not aware that he required a return call upon his vacate. We felt that we did the best we could in offering *** ****** options to a situation of which we had little control.  Again, we contract with tenants for assigned spaces and unfortunately some don’t pay attention and can park in incorrect spots.  We suspect that the adjacent customer had temporary employees that simply didn’t follow instructions and that was what we were contending with in this particular situation. Unfortunately, *** ****** had the space adjacent to them and we apologize if he did not feel we handled it the best we could given the situation at hand.

Consumer Response: [
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.