Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Ohio State Barns

Phone: (740) 641-1086 View Additional Phone Numbers 9472 National Rd SW, Pataskala, OH 43062

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers sale of storage units including Sheds, Barns, Cabins, Garages & Pole Barns .

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ohio State Barns meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ohio State Barns include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Ohio State Barns
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 18, 2010 Business started: 07/01/2009 Business started locally: 07/01/2009 Business incorporated 11/01/2009 in OH
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Chris Chalkias, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chris Chalkias, President
Business Category

Storage Units - Household & Commercial Tool & Utility Sheds

Industry Tips
Renting a Self-Storage Unit - BBB Tips

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Ohio State Barns has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 9472 National Rd SW

    Pataskala, OH 43062 (614) 679-3636 (740) 641-1086


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: May 2012 we bought a shed from Ohio State Barns and was told since the siding was treated we had to wait a year to paint it. In July when we started to paint it we noticed the siding was split and bubbled. I called Ohio State Barns and talked to ***** he ask if I could take picture. My daughter in law took pictures and met me there. ***** said they would fix it either the builders or him and ***** the owners they would call me within 7 days. They did not call after 2 weeks I called left a voice mail which they did not return my call. After 2 more calls ***** finally called me and said it was not their job to fix it and I couldn't expect the Amish to come out in a horse and buggy to fix it. He said he would try to get me the siding to fix it myself. The shed has a metal roof which has to be moved to replace the siding. He gave me his word he would call me the next day to solve the problem. A man is as good as his word and his word is not worth two cents. ***** only cares about the sale after that you are on your own

Desired Settlement: I want them to replace the siding which they said they would when my daughter in law and I was in their office. ***** is the one who said yes it is covered we will replace we will fix it.

Business Response: We have sold thousands of barns to our customers with the same T1-11 siding with no problems.. The T1-11 holds a two years warranty since its treated ready to stain, its really not made for painting.. Our workmanship and labor warranty is one year from the time off purchase date.. Its been 18 months since the purchase of the barn and our workmanship since we are the dealer, we have no problem covering the new material cost since it has a two years warranty.. ****** is not happy that we would have to charge for installing the new T1-11 or install on his own.. All labor is done with Amish laborers, since they don't drive we make sure we focus on the highest quality workmanship on all of our buildings.. Customers T1-11 material has been in our office ready for pick up.. We would install the T1-11 for a cost to customer since 6 months after warranty expired.. We don't make the materials used on all barns that we sell & build, but we make sure if the materials used has a defect that we follow all manufactured warranties.. 

Thank you!

Ohio State Barns